User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 201

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2014
    3
    I have to say I'm surprised that the famous Paradox Interactive made such a shabby game, I can't tell how much disappointment and frustration I got from the first 30 minutes of gameplay...
    First, the point and click of unit control is just so unintuitive, I don't even know how many movement point I have to take to get to a place, not to mention the unintentional wrong clicking or false
    I have to say I'm surprised that the famous Paradox Interactive made such a shabby game, I can't tell how much disappointment and frustration I got from the first 30 minutes of gameplay...
    First, the point and click of unit control is just so unintuitive, I don't even know how many movement point I have to take to get to a place, not to mention the unintentional wrong clicking or false route the AI may take, I just can't bear with this kind of unclear control.
    Second thing is the map, there's no "whole map" view option in this game, and I'm so frustrated to find out that even the option for adjusting the scrolling speed on map browsing is missing...I'm pretty sure a 90's game may have such a feature, I just can't tell if it's intentionally ignored.
    If this game was out there in 90's or early 2k, I might stop whining and try to feel the intense similar to Civ or HoMM or so, but it's a 2012 game and I believe there are a lot to be reworked concerning UI and gameplay.
    Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    dsad dsa dasdasassssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssdddddddddddddddddddddddddasaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxsawfffffffffffffffffffffffdg
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    5
    Decent turn based strategy game with clunky controls. Only 3 races to choose from and with game play elements picked from so many other different titles. You are better off with a better game
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    A good turn-based game like Civ. The biggest downside though:
    No simultaneous turns in MP. Very sad.

    Other than that the only real critique I have is that there are only 3 (+1 DLC) factions with not really that much buildings and units. Could be a little bit more complex with a Civ like tech tree, or in general greater unit progression.

    All in all decent game. 8/10
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    Outstanding. Great value for money. 180 hours in and one of the games that I always have installed and return to. Great variation with the races/playstyles. Lots of content. The latest DLC Armageddon is a touch too difficult in my opinion. But if you like a long term challenge, then youll love it. Just make sure you know the game inside and out before attempting this game mode as from turnOutstanding. Great value for money. 180 hours in and one of the games that I always have installed and return to. Great variation with the races/playstyles. Lots of content. The latest DLC Armageddon is a touch too difficult in my opinion. But if you like a long term challenge, then youll love it. Just make sure you know the game inside and out before attempting this game mode as from turn 25 onwards its hell. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    Incredibly over-rated 4X strategy game featuring bugs and amateur design elements. I did not enjoy this game, I would not recommend it. The game attempts to emulate popular playing styles of other 4X strategy games such as Civilization and Master of Magic, however it falls drastically short of presenting itself as even a low budget clone of these strategy greats. If you have never playedIncredibly over-rated 4X strategy game featuring bugs and amateur design elements. I did not enjoy this game, I would not recommend it. The game attempts to emulate popular playing styles of other 4X strategy games such as Civilization and Master of Magic, however it falls drastically short of presenting itself as even a low budget clone of these strategy greats. If you have never played any decent turn based strategy game then you might enjoy this one. The only reason I can consider this game would have so many positive reviews is due to the generation of gamers it plays to as it's target audience. I don't think a hardcore, serious, die hard or enthusiast gamer would enjoy this cartoony rendition of turn based strategy. If you are looking for a decent 4x turn based strategy game, I would recommend Master of Magic for fans of old school games and a variety of mods for Civ 4 for more modern players. Unfortunately there are no mods for Civ 5 in this area that I am aware of but hopefully there will be in the near future. I would appreciate the team that made this game a lot more if they had just incorporated their designs into a Civilization 5 mod, as a stand alone game it does not hold up to my expectations of a strategy game; the lack of depth in the game makes me feel like I am playing a mod that was rejected. Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2013
    7
    A very solid game in a similar style to the Civ series. While it lacks a lot of depth this game is very enjoyable if you want to get straight in to action and can be a good challenge on harder modes.
  8. Oct 4, 2013
    8
    Haven't played so simple yet addictive turn-based strategy for quite a long while. Without any unnecessary plot it toss you right into the realm, when you rule your little kingdom. What I do also love about the game, is narrator's voice have you noticed? Same actor as in my beloved Majesty. Game performance is a little bit odd, noticeable slows down after few hours of playing restart helps.
  9. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    *The metacritic score is out-of-date*, because, in only three months, the studio has fixed 175 bugs/game issues in Warlock: Master of the Arcane (the fixed issues are listed on the game's steam page).

    Few games are updated (much), post-release. For that reason, almost no reviewers update their reviews, post-release. This game has vastly improved, since it's release. Consequently, the
    *The metacritic score is out-of-date*, because, in only three months, the studio has fixed 175 bugs/game issues in Warlock: Master of the Arcane (the fixed issues are listed on the game's steam page).

    Few games are updated (much), post-release. For that reason, almost no reviewers update their reviews, post-release. This game has vastly improved, since it's release. Consequently, the Metacritic score is now *at least* ten points two low. (I added twenty more points, because of the studio's dedication.)

    The profoundly long list of issues addressed by the developer in the three months since the game has been released can be found here: http://store.steampowered.com/news/?feed=steam_updates&appids=232050 (or search the Steam site for "Eador", and click "view update history" on the right-hand side of the game's page).

    How do I know that 175 bugs were fixed? I pasted the list of bug fixes into Word. It was over 200 lines in length. I eliminated those lines that weren't bug fixes. Each remaining line of text was a bug fix, and there were about 175 remaining lines.

    Should the game have been released without said bugs? Perhaps. (Although, in the Studio's defense,
    it can be extremely difficult to eliminate bugs without widespread bug testing and user testing, for technical reasons.) *But,* the developer has shown extreme dedication in eliminating said bugs. They deserve kudos for that fact. I don't believe the decision to eliminate the bugs was made by some bean counter--sadly, I'm not sure you could easily make the case to such a person that it's in the studio's self-interest to patch a released product. But the studio decided to, anyway.

    Both this game and Snowbird Game Studios deserve your support.
    Expand
  10. Jun 30, 2013
    0
    Might have been a good game but it is so bug-riddled the world will never know. Even the most basic interface controls, such as clicking a ground tile, fail to work. A game that doesn't work, doesn't get any points from me.
  11. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    This game takes what's good about the fantasy Genre and smashes it with the strategic elements of Civilization bringing a new tactical strategy game that is delightfully refreshing and entertaining to play. I highly recommend this game to anyone seeking a fun experience, especially with friends, as the games multiplayer feature allows you to take on enemy lords at ranging difficulties withThis game takes what's good about the fantasy Genre and smashes it with the strategic elements of Civilization bringing a new tactical strategy game that is delightfully refreshing and entertaining to play. I highly recommend this game to anyone seeking a fun experience, especially with friends, as the games multiplayer feature allows you to take on enemy lords at ranging difficulties with or against your friends. That's not all It has another mode known as Armageddon that comes in the form of a DLC which adds a miniature mission based campaign where you and your friends must work together to push back a demonic threat that threatens the land. The DLC brings a very challenging and yet constructive addition to the game itself. Take a look at Warlock Masters Of The Arcane, you will not regret it. Expand
  12. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    I'm on my second playthrough now, this time with the Armageddon DLC. I have to say that I am really enjoying it. It's not revolutionary, but very satisfying in many ways. Recruiting your first Gold Dragon from an alternate plane is very difficult but rewarding. It is very much like Master of Magic but without the tactical combat. The Armageddon mode changes the game completely and is evenI'm on my second playthrough now, this time with the Armageddon DLC. I have to say that I am really enjoying it. It's not revolutionary, but very satisfying in many ways. Recruiting your first Gold Dragon from an alternate plane is very difficult but rewarding. It is very much like Master of Magic but without the tactical combat. The Armageddon mode changes the game completely and is even more fun than the original.

    I'd give it an 8 except I got it for so cheap on Steam that I have to give it a 9. For me it was an excellent buy.
    Expand
  13. Feb 17, 2013
    5
    I can understand why people like this game; the concept is great and the interface is simple. It took me 1 game to figure it out and 2 to get bored. Unfortunately the focus on warfare has led the developpers to miss out on several key strategy game concepts.

    1) Poor AI: the computers in this game simply suck. They have little strategic concept and will suicide powerful units to take out
    I can understand why people like this game; the concept is great and the interface is simple. It took me 1 game to figure it out and 2 to get bored. Unfortunately the focus on warfare has led the developpers to miss out on several key strategy game concepts.

    1) Poor AI: the computers in this game simply suck. They have little strategic concept and will suicide powerful units to take out basic footman. The diplomacy sucks as well, and the ai will break an alliance multiple times, only to renew it again 2-3 turns later (offering you gold/magic each time). Stupid AI.
    2) Empire building/planning: theres honestly no real point in planning your empire at all. Little city placement is required and it doesnt matter really what you build in your cities. You focus on a resource and focus on a unit type requiring that resource. Thats about it. Theres macromanagement or micromanagement required when building cities. Oh... I almost forgot: most cities are already randomly placed as neutral cities, meaning you dont have much freedom of expansion. You only conquer them.
    3) Research: There are no techs in this game, only spells. You research them and use your magick resource to cast them. Problem is that 1/2 to 3/4 of these spells are just plain USELESS! Honestly why even bother researching something I'll never use EVER? Early-mid to mid game my spell book just becomes cluttered with useless or outdated spells. Frustrating.
    4)Unit commands/strategies: Unit commands are non-existant; move, disband, wait 1 turn, or wait until enemy is spotted. The game spawns enough monsters/ai enemies/levels up ur unit that you find yourself issueing wait commands every 2-5 turns at best. It makes for a fairly boring turn. Theres also little strategic value to units other than their strength (spears do not get bonus vs cav, theres no flank bonuses, etc). Therefore the only useful strategy is to mass and swarm. Somewhat tedious after a few turns (and some 50 units on your side remember to make the inactice ones wait!)

    Overall, the game concept is great! A fantasy Civ! Unfortunately, the strategy game mechanics are severily lacking and make this game come way short of the actual Civ franchise. I got bored of this game after logging 9-10 hours on steam (as opposed to my 150+ on Civ 5). Its just not a quality game...
    Expand
  14. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    A shame this game came out as it did. Now, almost a year after it was released, it is so much better than it was at release. Firstly, I play with the three DLC (total cost under £5 for all three) so my review is based on that. But even the core game has been updated and improved almost beyond recognition (play wise). From patch 1.2 to today (1.4.1) the game has improved a lot. MoreA shame this game came out as it did. Now, almost a year after it was released, it is so much better than it was at release. Firstly, I play with the three DLC (total cost under £5 for all three) so my review is based on that. But even the core game has been updated and improved almost beyond recognition (play wise). From patch 1.2 to today (1.4.1) the game has improved a lot. More spells, better AI, better landscape creation, powerful allies to recruit, better tactical options, economy while still simple has now been enhanced (landscape now plays a part as well as many other factors). But above all it is engaging and FUN. You never feel the need to drill down to absurd levels of micromanagement. Tactically it is superb. The number and variety of spells, the freedom to complete the game in so many different way. I completely understand all the paid reviewer scores that came out at the games launch, I agree with them all. As the game was at launch that is what it was worth. However, If it was released now as patched, tweaked and improved as it is today, it would get high 80's from most publications and low to mid 90's from those ezines that were more "tactic and strategy" orientated. A gem (BTW the GUI is not from Civ 5 it's from the Elven Legacy series which predates Civ 5 by several years) Expand
  15. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Steam tells me i have blown 140 hours of my life on this game, what it won't tell me is that i'll probably blow hundreds more. Probably the best value for money game i've ever purchased. Because the game is so completely wonderful in every aspect it's hard not to simply want MORE, more info in the interface, more data about the civilization, better visibility of unit attributes in specificSteam tells me i have blown 140 hours of my life on this game, what it won't tell me is that i'll probably blow hundreds more. Probably the best value for money game i've ever purchased. Because the game is so completely wonderful in every aspect it's hard not to simply want MORE, more info in the interface, more data about the civilization, better visibility of unit attributes in specific game-play states - but these features few other games of the same genre have put forth so it certainly doesn't go against Warlock for overlooking some interface elements. Diplomacy doesn't really make a lot of sense, but i tend to ignore that section of the game. I don't think there is multiplayer. Diplomacy and multiplayer are 2 things i am absolutely not interested in however so this is not a drag. If those things are important to you, don't expect to have them in Warlock.

    To write Warlock off simply as a "Civ Clone" would be to deny yourself the enjoyment of one of the greatest "4x" games ever compiled.

    Another important point to make is the degree of DLC that has been released since launch, and at micro pricing ($1.99-$2.99USD). A number of patches have also been released, though i hadn't noticed any of the bugs they were fixing. The most recent patch was 3 weeks ago, so they're supporting this game over 8 months since release, that seems pretty cool.

    I hope they make another one and i hope it's pretty much the same, but with MOOARRR STUFF.
    Expand
  16. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    I liked this game alot. The combat is the main focus, cities are much simpler then Civilization but the variety of units, promotions, and potential buffs make combat really interesting. The fact that the 4 different races are COMPLETELY different is also a nice change from Civ. I personally preferred playing the undead, where you don't really need to make food at all, most of your troopI liked this game alot. The combat is the main focus, cities are much simpler then Civilization but the variety of units, promotions, and potential buffs make combat really interesting. The fact that the 4 different races are COMPLETELY different is also a nice change from Civ. I personally preferred playing the undead, where you don't really need to make food at all, most of your troop maintenance is taken from your mana supply. It's nice touches like that which give this game it's charm. Mind you the creeps can be tricky when you're first learning, especially those greater fire elementals, but once you figure out the game there are ways to deal with everything. There have also been a number of patches since I started playing, the last patch added terraforming spells which I thought were super cool. I love the idea of covering the land in blight (zerg style) or being able to create water/mountains to form choke points for defense.

    Complaints would be two fold: Random tech tree can be frustrating, certain spells are so helpful I just don't see how this would be balanced multiplayer. Ice prison in particular trivializes fire elementals and your rate of expansion can be greatly affected by how early you get this spell. Second complaint is the AI is pretty stupid. It's challenging enough on hardest setting but only because the AI cheats so bad. He basically has infinity units. Still, I wasted a good number of nights playing this game.
    Expand
  17. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    I do not usually write reviews but I feel this game is a little gem of turn based fantasy strategy that deserves recognition. I saw the x-mas special on steam and downloaded the free demo which got me addicted. Download, installation of the full game were easy on Steam. This game really makes you feel like a great Mage and you have to use all the resources at your disposal to conquer theI do not usually write reviews but I feel this game is a little gem of turn based fantasy strategy that deserves recognition. I saw the x-mas special on steam and downloaded the free demo which got me addicted. Download, installation of the full game were easy on Steam. This game really makes you feel like a great Mage and you have to use all the resources at your disposal to conquer the world. If you like Civilization or Master of Magic, you will fight a great variety of monsters, discover treasure or spells in lairs, do quests for rewards, decide which gods to align with, hire and customize heroes, buy magic items from traveling merchants and explore portals to dangerous parallel worlds. Your units will gain experience and perks. Combat is interesting and highly strategic despite no unit stacking. Your enemies will just not waltz in and capture a non garrisoned city. The city will defend itself and it will take several turns to wear down its defenses using infantry or ranged or magic before capture. A single unit will rarely be destroyed in one single combat, and terrain like forests or hills will give great defense bonuses especially with unit perks like cover specialist. The rock paper scissor principle applies in building your forces, geography can be altered by creating volcanoes in enemy territory, raising or lowering land,creating dead lands or fertile lands. I find the combination of strategic planning and random game events great fun. Each new game also takes place in a randomly generated world and you can customize many parameters. For your gaming money, this game offers IMO one of the highest fun to price ratio. My first game took me away from Skyrim for35 hours, and I won it by capturing a certain number of holy grounds. Nuff said.

    This game plays well, is not buggy, you will not feel you are managing an excel chart. It appears to have been designed with lots of game play testing and debugging, by a small company with lots of Russian sounding names and I wish them good luck in their future projects if they keep focusing on quality.
    Expand
  18. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    Damn, this game is fun. It takes half an hour to get accustomed to the mechanics, then you're away. I've been exploring a few games to get my strategy fix, and can happily say I've found what I've been looking for. Wasted 10 hours this weekend and would gladly waste 10 more if I didn't have to work tomorrow. Some reviewers will say the game lacks depth, and they're right, but I like whatDamn, this game is fun. It takes half an hour to get accustomed to the mechanics, then you're away. I've been exploring a few games to get my strategy fix, and can happily say I've found what I've been looking for. Wasted 10 hours this weekend and would gladly waste 10 more if I didn't have to work tomorrow. Some reviewers will say the game lacks depth, and they're right, but I like what they've built. The game is streamlined in places where it makes sense and is really elegant and liberating. One example is the ocean travel system. If you have a unit that needs to cross water, just walk it to the shore and next turn it will build its own boat and take to the seas. No building a dockyard, then a transport, then loading the transport. This is daring, and ingenious. Basically, Warlock gets out of your way so you can engage in tactical fighting non stop for hours on end. No doubt it will lose its pull a bit quicker than some deeper strategy games, but I really don't care at this point because I've already gotten my $20 worth and will do so five times over. Grab it and enjoy! Expand
  19. Dec 13, 2012
    5
    Combat-oriented turn-based strategy game structured like Civ 5. There are a 3 races (plus summoned units) and hero units which have a lot of punch with their own equip and special upgrades. Instead of research you learn spells; however, there doesn't seem to be a tree for them so it can be frustrating trying to unlock a specific spell you need. Diplomacy is really shallow and the biggestCombat-oriented turn-based strategy game structured like Civ 5. There are a 3 races (plus summoned units) and hero units which have a lot of punch with their own equip and special upgrades. Instead of research you learn spells; however, there doesn't seem to be a tree for them so it can be frustrating trying to unlock a specific spell you need. Diplomacy is really shallow and the biggest disappointment in the game for me because you can't have an allied conquest victory. The non-conquest victory conditions are really hard to complete but hopefully they will allow allied victory in the future. The devs have been hard at work on patches for Warlock and seem to really care about it. Multiplayer was added recent along with hero units and bug fixes. If you enjoy Civ-styled games but want a fantasy twist then this is worth picking up. Expand
  20. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    While the original score of 71 was probably accurate at release, currently it is a much improved game with patches and cheap DLC. It also has a multiplayer feature in beta that I have yet to try out. The game keeps getting better over time and I learn something new with each play through. It reminds me of the older CIV games (I am one of those that think CIV5 was a step backwards in theWhile the original score of 71 was probably accurate at release, currently it is a much improved game with patches and cheap DLC. It also has a multiplayer feature in beta that I have yet to try out. The game keeps getting better over time and I learn something new with each play through. It reminds me of the older CIV games (I am one of those that think CIV5 was a step backwards in the franchise) and Alpha Centauri. This is an evolving WIN for the turn-based game enthusiast. It also goes on sale frequently with a current promotional price of $4.99 at GamersGate for the base game, which ensures that you won't have any reason to say no to this gem. Expand
  21. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    Excellent game. Unpretentious, not too complicated, and just plain fun. The unit upgrade system is very elegant. The only (minor) detraction is that the pocket planes are too hard. By the time you can tackle them, you can completely obliterate the computer.
  22. Sep 12, 2012
    9
    Picture a fantasy-based Civ 5 turn based portion of the game. The big difference is this turn based portion is FUN to play even if you aren't a history buff trying to re-enact Napolean's battles.
    I have enjoyed playing this game more than I have enjoyed any of the Civ games. Maybe I am not high-brow enough? Anyway if you are looking for a fun experience that is easy to learn, but has more
    Picture a fantasy-based Civ 5 turn based portion of the game. The big difference is this turn based portion is FUN to play even if you aren't a history buff trying to re-enact Napolean's battles.
    I have enjoyed playing this game more than I have enjoyed any of the Civ games. Maybe I am not high-brow enough? Anyway if you are looking for a fun experience that is easy to learn, but has more depth that you will learn as you play grab this game. But grab the demo first to make sure it is your cup of tea.
    It says it is just Single Player on Steam, but in game there is a Muiltiplayer (beta) menu.
    Expand
  23. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    I like this stuff. This is a good Civ-like with a fantasy touch. You have lot of different troops and lot of build to diversify your empire. IT s pretty rich and deep.The gameplay is basic (only play without other mod than "sandbag") but the game is so addictive and funny
  24. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    This is an incredible game sold with a budget price. Simple and fun, I got the hang to it 10 minutes after I started. Feels like an improvised fantasy themed Civilization.
  25. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    Quite entertaining; I've enjoyed playing Warlock more than Civ 5. I particularly like the unit buffing mechanics; you can have some very expensive units with high upkeep, in a variety of different ways. Unit base perks, experience perks, magical buffs, equipment and unit upgrades can all be applied. And then there's also hero units. I'de give it a 9, but the enemy AI seems to miss combatQuite entertaining; I've enjoyed playing Warlock more than Civ 5. I particularly like the unit buffing mechanics; you can have some very expensive units with high upkeep, in a variety of different ways. Unit base perks, experience perks, magical buffs, equipment and unit upgrades can all be applied. And then there's also hero units. I'de give it a 9, but the enemy AI seems to miss combat opportunities even on the hardest difficulty setting, and the alternate dimensions currently have little strategic merit. Expand
  26. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    As noted in my original May 25th review, when I rated a 7, I said it was very close to an 8 or 9. With 3 patches and the new Elven and Artifact DLC, the addition of lords and artifacts help fill a void. A few stability issues still and unbuffed naval still sucks, but those are minor complaints. It is far and away the spiritual successor to MoM now. Will re-review if future patches and DLCAs noted in my original May 25th review, when I rated a 7, I said it was very close to an 8 or 9. With 3 patches and the new Elven and Artifact DLC, the addition of lords and artifacts help fill a void. A few stability issues still and unbuffed naval still sucks, but those are minor complaints. It is far and away the spiritual successor to MoM now. Will re-review if future patches and DLC change my score.

    MY ORIGINAL REVIEW FROM MAY 25 FOLLOWS:

    I've been a big fan of old school Master of Magic from the mid-90s and been trying to find a suitable modern replacement since. This is probably the closest that I've come across, although it still has some flaws that keep it from being a full love. It plays like Civ with magic versus its own style. The good: City management, troop management, magic research/casting. The game flows well, and runs smoothly. The bad: Combat stinks and naval/sea is horrendous. Combat is unpleasant since there is no unit stacking (a huge negative, imo), no tactical fighting (a la MoM), and very limited magic casting to support a fight. Also, there is DLC with some hero options, but otherwise there are no hero units available. Honestly, there can't be enough bad things said about naval. The buildable units are weak, and you are constantly bombarded by sea serpents that are impossible to counter and eliminate. The strongest available naval unit, the Galleon, dies easily and can't be buffed or spawned fast enough to actually do anything worthwhile. As others have noted, there's really only an extermination option available as a victory path. I could theoretically cast the Unity spell to win, but it kept getting cancelled by the other wizards, and there's no way to buff yourself or the spell up higher to avoid the cancellation. With a few balancing issues corrected (notably naval), I'd give this a strong 8 or 9.
    Expand
  27. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Warlock looks like a fantasy version of Civilization, focused on combat and conquest. There are always monsters coming at you, so there are never really boring or waiting parts. A lot of units and spells to discover add up to the fun of the game. Definitely recommend.
  28. Koo
    Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Warlock: Master of the Arcane is a strategy game done right. There are so many thing about it that I love: The fantasy setting, graphics, gameplay, music,... I've played 43 hours worth of gameplay so far, and completed 3 campaigns (they are quite long). The forums and information available in the manual are both fantastic, so if you're a turn-based strategy game noob, you'll be up andWarlock: Master of the Arcane is a strategy game done right. There are so many thing about it that I love: The fantasy setting, graphics, gameplay, music,... I've played 43 hours worth of gameplay so far, and completed 3 campaigns (they are quite long). The forums and information available in the manual are both fantastic, so if you're a turn-based strategy game noob, you'll be up and running quickly. For those who have played the Civilization or SIM series, the interface is familiar, yet beautifully streamlined unlike some others. The game oozes character, from the funny character names to amusing on click dialogues. Battles are EPIC. Summoned creatures, money, mana and spells, all there. This is easily the best fantasy based turn-based strategy I have ever played and one of my favourite games ever, period. I think it's destined to be a classic. If you want a game that's fun but also makes you think (and you have a few hours to spend) I highly recommend Master of the Arcane. Oh yeah, and multiplayer is available too, and the developer listens to the community and is constantly making improvements. Nothing but good things to say about this game. 10/10 Expand
  29. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Wow! What can I say... this game is FUN. Some gripe that the hexagonal combat system is taken from Civ5, when actually, if you've played some other older games developed by Ino-Co, like Fantasy Wars, it's easy to then see that Civ5 actually took a lot of their ideas from them. This game is quickly becoming the absolute "gem" of what I've always wanted. With the most recent 1.2 patch, whichWow! What can I say... this game is FUN. Some gripe that the hexagonal combat system is taken from Civ5, when actually, if you've played some other older games developed by Ino-Co, like Fantasy Wars, it's easy to then see that Civ5 actually took a lot of their ideas from them. This game is quickly becoming the absolute "gem" of what I've always wanted. With the most recent 1.2 patch, which includes new content such as heroes and artifacts, it absolutely shines. I feel like I'm playing with all the best elements of Majesty, Heroes of Might and Magic, and yes, Civ. Highly recommended! Expand
  30. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    warlock est un tres bon jeu, pas aussi bon que civilization mais c'est une bonne alternative ! il manque quand meme une diplomatie plus developpée : c'est vraiment un probleme. sinon j'adore !
    (desolé pour les erreurs je suis pas tres fort en anglais)
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    70
    Despite not explicitly saying so, Warlock: Master of the Arcane serves as a decent entry game for those who want to dabble in 4X strategy. Thanks to the lack of a decent tutorial and in-game instructions, the game still has a steep learning curve, and the lack of attention paid to the diplomatic aspects of the genre will leave some players overwhelmed once they move on to something with more substance.
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    75
    Warlock does not offer something truly new to the genre and the components borrowed from Civilization far outnumber its renovations. The gameplay options offered may feel many, but are in fact, very limited: combat is over-simplified, diplomacy is poor, the religious element is non-existent and the actions you take in one turn are 90% the same. Despite that, the 'one more turn' magical effect can be felt at times. [July 2012]
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    90
    A well-crafted, easy-to-play game with an entertaining fantasy bent, Warlock will have you staying up nights taking one more turn to blast King Rrat to kingdom come.