Wizard101 PC

Wizard101 Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wizard101 is an online, Wizard school adventure with collectible card magic, wizard duels, and far off worlds! The game allows players to create a student Wizard in an attempt to save Wizard City and explore many different worlds. [KingsIsle Entertainment]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 16, 2012
    85
    Parents of younger kids and tweens will definitely want to check out Wizard101 if they haven't already. It's a wonderful game to use to introduce kids into the wider world of MMOs. And while Mom and Dad are at it, they should also call Grandma and Grandpa to get them started too. Wizard101 is that good and that fun for players of all ages. For this particular niche, the family-oriented, cross-generational gamer, there is no better game on the market today than Wizard101.
  2. An ideal starter MMO for children, but challenging enough for adults. Kids will love the cute characters, colorful world, and grandiose combat animations (as well as the Potter-like setting) while their parents may be drawn to the Magic: The Gathering inspired combat card mechanic and online safety measures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    If you're new to MMOs, play this one first. Simple Magic: The Gathering-esque card-based duels play nicely, and the graphics are nothing toIf you're new to MMOs, play this one first. Simple Magic: The Gathering-esque card-based duels play nicely, and the graphics are nothing to snuff at. Hilarious characters that have voice acting (there is even a nod toward The Wizard of Oz!) and 6 worlds with several quests keep this fun. However, every world except Wizard City must be bought and some areas must be bought too. Shame. But don't let that pay-to-play idea turn you away. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2014
    10
    This game is suitable for people of all ages. It's easy to learn, but hard to master. It has a large amount of adult humor, but is decent atThis game is suitable for people of all ages. It's easy to learn, but hard to master. It has a large amount of adult humor, but is decent at all times. Unlocking new zones does cost you money, but it's totally worth it. Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    I have been playing this game since it was first released. I'm usually not into casual style games, but this one has had me hooked for 5 yearsI have been playing this game since it was first released. I'm usually not into casual style games, but this one has had me hooked for 5 years now. The game play is a nice turn based system, with the ability for friends or others to join at any time. All of the dialogue is actually said out loud instead of having to read for every little quest. Although the earlier parts of the game are geared more toward a younger audience, the farther away worlds are where adults are. Discussing strategy and tactics for the PVP system is actually very difficult. With a large set of spells that continue to increase, you will not have the same PVP battle twice in row. Extremely engaging story line and game play makes this game fun for young and old. Highly recommend! Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    One more thing, this game takes money out of your wallet very fast! Be careful! I already spent $100 on this game! I would go over Pirate101One more thing, this game takes money out of your wallet very fast! Be careful! I already spent $100 on this game! I would go over Pirate101 over this because Math isn't too much there and there isn't any ANNOYING weakness and stuff. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2015
    7
    This game is great. It really is. The combat is ingenious, and there are about 150 hours of game play, and it is continuously growing. MyThis game is great. It really is. The combat is ingenious, and there are about 150 hours of game play, and it is continuously growing. My only issues are that in a few parts the game is a little grindy, and the ONE HUUGGEEE reason it has a seven is that it costs a lot to get past the first 2 hours of the game. You have to buy in game currency for nearly every place you go.

    Honestly you will save a lot of money if you just get a subscription, two reasons for this.
    1. It's cheaper than the buyable currency, which is what you need to access new areas.
    2. The subscription is worth the game, it really is.

    Get this game, but make sure your wallet is ready before you start. Other than that this game is phenomenal
    Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2016
    5
    A fine little game for little kids I used to play It when I was young but It's kind of a rip-off of the both Harry Potter and Warcraft but itA fine little game for little kids I used to play It when I was young but It's kind of a rip-off of the both Harry Potter and Warcraft but it still okay. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2015
    0
    The game is a scam, Kingsisle finds many ways to scam you its outrageous. Their Kingsisle E-mail support is very inconvenient and they don'tThe game is a scam, Kingsisle finds many ways to scam you its outrageous. Their Kingsisle E-mail support is very inconvenient and they don't have a Call Support Line. They are very unlenient when it comes to banning people, to the point where you can LITERALLY get banned for no reason. Don't play the game unless your willing to take the risk of losing you Account and money. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews