Wolfenstein PC

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 240

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdenC
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    This game was brilliant, it wasn't revolutionary or packed with the most intense storylines ever seen, but then who said every game must have that. It seems too many people reviewing games have a checklist like the one below:: Graphics: Good Sound: Good Story: Good Cinematics: Good Gameplay: Rubbish Overall: Good Excuse my example above but a game is more than a sum of its parts. This game was brilliant, it wasn't revolutionary or packed with the most intense storylines ever seen, but then who said every game must have that. It seems too many people reviewing games have a checklist like the one below:: Graphics: Good Sound: Good Story: Good Cinematics: Good Gameplay: Rubbish Overall: Good Excuse my example above but a game is more than a sum of its parts. This game is a look back at how action packed first person shooters used to be, atmospheric, intense, hardcore, fun and not taking themselves too seriously. It seems if Half-life 1 was released today people would give it really bad reviews because they wouldn't find it 'groundbreaking' enough. This game has a beautiful engine that is not overcrowded, cumbersome and detrimental to gameplay. The game has a beautiful array of weapons, powers and Nazi's with a death wish. The enemies are fun to fight and the game itself is very immersive. Too many FPS games around these days cater for the console market and are dumbed down, this however is an example of a classic shooter that I will remember fondly, sadly I can't say the same for alot of the rubbish thats around today. In conclusion support the few people who still make games with the hardcore dedicated fans in mind and buy this game now!!! p.s. if you dont like first person shooters don't buy them and don't review them giving good games a bad score please. Collapse
  2. JimE
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    PC version is slow responding on PS game controller. Fair to moderate with mouse keyboard. Still all said and done, still a pretty good game.
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    I originally didn't know if I should purchase this game or not due to mixed reviews. If you like FPS games, then you should pick up this one. The story is far-fetched, but remember this is Wolfenstein. It's really fun to play and I played through the game 3 times after first purchasing it from Steam. This game doesn't try to be anything other than what it is, so stop trying to compareI originally didn't know if I should purchase this game or not due to mixed reviews. If you like FPS games, then you should pick up this one. The story is far-fetched, but remember this is Wolfenstein. It's really fun to play and I played through the game 3 times after first purchasing it from Steam. This game doesn't try to be anything other than what it is, so stop trying to compare it to other games .. many of which have their own drawbacks. The variety of the bosses will make you think (especially during the first playthrough) and there are many different stages to break the monotony of other FPS' (fight in hospitals, farms, streets, and of course castles). I also like how the maps sort of meld together making it feel like you're in one big overall map. Thank you ID for putting together a fun game for us traditional FPS fans. Expand
  4. KaarlS
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed this game a lot for my PC. The guns were all great and rewarded the player with satisfying kills. The sounds are done perfectly and create an intense environment in a heated battle. If you enjoy FPS games then you must give this game a play through, it's not revolutionary but it's still a very solid and entertaining shooter.
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Probably the dopest game i know of. Every damn thing in it is so satisfying. The guns and violence are unbelievably stunning. It's amazing how many games call themselves shooters but forgot to make shooting the best part of it. Finding hidden items is ACTUALLY fun in this game because they are required for upgrades and they're cleverly hidden. The dynamic between the medallion powers, theProbably the dopest game i know of. Every damn thing in it is so satisfying. The guns and violence are unbelievably stunning. It's amazing how many games call themselves shooters but forgot to make shooting the best part of it. Finding hidden items is ACTUALLY fun in this game because they are required for upgrades and they're cleverly hidden. The dynamic between the medallion powers, the guns themselves, and the epic brutality of the game will knock you out of your chair. I'll tell you this, once you have the particle cannon, the tesla gun, and the leichenfaust, you will crap yourself in amazement while you tear through challenging but ultimately helpless groups of enemies. Oh ya, and there are boss battles. Dope. OH YA, make sure you play on "I am death incarnate" difficulty. It's the most fun. Expand
  6. ThomasS.
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    Graphics are not something be proud of, but they are decent at least. this game would have been a 10 if it was a new IP, but blending this rather good game with the wolfenstein world was just a horrible decision. The game runs smoothly, contains lots of action, lots of cool weapons and a lot of interesting missions. i agree that this game is underrated as it is, cause it deserves at least Graphics are not something be proud of, but they are decent at least. this game would have been a 10 if it was a new IP, but blending this rather good game with the wolfenstein world was just a horrible decision. The game runs smoothly, contains lots of action, lots of cool weapons and a lot of interesting missions. i agree that this game is underrated as it is, cause it deserves at least 8 if not 9. the story could be improved though, but the missions are always different, and never gets repetetive, which is a big plus for a shooter! you just have to consider this game a new IP, and stop thinking of it as a wolfenstein game. if you can do that, then you should buy this game instantly, cause it's worth the money. i would personally tell you not to buy the console versions though, all servers are private hosted, and therefore all the servers lag and hit detection gets awfull. many different game modes in the multiplayer game and upgrades for your guns and veil abilities. have fun and enjoy. Expand
  7. SeymourP.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Usually I would rate this game a 8-9, but it is beeing seriously underrated by the reviewers - just like Dark Messiah was back in 2006. The SP part is very solid, not better and not worse than other recent releases. The MP portion of the game provides a nice example for well done classic modes like DM and stuff. If you like shooters you can give this one a try, 7 is certainly not an Usually I would rate this game a 8-9, but it is beeing seriously underrated by the reviewers - just like Dark Messiah was back in 2006. The SP part is very solid, not better and not worse than other recent releases. The MP portion of the game provides a nice example for well done classic modes like DM and stuff. If you like shooters you can give this one a try, 7 is certainly not an appropriate score for this one. Expand
  8. funkymarlon
    Nov 1, 2009
    6
    Shooting Nazis is great! But from the POV of a bubble head it's really freaking annoying. Very much a lack-luster in graphics and sound.
  9. CB
    Oct 1, 2009
    5
    Considering how much RTCW raised the bar in terms of a FPS experience, this game fails to meet the expectations I had for this franchise in many ways. First is Gameplay, it is bad for a few reasons. The game trains you early on to look for weak spots on enemies and objects, it highlights these weak spots in red, however, later on in the game, these red weak spots are used only some of the Considering how much RTCW raised the bar in terms of a FPS experience, this game fails to meet the expectations I had for this franchise in many ways. First is Gameplay, it is bad for a few reasons. The game trains you early on to look for weak spots on enemies and objects, it highlights these weak spots in red, however, later on in the game, these red weak spots are used only some of the time, leaving you wondering how to complete a mission or reach an objective, or kill a boss. You will die many needless deaths because of this. The AI in this game is just awful, enemies will throw gernades and then run into them, you can shoot people's heads off, but if they fall off a ledge they will scream with no head. You can shoot enemies that are no aware of you yet with a sniper rifle and they will continue to walk like nothing happened. In terms of strategy simply wait in a corner and any grunts you alerted will eventually walk in front of you making for an easy kill, if they don't blow themselves up first. Graphics do the job, they look the part, the veil world is a nice touch but the entire open world setting could have been dropped in favor of cut scenes like the original. The open world ends up becoming a pain later on in the game once you're weapons are upgraded, you will simply switch to the veil world just to run fast through the maps. Sound will react dynamically to the action on the screen, however, it's buggy, many times it will continue to play the suspenseful music while nothing is happening simply because 1 gaurd is lost on the map trying to find you. The weapon upgrade ability is a cool feature, however if you miss a gold bag/bar while playing a mission, you can't go back to that mission to replay it, so if you miss any secrets or gold it's gone until you play again. The game is decent, but not what you would expect from a AAA title especially considering that its wolfenstein, it's worth playing, but only as a rental or a year from now when it's $20 used at the game store. Expand
  10. JaeQ
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    The SP is phenomenal and I couldn't understand what all the fuss was about. Then I played MP and saw what the deal was. At first sight, mp seemed horrible. But seriously learn the game (it's a lot diff than mp), play in the real modes (not tdm) and you'll have a blast especially since this is a very supportive company.
  11. AbdullahS.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    I dont normally like WW II shooters but believe me when i say that this game is a blast. As Jae Q said the SP is phenomnal. On the low side, the graphics are bit outdated but still nice. I found MP a bit lacking... But if you want a good SP experience dun miss this one.
  12. SebastianE.
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Wolfenstein is not a genre revolution but something I've been looking for since I finished Prey: a very good and atmospheric shooter, put together by a bunch of people how know how to do it. It runs even on low end systems but is looking good on high end systems. The multiplayer mode could have been a lot better but still Wolfenstein will give you a run for it's money.
  13. MattM
    Sep 12, 2009
    9
    I can easily say playing this game is the most fun I've had in a single player FPS since Call of Duty 4. Easily. The single player mode intense, engaging, and just plain fun. I'm starting to question all these bad reviews who slam Wolfenstein solely for its lack originality. One review states "Wolfenstein doesn't Revolutionize the genre..." (many reviews state similar I can easily say playing this game is the most fun I've had in a single player FPS since Call of Duty 4. Easily. The single player mode intense, engaging, and just plain fun. I'm starting to question all these bad reviews who slam Wolfenstein solely for its lack originality. One review states "Wolfenstein doesn't Revolutionize the genre..." (many reviews state similar things) Really? Is that what we really want? For each game ever released to sequentially revolutionize its genre? Is it not enough to just be a great game? a fun game (isn't that the reason we play, for fun)? Now every game is scrutinized unless it, in some way, reinvents the genre. Doesn't anyone else see this as an unrealistic expectation? Maybe its just me be I like the way FPS shooters are now. Why so much emphasis "revolutionizing"? Take a look at Fallout3. Sure it put a new twist on FPS combat... but it was awkward and sucked. It became trivial, involved zero skill, and was boring. Anyway, Wolfenstein did a great job of incorporating many different elements that make a good FPS work. AI and several other things may not be perfect, but in all it is a great game worth playing for the single player alone. Expand
  14. BenR
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    It was a great relief when i found out that the new wolfensWein was not going to be another remake of the original. Last week i rushed out to "EB Games" and purchased it for $99.99 (AUD). Now, you might think this is a ripoff, but I'm giving the comment and i say its NOT. When i got that kill on the train station i was instantly hooked. The graphics were great and the game runs It was a great relief when i found out that the new wolfensWein was not going to be another remake of the original. Last week i rushed out to "EB Games" and purchased it for $99.99 (AUD). Now, you might think this is a ripoff, but I'm giving the comment and i say its NOT. When i got that kill on the train station i was instantly hooked. The graphics were great and the game runs smoothly on my new GTX285, i also liked the sound in the game. The other Wolfenstein games focused on gameplay and graphics but lacked some sound quality, Eg, the sound of each weapon being fired or an explosion, But Raven and ID must have have concentrated on all aspects, and they did a good job. This is a great game and i think it is currently one of the best FPS games of the year. THIS GAME IS UNDERRATED! PLEASE BUY IT AND SEE FOR YOUR SELF! Expand
  15. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing; the first level, your thinking: whats so special about this, I'm just shooting people with boring old normal guns. Then suddenly, holy crap. The game goes nuts. You get particle cannons. Tesla cannons. Flame throwers that shoot like 30m. Rocket launchers. And the dogs bollocks, the leichenfaust 44, which shoots a high energy wave of death at your foes with disintegrates them on contact.

    Then the enemies! You get Plasma warriors, (carry Particle Cannons). Flame Warriors, (carry Flammenwerfers - Flame Throwers). You get women with their **** showing who do like martial arts. You get women with green energy whips. you get demented possessed skeletons. and the Boss a hunk with two mini guns, (one in each hand).

    The graphics are alright but not as good as other games like dead space 2. It is a fairly old game now though, ( for PS3).

    If you don't buy it your insane.

    Warning: very boring after first playthrough, but if you leave it for about 4-6 months then play it again you kinda forget what happens so its more interesting
    Expand
  16. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    This game is almost perfect. I don't know why did people rated so low this master piece. It has magic, action and nice graphics. It's nice, buddies.
  17. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Sometime I don't understand the (user) ratings on metacritic at all. I would say Wolfenstein is every bit as much as fun as it predecessor (Return to Castle Wolfenstein). It improved in some areas: graphics might not be amazing, but they're good enough to be atmospheric (especially the visuals of the "veil", the ominous dimension the Nazis discovered), and the gameplay has actuallySometime I don't understand the (user) ratings on metacritic at all. I would say Wolfenstein is every bit as much as fun as it predecessor (Return to Castle Wolfenstein). It improved in some areas: graphics might not be amazing, but they're good enough to be atmospheric (especially the visuals of the "veil", the ominous dimension the Nazis discovered), and the gameplay has actually improved due to the "magic" powers (slowing time, activating a short term shield) with the occult amulet. It play like a mixture between a traditional FPS and Deus Ex. What got worse, perhaps, is the level design: RTCW had amazing (single player) maps, and Wolfenstein only has "meh" maps so far. But taken together, I have as much fun in single player as I had with RTCW. I'm torn between rating it 8 or 9, but since the game is underrated IMO, I'll go with 9. Expand
  18. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    I am a Mac gamer and in 2011 I STILL play Return to Castle Wolfenstein and love it! Thus when I finally gave up waiting for a Mac version of Wolfenstein to be released, I bought the PC version and loaded it on BootCamp. First of all... the game plays great via BootCamp. As the game opened, I thought to myself that it was well on the way to being as much of a classic as RTCW. But alasI am a Mac gamer and in 2011 I STILL play Return to Castle Wolfenstein and love it! Thus when I finally gave up waiting for a Mac version of Wolfenstein to be released, I bought the PC version and loaded it on BootCamp. First of all... the game plays great via BootCamp. As the game opened, I thought to myself that it was well on the way to being as much of a classic as RTCW. But alas the game never quite makes it. It looks good, and the play was smooth, but that is best I can say. Unlike RTCW, the storyline of Wolfenstein never "creeped me out". The side missions seemed a waste of BJ's time and effort. The NCPs were wooden and only served to point out how fake BJ's over all mission seemed to be. In my mind this game went a long way in convincing me that the old fashion "linear game" model has merit. Don't get me wrong... the game is challenging and I was happy to play all the way through (even though the last chapter is very silly), it was nothing more than a run of the mill FPS. The game never captured my imagination. I vacillated on what score to give the game. End the end, I had to give it a 7 (the edge of positive) simply for the sake of an old mutual friend... RTCW. 12 years after RTCW, it still holds up as a great came... I doubt I will be able to say the same about Wolfenstein in 12 years. Expand
  19. Pravinb
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    WOW, just finished the Single player part. I cant believe how the heck this game got so many bad reviews. This is my first review ever and my English is bad. So plz forgive me if there are any mistakes! There are some aspects on which we enjoy or review the game.( They are not treditional parameters but are those which a games notices while playing a game) Graphics:- 10 on 10 I dont think WOW, just finished the Single player part. I cant believe how the heck this game got so many bad reviews. This is my first review ever and my English is bad. So plz forgive me if there are any mistakes! There are some aspects on which we enjoy or review the game.( They are not treditional parameters but are those which a games notices while playing a game) Graphics:- 10 on 10 I dont think the graphics were bad! Seriously. Who cares what engines is being used. The graphics were stunning. YES. Believe me. I have played Crysis, Crysis warhead, Prototype, COD 4, COD 5, Bionic commando, gears of wars, Mirror's edge etc. I think there were very good minute details provided in the game, as various powers effect, barrel changing their shapes after using Veil energy(3 times), flying creatures after using vail effects, extremely beautiful environment effects, models sure are beautiful. One thing that surprises me that meny people say this game is GREEN, coz i think those people have not played GEARS OF WAR. That game didn't had any color other than grey. And still people found that graphics FANTASTIC. Prototype had cartoonish graphics which didnt looked real at any point of time. Animation:- WOW Remember the first guy you kill in the first level at railway station. Dont you think the that FELT fantastic.Those were really fluent. Its really satisfying to see that guy dying in the proper manner. The other game you will feel the same is COD 4. On top of that this game has very good destructible environment. A.I. : 8 on 10 Yes the a.i. is not that good. Our allies keep comin in our way. Enemy coming streight into the line of fire. BUT they are not horrible and still serve the purpose of providing good gameplay ( i played on HARD difficulty so others views may be differnt about A.I.) Mission Varity :- 10 on 10 We do have some difficult tasks to do in various beautiful levels. On one mession we are in Airfield and for another we had to go to farm. Cmon, i don't think anyone will say tat the mission were repeatative as GEARS OF WAR or PROTOTYPE. BOSSES:- 9 on 10. Bosses were really good and different. One strategy cannot be used with another boss. They were not only differet but also great fun as Serious Sam. SOUND : 10 on 10. I am yet to read any bad thing in this department, so i have nothing to say. ( i havnt played multiplayer so i cant comment on it!.) DONT BELIEVE CRITICS. So those gamers who have not yet played the game, plz go ahead and buy it. Its probably one of the top 5 fps realeased in this year. Expand
  20. s60
    Dec 23, 2010
    6
    To start off with the DRM is very picky about whether it will run or not, took a while to get it to just be able to run, this game was not nearly as fun as the original wolfenstein, the missions were ok but to get to each you have to go through the main town killing the enemies there which I am certain exist solely for the purpose of making the game take longer so they could say the gameTo start off with the DRM is very picky about whether it will run or not, took a while to get it to just be able to run, this game was not nearly as fun as the original wolfenstein, the missions were ok but to get to each you have to go through the main town killing the enemies there which I am certain exist solely for the purpose of making the game take longer so they could say the game length was longer, it does not add anything to the gameplay, if the town section was removed it would be a pretty decent game Expand
  21. Andyg
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    Average graphice. far too easy, I can't remember running out of ammo at any point. Unlimited recharges of your powers at points all over the place. I played on one down from the top level. The deaths look good, shooting in the throat and the guy drops to the floor gurgling, pretty nice. Some abolutely terrible features. You have to make your way to a resistance fighter secret cellar. Average graphice. far too easy, I can't remember running out of ammo at any point. Unlimited recharges of your powers at points all over the place. I played on one down from the top level. The deaths look good, shooting in the throat and the guy drops to the floor gurgling, pretty nice. Some abolutely terrible features. You have to make your way to a resistance fighter secret cellar. When you get to the house you see a massive red logo painted above the door. I guess the SS couldn't see this for some reason. Some of the NPC's eyes are looking away over your shoulder when you are speaking to them too. A bit annoying as I thought I might have had dandruf on my collar! Expand
  22. Sep 15, 2010
    5
    This game is painfully mediocre. The graphics are ok, but pretty far away from what you get from the Modern Warfare games (even the first part); the gameplay is lacking. Don't get me wrong, you most likely will finish tte game, you'll even enjoy it more often than not. But the fact remains that when compared to Return to Castle Wolfenstein this game seems to lack ambition. I also reallyThis game is painfully mediocre. The graphics are ok, but pretty far away from what you get from the Modern Warfare games (even the first part); the gameplay is lacking. Don't get me wrong, you most likely will finish tte game, you'll even enjoy it more often than not. But the fact remains that when compared to Return to Castle Wolfenstein this game seems to lack ambition. I also really missed the feel and atmosphere of the previous installment. Expand
  23. May 13, 2012
    4
    Wolfenstein takes the gamer back to the 1940's to shoot the same Germans over and over using over-powered firearms while listening overly poorly acted English-German accents. However, they've added a twist this time around; you get special "veil" powers which can slow down time, make you move slightly faster, give you a headache when turning them off and on (There's no real point inWolfenstein takes the gamer back to the 1940's to shoot the same Germans over and over using over-powered firearms while listening overly poorly acted English-German accents. However, they've added a twist this time around; you get special "veil" powers which can slow down time, make you move slightly faster, give you a headache when turning them off and on (There's no real point in turning the powers off except to conserve veil power energy. The game is simply easier with the powers turned on and the only price you pay is that your entire gaming experience is surprisngly similar to looking through your grandpa's negative film collection.) and make you feel awkward when playing with the powers off. You are also able to walk around a town which acts as a sort of "hub" between missions. As the player progresses, he can travel to more parts of town and purchase upgrades for weapons by finding gold to pay for them and veil powers by finding tomes that are hidden in walls. You will also find gold and tomes during missions and I often found myself having spent far more time on trying to find all the gold and tomes in a level than I did killing Germans. I am a huge FPS buff but this game was too repetitive even for me, combined with the horrible veil-power effects I quit playing about three-fourth through and haven't picked it up ever since. Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2011
    5
    The graphics are better than the last, but the game play lacks something, yet I can't describe it, but it's just not as good as the original RTCW.... I believe game designers simply do not put enough time and quality into games anymore, so what tends to happen is that the graphics/features are 'taking-over' the overall 'fun-ness' of games.
  25. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    Love it! Superbly crafted and great fun. Games don't need to be revolutionary to be good and this game is proof positive that by pushing tried and tested gameplay mechanics you can still get a good game. I regret missing this game when it was first released and have only just got around to playing it all the way through. The crazy comic book genre mash up concept of Wolfenstein is wellLove it! Superbly crafted and great fun. Games don't need to be revolutionary to be good and this game is proof positive that by pushing tried and tested gameplay mechanics you can still get a good game. I regret missing this game when it was first released and have only just got around to playing it all the way through. The crazy comic book genre mash up concept of Wolfenstein is well realised with some very stylish and cool design throughout. The graphics are excellent overall and Raven have achieved a great atmosphere from good use of soft HDR lighting to embellish the period, special effects and superb sound. Special mention must go out to Bill Browns music which really contributes to Wolfensteins barn storming WW2 set pieces. There are some great action and suspense orchestral beats. As you would expect from ID and Raven the weapons are amazing. I never get tired of spinning up the particle gun and hosing down an entire platoon of Nazis. Animations are nice and the way enemies react to getting shot makes the combat very satisfying with the addition of special powers adding good variety and tactics. It has a more exploration driven game structure after the strictly linear Return to Castle Wolfenstein. Overall, this is an FSP I can highly recommend to anyone who loves the genre. I can't understand the mediocre reviews at all. Great stuff! Expand
  26. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    i bought this game very cheap and thankfully didnt waste 60 dollars when it came out because this game isnt worth that much.the game starts of in call of duty fashion but after 20 minutes i realized that i was running in the same town.for few missions there is a truck which will carry you to mission location andafter job is done you will come back in town again.the gameplay is very uniquei bought this game very cheap and thankfully didnt waste 60 dollars when it came out because this game isnt worth that much.the game starts of in call of duty fashion but after 20 minutes i realized that i was running in the same town.for few missions there is a truck which will carry you to mission location andafter job is done you will come back in town again.the gameplay is very unique and well done but there is a serious lack of variety in enemies.i bought this game finished it next day and sold it the same day.if you searching for endless shooting then buy this. Expand
  27. TomD
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    Just awful, took so long to get it to work on my PC. And the game itself was just another bland FPS shooter, with nothing of the id charm it's predecessors had.
  28. DN
    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    Seeing the fact that the only thing thats Wolfenstein about this game, is the name. Singleplayer part was barely playable, and the Multiplayer part was, and is, an insult to anyone who ever liked the previous games. A sure waste of your money.
  29. rivrs
    Nov 28, 2009
    0
    The game was unfinished, no support, no mp fixes, no communication... its dead on arrival. idsoftware has fallen to their lowest with no attempt made to fix this sorry excuse. Activision has just gotten to big and really the worst publisher at this point.
  30. JeffF
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    Sadly with Wolfenstein, Raven has added another venerable Id IP to its list of twisted franchises. Like Quake 4, people will find themselves asking "why bother with this when its predecessor is so much better?" Wolfenstein will offer slow paced gameplay featuring tiny teams, tiny maps on which to play, poorly conceived classes, and a lack of game type options. Expect to find this title in Sadly with Wolfenstein, Raven has added another venerable Id IP to its list of twisted franchises. Like Quake 4, people will find themselves asking "why bother with this when its predecessor is so much better?" Wolfenstein will offer slow paced gameplay featuring tiny teams, tiny maps on which to play, poorly conceived classes, and a lack of game type options. Expect to find this title in the bargain bin in record time. Expand
  31. JacobS
    Sep 14, 2009
    3
    Very disappointed. I tried to like it, I wanted to like it! When I think Wolfenstein, I think heavy shooter lite to no story. What you get here is a bland attempt to cross RPG elements with a fast paced shooter. Why fix what isn't broken?? The story was so boring and uninteresting. The veil gimmick is so transparent and uncalled for, though a cool effect that might be fine IN A NEW Very disappointed. I tried to like it, I wanted to like it! When I think Wolfenstein, I think heavy shooter lite to no story. What you get here is a bland attempt to cross RPG elements with a fast paced shooter. Why fix what isn't broken?? The story was so boring and uninteresting. The veil gimmick is so transparent and uncalled for, though a cool effect that might be fine IN A NEW IP. The atmosphere felt nothing like RTCW's masterpiece. Skip this game. Expand
  32. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    I have no idea why the same people that loved Return to Castle Wolfenstein don't like this game as much. In fact, I think I like Wolfenstein 2009 even a bit better. Here's why.

    **************************************************************************************************** First, play the game on 'hard' difficulty, please. Some people here complain the game is too easy, but on
    I have no idea why the same people that loved Return to Castle Wolfenstein don't like this game as much. In fact, I think I like Wolfenstein 2009 even a bit better. Here's why.

    ****************************************************************************************************

    First, play the game on 'hard' difficulty, please. Some people here complain the game is too easy, but on 'hard', you'll have a challenge. The enemies act suprisingly smart: the human ones run for cover, the supernatural ones charge you, then retreat again. It all feels very natural. The best levels are, in my opinion, the late stages of the town Isenstad you discover. There's an area, where resistance fighters and Nazis battle for supremacy, around some castle entrance. Now, this is not a sandbox game, so the the dynamics are more or less predetermined, and the resistance never wins. But just walking into this scene looks marvelous, like a war movie, only with uber-engineered Nazi Super soldiers that looks like Battlemechs, and undead Nazi officers that radiate pure evil. This particular scene, I would often replay: walk into the area, join the fight, and once it's over, leave the area and re-enter, just to play it again (it changes a bit every time).

    ****************************************************************************************************

    There are two things I loved the most about this game. Number 1: it is relatively "non-linear", at least for an FPS. Not all areas are like the battle ground described above, some are more restrictive (only one way leads to the end), but in general, enemies emerge relatively naturally, so it doesn't feel too scripted, and how you defeat them is up to you: rushing into them, using all your powers to quickly overwhelm them, or cautiously kill them one by one. The game allows both playing styles, and I like that. ****************************************************************************************************

    Number 2: the biggest strength of this game for me is the design, both of the world and of the enemies. The enemies look, sound and behave fantastic. The standard soldiers are nothing new, sure, but the power armor super soldier, or the undead Nazi officers look stunning. Are you old enough to remember the original Doom? Do you remember how your heart skipped a beat when you entered a room and suddenly heard the familiar "clank, clank" sound, the sound that gave away cyber demon? That feeling is back, for several foes. Here's the most scary one: you run into an open area. Suddenly seeing some faint green or red glow in the distance. Now you only have a breathless second to think, oh **** before the undead reincarnation of an SS officer stands in front of you, streams of menacing energy emanating from his body, and he splits you in half. The visual design of the world is equally amazing, maybe the best level: a giant Nazi Zeppelin. It all has the visually powerful, expensive feel of an Indiana Jones or Hellboy movie. This combiation of Diesel Punk and Nazi Occultism is not new, other games and movies have done it before, but it is pulled off brilliant in this game, and, in my opinion, is even more satisfying than in RTCW. ****************************************************************************************************

    That said, the game is not perfect: it is a bit too short. Also, it is missing some really big levels, with a wide area of engagement, like RTCW had. Finally, if you play it on 'hard', it's challenging, but not consistently so: you yourself die very easily on 'hard' difficulty (any attack of a stronger enemy kills you, which is good). But with the right "crystal powers" (slowing time, overcharging your attack, shield), even the strongest (non boss) enemy dies very quickly as well. I would have preferred if some extra strong enemies would have had more health, and it would take you a long time before you can destroy them. The way it is now, if you react fast, activate the right powers, you kill any enemy in a few seconds. If you make a mistake, you die. But there are no (non-boss) enemies that "put up a fight", i.e. that you have to work on for a minute before they go down. That makes the game play a bit too shallow sometimes.

    ****************************************************************************************************

    Summary: A great game, every bit as good as Return to Castle Wolfenstein. The "crystal powers" (like slowing time) work very well, the game is challening if played on 'hard', but the best part is the visual design of the world and the enemies: it feels just viscerally satisfying to fight those beautifully designed power-armor Nazis or the glowing undead officers that I can forgive the minor game play problems.
    Expand
  33. JohnG
    Nov 1, 2009
    4
    I brought this game for $99.99 NZ and loved the idea of a new Wolfestein i have played every one. Now the open world was great for the fighting, the veil made me stop playing for a while it is really not called for i played doom 3 up till that gay soul cube and had to stop its just bad not fun and distracting. This game is not really worth 100.00 bucks in any country but if you can get I brought this game for $99.99 NZ and loved the idea of a new Wolfestein i have played every one. Now the open world was great for the fighting, the veil made me stop playing for a while it is really not called for i played doom 3 up till that gay soul cube and had to stop its just bad not fun and distracting. This game is not really worth 100.00 bucks in any country but if you can get pass the veil try it you may love it. Expand
  34. DanP
    Sep 5, 2009
    4
    Ho-hum, by the numbers, already been done, tired, boring, bland, uninspired, insipid, waste of money, waste of time. If you're new to games or just easily amused, you might want to look at this game. But there are eighty thousand other shooters just as mediocre for you to choose from. If you are actually looking for a game that will pull you in, and oh, I don't know, be worth Ho-hum, by the numbers, already been done, tired, boring, bland, uninspired, insipid, waste of money, waste of time. If you're new to games or just easily amused, you might want to look at this game. But there are eighty thousand other shooters just as mediocre for you to choose from. If you are actually looking for a game that will pull you in, and oh, I don't know, be worth $60 dollars because it's not just a re-hash of the same FPS ideas that've been regurgitated for what feels like eternity now, SKIP THIS GAME because that is EXACTLY what you will get. Raven Software set out to create an SKU that would generate money. They succeeded. They have no ambition otherwise. Please skip this waste. Expand
  35. JuanH
    Dec 8, 2009
    1
    My review in a nut shell: I'm not a hardcore SP guy, but I really enjoyed the SP campaign. I'm a hardcore MP guy, and the game is already dead after being out a few months. Nothing but empty servers except for one or two with some people in it, and the gameplay isn't even that great. I'd say skip this one; the SP is great, but not worth 50 bucks - and yes, that's My review in a nut shell: I'm not a hardcore SP guy, but I really enjoyed the SP campaign. I'm a hardcore MP guy, and the game is already dead after being out a few months. Nothing but empty servers except for one or two with some people in it, and the gameplay isn't even that great. I'd say skip this one; the SP is great, but not worth 50 bucks - and yes, that's what you're paying for, the SP, MP is non-existent on this game. What a disappointment. Expand
  36. CharlesC.
    Oct 13, 2009
    1
    Easily one of the worst games I have ever played. The single player is ok, but I buy games for the multiplayer aspect of the game. So for me, this game is beyond pathetic. Only a few days after release, and the online servers are all dead. Youll be lucky to find 20 people playing, globally, even at peak times. This game is so full of bugs and problems, quite honestly, I dont think it can Easily one of the worst games I have ever played. The single player is ok, but I buy games for the multiplayer aspect of the game. So for me, this game is beyond pathetic. Only a few days after release, and the online servers are all dead. Youll be lucky to find 20 people playing, globally, even at peak times. This game is so full of bugs and problems, quite honestly, I dont think it can even be fixed with multiple patches. Even the single player has many issues, where the game crashes out, locks up, causes your computer to reboot. If a class action lawsuit were feasible, I would be all for it. Do not waste your money on this game, I implore you. You will regret it. If you HAVE to try or play this game, wait a couple more months and pick it up in the $5 bargain bin at Wal-Mart. Expand
  37. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    This game is a big big big FAILURE---A major DISAPPOINTMENT...in other words---it a piece of TRASH !!!

    The AI SUX BALLS, the enemy just keep respawning ---endless respawning !!!, the gameplay is **** and the camera just keep shaking so intensely---this is a piece of **** that you will regret buying it---or you just like puking at your screen playing with this **** !!!
  38. SeanM
    Aug 19, 2009
    4
    Well, first, the good things about the game. The cinematics are top notch and fun to watch. The game stays true to the Wolfenstein series to an extent. Now the bad things: The graphics are terrible for a new game these days. I mean even Left 4 Dead has better graphics than this. It's a boring WW2 game with a boring twist. If you want to play WW2 games with weird crap like this, go Well, first, the good things about the game. The cinematics are top notch and fun to watch. The game stays true to the Wolfenstein series to an extent. Now the bad things: The graphics are terrible for a new game these days. I mean even Left 4 Dead has better graphics than this. It's a boring WW2 game with a boring twist. If you want to play WW2 games with weird crap like this, go play CoD5: WaW and play the zombie mode. This game really has nothing new to offer anybody. Also, it's really, really green. I rate it a 4 out of 10 simply for the cinematics. If you can help it, just avoid this one all together. Expand
  39. Oct 25, 2013
    1
    Wolfenstein2009 is everything that Return to Castle Wolfenstein wasnt. We got an console port. That may have seen to many Rtcw players as an spit to the face. Gone were the different environments, gone was the superb A.I, gone was the music, gone was the artistic approach. Gone were the Germanic Knight Looking Super Soldiers and replaced with Japanese looking Power Rangers. Not to mentionWolfenstein2009 is everything that Return to Castle Wolfenstein wasnt. We got an console port. That may have seen to many Rtcw players as an spit to the face. Gone were the different environments, gone was the superb A.I, gone was the music, gone was the artistic approach. Gone were the Germanic Knight Looking Super Soldiers and replaced with Japanese looking Power Rangers. Not to mention the terrible Atmosphere and the silly looking guns. One felt literally like shooting green toothpaste. I cant consider this as an sequel to the francise. Its just an console game. But deffently not a game itended for pc. Expand
  40. Apr 28, 2014
    0
    Disgusting piece of crap that truly disgraced Wolfenstein name.

    Gameplay has nothing to do with Wolfenstein, gameplay is directly copy paste of Call of Duty. You gotta hide behind cover, sprint and aimdownsights and stuff. Weaponlimit is also present.

    Good ****ing gosh..
  41. Feb 19, 2012
    6
    This game is pure old school gaming with new graphics, it does it well and it works, it is set in WWII to expect to be killing tons of Nazi's, nice old WWII weapons with some Sci-fi built in which also works well, this game may not be worth $19.99 but if you can get it for 10 or less go for it.
  42. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This simply is one of the best FPS i've ever played, all weapons and powers are really cool with upgrades that affects the look of your weapons,Bossfights are all challenging and soundtracks were good too.
    the only problem with this game is that it's just too easy even if you played it at the hardest difficulty you won't die from enemies a lot and you won't run out of ammo at any point of
    This simply is one of the best FPS i've ever played, all weapons and powers are really cool with upgrades that affects the look of your weapons,Bossfights are all challenging and soundtracks were good too.
    the only problem with this game is that it's just too easy even if you played it at the hardest difficulty you won't die from enemies a lot and you won't run out of ammo at any point of the game.
    Overall it's one of the best first person games i've ever played and i completed it 6 times and it takes about 10 hours if you tried collecting everything.
    Expand
  43. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    1)Graphics- looks pretty good but not perfect. rank 9
    2)engine- game fly pretty good not crashing but some sections in game have low fps so you need some good comp. rank 8
    3)story- creative and some how interesting rank 9 4) gameplay- you have 12 weapons and cool special powers.using this tools is pretty fun you can slow time see hidden doors increase damage and use shield. rank 10
    1)Graphics- looks pretty good but not perfect. rank 9
    2)engine- game fly pretty good not crashing but some sections in game have low fps so you need some good comp. rank 8
    3)story- creative and some how interesting rank 9
    4) gameplay- you have 12 weapons and cool special powers.using this tools is pretty fun you can slow time see hidden doors increase damage and use shield. rank 10
    5)online -well the multiplayer isnt the best its lag alot,hard to find a game.so you get money for killing other players and you can buy stuff to help you too kick ass.so if you can find none laggy server with like few peeps your gona have lots of fun. rank 6

    conclusion- i enjoy this game very fun sp online isnt bad the lag just kill it.i recommend you to buy it your gona have fun. final rank 8.5
    Expand
  44. May 21, 2014
    8
    Game begins pointing the player to point A to B, which almost immediately makes the player have flashbacks of Medal of Honor games. However the game does open up and delivers more than just a FPS, but an interesting alt reality from newspaper clippings too just a world controlled by an oppressive regime. There is a certain tone that follows the player throughout the game of being a symbolGame begins pointing the player to point A to B, which almost immediately makes the player have flashbacks of Medal of Honor games. However the game does open up and delivers more than just a FPS, but an interesting alt reality from newspaper clippings too just a world controlled by an oppressive regime. There is a certain tone that follows the player throughout the game of being a symbol of justice and writing the wrongs for the many that suffered.

    Graphics may feel like a throw back to games such as Half Life 2, and other 2009 games, textures seem larger than today's standards but hardly worth noting.

    Enemy AI feels about perfect, enemies will try to flank you or get behind you they do seem to have times when AI pathing is interupted. I've only seen this a few times where the enemy will do kind of a strange dance or sit still until you kill a solder or get close to them, mostly on stairs or around corners.

    Weapons/Combat are kind of disappointing the selection available for a FPS doesn't seem adequate enough to really be a today's shooter, some feel completely copied and pasted from games like dead space and Half Life 2. A game title such as wolfenstien that pioneered FPS's it doesn't do anything to advance the genre and I would say Rage was far more innovative.

    System Stability had no issues running on a I5 2400 3.4ghz with a GTX 660 Nvidia card with settings set to high.

    Final thought on this game, only the player can decided if 60 dollars is worth it for them to buy, I was able to complete the game in less than 14 hours and I feel that I'm a pretty thoroughly player when it comes to checking every nook and cranny of the map. Game developers imo opened the door on the protagonists life in this alt universe but didn't do enough to make the player have an attachment and a lasting memory on the characters involved.
    Expand
  45. JackB
    Aug 20, 2009
    7
    Nice game although it does use an outdated graphics engine (Doom 3 engine) but it scales well on older pc's and looks nice on the newest hardware. The game it's self is more or less like Call of Duty 4 in my mind (Same navigation system) and same play-style . I am yet to try multiplayer but i doubt it has much so offer if you compare it to COD4, but you never know! Single player Nice game although it does use an outdated graphics engine (Doom 3 engine) but it scales well on older pc's and looks nice on the newest hardware. The game it's self is more or less like Call of Duty 4 in my mind (Same navigation system) and same play-style . I am yet to try multiplayer but i doubt it has much so offer if you compare it to COD4, but you never know! Single player thus far i have enjoyed the game it was what i expected, a quick fund raiser for the companys involved. Is is worth yout time and money? I would say YES but dont expect to get more than a few months out of this game. 7/10 P.S Killing Nazis is always a pleasure, enjoy the game people! Expand
  46. AlexTheDude
    Oct 2, 2009
    7
    I have to say that I have learned to respect this website, pooling of all the reviews does give you a pretty accurate picture of what to expect before buying a game
  47. ZsomborB.
    Aug 22, 2009
    7
    I feel a bit disappointed, since by popularizing the FPS genre, I always have high expectations towards Wolfenstein games. Altough this one has some exciting moments, It doesn't really shine in the vast sea of FPS games. The problem with the concept is the same as in Crysis: without the graphics and superpowers its just a generic shooter. But I think giving more attention to the I feel a bit disappointed, since by popularizing the FPS genre, I always have high expectations towards Wolfenstein games. Altough this one has some exciting moments, It doesn't really shine in the vast sea of FPS games. The problem with the concept is the same as in Crysis: without the graphics and superpowers its just a generic shooter. But I think giving more attention to the storyline was a good decision, and the game is still entertaining to an extent, I won't normally recommend it to everyone. Expand
  48. jamie
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    It's not bad. But it's not great either. Here we have yet another WW2 shooter - with a twist: occult powers!! Could they BE any less imaginative? The fact that they thought of it first with the original Wolfenstein doesn't change things: It's been done to death. It's not new, it's not interesting,and it changes the whole feel of the game into something It's not bad. But it's not great either. Here we have yet another WW2 shooter - with a twist: occult powers!! Could they BE any less imaginative? The fact that they thought of it first with the original Wolfenstein doesn't change things: It's been done to death. It's not new, it's not interesting,and it changes the whole feel of the game into something cartoony and ludicrous. When you see nazis floating in the air ... how are you supposed to take this seriously? Also, the whole health thing is just no good. Got shot? Bleeding to death? Headshot AND gutshot at the same time? no problem ... hide behind a pillar for about 10 seconds and you're perfectly healthy again.. So.. why be afraid of being shot? Or dying? Why hide or sneak? Why be careful? Why not just run around like a headless chicken and shoot the sh*t out of everything? Id, you've got to change this. All tension and care is gone. It's hard to take anything seriously - and very soon after that it's hard to care about the game. Get rid of the instant health recovery. Stop clowning about with floating nazis and silly occult powers. The graphics, while dated, ARE really nice for the engine and run well even on older machines. You guys CAN code - you just can't make a decent game without clowning around. Why don't you grow up? Expand
  49. Triakel
    Dec 13, 2009
    8
    After initial disappointment from negative reviews, a console-ly feeling first level, and a poorly addressed but crippling compatability issue with a popular anti-virus program, I found the game to be *extremely* enjoyable. Maybe it's my past as a Doom and Quake junkie speaking, but I had more FUN playing this "old school" game I ever did in CodWaW (although it had moments) or After initial disappointment from negative reviews, a console-ly feeling first level, and a poorly addressed but crippling compatability issue with a popular anti-virus program, I found the game to be *extremely* enjoyable. Maybe it's my past as a Doom and Quake junkie speaking, but I had more FUN playing this "old school" game I ever did in CodWaW (although it had moments) or BioShock -- games with which Wolfenstein shares similarities in graphics and gameplay. I do wish the developers allowed the characters to have more personality, but I can't overcomplain. I haven't yet tried the MP, although it sounds like no one's playing anyway. Quick comments: excellent graphics (contrary to some sniping about using idTech 4), entertaining level design, great mix of camp and suspense, fun weapons, good sound (really, what are the complaints here?), inconsistent AI (sometimes fantastic, sometimes abysmal, generally passable), challenging-but-not-impossible bosses, smooth and attractive play on mid-range equipment, better than its more macabre and downbeat predecessor. Expand
  50. JohnT
    Oct 22, 2009
    7
    I've just completed wolfenstein single player and it's a great game. I rated it 7/10. If you loved Soldier of Fortune 1 & 2, Jedi Outcast & Jedi Academy and Quake 4, you will love this one (I gave these games 7-10/10 ratings). The only thing that bothered me is this: before you start your next mission, you have to walk through this open ended town towards the next mission. It I've just completed wolfenstein single player and it's a great game. I rated it 7/10. If you loved Soldier of Fortune 1 & 2, Jedi Outcast & Jedi Academy and Quake 4, you will love this one (I gave these games 7-10/10 ratings). The only thing that bothered me is this: before you start your next mission, you have to walk through this open ended town towards the next mission. It becomes irritating after a while. They should have removed this feature. The main character is one of the coolest game characters I have seen. The cutscenes and the story in them is very well done. The boss battles are awesome, and the gameplay is fun. As for the multiplayer, I don't play multiplayer. Expand
  51. FrankL
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    At first, the game seemed a bit dumbed-down, with a disturbing console influence. But I found myself playing it hour after hour, getting more and more involved in the plot, the unique open-world framework, and the really cool upgradeable weaponry. Also, I give extra points for any game with a Zeppelin in it. On the other hand, I subtract points for some predictable boss encounters and At first, the game seemed a bit dumbed-down, with a disturbing console influence. But I found myself playing it hour after hour, getting more and more involved in the plot, the unique open-world framework, and the really cool upgradeable weaponry. Also, I give extra points for any game with a Zeppelin in it. On the other hand, I subtract points for some predictable boss encounters and even more for one really nasty bug... For a while I thought I wouldn't be able to finish the game at all, but restarting from the beginning (!) cured the problem. Amazingly, even with that major glitch, this remains one of my favorite games of 2009. Expand
  52. Autre
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    Seriously people, what do you expect to see for graphics in this new game? Crysis graphics? No, it's not going to happen. Consoles have taken over the standard setting due to the lack of money coming from the PC gaming market. This means that the best you can see on console if the best you will ever see on PC. If you don't believe me go take a look at Cry Engine 3. Other than Seriously people, what do you expect to see for graphics in this new game? Crysis graphics? No, it's not going to happen. Consoles have taken over the standard setting due to the lack of money coming from the PC gaming market. This means that the best you can see on console if the best you will ever see on PC. If you don't believe me go take a look at Cry Engine 3. Other than that, I think the SP is fun to play, I have no problem with the graphics, and the audio is exceptional. Expand
  53. AustinS
    Aug 24, 2009
    8
    What most people dont understand about Wolfenstein is that it doesnt do what most games now a days, which is try to bring multiple genres into one game, while ignoring key game play elements which ultimately result in a bad game. Smart move by Raven Software, who decided to go back to Wolf's routes, and focus on good strong gameplay rather than countless new elements that would What most people dont understand about Wolfenstein is that it doesnt do what most games now a days, which is try to bring multiple genres into one game, while ignoring key game play elements which ultimately result in a bad game. Smart move by Raven Software, who decided to go back to Wolf's routes, and focus on good strong gameplay rather than countless new elements that would otherwise drown a solid fps. OBVIOUSLY the game is going to seem similar to COD: WAW, because not only do both games take place during the same time period, but theyre both published by Activision. OBVIOUSLY Activision is going to be smart and use elements that work in one game to develop another. Isnt that what Bethesda did with Fallout 3? Anyways, back to the game itself...Graphics are slightly dated, but still look great on new hardware; game play is fierce especially in the latter stages of the game; upgrade and veil elements are a welcome plus (maybe the game wouldnt be so green if you knew how to properly play an fps...). Unfortunately, common complaints are as usual. Bad ai, terrible save point system, minimal setting variety, but none of which paralyze the game too drastically, though. The only thing i wish they would have added were more upgrades/weapons and side missions to flesh out more of the story line/setting. All in all, Wolfenstien is a game im happy to say ill play a few times through before i get bored of the SP. And if the MP is anything like its predecessors, its safe to say Wolfenstien will be on my HDD for a very long time. Expand
  54. GeorgeG
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    An ok game to the franchise. Like the comments before me, i have to agree, its playable with mediocre graphics, average storyline and a multiplayer that really doesn't offer anything revolutionary, just typical deathmatches and the such. Get it to kill some time before summer's over.
  55. JohnB
    Aug 28, 2009
    8
    I suppose what bothers me most about the PC gaming scene these days is the unfathomable fixation on the latest and greatest graphics and physics engines. It is no longer ok to use a heavily modified venerable engine that runs well and loads quickly on almost any reasonable machine, if it's not Crysis, then folks condemn the graphics as 'bad'. Let me say from the outset that I suppose what bothers me most about the PC gaming scene these days is the unfathomable fixation on the latest and greatest graphics and physics engines. It is no longer ok to use a heavily modified venerable engine that runs well and loads quickly on almost any reasonable machine, if it's not Crysis, then folks condemn the graphics as 'bad'. Let me say from the outset that the graphics of Wolfenstein are not even close to 'bad'. They are not 'like a PS2' as some of our more delusional commentators might suggest, they are slick, they look good and they are well animated. On a system which had such timeless classics as Civilisation and Deus Ex, the fixation on graphics is illogical and should be swept away post haste. Now that's out of the way, Wolfenstein is a thoroughly enjoyable single-player romp with a distinctly old school feel. It's about shooting Nazis, ghouls and occult creatures, just like every other Wolfenstein game and it does it well. Ravensoft, as always puts out a fantastic single-player experience with memorable and varied locals, a great selection of (upgradeable) weapons and a big variety of enemies with solid AI. 2009 has been somewhat devoid of solid single-player FPS and Wolfenstein is the best we've seen since Project Origin. Visceral and well-thought out, with a unique spin thanks to the Veil powers, I challenge anyone with any background in PC FPSs not to enjoy this game. Ravensoft have never made a bad FPS and they certainly haven't started now. While the multiplayer might be lackluster, that was developed by a different company and I put stock in Ravensoft's ability to create a great single-player experience and they do not disappoint. One final thing, The Farm is perhaps one of the greatest FPS levels ever designed. An absolute blast to play. Expand
  56. PhilipC
    Aug 19, 2009
    8
    Wolfenstein might not be a life changing experince or an artistic masterpiece but it is a hell of a lot of fun. If you are a fan of shooters there is no reason not to get this (unless you are tired of WWII).
  57. AnonymousMC
    Aug 19, 2009
    8
    The game feels as if its developers wanted to cram in it as many ideas and cliches as possible. It works to a certain extent but leaves the impression it could have been something much better - either a full blown RPG with total freedom or a linear shooter which focuses on the story. As it is - it is a mixture of the two ...
  58. benh.
    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    The games great and people need to stop getting hung up on graphics they do not make a game normally there just there to make you overlook something else theres nothing revolutionary about it but the in the FPS genre wat is anymore The hub town is a nice addition i think, as you go through the game more of the enemies are added to these fights which makes some intresting unfortunatly the The games great and people need to stop getting hung up on graphics they do not make a game normally there just there to make you overlook something else theres nothing revolutionary about it but the in the FPS genre wat is anymore The hub town is a nice addition i think, as you go through the game more of the enemies are added to these fights which makes some intresting unfortunatly the weapons even on UBER mainly turn to 1-2 shot kills with the mpl43 and the KAR both becoming mean snipers when upgraded which when faced with the nazis who sit in cover can become a little easy the veil is probably what makes this game not for the fact that its innovative but more for the fact i dont think it would be nearly as good without it only complaint is UBER isnt hard enough PS for those who keep saying theres no reason to play this over COD go away every game nowadays gets that and we will see nothing new if games must be COD clones, killzone 2 was ruined because they patched it when people said oh noes its not a COD clone and i suck patch now or i will return it. Expand
  59. Feb 19, 2012
    8
    Targeting and movement is smooth which I liked the most about this game. The story doesn't make sense. But overall a solid FPS. Ideal for casual gamers.
  60. May 20, 2014
    7
    Fun enough shooter, but nothing special really. If you just want to blast some Nazis you're going to have a good time. But it lacks a bit of the character the other games had.
  61. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    This game was OK. I really liked the physics and especially the attention to detail with level design which was very good. It's worth a run through and should keep you busy for quite some time.

    I could see this as much much more though, I didn't all like the supernatural side of things but it was alright I guess.. I like the fact that it was different... I hadn't played anything similar
    This game was OK. I really liked the physics and especially the attention to detail with level design which was very good. It's worth a run through and should keep you busy for quite some time.

    I could see this as much much more though, I didn't all like the supernatural side of things but it was alright I guess.. I like the fact that it was different... I hadn't played anything similar really.
    I finished it on hard.... there were only a few parts that actually challenged me... the storyline was average but unique.. overall it's still worth playing. the end.
    Expand
  62. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    I'm going to be honest here. Wolfenstein isn't perfect, but for fans of the original games and gamers who want a break from the standard shooters, Wolfenstein is the game to buy. The multiplayer is alright, but singleplayer is where the action is.
  63. IRT
    Oct 13, 2011
    7
    System Specs:
    GFX: HD6970
    CPU: i52500 Audio: X-fi Titanium Game : Wolfenstein................................. Graphics: Great, good level design and attention to detail................................. Storyline: Average, didn't follow the storyline at times................................. Game-play: Very good, lots of
    System Specs:
    GFX: HD6970
    CPU: i52500
    Audio: X-fi Titanium
    Game : Wolfenstein................................. Graphics: Great, good level design and attention to detail................................. Storyline: Average, didn't follow the storyline at times................................. Game-play: Very good, lots of re-play................................. Difficulty: Easy, game was finished on hard though only some parts were challenging................................. Sound: Good, guns sound great................................. This game was OK. I really liked the physics and especially the attention to detail with level design which was very good. It's still worth a run through and should keep you busy for quite some time. I could see this as much much more though, I didn't all like the supernatural side of things but it was different to most other fps titles.
    Expand
  64. Aug 14, 2013
    7
    I actually bought this game when it first came out, but only just got round to playing it properly (inspired by the forthcoming sequel). When I started it up I remembered why I didn't get very far the first time round. The movement is clunky, the FOV too low, the speed too slow, the hints are annoying as are the objective markers. Fortunately, since a long time has passed since its debut aI actually bought this game when it first came out, but only just got round to playing it properly (inspired by the forthcoming sequel). When I started it up I remembered why I didn't get very far the first time round. The movement is clunky, the FOV too low, the speed too slow, the hints are annoying as are the objective markers. Fortunately, since a long time has passed since its debut a few mods have been released in the meantime, one of which is called NeuroWolf and addresses all the issues I had with the core gameplay mechanics.
    With NeuroWolf installed the game becomes FUN. Although, having said that, it still takes a while to get moving and it only really hits its stride about halfway through.
    The best parts of the game are the assaults on the Nazi bases, rather than the parts set in Isenstadt, and once you have all the Thule crystals you can really play around with your attacks. The additional weapons are ok, but I stuck to the MP40 for most of the game, barely touching the rocket launcher or Tesla gun, and saved most of the other weapons for the bosses.
    Overall, a fun game, mired by poor console mechanics on the PC. If this game had originally been developed for the PC, like the original Wolfenstein games, instead of being an obvious console-port, it would have been far superior.
    Expand
  65. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    After playing through the game (and I didn't have to force myself to beat it like some modern day sequels that end in 3), I can say that this game is getting really unfairly bashed by many people, and I honestly am unsure why. It's not the best, but it was by no means a bad game.

    Story: 6 Just above average, many holes or "just roll with it" moments. Not the worst plot ever, though
    After playing through the game (and I didn't have to force myself to beat it like some modern day sequels that end in 3), I can say that this game is getting really unfairly bashed by many people, and I honestly am unsure why. It's not the best, but it was by no means a bad game.

    Story: 6
    Just above average, many holes or "just roll with it" moments. Not the worst plot ever, though overdone.

    Graphics/Audio: 6-8
    Im honestly not sure how to rate this, as I cant vividly remember what other games of the time looked like, however even compared to today I don't find the graphics to be bad. Audio reached its pinnacle already, at least to people like me who aren't audiophiles, and this game has decent audio selection while being on par in recording quality.

    Gameplay: 8
    Other than the roller coaster of a difficulty curve, enemies with impenetrable shields in narrow hallways in the second mission when shield penetration is the last power you get, I actually somewhat enjoyed this aspect of the game.
    On the hardest difficulty, it takes about as many bullets to kill you as it takes to kill an enemy, so you don't feel like some god of a human, until you get powers that is, but that's good because it feels powerful then, not just like an added bonus to your gallery of over powered stuff.
    Nice reaction animations of enemies, neck shots actually have appropriate animations as opposed to head shots, however the ai for grunts as a whole is stupid, and only super powered enemies possess the self preservation needed to so much as evade a grenade at their feet they are fully aware of.

    Overall: 7
    If you ever find it on sale somewhere(I believe steam has pulled it down now due to some sort of multiplayer failure) it isn't a bad game to burn through in a weekend. Is it memorable or "required playing"? Not really, but its fun enough, and that's really all I ask of a FPS these days.
    Expand
  66. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    Wolfenstein, while being different from the other games in the series, is still a satisfying FPS game. The cutscenes have pleasing visuals, and the in-game graphics are pleasing also. The story is fairly flimsy, but that doesn't really matter for this game, because we all know Wolfenstein is all about gunning down supernatural Nazis. Combat is fairl easy on Normal, as you never run out ofWolfenstein, while being different from the other games in the series, is still a satisfying FPS game. The cutscenes have pleasing visuals, and the in-game graphics are pleasing also. The story is fairly flimsy, but that doesn't really matter for this game, because we all know Wolfenstein is all about gunning down supernatural Nazis. Combat is fairl easy on Normal, as you never run out of ammo (ammo is plentiful) and the enemy AI isn't too smart, as they just sit behind cover and wait for you to kill them. Sound effects are also quite good, like if you melee hit a Nazi with your gun you will a squishy bone crunching effect (disturbingly realistic). The game is also realistic in that enemies respond quite differently if you shoot them in different parts of the body, e.g. Shoot a soldier in the throat, and they will fall down gurgling and sputtering. Wolfenstein is a satisfying FPS that will please Wolf 3D fans as well as fans of WWII shooters. Expand
  67. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    If you loved rtcw and want pretty much the same game again this is for you. I personally get chills hearing the old wolfenstein music but this game does have some flaws. The AI hasn't improved much over rtcw, some of the textures are really muddy and poor while others are fantastic. The story and environment do not live up to the standard of rtcw but it does fit well into the universeIf you loved rtcw and want pretty much the same game again this is for you. I personally get chills hearing the old wolfenstein music but this game does have some flaws. The AI hasn't improved much over rtcw, some of the textures are really muddy and poor while others are fantastic. The story and environment do not live up to the standard of rtcw but it does fit well into the universe and its a great Indiana Jones style adventure. The voice acting could have been better with enemies and I felt the ending was a bit abrupt, but the game is totally work picking up on sale. I just wouldn't pay full price for this one. Don't get me wrong though its fun, when is killing nazi's not. Expand
  68. May 28, 2014
    8
    Wolfenstein does nothing new. Instead, it does something way better: It does everything old-school!
    Dual wielding, health meter, secret rooms and optional areas, the ability to stealth or go guns blazing at any time, collectibles, unlockable skills and more. It feels like a real GAME and not a chore most titles have become nowdays.
    Gameplay is simple yet gives you control and not
    Wolfenstein does nothing new. Instead, it does something way better: It does everything old-school!
    Dual wielding, health meter, secret rooms and optional areas, the ability to stealth or go guns blazing at any time, collectibles, unlockable skills and more. It feels like a real GAME and not a chore most titles have become nowdays.

    Gameplay is simple yet gives you control and not 'press that one key for everything' style. Too much effort has gone into this game and the little details are those who make it so good.

    Also, it reminds us of what storytelling in games is, despite not having such an interesting story. But it has emotion and makes you feel the cruelty of war.
    Expand
  69. May 11, 2013
    8
    The game is good,but there's no one mission in a castle Wolfenstein.Graphic are okey,but singleplayer should have a more main missions.But it's good that you can upgrade your weapons and the thule medallion powers.
  70. Jan 4, 2015
    8
    the best ww2 shooter ever. **** cod **** battlefield **** medal of honor i am playing wolfenstein. it is a bloody good experience and while it has been simplified to sometimes cod standards it is still a fun experience and i like it
  71. May 20, 2014
    9
    I don't know why everyone **** all over this game. I just played through the campaign in preparation for 'The New Order', and I quite enjoyed it.

    The story was fine, albeit a bit weird (but it worked). The mechanics were solid: I liked the addition of the veil powers; they added flavor and complexity, separating the game from other mindless entries in the fps genre. I also really
    I don't know why everyone **** all over this game. I just played through the campaign in preparation for 'The New Order', and I quite enjoyed it.

    The story was fine, albeit a bit weird (but it worked). The mechanics were solid: I liked the addition of the veil powers; they added flavor and complexity, separating the game from other mindless entries in the fps genre. I also really liked the addition of the black market/ upgrade system. Hidden treasure has always been a big part of the series and in this game we actually had something to do with the loot we spend so much time trying to find, really cool.

    So yea, if you like Wolfenstein you should check this game out.
    Expand
  72. tkc
    May 27, 2014
    9
    Played it because of an upcoming sequel...gotta say i haven't had this much fun in a while with an FPS...i cant exactly tell you why, its just something in there that makes it a very fun experience.
  73. Jan 19, 2015
    8
    I was a big fan of Return to Castle Wolfenstein and I couldn't wait to get my hands on Wolfenstein 2009.

    The result was awesome looking graphics, flat story, characters I didn't really cared for and entertainment of killing Germans. Some of the weapons I used only once because I can be alright just with my Tull medallion and the MP40. The best thing from the game was killing Nazis. I
    I was a big fan of Return to Castle Wolfenstein and I couldn't wait to get my hands on Wolfenstein 2009.

    The result was awesome looking graphics, flat story, characters I didn't really cared for and entertainment of killing Germans. Some of the weapons I used only once because I can be alright just with my Tull medallion and the MP40. The best thing from the game was killing Nazis. I loved shooting them in the heads with the rifle.

    Overall Wolfenstein was for me just a fun game and nothing more. Great for killing not only Nazis, but also time. I am giving it with the Bulgarian school marks system where 2 is the weakest mark and 6 is the best mark GOOD 4.
    Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. In the end this is a by the numbers shooter with slick graphics, and ample opportunity to shoot supercharged Nazis. It's not going to win any awards but it's worth checking out if you’re looking for a weekend to pass the time shooting everyone's favorite bad guys.
  2. Dated look and tired “twists” of the barely noticeable story fail to impress. Wolfenstein is a true mediocrity in all regards – it has neither shameful slip-ups nor flashes of inspiration.
  3. Throw away your fears – this game is not “oldie and weirdie” as some can assume. It’s a smart fast shooter with a couple of great features. Pity some elements don’t work as intended. [Sept 2009]