• Publisher: YuPlay
  • Release Date: Dec 25, 2009
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 82
  2. Negative: 10 out of 82

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This is for sure the best flight sim I have ever played. I have played everything from Janes, IL2, BlackShark,and others I can't think of them all. This sim can be played in Arcade while your learning and just funing or similation for the whole deal or in real mode. This sim will work for everyone. It has the best graphics I have seen in a sim. They are better than Apache AH64 Assault which is also a very good game.
    I love this game. These people put their FULL expertise in this game. I like it so much that I even bought the add on called Wings of Luftwaffe. The latest release recognizes many flight rigs and sticks. My Thrustmaster flight t HOTAS was listed and played with very little tinkering. I do wish you could change more planes and more settings for control devices (sticks), but even as it is, it's worth 2x what you pay for it. There are combat sims that cost 3x what this one does and aren't half as good. If you have had doubts about purchasing this game, Don't think twice, just buy it! Activation is a little bit of a pain but support is good and you can go online and dogfight with people all over the world. There are all kinds of free decals and add ons also. I haven't ever rated a game as high as this one before. These guys really put their heart in this one.
    Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2011
    2
    itbe1984
    Nov 30, 2010
    2
    I'm glad I bought Wings of Prey (WoP) for only 15 dollars, hats off to Steam for amazing deals. Now with that said, WoP should only cost 15 dollars new. Its essentially IL-2 with all the personality gutted and HDR bloom effects to replace it. The campaign mode is horrible for anyone looking for something more then casual game play. If the player wants hardcore game
    play they are stuck with either single missions or very basic quick run missions. The selection of aircraft is deplorable compared to IL-2. Wings of Prey is just extremely limited. To think that the publishers were charging 50 dollars for the larger portion of the year make me queezie. For those of you looking for a good flight sim, buy IL-2 1946. There is a massive modding community behind it, the range of aircraft, missions, and customization beats the pants off of WoP (The **** [pits if it decides to censor me again] in WoP look just like the textures out of IL-2 anyway). If you manage to get bored of that there is a custom mission creator. For the 15 dollars I spent on WoP I could have bought Super Meat Boy, or for 5 dollars more, I could have snagged Amnesia: The Dark Decent. Shoots... I didn't spend my money wisely at all. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    Stunning visuals, exciting dogfights, and decent missions. That would be the easiest way to sum up this game. The flying is excellent, it has 3 different settings for difficulty. I'm more of a simulator kind of guy myself so I cannot vouch for the two easier settings, but the simulation difficulty is very realistic to the point that I find it very difficult at times. As far as gameplay goes this game is second to none in the flying category. I would recommend that if you want to play it you will want either a gamepad or a joystick. Without one you would likely be forced to play on the arcade difficulty to be effective. The only thing I would count this game off for is the missions. They are great don't get me wrong, but sometimes you feel like you were given the short end of the deal. For example during the missions over Stalingrad, you are given an I-16, which is a Russian fighter, it's a bit goofy looking which is fine, but the plane has a habit of stalling a lot, and a major flaw is that if you push the nose down to far (one of the best strategies in other planes to start a chase), the plane's engine will stall out and shut off. You then have to continuously hit the engine start button to try to start it back up. When you finally get it started up the enemy BF-109 will be out of sight and likely far above you. I did beat this mission my second try but it was very frustrating to have a slower plane than your opponent with less maneuverability. Then there are the missions where you have to fly for quite a while, 10 min sometimes just to get to an objective. These issues weren't enough for me to dock it more than one point off of a perfect score because although there was a bad mission (possibly more later IDK I haven't beat the game yet) and some of the missions take a while to see action, for the most part once you find the action it's a very exciting game to play, and is definitely worth the money you'll spend on it. If you like WWII air combat simulators and you're looking for one that has impressive visuals this one will not disappoint. If you want a WWII air combat simulator and you really don't care about visuals too much the IL-2 Sturmovik is a less expensive alternative that is equally fun, but a little less user friendly. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    $6 fair price, "hats off to Steam for amazing deals". Excellent dogfight! Il-2 sucks due to DRM installation limit. You can install it thrice and then throw away the disk.
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    The graphics for Wings of Prey are absolutely spectacular--very impressive. Unfortunately, I don't have a lot of experience with combat flight simulator type games so I'm not sure if they just inherently play slow--very few moments of intensity surrounded by hours of boredom. Well that's how this one came off to me. If you can fight through the boredom to get to those moments, it's a good game. But, I prefer instant gratification. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2011
    1
    OK, bought it on steam, and here's my basic experience: DLC doesn't work. Multiplayer works through the same system, and is thus broken. Simulation is inaccurate. The pretty destruction of IL2 is gone. 1 point for shiny graphics, but other than that IL2 beats it on every level.
  7. May 5, 2011
    10
    Best WWII Sim Fighter, Great Replay, Great AI, just all around great, no downfall at all. If you have a computer that will run this full graphics and a joystick, youll expect every game hereafter to be as good or better. AMAZING game. nice job Wings of Prey. btw once again the critics dont know what they are talking about.
  8. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    I have a very big expirience on games, and especially those based on WW2 ... I recommend this wonderful simulator (if you want it to be one, you can just choose between 3 modes..) to any fan of quality games.. The graphs and sounds are amazing and extremely realistic, and the gameplay is one of the deepest in that kind of games.. Its pretty easy to learn how to fly, but it will take you very long time to be a master.. Generally its a great game, way better than any other in that category, and it is made in a way that any kind of player, new or older, can have fun with it.. Expand
  9. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    Wings of Prey is the best WW2 combat flight sim available today. The only title that can rival this will be World of Planes, being released soon by the same company. Love this game a lot.
  10. Mar 4, 2011
    7
    Wings of Prey is based around the large-scale aerial combat and ground military operations of World War II. Players can participate in some of the war's most famous battles piloting fighters, battle planes and bombers across a range of thrilling missions. There are six theatres of war to engage in - The Battle of Britain, Stalingrad, Adrennes and Berlin representing the main airborne battles for World War II in Europe.

    First words: Scenery Ace! What a gem this game is. If you're into simulator games like the big Microsoft X Flight sim or racing simulators don't put this one away. The game provides a pivotal platform with dynamic fight scenes and excellent control whilst fighting warships to 1 on 1 fighter planes. You'll be lost within the spectacular scenery plus the details of fields, tree's and cities as they are somewhat amazing! I must agree with the game developers on this one that they do hold one of the best looking flight simulators to date.



    As you can see from the trailer, it is well designed, planned and by all means shows off those excellent details. Though for me when playing the game like all flight simulators you do to somewhat lose your bearings in some dog fights. Remember this is World War II simulator, they didn't have an arrow pointing towards the enemy... You actually got to use well firstly common sense but also be able to keep on track/behind your enemy at all times. Failure in doing this leads to well... "Good luck trying to find him again".

    The missions are pretty well developed and presented with historic battles such as Battle of Britain and Stalingrad taking place. I also like how the fact you have to take off and land on most of these missions just like you would in real time. It gives more involvement within the story as if you're the decisive person if we win this war or not.

    Though there are some negatives to this game. Firstly the controls, if you don't have a controller or joystick good luck trying to actually fly as flying with the mouse is somewhat impossible! The keyboard layout is also some what confusing as I rightly remember. You would think that the letter "G" would be gears up or gears down... But not in this one. They really need to improve on there key mapping for the default setting. Yes, granted you can change them yourself but do you really want to be doing that for 20 minutes before playing the game? Thought not....

    Overall here are the scores

    Gameplay - 8/10
    Playability - 5/10
    Graphics - 8/10
    Sound - 8/10

    Overall this game score a 7.25. There's a broad range of ideas which the developers could have improved but then again there are some points which they have excelled on. For example lasting appeal: There's loads of content available for the player but on some of the multiplayer modes it's generally the same...
    Expand
  11. Jun 12, 2011
    1
    Bought the game day 1 for full price and never got to play multilayer. Traded e mails with with their tech support and they just stopped responding to me after awhile. Wish I could get my money back but they said talk to steam, steam says talk to yuplay. Finally gave up, that why Im giving this game a neg review.
  12. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    Nothing truly amazing going on here, but oddly enough this game keeps bring me back to the **** arcade or simulation the graphics are breath taking and the combat is fast paced and satisfying. So far this is the best WW2 flight simulator/combat game to date with the 'Cliffs over Dover' offering little competition is bugs and poor performance. I think ill stick to my better looking, smoother running Wings of Prey. Collapse
  13. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    Very few planes to fly as, the controls are rather unresponsive and the camera movement sucks. If you want a good aircraft simulator, go for IL2 Sturmovik 1946, it may not look as great, but it plays a hell of a lot better and has far more aircraft models. All up, this game is fun & I had a good time playing it, but the controls and game play let me down, especially when it came to the camera when flying outside of the plane. Expand
  14. Feb 29, 2012
    2
    The gameplay itself is enjoyable, however the experience is completely ruined by the horrible YuPlay client. You cannot play multiplayer or coop without jumping through a bunch of hoops and even then it is buggy and a challenge actually connecting to your friends to play. It is very unfortunate, as the game itself is fun. Would have rated it a 9 if it hadn't been for the horrible YuPlay. So frustrating... Expand
  15. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    The game has nice graphics. The advantage is that difficulty levels make the game is not only for beginners but also for experienced players. The disadvantage of the game is too short for just the single player campaign. Overall, I would recommend the game.
  16. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    i like this game but i feal it needs more planes i love the game play although i am playing it with an xbox controller on pc i want to buy a joystick soon, it supports many joysticks. i bought this off steam and activating it was a pain and the patch didnt work either the menus like to freeze up on the launcher at login and the mutliplayer online crashed a few times i love the gameplay i wish every thing else built around the game would be better i give this a 7 due to its great graphics and good game play for the price it was a good buy i think Expand
  17. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    Very good game nice graphics nice gameplay although gaijins new game War Thunder i would suggest its free to play and i would say its alot better as the online on this game is kinda dated out and noone does it anymore
  18. Sep 21, 2011
    0
    Nothing truly amazing going on here, but oddly enough this game keeps bring me back to the **** arcade or simulation the graphics are breath taking and the combat is fast paced and satisfying. So far this is the best WW2 flight simulator/combat game to date with the 'Cliffs over Dover' offering little competition is bugs and poor performance. I think ill stick to my better looking, smoother running Wings of Prey. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 83
    Wings of Prey would stand out even if the sim field were considerably more crowded. The concessions and compromises to realism are bound to aggravate purists, but it's a small price to pay for the range of flight models you get here.
  2. Wings Of Prey is a well thought out visual and audio treat to the senses.
  3. For 40$ Wings of Prey Offers a fifty missions long campaign and a mix of arcade style and realistic flight experience.