WildStar PC

  • Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2014
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
Buy On
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    71
    A lot of Wildstar’s content draws from all of the MMOs that have come before it, but this outlandish dedication to fun is its own. It’s unashamed to be a delightfully cheesy animated space adventure.
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    70
    For those burnt out on WOW's content, WildStar is easy to endorse. Immediately familiar to anyone who's visited Azeroth and with enough new twists on the tried-and-tested theme park formula, Carbine's game is so overflowing with stuff to do that it's certainly justified in asking for a subscription - even if less people seem prepared to sign up to one.
  3. Jul 10, 2014
    70
    WildStar is not afraid of borrowing elements from other MMOs, as it has the right attitude and personality to stand out from the rest. It is a colorful and explosive blend that may not revolutionize the genre but certainly refreshes it.
  4. Jul 7, 2014
    70
    I've only experienced a mere fraction of what's available in the game. This is almost always true for MMOs, but Wildstar manages that sense of an unending sea of content without much of it feeling like unnecessary padding.
  5. Jul 7, 2014
    70
    WildStar stumbles on a thin line between being awesome and mediocre. Combat is fun, dungeons are hard, bosses are unique, crafting is good and the art style is all around excellent. However, the extremely sharp difficulty, the horrible pacing of quests and the shallow elitist mentality made up by the hardcore niche is leading to basically ruin all the good there is in a sincerely fun MMORPG.
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    70
    Profuse scatterings of collectibles and items, each object labeled with an icon that urges you to interact with it, ensure you have lots of stuff to do, but it's undeniable busywork: interaction for the sake of interaction.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 964 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 384
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Best MMO on the market right now. I love the combat system, because it is highly dynamic and the telegraphing is a great feature. I like howBest MMO on the market right now. I love the combat system, because it is highly dynamic and the telegraphing is a great feature. I like how deeply you can customize your character, from appearance down to your skills and abiltiies, making each character unique. You choose 8 skills from a large pool, and then tweak their emphasis with ability points. You can also customize further with AMPs, their version of talents, of which there are 90 total to choose from.

    The housing system is also amazing. Each player gets a house around level 15, and you can customize it in infinite ways, with very powerful tools to do so. There are hundreds if not thousands of items you can place in your house, and you can rotate them along 3 axes, scale them up or down, and place them exactly where you'd like.

    Finally, if you haven't seen it already, check out the developer video on raids, it's awesome :D
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    9
    Best mmo I've tried recently. The most innovative feature and also the coolest is the combat. It's very proactive. I think it is what GW2Best mmo I've tried recently. The most innovative feature and also the coolest is the combat. It's very proactive. I think it is what GW2 tried to do, but much better.
    Besides the combat, it's a regular mmo, so if you don't like mmos, you won't like this one. But, there are good mmos and bad ones, and this one does everything right.
    There's another unique feature called Paths. Besides the usual race, class and tradeskills, you chose a path. And this decides a lot of what you will be doing. For example soldier gets you new bosses to defeat, zones to defend and so on, all with it's own story. Or settler which I am right now, let's me build stuff around towns and cities, useful stuff. I'm loving settler tbh.
    The skills are very interesting and cool (I was shocked at thow boring skills were in FFRR, the last mmo I tried). And the skill and perk system is very configurable, letting you switch skills on the fly, which I like too.
    The crafting system looks cool, but I still have no idea how it works, it's not just click and craft, you have to select different ingredients and put them in a kind of grid.
    The world is full of stuff. The path system helps in this regards. There aren't any boring zones, because besides missions, events, ingredients, or the usual things, the world is also populated with things related to your path.
    The graphics are cartoonish. They don't look awesome in the sense of technical power, but they are pretty and very detailed.
    Oh, and the game has a kind of Borderlands humor.

    All in all, very good mmo and I'd say right now the best you can play.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    9
    This game is surprisingly fun. At level 15 you get access to adventures, which are essentially dungeons. They are super fun and challenging.This game is surprisingly fun. At level 15 you get access to adventures, which are essentially dungeons. They are super fun and challenging. Completing adventures feels very fulfilling when you clear them. Bosses are unique and engaging with neat mechanics. Combat feels more like an action RPG than an MMO. Manual dodging is fun. Full Review »