• Publisher: YuPlay
  • Release Date: Dec 25, 2009
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 83
    Wings of Prey would stand out even if the sim field were considerably more crowded. The concessions and compromises to realism are bound to aggravate purists, but it's a small price to pay for the range of flight models you get here.
  2. Tight, fast paced action and great atmosphere make Wings of Prey one of the best attempts at creating an easily accessible light simulator, but it could use more settings in the difficulty options, better damage modeling, more missions and maybe even dynamic campaigns. The AI and flight modeling are already quite good for a non-hardcore simulator. [Feb 2010]
  3. A game that flies high, but is almost shot down by severe controller issues. [Mar 2010, p.92]
  4. So polished. [May 2010, p.93]
  5. Hardcore fans may find it lacking but Wings of Prey is solid fighter fun. [Issue#30, p.8]
  6. Wings of Prey is a dog fight simulator as I haven't seen in a long time: fast, undaunted, honest. Probably something could have been done to give it a strongest storyline, but if you are a pilot, you have the game that will make your blood boil.
  7. With its hybrid gameplay Wings of Prey manages to bring this particular genre to a larger audience. You also find good graphics and an engine capable of running even on dated machines. A game suggested to all simulation lovers but also to gamers who want to approach this genre for the first time.
  8. Flight model is the strongest point of Wings of Prey, even despite its arcade-style single-player campaign.
  9. Wings Of Prey is a well thought out visual and audio treat to the senses.
  10. Wings of Prey ingeniously combines the skies over Europe with the WWII stage to bring players a gift that will please both rookies and fighter aces.
  11. For 40$ Wings of Prey Offers a fifty missions long campaign and a mix of arcade style and realistic flight experience.
  12. A rare sim triumph, although it's forced to make a ton of compromises to appease two distinct audiences. [Mar 2010, p.86]
  13. In the simulation mode there's some sort of simulation to it, but the graphics demand pretty much raw power. Many details and great gameplay can be found here.
  14. The incredible intensity and vividness of Wings of Prey's dogfights is built on the authority of its flight models, the verisimilitude of it graphics and the quality of its bandit AI (excellent, apart from the odd sleepy moment) but there are other smaller factors at work too.
  15. If there is no competition winning is easy. New flight sim has some flaws but there are no other options if you like to fly & fight. Multiplayer is worth trying! [Feb 2010]
  16. This is the PC conversion of the console game Birds of Prey. It's a bit short for an action game, doesn't offer enough options to be a simulation and still it's worth playing, mainly because there are no alternatives and Wings of Prey has great graphics worth seeing.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This is for sure the best flight sim I have ever played. I have played everything from Janes, IL2, BlackShark,and others I can't think of them all. This sim can be played in Arcade while your learning and just funing or similation for the whole deal or in real mode. This sim will work for everyone. It has the best graphics I have seen in a sim. They are better than Apache AH64 Assault which is also a very good game.
    I love this game. These people put their FULL expertise in this game. I like it so much that I even bought the add on called Wings of Luftwaffe. The latest release recognizes many flight rigs and sticks. My Thrustmaster flight t HOTAS was listed and played with very little tinkering. I do wish you could change more planes and more settings for control devices (sticks), but even as it is, it's worth 2x what you pay for it. There are combat sims that cost 3x what this one does and aren't half as good. If you have had doubts about purchasing this game, Don't think twice, just buy it! Activation is a little bit of a pain but support is good and you can go online and dogfight with people all over the world. There are all kinds of free decals and add ons also. I haven't ever rated a game as high as this one before. These guys really put their heart in this one.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    Stunning visuals, exciting dogfights, and decent missions. That would be the easiest way to sum up this game. The flying is excellent, it has 3 different settings for difficulty. I'm more of a simulator kind of guy myself so I cannot vouch for the two easier settings, but the simulation difficulty is very realistic to the point that I find it very difficult at times. As far as gameplay goes this game is second to none in the flying category. I would recommend that if you want to play it you will want either a gamepad or a joystick. Without one you would likely be forced to play on the arcade difficulty to be effective. The only thing I would count this game off for is the missions. They are great don't get me wrong, but sometimes you feel like you were given the short end of the deal. For example during the missions over Stalingrad, you are given an I-16, which is a Russian fighter, it's a bit goofy looking which is fine, but the plane has a habit of stalling a lot, and a major flaw is that if you push the nose down to far (one of the best strategies in other planes to start a chase), the plane's engine will stall out and shut off. You then have to continuously hit the engine start button to try to start it back up. When you finally get it started up the enemy BF-109 will be out of sight and likely far above you. I did beat this mission my second try but it was very frustrating to have a slower plane than your opponent with less maneuverability. Then there are the missions where you have to fly for quite a while, 10 min sometimes just to get to an objective. These issues weren't enough for me to dock it more than one point off of a perfect score because although there was a bad mission (possibly more later IDK I haven't beat the game yet) and some of the missions take a while to see action, for the most part once you find the action it's a very exciting game to play, and is definitely worth the money you'll spend on it. If you like WWII air combat simulators and you're looking for one that has impressive visuals this one will not disappoint. If you want a WWII air combat simulator and you really don't care about visuals too much the IL-2 Sturmovik is a less expensive alternative that is equally fun, but a little less user friendly. Full Review »
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    2
    itbe1984
    Nov 30, 2010
    2
    I'm glad I bought Wings of Prey (WoP) for only 15 dollars, hats off to Steam for amazing deals. Now with that said,
    WoP should only cost 15 dollars new. Its essentially IL-2 with all the personality gutted and HDR bloom effects to replace it. The campaign mode is horrible for anyone looking for something more then casual game play. If the player wants hardcore game play they are stuck with either single missions or very basic quick run missions. The selection of aircraft is deplorable compared to IL-2. Wings of Prey is just extremely limited. To think that the publishers were charging 50 dollars for the larger portion of the year make me queezie. For those of you looking for a good flight sim, buy IL-2 1946. There is a massive modding community behind it, the range of aircraft, missions, and customization beats the pants off of WoP (The **** [pits if it decides to censor me again] in WoP look just like the textures out of IL-2 anyway). If you manage to get bored of that there is a custom mission creator. For the 15 dollars I spent on WoP I could have bought Super Meat Boy, or for 5 dollars more, I could have snagged Amnesia: The Dark Decent. Shoots... I didn't spend my money wisely at all. Full Review »