Wolfenstein: The New Order Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1787 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's compound fails, the Allies’ greatest hope falls with it. 1960: Europe. The war is over. And the Nazis are triumphant victors. Using unrelenting force and brutal intimidation, the Nazis have brought even the most powerful nations to their knees. The Nazi regime now rules the globe with an iron fist. You are Captain B.J. Blazkowicz, the American War Hero. After delving into this world of darkness, you must launch an impossible counter-offensive against the monstrous Nazi regime. Only you dare stand up against an unstoppable army of Nazi robots and hulking Super Soldiers. Only you can stop Deathshead. Only you can rewrite history. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Wolfenstein: The New Order - Train to Berlin Gameplay
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 28, 2014
    100
    Wolfenstein 3D changed how we looked at first person games in 1992 and The New Order, while not as big of a step, may be just as important of one for the future of the genre.
  2. May 26, 2014
    90
    To put it briefly: The New Order deserves a sequel. And to make sure this dream comes true, I can do only one thing: convince you to buy the new Wolfensten game. Perhaps great trailers boosted expectations too high, perhaps fanatical Return to Castle Wolfenstein players won't be as amazed, as I am, but I'm sure of this: all FPS fans will have a great time and after finishing the game they'll want more.
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    90
    While the story never reaches the level of Bioshock or Portal 2, Wolfenstein: The New Order is a great experience both narratively and gameplay-wise, and has way more heart than it has any right to.
  4. May 22, 2014
    80
    Who was expecting such a big Wolfenstein return four years after the previous title? Not many, but MachineGames has developed a very good shooter with mixed gameplay (shoot&stealth), an interesting plot and great characters.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 8, 2014
    80
    If you've enjoyed shooters of old, you'll love how freshly packaged this one is.
  6. Jun 8, 2014
    80
    Wolfenstein: The New Order is an electric veg-o-matic of FPS gaming bits and pieces set thrown into the hopper and set for puree. It lacks some stuff that we’re sort of gotten used to seeing in our FPS games these days and adds, a thousand collectable widgets aside, not much that we haven’t seen elsewhere before.
  7. CD-Action
    Jul 25, 2014
    50
    The only thing in the new Wolfenstein that turned out really well is music. Shooting is decent and some weapons give proper sense of power, but developers failed to build an interesting game on these foundations. It has some good moments but none of them lasts long enough to be satisfying. Plus the writing is terrible and the way the game constantly forces all that ‘war is evil!’ preaching and Blazkowicz’s moral dilemmas down your throat is ridiculous. I actually couldn’t decide whether the game is being serious or not. [07/2014, p.56]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 366
  1. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    1 Originality Factor: Machine games has done a great job keeping it old school just like the old Wolfenstein we all know & love whilst also1 Originality Factor: Machine games has done a great job keeping it old school just like the old Wolfenstein we all know & love whilst also adding in some new age style to it as well with a new perks system this game really feels like a old school shooter from the 90's.

    2 Game Play & Mechanics: There are two different ways to play this game through most of it. You can run & gun all day long make lots of noise with HUGE! guns & let mayhem & carnage reign supreme or you can take the semi new addition stealth sneak up behind the enemy kill the commander before he has time to call in Reinforcements The stealth element is surprisingly well done and the kills are extremely satisfying. (Much better then metro last lights stealth elements) The game allows you to chose which play style you like. Mechanics wise there are perks that can be unlocked to provide bonuses, such as faster reloads and greater magazine capacity etc. The perks can be useful but aren't really needed in this game.

    3 Artificial Intelligence: The AI is no dummy in this game a single gun shot or the wrong step or noise can set off a alarm screwing your entire stealthy tatics not to mention if they hear a dog attack they know you're there & if you're playing run & gun you'll find yourself restarting a little more then anticipated because they will actually go looking for you if they know you're there once a alarm has been tripped they are on alert. It's not the best AI I've ever seen but machine games did a very good job at making the game difficult but enjoyable.

    4 In Game Options: The in game visual options are sadly a tad bit lacking with only a few options these would be Graphics Quality, VT Cache Size, VT Compress, MAX PPF, Shadow Resolution, Deapth Of Field which can't be turned entirely off, Screen Spaced Reflection, Additional Quality Settings & Haze Flare & A FOV slider, Very simple but they get the job done. You can't bind 1 key to lean left or right which is sad but you do get a toggle lean which allows you to look up & over down & about or left & right it takes some getting used tro but it's not actually that bad. The rest is very simple key bindings resolution & sadly no audio controls except for master volume it would have been nice to be able to force the game to run in surrounf instead of what windows runs default but hey again it gets the job done & it's nothing that really effects game play.

    5 Stealth: Now for some this is a touchy subject many people have said "It looks like metro last lights stealth" well yes & no its no splinter cell or thief game, But you can't just kill somebody right in front of another AI enemy whilst their back is turned because if the two enemies are cloes together or within their peripheral vision they will notice it so stealth is a bit touchy in this game but it does a great job with it. It's actually pretty hard to do stealth on uber mode & it does a much better job then metro last lights stealth elements.

    6 Weapons: Everything from Unreal Tournament's flak cannon to underslung rockets on your assault rifles this games gun play is beyond satisfying dual wielding Unreal Tournament's flak cannons? HELL YES!!!! the guns are loud, proud & HUGE! just like you would expect in a 1990's shooter. Weapon upgrades can be found throughout the game's levels & each one of them offering something fun.

    7 The World & It's Story: Visually this game surprised me the graphics of the world are compelling & lots of atmosphere especially the moon level visually again the textures are very good I don't think I have seen a single texture over used all be it not the best graphics but definitely better then a lot of games these days. Trapped in a vegetative state for 14 years, Wolfenstein hero B.J. Blazkowicz awakens to a 1960 dominated by Nazis and a life no-longer solely defined by the killing of them. A alternate history reality where nazis won world war 2. The story is very compelling & it gets you hooked in imediately especially if you're a scifi nut and/or history nut I don't want to ruin much but the ending is sad.

    8 The Characters & BJ's Relationshhips With Them: I can't help but feel drawn into the world of wolfenstein the new order because of the way the characters react to you & what's going on around them there is just a lot of emotion between you & all the others lots of sadness lots of love lots of hatred & anger. New characters introduced just in time to die tragically, old war buddies now confined to wheelchairs, a ragtag band of misfits overcoming adversity and making a stand. You get to see a side of BJ as well filled with remorse over an early-game choice. During slower moments to his innermost thoughts reflections on childhood traumas and dreams for the future. & if you sit & listen in stealth mode for a bit the nazis will have convos about real world issues they actually have a personality. I can't help but feel drawn into the world of wolfenstein the new order. My rating 10 out of 10 keyboards.
    Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    One of the BEST FPS games of the last years. Graphics, sound, controls are great, but what is really superb is the story. An alternate routeOne of the BEST FPS games of the last years. Graphics, sound, controls are great, but what is really superb is the story. An alternate route of history and most important of all (especially after this years euro-elections), it sends out a strong anti-nazi, anti-fascist message. Congrats to Bethesda. This is the way games are meant to be ! Expand
  3. May 20, 2014
    10
    Although not bringing masses to the fps market, Wolfenstein is propped up by successful writing, plot and graphics. The characters areAlthough not bringing masses to the fps market, Wolfenstein is propped up by successful writing, plot and graphics. The characters are relatable and Wolfenstein is an overall very good game. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2015
    9
    Good graphics, gameplay (even though it has what I see a high number of cutscenes) good sound effects, and excelent storyline, The only issuesGood graphics, gameplay (even though it has what I see a high number of cutscenes) good sound effects, and excelent storyline, The only issues is the unbelievable size after install (50GB) that clogs up smaller HDs and the mentioned cutscene issue, Expand
  5. May 26, 2014
    8
    Above-average FPS shooter, based on imaginative alternative Nazi history mixed in with characters and a story that helps propel the actionAbove-average FPS shooter, based on imaginative alternative Nazi history mixed in with characters and a story that helps propel the action forward at a nice pace. Some imaginative detail in the environments. Enemy AI is sometimes challenging, as flanking manoeuvres or storm-troopers with armour can be particularly challenging if you don’t have the right ammo/weapon. In fact, on the higher difficulty levels, some of the combat scenarios are pretty tricky. Unexpectedly good stealth elements to the game allow for some degree of choice as to how you progress through levels, but even when alarms are raised and gun-battle commences, it is mostly a lot of fun. There’s also an impressive set of solid weapons to play with, and even duel-wield and upgrade.
    I had some texture pop-in issues, exactly the same as with Rage, but after downloading a beta Nvidia driver, the issue was mostly resolved.
    Regarding the tone of this nod to Inglorious Bastards, I couldn’t help but stab, shoot and kill Nazis with a certain amount of glee. There’s no love lost here for the future Nazis, after the opening sequence you feel a certain amount of blood boil and literally just want to get to the end as quickly as possible and enact a violent retribution upon the main villain. Ethically I have no problem with this, as long as you take it in the same vein as watching a Tarantino movie. You’re asked to commit an enormous amount of violence, but at no point did I feel worried that I had become “as bad” as them. There’s also some dry humour here too. Imagine walking around a Nazi moon base and reading a newspaper cutting that says that Brits have gone off fish & chips and now find sauerkraut more palatable!
    As much as I generally enjoyed playing this game and would definitely recommend it to those looking for a challenging and engaging FPS single-player campaign, I’m taking two-points away from Wolfenstein: The New Order for two reasons: Firstly, the final boss sequence is literally impossible on the harder levels, and rather annoying and not a lot of fun; the ending seems a tad rushed. The other reason is due to the texture pop-in issue. Surely someone should have realised, post-Rage, that the ID tech, whatever it is, has graphical/driver issue that should be fixed BEFORE launch. Was kind of annoying.
    Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    First, let me start off by saying that I am not "really" a big FPS fan. I've played a lot of shooting games back in the days (quake, unreal,First, let me start off by saying that I am not "really" a big FPS fan. I've played a lot of shooting games back in the days (quake, unreal, F.E.A.R, battlefield, CoD and many more...) but have been hooked to aRPG / MMOs for years now.

    Now, I have played many of the "recent" FPS titles but always ended up leaving the games aside for a reason or another. CoD: Ghost got me bored after only 3 hours of gaming, Crysis 3 was graphically stunning but kinda got repetitive and more like a chore to play for me.

    The problem with many new titles these days (not only FPS) is that they try to be "unique" and sometimes focus too much on "new" gameplay features rather than the actual content of the game. Wolfenstein: The New Order is not original in that regard and offers a rather traditional game play, so no surprises there.
    Progressing through the waves of enemies can be a bit dull in the way that there is not a huge variety of them but the AI is not the worst I've seen in a FPS game.

    All of that aside, Wolfenstein: TNO kept me hooked until the very end. The strongest point of the game is clearly the story, and more precisely the way it is integrated to the game play. Some people might not like the "lack of originality" when it comes to controls but after finishing the game, I thought that the play through was rather "natural" and intuitive.

    The graphics are not "next gen" but pretty good. Crysis 3 did a bit better in that regard but people who rate the game 0 because they are not satisfied with the textures are a bit silly. (But hey, it's the internet!)
    I didn't find that controls were a problems in any way ("finger gymnastics" as mentioned by some people) and experienced one minor bug only through the whole game (went through the floor while trying to jump where i wasn't supposed to). There are occasionally however as mentioned by a few people collision issues with bigger sized enemies that basically make them harmless.

    I had no expectations and knew nothing about this title before actually playing it. I felt that some parts were a bit over the top but overall it had been a while since I enjoyed a FPS game like this. I liked the characters and their development through the game.

    Despite being a bit linear, I feel that the game should keep most people interested until the end.

    Gameplay / controls: 6/10 (because a bit linear / not innovative)
    Graphics: 8/10 (It's not next gen, but it's good)
    Story: 8/10 (It's not perfect, but it does the job well)

    I give it a 7 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2015
    0
    I really can't explain myself why this childish game need 64 bit. When I was hit in the face with those white-ish poor textures, I've lost allI really can't explain myself why this childish game need 64 bit. When I was hit in the face with those white-ish poor textures, I've lost all interest in playing this simple run and gun. No buy from me! I've tried the game at a friend... Expand

See all 366 User Reviews