Wizardry Online PC

Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    55
    Even though it carries a venerable name and promotes hardcore mechanics Wizardry Online is just a very ordinary frumpy roleplaying game.
  2. CD-Action
    Apr 5, 2013
    60
    Will the thrill provided by permadeath be enough to keep people playing this new Wizardry that is not really a Wizardry? [CD-Action 04/2013, p.72]
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    55
    Wizardry Online is jagged around the edges, but manages to pull off a few interesting tricks.
  4. Feb 11, 2013
    70
    There's thus a decent and unique game hiding in Wizardry Online, but the failures of its presentation may prove impenetrable for many gamers.
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    56
    When the opening credits for a game are more dramatic and compelling than the game itself, that’s a problem. With a company as large and well known as SOE, I have certain expectations, few of which were met in this game. Maybe they’ll improve WO in time with the help of developer Gamepot. They certainly seem to be working on it. Unfortunately, I’m just not inclined to wait around to find out.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    The thing about Wizardry is it is a game most new age players will take a glance at and run away. It does not give you instant gratification,The thing about Wizardry is it is a game most new age players will take a glance at and run away. It does not give you instant gratification, it does not give you awesome eye candy. What it does give you is a difficult experience right out the starting gate. The game challenges you to work through complex dungeons and encourages you to find others to work with. Does it have its problems? Yes, but you can work around them, and a lot of the issues it had on launch are fixed now, I think that was mainly an unexpected flood and not enough hardware to support it. At any rate, if you can get through the first couple dungeons the game expands a lot and it just seems to get deeper as you go on; it has a depth a lot of games lack nowadays.

    I gave this game a favorable review because it reminds me of the old school games I used to play. You know, back when game devs made things challenging like Mario and the old school RPGs. Wizardry combines a lot of elements like deep dungeons, challenging monsters, and the ability to kill anyone anywhere. There is an underlying sense of danger even in town knowing that a criminal could just randomly kill you and run off, or worse attempt to loot your stuff (also pretty easy to avoid btw if you know your dungeon and rezz fast enough which is both good and bad depending on how you look at it).

    This game follows the normal trend of most MMOs where one makes their own story. But it also takes it a step further by allowing one to customize a character and use abilities from other classes as well. You can be a notorious criminal wanted by the entire server for misdeeds, or you can be a protector of the weak, putting criminals in their place; or you can even be a dungeon crawler and treasure hunter, enjoying isolation and exploring deep dungeons with your friends. It has been awhile since I have had the pleasure of playing a game that presented an actual challenge and drew me in.

    Thank you for reading my review and I sincerely hope you will consider giving Wizardry a shot. It may seem a little lackluster at first, but the game gets exponentially better the longer you play it and take to figure things out. If you happen to sign in and look for help, message Dracon, I am usually on weekends and evenings.

    For those who have taken the time to read my little review thank you.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    First review, but had to write something after reading the other reviews here.

    90% of the user reviews have either mistakes,
    First review, but had to write something after reading the other reviews here.

    90% of the user reviews have either mistakes, misconceptions, or straight up lies about the game.

    To start, yes the graphics are just ok and yes with a few tweaks here and there Permadeath isnt really an issue at all. Which as it turns out is probably a good thing because you will die a lot. The game is very challenging (especially early on) and you are pretty much required to party up and work together after a certain point.

    The games systems is deep and complex enough to make up for some of the negatives which for me include: overpriced cash shop, bad translation of dialogue, semi-dis-interesting story line.

    I would recommend this game to anyone who is a little more mature of a gamer and is tired of RPG's that feel dumbed down and over simplified to make the instant gratification kiddies feel good about themselves.

    Join Wizardry Online and watch the WoW kiddies cry about the game being broken!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Game isn't for everyone. I do appreciate that each area is exponentially more difficult and that it is one of those hit box action mmos thatGame isn't for everyone. I do appreciate that each area is exponentially more difficult and that it is one of those hit box action mmos that require learning controls and actively dodging/blocking attacks. Full Review »