Wolfenstein PC

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 279
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdenC
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    This game was brilliant, it wasn't revolutionary or packed with the most intense storylines ever seen, but then who said every game must have that. It seems too many people reviewing games have a checklist like the one below:: Graphics: Good Sound: Good Story: Good Cinematics: Good Gameplay: Rubbish Overall: Good Excuse my example above but a game is more than a sum of its parts. This game was brilliant, it wasn't revolutionary or packed with the most intense storylines ever seen, but then who said every game must have that. It seems too many people reviewing games have a checklist like the one below:: Graphics: Good Sound: Good Story: Good Cinematics: Good Gameplay: Rubbish Overall: Good Excuse my example above but a game is more than a sum of its parts. This game is a look back at how action packed first person shooters used to be, atmospheric, intense, hardcore, fun and not taking themselves too seriously. It seems if Half-life 1 was released today people would give it really bad reviews because they wouldn't find it 'groundbreaking' enough. This game has a beautiful engine that is not overcrowded, cumbersome and detrimental to gameplay. The game has a beautiful array of weapons, powers and Nazi's with a death wish. The enemies are fun to fight and the game itself is very immersive. Too many FPS games around these days cater for the console market and are dumbed down, this however is an example of a classic shooter that I will remember fondly, sadly I can't say the same for alot of the rubbish thats around today. In conclusion support the few people who still make games with the hardcore dedicated fans in mind and buy this game now!!! p.s. if you dont like first person shooters don't buy them and don't review them giving good games a bad score please. Expand
  2. JimE
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    PC version is slow responding on PS game controller. Fair to moderate with mouse keyboard. Still all said and done, still a pretty good game.
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    I originally didn't know if I should purchase this game or not due to mixed reviews. If you like FPS games, then you should pick up this one. The story is far-fetched, but remember this is Wolfenstein. It's really fun to play and I played through the game 3 times after first purchasing it from Steam. This game doesn't try to be anything other than what it is, so stop trying to compareI originally didn't know if I should purchase this game or not due to mixed reviews. If you like FPS games, then you should pick up this one. The story is far-fetched, but remember this is Wolfenstein. It's really fun to play and I played through the game 3 times after first purchasing it from Steam. This game doesn't try to be anything other than what it is, so stop trying to compare it to other games .. many of which have their own drawbacks. The variety of the bosses will make you think (especially during the first playthrough) and there are many different stages to break the monotony of other FPS' (fight in hospitals, farms, streets, and of course castles). I also like how the maps sort of meld together making it feel like you're in one big overall map. Thank you ID for putting together a fun game for us traditional FPS fans. Expand
  4. KaarlS
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed this game a lot for my PC. The guns were all great and rewarded the player with satisfying kills. The sounds are done perfectly and create an intense environment in a heated battle. If you enjoy FPS games then you must give this game a play through, it's not revolutionary but it's still a very solid and entertaining shooter.
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Probably the dopest game i know of. Every damn thing in it is so satisfying. The guns and violence are unbelievably stunning. It's amazing how many games call themselves shooters but forgot to make shooting the best part of it. Finding hidden items is ACTUALLY fun in this game because they are required for upgrades and they're cleverly hidden. The dynamic between the medallion powers, theProbably the dopest game i know of. Every damn thing in it is so satisfying. The guns and violence are unbelievably stunning. It's amazing how many games call themselves shooters but forgot to make shooting the best part of it. Finding hidden items is ACTUALLY fun in this game because they are required for upgrades and they're cleverly hidden. The dynamic between the medallion powers, the guns themselves, and the epic brutality of the game will knock you out of your chair. I'll tell you this, once you have the particle cannon, the tesla gun, and the leichenfaust, you will crap yourself in amazement while you tear through challenging but ultimately helpless groups of enemies. Oh ya, and there are boss battles. Dope. OH YA, make sure you play on "I am death incarnate" difficulty. It's the most fun. Expand
  6. ThomasS.
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    Graphics are not something be proud of, but they are decent at least. this game would have been a 10 if it was a new IP, but blending this rather good game with the wolfenstein world was just a horrible decision. The game runs smoothly, contains lots of action, lots of cool weapons and a lot of interesting missions. i agree that this game is underrated as it is, cause it deserves at least Graphics are not something be proud of, but they are decent at least. this game would have been a 10 if it was a new IP, but blending this rather good game with the wolfenstein world was just a horrible decision. The game runs smoothly, contains lots of action, lots of cool weapons and a lot of interesting missions. i agree that this game is underrated as it is, cause it deserves at least 8 if not 9. the story could be improved though, but the missions are always different, and never gets repetetive, which is a big plus for a shooter! you just have to consider this game a new IP, and stop thinking of it as a wolfenstein game. if you can do that, then you should buy this game instantly, cause it's worth the money. i would personally tell you not to buy the console versions though, all servers are private hosted, and therefore all the servers lag and hit detection gets awfull. many different game modes in the multiplayer game and upgrades for your guns and veil abilities. have fun and enjoy. Expand
  7. SeymourP.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Usually I would rate this game a 8-9, but it is beeing seriously underrated by the reviewers - just like Dark Messiah was back in 2006. The SP part is very solid, not better and not worse than other recent releases. The MP portion of the game provides a nice example for well done classic modes like DM and stuff. If you like shooters you can give this one a try, 7 is certainly not an Usually I would rate this game a 8-9, but it is beeing seriously underrated by the reviewers - just like Dark Messiah was back in 2006. The SP part is very solid, not better and not worse than other recent releases. The MP portion of the game provides a nice example for well done classic modes like DM and stuff. If you like shooters you can give this one a try, 7 is certainly not an appropriate score for this one. Expand
  8. funkymarlon
    Nov 1, 2009
    6
    Shooting Nazis is great! But from the POV of a bubble head it's really freaking annoying. Very much a lack-luster in graphics and sound.
  9. CB
    Oct 1, 2009
    5
    Considering how much RTCW raised the bar in terms of a FPS experience, this game fails to meet the expectations I had for this franchise in many ways. First is Gameplay, it is bad for a few reasons. The game trains you early on to look for weak spots on enemies and objects, it highlights these weak spots in red, however, later on in the game, these red weak spots are used only some of the Considering how much RTCW raised the bar in terms of a FPS experience, this game fails to meet the expectations I had for this franchise in many ways. First is Gameplay, it is bad for a few reasons. The game trains you early on to look for weak spots on enemies and objects, it highlights these weak spots in red, however, later on in the game, these red weak spots are used only some of the time, leaving you wondering how to complete a mission or reach an objective, or kill a boss. You will die many needless deaths because of this. The AI in this game is just awful, enemies will throw gernades and then run into them, you can shoot people's heads off, but if they fall off a ledge they will scream with no head. You can shoot enemies that are no aware of you yet with a sniper rifle and they will continue to walk like nothing happened. In terms of strategy simply wait in a corner and any grunts you alerted will eventually walk in front of you making for an easy kill, if they don't blow themselves up first. Graphics do the job, they look the part, the veil world is a nice touch but the entire open world setting could have been dropped in favor of cut scenes like the original. The open world ends up becoming a pain later on in the game once you're weapons are upgraded, you will simply switch to the veil world just to run fast through the maps. Sound will react dynamically to the action on the screen, however, it's buggy, many times it will continue to play the suspenseful music while nothing is happening simply because 1 gaurd is lost on the map trying to find you. The weapon upgrade ability is a cool feature, however if you miss a gold bag/bar while playing a mission, you can't go back to that mission to replay it, so if you miss any secrets or gold it's gone until you play again. The game is decent, but not what you would expect from a AAA title especially considering that its wolfenstein, it's worth playing, but only as a rental or a year from now when it's $20 used at the game store. Expand
  10. JaeQ
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    The SP is phenomenal and I couldn't understand what all the fuss was about. Then I played MP and saw what the deal was. At first sight, mp seemed horrible. But seriously learn the game (it's a lot diff than mp), play in the real modes (not tdm) and you'll have a blast especially since this is a very supportive company.
  11. AbdullahS.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    I dont normally like WW II shooters but believe me when i say that this game is a blast. As Jae Q said the SP is phenomnal. On the low side, the graphics are bit outdated but still nice. I found MP a bit lacking... But if you want a good SP experience dun miss this one.
  12. SebastianE.
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Wolfenstein is not a genre revolution but something I've been looking for since I finished Prey: a very good and atmospheric shooter, put together by a bunch of people how know how to do it. It runs even on low end systems but is looking good on high end systems. The multiplayer mode could have been a lot better but still Wolfenstein will give you a run for it's money.
  13. MattM
    Sep 12, 2009
    9
    I can easily say playing this game is the most fun I've had in a single player FPS since Call of Duty 4. Easily. The single player mode intense, engaging, and just plain fun. I'm starting to question all these bad reviews who slam Wolfenstein solely for its lack originality. One review states "Wolfenstein doesn't Revolutionize the genre..." (many reviews state similar I can easily say playing this game is the most fun I've had in a single player FPS since Call of Duty 4. Easily. The single player mode intense, engaging, and just plain fun. I'm starting to question all these bad reviews who slam Wolfenstein solely for its lack originality. One review states "Wolfenstein doesn't Revolutionize the genre..." (many reviews state similar things) Really? Is that what we really want? For each game ever released to sequentially revolutionize its genre? Is it not enough to just be a great game? a fun game (isn't that the reason we play, for fun)? Now every game is scrutinized unless it, in some way, reinvents the genre. Doesn't anyone else see this as an unrealistic expectation? Maybe its just me be I like the way FPS shooters are now. Why so much emphasis "revolutionizing"? Take a look at Fallout3. Sure it put a new twist on FPS combat... but it was awkward and sucked. It became trivial, involved zero skill, and was boring. Anyway, Wolfenstein did a great job of incorporating many different elements that make a good FPS work. AI and several other things may not be perfect, but in all it is a great game worth playing for the single player alone. Expand
  14. BenR
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    It was a great relief when i found out that the new wolfensWein was not going to be another remake of the original. Last week i rushed out to "EB Games" and purchased it for $99.99 (AUD). Now, you might think this is a ripoff, but I'm giving the comment and i say its NOT. When i got that kill on the train station i was instantly hooked. The graphics were great and the game runs It was a great relief when i found out that the new wolfensWein was not going to be another remake of the original. Last week i rushed out to "EB Games" and purchased it for $99.99 (AUD). Now, you might think this is a ripoff, but I'm giving the comment and i say its NOT. When i got that kill on the train station i was instantly hooked. The graphics were great and the game runs smoothly on my new GTX285, i also liked the sound in the game. The other Wolfenstein games focused on gameplay and graphics but lacked some sound quality, Eg, the sound of each weapon being fired or an explosion, But Raven and ID must have have concentrated on all aspects, and they did a good job. This is a great game and i think it is currently one of the best FPS games of the year. THIS GAME IS UNDERRATED! PLEASE BUY IT AND SEE FOR YOUR SELF! Expand
  15. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing; the first level, your thinking: whats so special about this, I'm just shooting people with boring old normal guns. Then suddenly, holy crap. The game goes nuts. You get particle cannons. Tesla cannons. Flame throwers that shoot like 30m. Rocket launchers. And the dogs bollocks, the leichenfaust 44, which shoots a high energy wave of death at your foes with disintegrates them on contact.

    Then the enemies! You get Plasma warriors, (carry Particle Cannons). Flame Warriors, (carry Flammenwerfers - Flame Throwers). You get women with their **** showing who do like martial arts. You get women with green energy whips. you get demented possessed skeletons. and the Boss a hunk with two mini guns, (one in each hand).

    The graphics are alright but not as good as other games like dead space 2. It is a fairly old game now though, ( for PS3).

    If you don't buy it your insane.

    Warning: very boring after first playthrough, but if you leave it for about 4-6 months then play it again you kinda forget what happens so its more interesting
    Expand
  16. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    This game is almost perfect. I don't know why did people rated so low this master piece. It has magic, action and nice graphics. It's nice, buddies.
  17. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Sometime I don't understand the (user) ratings on metacritic at all. I would say Wolfenstein is every bit as much as fun as it predecessor (Return to Castle Wolfenstein). It improved in some areas: graphics might not be amazing, but they're good enough to be atmospheric (especially the visuals of the "veil", the ominous dimension the Nazis discovered), and the gameplay has actuallySometime I don't understand the (user) ratings on metacritic at all. I would say Wolfenstein is every bit as much as fun as it predecessor (Return to Castle Wolfenstein). It improved in some areas: graphics might not be amazing, but they're good enough to be atmospheric (especially the visuals of the "veil", the ominous dimension the Nazis discovered), and the gameplay has actually improved due to the "magic" powers (slowing time, activating a short term shield) with the occult amulet. It play like a mixture between a traditional FPS and Deus Ex. What got worse, perhaps, is the level design: RTCW had amazing (single player) maps, and Wolfenstein only has "meh" maps so far. But taken together, I have as much fun in single player as I had with RTCW. I'm torn between rating it 8 or 9, but since the game is underrated IMO, I'll go with 9. Expand
  18. Dec 7, 2015
    9
    This is is a very good game. I love ripping the enemies apart, but I hate the multiplayer. Still, quite enjoyable, especially with the Leichenfaust 44, the anti-gravity-one-shotting-rocket gun.
  19. Pravinb
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    WOW, just finished the Single player part. I cant believe how the heck this game got so many bad reviews. This is my first review ever and my English is bad. So plz forgive me if there are any mistakes! There are some aspects on which we enjoy or review the game.( They are not treditional parameters but are those which a games notices while playing a game) Graphics:- 10 on 10 I dont think WOW, just finished the Single player part. I cant believe how the heck this game got so many bad reviews. This is my first review ever and my English is bad. So plz forgive me if there are any mistakes! There are some aspects on which we enjoy or review the game.( They are not treditional parameters but are those which a games notices while playing a game) Graphics:- 10 on 10 I dont think the graphics were bad! Seriously. Who cares what engines is being used. The graphics were stunning. YES. Believe me. I have played Crysis, Crysis warhead, Prototype, COD 4, COD 5, Bionic commando, gears of wars, Mirror's edge etc. I think there were very good minute details provided in the game, as various powers effect, barrel changing their shapes after using Veil energy(3 times), flying creatures after using vail effects, extremely beautiful environment effects, models sure are beautiful. One thing that surprises me that meny people say this game is GREEN, coz i think those people have not played GEARS OF WAR. That game didn't had any color other than grey. And still people found that graphics FANTASTIC. Prototype had cartoonish graphics which didnt looked real at any point of time. Animation:- WOW Remember the first guy you kill in the first level at railway station. Dont you think the that FELT fantastic.Those were really fluent. Its really satisfying to see that guy dying in the proper manner. The other game you will feel the same is COD 4. On top of that this game has very good destructible environment. A.I. : 8 on 10 Yes the a.i. is not that good. Our allies keep comin in our way. Enemy coming streight into the line of fire. BUT they are not horrible and still serve the purpose of providing good gameplay ( i played on HARD difficulty so others views may be differnt about A.I.) Mission Varity :- 10 on 10 We do have some difficult tasks to do in various beautiful levels. On one mession we are in Airfield and for another we had to go to farm. Cmon, i don't think anyone will say tat the mission were repeatative as GEARS OF WAR or PROTOTYPE. BOSSES:- 9 on 10. Bosses were really good and different. One strategy cannot be used with another boss. They were not only differet but also great fun as Serious Sam. SOUND : 10 on 10. I am yet to read any bad thing in this department, so i have nothing to say. ( i havnt played multiplayer so i cant comment on it!.) DONT BELIEVE CRITICS. So those gamers who have not yet played the game, plz go ahead and buy it. Its probably one of the top 5 fps realeased in this year. Expand
  20. s60
    Dec 23, 2010
    6
    To start off with the DRM is very picky about whether it will run or not, took a while to get it to just be able to run, this game was not nearly as fun as the original wolfenstein, the missions were ok but to get to each you have to go through the main town killing the enemies there which I am certain exist solely for the purpose of making the game take longer so they could say the gameTo start off with the DRM is very picky about whether it will run or not, took a while to get it to just be able to run, this game was not nearly as fun as the original wolfenstein, the missions were ok but to get to each you have to go through the main town killing the enemies there which I am certain exist solely for the purpose of making the game take longer so they could say the game length was longer, it does not add anything to the gameplay, if the town section was removed it would be a pretty decent game Expand
  21. Andyg
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    Average graphice. far too easy, I can't remember running out of ammo at any point. Unlimited recharges of your powers at points all over the place. I played on one down from the top level. The deaths look good, shooting in the throat and the guy drops to the floor gurgling, pretty nice. Some abolutely terrible features. You have to make your way to a resistance fighter secret cellar. Average graphice. far too easy, I can't remember running out of ammo at any point. Unlimited recharges of your powers at points all over the place. I played on one down from the top level. The deaths look good, shooting in the throat and the guy drops to the floor gurgling, pretty nice. Some abolutely terrible features. You have to make your way to a resistance fighter secret cellar. When you get to the house you see a massive red logo painted above the door. I guess the SS couldn't see this for some reason. Some of the NPC's eyes are looking away over your shoulder when you are speaking to them too. A bit annoying as I thought I might have had dandruf on my collar! Expand
  22. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    Love it! Superbly crafted and great fun. Games don't need to be revolutionary to be good and this game is proof positive that by pushing tried and tested gameplay mechanics you can still get a good game. I regret missing this game when it was first released and have only just got around to playing it all the way through. The crazy comic book genre mash up concept of Wolfenstein is wellLove it! Superbly crafted and great fun. Games don't need to be revolutionary to be good and this game is proof positive that by pushing tried and tested gameplay mechanics you can still get a good game. I regret missing this game when it was first released and have only just got around to playing it all the way through. The crazy comic book genre mash up concept of Wolfenstein is well realised with some very stylish and cool design throughout. The graphics are excellent overall and Raven have achieved a great atmosphere from good use of soft HDR lighting to embellish the period, special effects and superb sound. Special mention must go out to Bill Browns music which really contributes to Wolfensteins barn storming WW2 set pieces. There are some great action and suspense orchestral beats. As you would expect from ID and Raven the weapons are amazing. I never get tired of spinning up the particle gun and hosing down an entire platoon of Nazis. Animations are nice and the way enemies react to getting shot makes the combat very satisfying with the addition of special powers adding good variety and tactics. It has a more exploration driven game structure after the strictly linear Return to Castle Wolfenstein. Overall, this is an FSP I can highly recommend to anyone who loves the genre. I can't understand the mediocre reviews at all. Great stuff! Expand
  23. Sep 15, 2010
    5
    This game is painfully mediocre. The graphics are ok, but pretty far away from what you get from the Modern Warfare games (even the first part); the gameplay is lacking. Don't get me wrong, you most likely will finish tte game, you'll even enjoy it more often than not. But the fact remains that when compared to Return to Castle Wolfenstein this game seems to lack ambition. I also reallyThis game is painfully mediocre. The graphics are ok, but pretty far away from what you get from the Modern Warfare games (even the first part); the gameplay is lacking. Don't get me wrong, you most likely will finish tte game, you'll even enjoy it more often than not. But the fact remains that when compared to Return to Castle Wolfenstein this game seems to lack ambition. I also really missed the feel and atmosphere of the previous installment. Expand
  24. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    i bought this game very cheap and thankfully didnt waste 60 dollars when it came out because this game isnt worth that much.the game starts of in call of duty fashion but after 20 minutes i realized that i was running in the same town.for few missions there is a truck which will carry you to mission location andafter job is done you will come back in town again.the gameplay is very uniquei bought this game very cheap and thankfully didnt waste 60 dollars when it came out because this game isnt worth that much.the game starts of in call of duty fashion but after 20 minutes i realized that i was running in the same town.for few missions there is a truck which will carry you to mission location andafter job is done you will come back in town again.the gameplay is very unique and well done but there is a serious lack of variety in enemies.i bought this game finished it next day and sold it the same day.if you searching for endless shooting then buy this. Expand
  25. TomD
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    Just awful, took so long to get it to work on my PC. And the game itself was just another bland FPS shooter, with nothing of the id charm it's predecessors had.
  26. DN
    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    Seeing the fact that the only thing thats Wolfenstein about this game, is the name. Singleplayer part was barely playable, and the Multiplayer part was, and is, an insult to anyone who ever liked the previous games. A sure waste of your money.
  27. rivrs
    Nov 28, 2009
    0
    The game was unfinished, no support, no mp fixes, no communication... its dead on arrival. idsoftware has fallen to their lowest with no attempt made to fix this sorry excuse. Activision has just gotten to big and really the worst publisher at this point.
  28. JeffF
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    Sadly with Wolfenstein, Raven has added another venerable Id IP to its list of twisted franchises. Like Quake 4, people will find themselves asking "why bother with this when its predecessor is so much better?" Wolfenstein will offer slow paced gameplay featuring tiny teams, tiny maps on which to play, poorly conceived classes, and a lack of game type options. Expect to find this title in Sadly with Wolfenstein, Raven has added another venerable Id IP to its list of twisted franchises. Like Quake 4, people will find themselves asking "why bother with this when its predecessor is so much better?" Wolfenstein will offer slow paced gameplay featuring tiny teams, tiny maps on which to play, poorly conceived classes, and a lack of game type options. Expect to find this title in the bargain bin in record time. Expand
  29. JacobS
    Sep 14, 2009
    3
    Very disappointed. I tried to like it, I wanted to like it! When I think Wolfenstein, I think heavy shooter lite to no story. What you get here is a bland attempt to cross RPG elements with a fast paced shooter. Why fix what isn't broken?? The story was so boring and uninteresting. The veil gimmick is so transparent and uncalled for, though a cool effect that might be fine IN A NEW Very disappointed. I tried to like it, I wanted to like it! When I think Wolfenstein, I think heavy shooter lite to no story. What you get here is a bland attempt to cross RPG elements with a fast paced shooter. Why fix what isn't broken?? The story was so boring and uninteresting. The veil gimmick is so transparent and uncalled for, though a cool effect that might be fine IN A NEW IP. The atmosphere felt nothing like RTCW's masterpiece. Skip this game. Expand
  30. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    I have no idea why the same people that loved Return to Castle Wolfenstein don't like this game as much. In fact, I think I like Wolfenstein 2009 even a bit better. Here's why.

    **************************************************************************************************** First, play the game on 'hard' difficulty, please. Some people here complain the game is too easy, but on
    I have no idea why the same people that loved Return to Castle Wolfenstein don't like this game as much. In fact, I think I like Wolfenstein 2009 even a bit better. Here's why.

    ****************************************************************************************************

    First, play the game on 'hard' difficulty, please. Some people here complain the game is too easy, but on 'hard', you'll have a challenge. The enemies act suprisingly smart: the human ones run for cover, the supernatural ones charge you, then retreat again. It all feels very natural. The best levels are, in my opinion, the late stages of the town Isenstad you discover. There's an area, where resistance fighters and Nazis battle for supremacy, around some castle entrance. Now, this is not a sandbox game, so the the dynamics are more or less predetermined, and the resistance never wins. But just walking into this scene looks marvelous, like a war movie, only with uber-engineered Nazi Super soldiers that looks like Battlemechs, and undead Nazi officers that radiate pure evil. This particular scene, I would often replay: walk into the area, join the fight, and once it's over, leave the area and re-enter, just to play it again (it changes a bit every time).

    ****************************************************************************************************

    There are two things I loved the most about this game. Number 1: it is relatively "non-linear", at least for an FPS. Not all areas are like the battle ground described above, some are more restrictive (only one way leads to the end), but in general, enemies emerge relatively naturally, so it doesn't feel too scripted, and how you defeat them is up to you: rushing into them, using all your powers to quickly overwhelm them, or cautiously kill them one by one. The game allows both playing styles, and I like that. ****************************************************************************************************

    Number 2: the biggest strength of this game for me is the design, both of the world and of the enemies. The enemies look, sound and behave fantastic. The standard soldiers are nothing new, sure, but the power armor super soldier, or the undead Nazi officers look stunning. Are you old enough to remember the original Doom? Do you remember how your heart skipped a beat when you entered a room and suddenly heard the familiar "clank, clank" sound, the sound that gave away cyber demon? That feeling is back, for several foes. Here's the most scary one: you run into an open area. Suddenly seeing some faint green or red glow in the distance. Now you only have a breathless second to think, oh **** before the undead reincarnation of an SS officer stands in front of you, streams of menacing energy emanating from his body, and he splits you in half. The visual design of the world is equally amazing, maybe the best level: a giant Nazi Zeppelin. It all has the visually powerful, expensive feel of an Indiana Jones or Hellboy movie. This combiation of Diesel Punk and Nazi Occultism is not new, other games and movies have done it before, but it is pulled off brilliant in this game, and, in my opinion, is even more satisfying than in RTCW. ****************************************************************************************************

    That said, the game is not perfect: it is a bit too short. Also, it is missing some really big levels, with a wide area of engagement, like RTCW had. Finally, if you play it on 'hard', it's challenging, but not consistently so: you yourself die very easily on 'hard' difficulty (any attack of a stronger enemy kills you, which is good). But with the right "crystal powers" (slowing time, overcharging your attack, shield), even the strongest (non boss) enemy dies very quickly as well. I would have preferred if some extra strong enemies would have had more health, and it would take you a long time before you can destroy them. The way it is now, if you react fast, activate the right powers, you kill any enemy in a few seconds. If you make a mistake, you die. But there are no (non-boss) enemies that "put up a fight", i.e. that you have to work on for a minute before they go down. That makes the game play a bit too shallow sometimes.

    ****************************************************************************************************

    Summary: A great game, every bit as good as Return to Castle Wolfenstein. The "crystal powers" (like slowing time) work very well, the game is challening if played on 'hard', but the best part is the visual design of the world and the enemies: it feels just viscerally satisfying to fight those beautifully designed power-armor Nazis or the glowing undead officers that I can forgive the minor game play problems.
    Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. In the end this is a by the numbers shooter with slick graphics, and ample opportunity to shoot supercharged Nazis. It's not going to win any awards but it's worth checking out if you’re looking for a weekend to pass the time shooting everyone's favorite bad guys.
  2. Dated look and tired “twists” of the barely noticeable story fail to impress. Wolfenstein is a true mediocrity in all regards – it has neither shameful slip-ups nor flashes of inspiration.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    70
    Throw away your fears – this game is not “oldie and weirdie” as some can assume. It’s a smart fast shooter with a couple of great features. Pity some elements don’t work as intended. [Sept 2009]