• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Wings of Prey Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wings of Prey is based around the large-scale aerial combat and ground military operations of World War II. Players can participate in some of the war’s most famous battles piloting fighters, battle planes and bombers across a range of thrilling missions. There are six theatres of war to engage in – The Battle of Britain, Stalingrad, Ardennes, Berlin, Sicily and Korsun' representing the main airborne battles of World War II in Europe. [yuPlay] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 83
    Wings of Prey would stand out even if the sim field were considerably more crowded. The concessions and compromises to realism are bound to aggravate purists, but it's a small price to pay for the range of flight models you get here.
  2. A game that flies high, but is almost shot down by severe controller issues. [Mar 2010, p.92]
  3. Wings Of Prey is a well thought out visual and audio treat to the senses.
  4. Hardcore fans may find it lacking but Wings of Prey is solid fighter fun. [Issue#30, p.8]
  5. For 40$ Wings of Prey Offers a fifty missions long campaign and a mix of arcade style and realistic flight experience.
  6. In the simulation mode there's some sort of simulation to it, but the graphics demand pretty much raw power. Many details and great gameplay can be found here.
  7. This is the PC conversion of the console game Birds of Prey. It's a bit short for an action game, doesn't offer enough options to be a simulation and still it's worth playing, mainly because there are no alternatives and Wings of Prey has great graphics worth seeing.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    $6 fair price, "hats off to Steam for amazing deals". Excellent dogfight! Il-2 sucks due to DRM installation limit. You can install it thrice and then throw away the disk. Expand
  2. Ironbrigade
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    I would say this is the best flight sim to date, good for both the casual to the hardcore players and players who want a good combat flight sim who enjoy just flying around. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This is for sure the best flight sim I have ever played. I have played everything from Janes, IL2, BlackShark,and others I can't think of them all. This sim can be played in Arcade while your learning and just funing or similation for the whole deal or in real mode. This sim will work for everyone. It has the best graphics I have seen in a sim. They are better than Apache AH64 Assault which is also a very good game.
    I love this game. These people put their FULL expertise in this game. I like it so much that I even bought the add on called Wings of Luftwaffe. The latest release recognizes many flight rigs and sticks. My Thrustmaster flight t HOTAS was listed and played with very little tinkering. I do wish you could change more planes and more settings for control devices (sticks), but even as it is, it's worth 2x what you pay for it. There are combat sims that cost 3x what this one does and aren't half as good. If you have had doubts about purchasing this game, Don't think twice, just buy it! Activation is a little bit of a pain but support is good and you can go online and dogfight with people all over the world. There are all kinds of free decals and add ons also. I haven't ever rated a game as high as this one before. These guys really put their heart in this one.
    Collapse
  4. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    The game has nice graphics. The advantage is that difficulty levels make the game is not only for beginners but also for experienced players. The disadvantage of the game is too short for just the single player campaign. Overall, I would recommend the game. Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    i like this game but i feal it needs more planes i love the game play although i am playing it with an xbox controller on pc i want to buy a joystick soon, it supports many joysticks. i bought this off steam and activating it was a pain and the patch didnt work either the menus like to freeze up on the launcher at login and the mutliplayer online crashed a few times i love the gameplay i wish every thing else built around the game would be better i give this a 7 due to its great graphics and good game play for the price it was a good buy i think Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    The graphics for Wings of Prey are absolutely spectacular--very impressive. Unfortunately, I don't have a lot of experience with combat flight simulator type games so I'm not sure if they just inherently play slow--very few moments of intensity surrounded by hours of boredom. Well that's how this one came off to me. If you can fight through the boredom to get to those moments, it's a good game. But, I prefer instant gratification. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2011
    1
    Bought the game day 1 for full price and never got to play multilayer. Traded e mails with with their tech support and they just stopped responding to me after awhile. Wish I could get my money back but they said talk to steam, steam says talk to yuplay. Finally gave up, that why Im giving this game a neg review. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews