User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 252

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    I give it a 10/10 not because it's perfect, but because of the dedication made to this game. There are no bugs or glitches of any kind. It is a hidden gem. Anyone who is an RTS fan should buy this. Heck, EVERYONE should buy this, because you're really missing out if you don't. Sure there is no resource gathering, but don't think this makes the game any easier, the enemy doesn't need resources either, and you need tactics to defeat them. The story is really, really strong. Need I say more? Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    If you are into strategy games, you have to try this game. Excellent Story, Graphics, Gameplay and Presentation. There is an overall polish to this game compared to the recent strategy games out there. Highly recommended to try it out.
  3. Oct 9, 2010
    7
    While not perfect World in Conflict has a gripping single player experience that while a tad unbelievable is highly entertaining and a fantastically challenging multiplayer mode that puts your ability to think fast to the test. People who claim this game does not require thought or strategy are totally in a state of tunnel vision about what an RTS is. World in conflict is a real time strategy game who ever says otherwise is an idiot, RTS games don't need base building or resource mining and what not, that's just added. At its heart and RTS is a game that requires the ability to manage multiple units effectively the person who's is the best at that wins (as compared to a shooter where you manage yourself), resources add a different level but don't change the base concept. This game requires immense skill and teamwork when played multiplayer and the learning curve is a bit steep but anyone who wants to play a game that requires a brain as well and dexterity should try it out since if you don't like multiplayer the single player and skirmish mode (which exists I don't know what people are talking about) are well worth the money. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    This is how a strategy game is supposed to be like. A story that makes you feel like immersed like you're in the middle of a gripping movie as well as a fun and addictive game. Bear in mind though that this review is written by someone that had Soviet Assault as well installed. It seems that the expansion adds alot of dimension to the story as well as fixes some minor but annoying things. Get this game if you enjoy strategy games. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Excellent single player RTS experience. Since I like strategy games for the single player experience, I've lost interest in games like Warcraft 3 that require you to be able to press 10 buttons per second. This game feels more like a strategy game, and less like a frantic button-pressing competition. The story's amazing, really, and really draws you in (with the expansion, it gets even better, as you see the conflict from both sides). The battles are truly gorgeous, and the gameplay is simply awesome.
    Since this game's a bit old, it can be bought real cheap, and its worth it.
    A 9, since it is indeed a bit short. As for multiplayer, who cares?
    Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Excellent game. It lacks some of the strategic depth of some other games in the RTS genre, but I have a feeling that really isn't what they were going for. I found it unique and refreshing that instead of being placed in control of all forces on the map, you were a subordinate to a commander and had to work in tandem with your team-mates. The single player campaign is well told and beautifully realized, though I have yet to test out multiplayer. Expand
  7. May 20, 2014
    10
    I have played and finished this game 3 times. It's an outstanding game, which deserves 11/10 .
    Some aspects of it could probably be done a little bit better, but overall it delivers an experience which no other game has managed to give me. Only MW 1 and MW 2 come close to it in terms of gaming experience, but they are a different gender altogether.
    If you are a PC gamer and appreciate
    great games, this game is a must in your collection. Expand
  8. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My Favorite Game of All Time. I'm a strategy game player, so i know my way around RTS, and WIC is the the most action-packed, and fun-filled game i have ever played. The first thing i look for in a game is game-play. How is the UI, balance, tactics, and other areas that affect how a game is played. WIC is undoubtedly a 10/10 on this point. I love the team-based aspect of the game. As well the lack of macro (base-building and unit recruiting) is an important decision that adds to the fast-paced fun of the game. The story-line is epic; USA vs. USSR (How could i not be with such a topic). With it's legendary graphics (Which can still hold their own today) and superb voice acting they come together to form a powerful story-line. In fact, I actually felt attached to the characters in the game, which is something that the majority of other games have failed to do so for me (Although i only play strategy game, so perhaps that has something to do with it). The epic story-line frames the single player adding depth and complexity to the game. The single player isn't particularly difficult, but it is engaging and entertaining to play. The multiplayer of this game is where it delivers. Being able to jump into games that have already begun is a huge breakthrough and one of the major bonuses of the game. As mentioned above, the team-based aspect of the game is one of the major advantages of the game. It eliminates Rambo players and even the best player in the world can't win you a game. Meticulously balanced classes and variety of units and off-map support add to the depth, merit, and competitiveness of the multiplayer. The unfathomable hours i spent on this game are a testament to it's immense value. Expand
  9. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    The best competitive tactical RTS on the market , only game that can compare with it in terms of pro gaming support is Starcraft 2. Great game, great support from developers (Massive) ,but still nobody bought WiC...
  10. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Too bad the servers aren't as busy any more........................................................................................................................
  11. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    As a russian, i don't like games where russia attacks the US. Here, again, this happens, and there is no reason, no explanation except that russians are just generally bad. That said, the game itself starts idiotic. There is plenty of cutscenes, the controls are constantly taken from you. It's not like a strategy game anymore but like some dumbed down RPG or something. Surely, the animations are great, the graphics are amazing, there are special effects and it's generally visible that the project was done on a high budget. But this doesn't make a good game. It's a dumb RTS catered for some idiots how adore hollywood blockbusters. Expand
  12. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    I love war games, I love explosions and I love RTS games, so this was a game I was highly interested in. While it did not really meet my lofty expectations, I thought it was good enough for a playthrough. The graphics are excellent, with amazing model detailing. Great battles abound! The gameplay is more fun than some people say it is. Yes, all you do is call in your units and they appear after a short period and then boom you can deploy them. Yes, you'll often call on the same units after playing this for a while. No more base building. No more resource gathering. Just pure combat essentially not too much strategy involved since everything is given straight to you and the only real strategic element is in choosing how you use up your unit quota based on which units you deploy. Obviously, this semi-RTS isn't for everyone, but I thought it was worth it to play it.

    Why is this not a 9? I wish that it was bigger; would have been a lot more fun with more units/increased unit cap and even bigger environments. Story and characters could have been much better, cinematics graphics did not match the level of detail during gameplay (which I found weird), and the
    Expand
  13. May 30, 2014
    9
    I myself am a fan of the real-time tactics genre and though Cold War is not really my favorite setting for a video game, I still have to say this game is great, fantastic even in many ways. It has one of the most innovative tactical aid systems I've ever seen in any video game featuring a real tactical aid systems. Visuals are really great, especially when using a kick-ass tactical aid like carpet bombing or better yet, a nuke! The tactics are well implemented, the ranges of weaponry are pretty realistic or in anyway, perfectly scaled to fit the map, and the map is freaking huge even for a genre that should include big-size maps like RTS or RTT. And the combat is off the hook! It's always intense and full of action at any given minute, heck, second. And this game also emphasizes the TEAMWORK, which is the first time I've ever experienced and it's well done. Also, this game has almost zero bug which is one of the many great things this title has to offer. The only downside I could find is that out of the campaign, there really is no skirmish section to enjoy the mechanics even more. Too bad there's no further project for the sequel which is really bad cause this game set a really shining example to all RTT and even RTS games out there. I'm gonna give a 9 to this excellent display of RTT, minus 1 point cause there's no SP skirmish mode but all in all, this is a must buy for RTT and even RTS fans out there. It's just excellent. Expand
  14. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    10/10 Best RTS of all times: best graphics, best balances, best music tracks (separate spasibo for an Ola Strandh), best animations, variety units appearances, very good users maps, diversity maps.

    Unusual strategy - you dont build structures and fortifications at one spot - you move, attack and maneuver your enemies.
  15. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    Corny but once you start carpet bombing, you'll never look back........................................................................................
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Another masterpiece from the folks at Massive, and one of the most beautiful visions of warfare you're ever likely to see. [Oct 2007, p.30]
  2. 93
    It’s not very often that a real-time strategy title comes along and changes the way you think about the genre. World in Conflict is one of those, not because all of the ideas are totally new, but because they’re all put together in such a successful way.
  3. With its combination of dazzling graphics and fast, tactical gameplay, I can easily see World in Conflict becoming a favorite of competitive clans and LAN parties everywhere. [Nov 2007, p.72]