Wizard101 PC

Wizard101 Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wizard101 is an online, Wizard school adventure with collectible card magic, wizard duels, and far off worlds! The game allows players to create a student Wizard in an attempt to save Wizard City and explore many different worlds. [KingsIsle Entertainment]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 16, 2012
    85
    Parents of younger kids and tweens will definitely want to check out Wizard101 if they haven't already. It's a wonderful game to use to introduce kids into the wider world of MMOs. And while Mom and Dad are at it, they should also call Grandma and Grandpa to get them started too. Wizard101 is that good and that fun for players of all ages. For this particular niche, the family-oriented, cross-generational gamer, there is no better game on the market today than Wizard101.
  2. An ideal starter MMO for children, but challenging enough for adults. Kids will love the cute characters, colorful world, and grandiose combat animations (as well as the Potter-like setting) while their parents may be drawn to the Magic: The Gathering inspired combat card mechanic and online safety measures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    I have been playing this game since it was first released. I'm usually not into casual style games, but this one has had me hooked for 5 yearsI have been playing this game since it was first released. I'm usually not into casual style games, but this one has had me hooked for 5 years now. The game play is a nice turn based system, with the ability for friends or others to join at any time. All of the dialogue is actually said out loud instead of having to read for every little quest. Although the earlier parts of the game are geared more toward a younger audience, the farther away worlds are where adults are. Discussing strategy and tactics for the PVP system is actually very difficult. With a large set of spells that continue to increase, you will not have the same PVP battle twice in row. Extremely engaging story line and game play makes this game fun for young and old. Highly recommend! Collapse
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    The most pleasant on line gaming experience for me so far is this Wizard 101 game. You would have to go pretty far back to remember writingThe most pleasant on line gaming experience for me so far is this Wizard 101 game. You would have to go pretty far back to remember writing game code on tapes, but that's where my gaming started. I have tried every genre, all types of games over the years, and still find that the Kingsisle team left out 99.9% of what made other games become uninteresting. You look forward to relaxing with this game. There is no difficulty communicating (don't like that numbers are blocked), and you can make friends, meet up, and do challenges together, or enjoy the game alone. One minus--the gains in one level are offset by loses in another when it comes to weapons, clothing, etc, --but I don't know what would happen if this were not the case and it doesn't, however, make the game less fun, Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2014
    9
    The story, environment, and activity is amazing. The combat could be better. I have played this game since 2008, and I have always enjoyed it.The story, environment, and activity is amazing. The combat could be better. I have played this game since 2008, and I have always enjoyed it. The only real issue is the combat. Expand
  4. May 9, 2012
    8
    Wizard 101 is an enjoyable card game which is unforgettable. Creating your own character, selecting your favorite element and completingWizard 101 is an enjoyable card game which is unforgettable. Creating your own character, selecting your favorite element and completing enjoyable quest never been so awesome. And It's really more enjoyable than the lackluster MapleStory. It is totally free. But the bad thing is that you need crowns to open some locations, that is really not logical for me. Overall, this game is impressive. (8.2) Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2012
    7
    Wizard101 is an unenjoyable card game which is forgettable. bbaahh im kidding. it definately is cute, and a very simple game to get the feelWizard101 is an unenjoyable card game which is forgettable. bbaahh im kidding. it definately is cute, and a very simple game to get the feel of playing with fellas. there however lacks a better form of interaction between classes. business wise, i dont understand why kingisle doesnt have games for grown ups where there could be a transition of their mmo playerbase to more deep games.... Expand
  6. May 25, 2015
    4
    Magic, a mysterious, unnatural, difficult to control force. Wizard101 features none of that.

    I've played through the tutorial out of
    Magic, a mysterious, unnatural, difficult to control force. Wizard101 features none of that.

    I've played through the tutorial out of curiosity as I enjoy the idea of magical combat, and I have to say that Wizard101 doesn't feature any aspects of magic I enjoy. The idea of wizards getting together for a battle against mystical creatures, and choosing to stay out of other peoples fights or help them if they're struggling is an interesting concept. However, the battles themselves are far from magical feeling. When a majority of attacks involves summoning a snake, wolf, giant or bat to attack for you rather than actually casting magic yourself, doesn't feel all that magical.

    The tutorial is incredibly short, and the membership is extremely expensive, $10 a month. Even so, that's 1 hours work at minimal wage in most places, its much more expensive than other games. The story seems quite interesting, but I have my doubts whether the gameplay would be worth the $120 per year. There are other games that feature hundreds of hours on F2P like runescape before getting boring. Sure you'll have a lot of restrictions and it does follow a F2P/membership model, but the F2P aspect provides much more in several other games.

    One thing that REALLY needs to be fixed is the chat filter. I understand a game would want to filter out swear words when intended for children, but a lot of words that aren't swears can still be censored out like the word "whole" and I'm not making this up.

    As a whole, I'd say it'd be a good game for a kid, but it doesn't feature much in the prospect of imagination. The graphics are a good balance between form and function, the gameplay is simple, and would be great for a younger audience. Due to the price and lack of imagination with "magic" casting, I wouldn't recommend this game for those who truly enjoy the unknown, wild and unpredictable chaos that is borne from magic.
    Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2015
    0
    The game is a scam, Kingsisle finds many ways to scam you its outrageous. Their Kingsisle E-mail support is very inconvenient and they don'tThe game is a scam, Kingsisle finds many ways to scam you its outrageous. Their Kingsisle E-mail support is very inconvenient and they don't have a Call Support Line. They are very unlenient when it comes to banning people, to the point where you can LITERALLY get banned for no reason. Don't play the game unless your willing to take the risk of losing you Account and money. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews