Wizard101 Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wizard101 is an online, Wizard school adventure with collectible card magic, wizard duels, and far off worlds! The game allows players to create a student Wizard in an attempt to save Wizard City and explore many different worlds. [KingsIsle Entertainment]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 16, 2012
    85
    Parents of younger kids and tweens will definitely want to check out Wizard101 if they haven't already. It's a wonderful game to use to introduce kids into the wider world of MMOs. And while Mom and Dad are at it, they should also call Grandma and Grandpa to get them started too. Wizard101 is that good and that fun for players of all ages. For this particular niche, the family-oriented, cross-generational gamer, there is no better game on the market today than Wizard101.
  2. An ideal starter MMO for children, but challenging enough for adults. Kids will love the cute characters, colorful world, and grandiose combat animations (as well as the Potter-like setting) while their parents may be drawn to the Magic: The Gathering inspired combat card mechanic and online safety measures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    I have been playing this game since it was first released. I'm usually not into casual style games, but this one has had me hooked for 5 yearsI have been playing this game since it was first released. I'm usually not into casual style games, but this one has had me hooked for 5 years now. The game play is a nice turn based system, with the ability for friends or others to join at any time. All of the dialogue is actually said out loud instead of having to read for every little quest. Although the earlier parts of the game are geared more toward a younger audience, the farther away worlds are where adults are. Discussing strategy and tactics for the PVP system is actually very difficult. With a large set of spells that continue to increase, you will not have the same PVP battle twice in row. Extremely engaging story line and game play makes this game fun for young and old. Highly recommend! Expand
  2. May 25, 2011
    10
    If you're new to MMOs, play this one first. Simple Magic: The Gathering-esque card-based duels play nicely, and the graphics are nothing toIf you're new to MMOs, play this one first. Simple Magic: The Gathering-esque card-based duels play nicely, and the graphics are nothing to snuff at. Hilarious characters that have voice acting (there is even a nod toward The Wizard of Oz!) and 6 worlds with several quests keep this fun. However, every world except Wizard City must be bought and some areas must be bought too. Shame. But don't let that pay-to-play idea turn you away. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    The most pleasant on line gaming experience for me so far is this Wizard 101 game. You would have to go pretty far back to remember writingThe most pleasant on line gaming experience for me so far is this Wizard 101 game. You would have to go pretty far back to remember writing game code on tapes, but that's where my gaming started. I have tried every genre, all types of games over the years, and still find that the Kingsisle team left out 99.9% of what made other games become uninteresting. You look forward to relaxing with this game. There is no difficulty communicating (don't like that numbers are blocked), and you can make friends, meet up, and do challenges together, or enjoy the game alone. One minus--the gains in one level are offset by loses in another when it comes to weapons, clothing, etc, --but I don't know what would happen if this were not the case and it doesn't, however, make the game less fun, Expand
  4. May 9, 2012
    8
    Wizard 101 is an enjoyable card game which is unforgettable. Creating your own character, selecting your favorite element and completingWizard 101 is an enjoyable card game which is unforgettable. Creating your own character, selecting your favorite element and completing enjoyable quest never been so awesome. And It's really more enjoyable than the lackluster MapleStory. It is totally free. But the bad thing is that you need crowns to open some locations, that is really not logical for me. Overall, this game is impressive. (8.2) Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    I been a member since I was 12 when it came out. I still enjoy the online game to this day. I like the combat and the story. Its fun for allI been a member since I was 12 when it came out. I still enjoy the online game to this day. I like the combat and the story. Its fun for all ages not just little kids. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    Wizard101 is a MMORPG that is for everyone, it doesn't matter if you're 5 or 50. Heck you could be 105 and still can play it.

    When you
    Wizard101 is a MMORPG that is for everyone, it doesn't matter if you're 5 or 50. Heck you could be 105 and still can play it.

    When you start the game, you become a Wizard who is needed to help stop corruption and the dark agendas from major villains who wants to destroy the spiral. You can learn school spells from seven schools you can choose from which you use to cast at enemies. The spiral is a galaxy where you can travel to different worlds in order to do quests and battle minor enemies. You can travel to Marleybone, a Metropolitan world, where dogs and cats rule, even rats! Or Mooshu, an Asian inspired world, where peaceful cows believe in the Moodha. This game has tons of great puns or references to movies, bands, songs, etc etc.

    It's a highly enjoyable game that you can play with your parents, children, grandchildren. Don't worry, this game even has parental control that you can use to control how your child or grand child can speak in-game. This prevents them from seeing words that they are not allowed to say or see.

    When you start the game, you can play part of Wizard City for free before having to pay for a subscription which is pretty cheap. It's only $10 per month for 100% access to all of its areas and worlds. Or you can purchase crowns, an in-game currency with real money. You can use crowns to buy areas in the game. Once bought, the area is forever yours!

    The only downside is the content comes really slow and in between worlds, there's not much to do except PvP which you can duel other in-game real wizards, pet derby where you can race your pets, or farm for super rare gear which makes you more powerful. It can become quite boring since there's not many options when there's a lull in content.

    But, this company is very kind to its customers, they try to listen and improve the game upon feedback. They strongly believe in the idea that families should play together, even over distance. I have met in-game wizards who were grandparents, parents, relatives and children who were all playing together. This game was a perfect vehicle for them to keep in touch and have fun together, even though they live states or even countries apart.

    Go give it a try. If you liked Harry Potter, you sure will like this game!
    Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    This game is terrible. First off, a large portion of the game is restricted, unless you purchase a monthly subscription which is expensive.This game is terrible. First off, a large portion of the game is restricted, unless you purchase a monthly subscription which is expensive. Then, the game auto filters you're grammar and restricts words that aren't even offensive. The graphics are terrible, and it is pretty much just eight year olds running around asking if you will give them money so they can buy their pet unicorn. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews