User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 265

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    If you are into strategy games, you have to try this game. Excellent Story, Graphics, Gameplay and Presentation. There is an overall polish to this game compared to the recent strategy games out there. Highly recommended to try it out.
  2. AlterC.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    World in Conflict, the name of one strategy game, but this is the one...say good bye to food and wood gathering, say good bye to factory building, cause WiC is nothing about those things. Here you get the chance to put to test since the very first second you play it all the mighty power of 3 factions, USA, NATO and USSR. The very instance you start the game you are put directly into the World in Conflict, the name of one strategy game, but this is the one...say good bye to food and wood gathering, say good bye to factory building, cause WiC is nothing about those things. Here you get the chance to put to test since the very first second you play it all the mighty power of 3 factions, USA, NATO and USSR. The very instance you start the game you are put directly into the battlefield that quite frankly is our own backyard. Yes all the maps you're gonna fight into are all areas from our own cities, our own towns and neighborhoods. The visuals are fantastic. Massive has elaborated the graphics at such a great detail that you might even see the rebelious graphitis on the walls of some neighborhood building, to the flying newspapers in the hollow space left in a deserted town. The units you fight with are detailed to the maximum way possible known today, very high rendering gives us a really great view to play in. Then again it doesn't stop here, if you have a cutting-edge graphics card then you can pop the game up to DirectX 10 rendering, giving you visuals you won't ever forget. From ground deformation, cloud shadows, high-processed physics, volumetric light, HDR...and the list does not stop. The campain is limited to 2 factions. You can play only as USA or/and Nato vs. the invading USSR. It takes place on year 1989...yeah right when the Cold War was supposed to end...but the russians didn't think of so...You have to defend you own backyard, and repel the russian invasion from Europe. Unfortunately, they are releasing it only with 2 factions available on SP, due to not post pone the date, but you can really easily play the USSR faction on the MP. And to mention it the multiplayer is a bomb, and there have been several ways to show it. First the fortunate one to play the Alpha Test and as an Alpha Tester it did a very good impression on me. Second Massive released a Beta Test but Closed MP, only a few keys were released and they did a lot of changes in there from the Alpha but it was a great adventure playing it. Massive then having the reports releases the Wide Open MP Beta that was a fully integrated MP where most of the players (by the ending date i counted 216000) had a great time with the game, then demo comes with the final touches and a SP mission. On MP you can create clans with your friends and match other clans to earn points and reputation worldwide, or you can be the solitare wolf and kick***. Massgate grants the good players with ranks and medals, and they already have a ladderboard going on since demo. Personally, the fun i had and will have with this game, is immense...so i'd get it at any cost. In short terms like the leader of massgate told to all of us expecting this great game: World in Conflict The Most Intense Strategy Game Ever Crated...and I STAND BY IT. Expand
  3. MattG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    If you liked Company of Heroes or the Dawn of War series, give this one a try. If your more of a fan of the Starcraft, slower paced RTS's you may be dissapointed with this one, and while I love Starcraft as much as the next person, I think the faster paced RTS's are a breath of fresh air to the genre, and I personally can't stop playing this game. As someone else said, try If you liked Company of Heroes or the Dawn of War series, give this one a try. If your more of a fan of the Starcraft, slower paced RTS's you may be dissapointed with this one, and while I love Starcraft as much as the next person, I think the faster paced RTS's are a breath of fresh air to the genre, and I personally can't stop playing this game. As someone else said, try the demo first, but I personally think most everyone will love it. Expand
  4. MercFox1
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    World In Conflict is a perfect example of a game that's completely misunderstood. That said, World In Conflict had one of the best single-player experiences I've ever had (including Deus Ex, Half-Life 1 & 2, and Starcraft). The writing is superb, and the tension leading up to the end is palpable, making the campaign one of the best (albeit shortest) I've ever played. Now, World In Conflict is a perfect example of a game that's completely misunderstood. That said, World In Conflict had one of the best single-player experiences I've ever had (including Deus Ex, Half-Life 1 & 2, and Starcraft). The writing is superb, and the tension leading up to the end is palpable, making the campaign one of the best (albeit shortest) I've ever played. Now, the majority of the game's value lies in Multiplayer. Having been through both closed and open betas, I've seen firsthand the evolution of this game from a multiplayer standpoint. Those who say the sides are similar tend to forget how mirrored each modern army is to the next; tanks, APCs, infantry are all integral parts...Massive wasn't going to include Arbiters or Mammoth Tanks just to satiate the fanboys, and not to mention how that would completely wreck the atmosphere of 1989 American and European vistas. Instead, the burden of the balance falls to the players of multiplayer. Your dominance directly falls to how well you play as your role and how well you play as a team. Because this is such a new experience, (no other RTS has weighted so much of the success upon proper cooperation) a majority of casual RTS gamers are overwhelmed by the new coordination that is required of them. While I don't mean for this to be a psycoanalytical study of other users posts, when people get beat, they tend to complain. That said, if you approach WiC Multi with a rambo-like attitude, you will get destroyed. It's as simple as that. On a side note, those that are complaining that this is a failed RTS say so out of ignorance. Massive never meant for this to be an RTS. They've said from the beginning of the development it is oriented around combat and coordination and not base building or resource gathering. Do not come to this game expecting an RTS and then proceed to sully its name by stating things that are simply not true. Expand
  5. WilliamK.III
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    I agree that this game lakes the depth the true RTS like company of heroes has, however its not a typical RTS. All too often we get caught up in the genres and titles of games to look deeper. This game has as much to do with RTS as it does FPS, I mean the controls are FPS and the style of running and gunning doing away with building in favor of team based destroy fests is what this game I agree that this game lakes the depth the true RTS like company of heroes has, however its not a typical RTS. All too often we get caught up in the genres and titles of games to look deeper. This game has as much to do with RTS as it does FPS, I mean the controls are FPS and the style of running and gunning doing away with building in favor of team based destroy fests is what this game does best. What I love the most is the fact that unlike COH I can get on and play for an hour or 10 mins and not in the middle of battle upseting all present. I love COH but there are times when I want to think les about what building and unit to purchase and more about tactical movement and strategy on a more personal scale. Besides nothing beats having all the enamies camping a hill thinking themselfs invulnerable then droping the tactical nuke or 3 wide artilery berages. Expand
  6. MarkB.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    I can't get enough of this game. When I first got it I played the multiplayer and loved it. I never really liked RTS single players until I tried World in Conflict's. This game is really action packed.
  7. CorvusC
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    This game is truely a good piece of work, and very enjoyable in it's own right. I might prefer Company of Heroes over World in Conflict, but just by the slightest. And that's not small thing to say, CoH is one of the best strategy games in my opinion. If I'm honest, this game is not perfect and in reality deserves a rating of 9, but just because of stupid fanboys and haters This game is truely a good piece of work, and very enjoyable in it's own right. I might prefer Company of Heroes over World in Conflict, but just by the slightest. And that's not small thing to say, CoH is one of the best strategy games in my opinion. If I'm honest, this game is not perfect and in reality deserves a rating of 9, but just because of stupid fanboys and haters who gave this great game 0-1 points, I'll give it a 10 just to be fair. Expand
  8. EdoardoV
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    Only after some patched that solved the many performance issues this game can show how fast is modern war! The single player campaign is creative and immersive, but it's the multiplayer game that reveals the true power of this game. Coordination between players, to mount combined-arms assaults and manouvers, is essential. I will not mention the graphic, but the sound very good sound Only after some patched that solved the many performance issues this game can show how fast is modern war! The single player campaign is creative and immersive, but it's the multiplayer game that reveals the true power of this game. Coordination between players, to mount combined-arms assaults and manouvers, is essential. I will not mention the graphic, but the sound very good sound choice and the intuitive interface. This game may appear simple with no resources to harvest or bases to defend, but just surviving the World War 3 carnage is hard enough. Expand
  9. TehGeneral
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The Sinlge player side of World In Conflict(WIC) is the only bit that lets the game down. though personally i see the single player side of WIC as being the Training and its the multiplayer side of things that this game excels at. so for this review ill forget that the single player even exists, to start with their is everything here for team play. for starters their is in game VOIP, this The Sinlge player side of World In Conflict(WIC) is the only bit that lets the game down. though personally i see the single player side of WIC as being the Training and its the multiplayer side of things that this game excels at. so for this review ill forget that the single player even exists, to start with their is everything here for team play. for starters their is in game VOIP, this allows you to talk in game during the matches, the use of this is what make you the better player as you can make requests from other players. also their is a option by pressing Q you open up a window that allows you to place various reguests around the map. this game is all about team work and if you dont play as part of a team your side is going to lose the match. the other great things about WIC is the level of detail, from playing as a floating camera to see the entire map to clicking on your unit icon and zooming in to seeing the amazing detail on the units. i mean you can look at a helicopter flying near a target and zoom in to see that the pilots are animated with the helicopters. another great feature is that all your stats are logged and you can see what medals you have recived. their is a ranking ladder that shows top infintry, top Air, Top Armour, top Support players. top clans. this game covers everthing you could want from a multiplayer game. even down to haveing your own created avatar tags showing on your vehicles ingame . ive had the game since launch and am one of the higher ranking players on the servers but ive still yet to complete the 3rd mission on single player, because its not realy a sinlge player game. i feel that the single player side of the game was more of a after thought after they had created the fantastic multiplayer game. if you have played Ground control 1 or 2 then you will find that this game is very similar. next Expand
  10. JoeM.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Superb! This is action and strategy with amazing visuals and sound! Online with teammates is even better!
  11. EmanuelKumlien
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    Best game ever. period.
  12. R.B.
    Sep 19, 2007
    9
    This is a team game, it actually makes you communicate with your team mates (VoIP included, which helps) to be successful. Good ranking system by massgate similar to BF2142. Customizable decals on units. Awesome zooming ability, you can zoom straight in and see individual units fighting/talking or zoom out to see more of the map. One of the best RTS games I've played.
  13. Mobius
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    An Excellent Strategy game with a simple control interface, people saying that this game has no strategy should stick to their Sims 2 games, the thing with this game is that if your not a team player then your not going to either win or enjoy it, rushing into a capture point with all your tanks is going to get you nowhere unless the team uses a strategy. As one player prepares to move to An Excellent Strategy game with a simple control interface, people saying that this game has no strategy should stick to their Sims 2 games, the thing with this game is that if your not a team player then your not going to either win or enjoy it, rushing into a capture point with all your tanks is going to get you nowhere unless the team uses a strategy. As one player prepares to move to a location he will request an artillery strike from another player to clear the target and when capturing the target he should have anti Air support to secure the location. all sounds straight forward, but that may not be good enough, how about using that attack as a diversion and drawing the enemy away from the real target you wanted. Tactics and strategy are very important and it Expand
  14. Randy
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    I'll keep this short, but sweet. WiC is probably one of the best RTS or RTT if you wish game out there. The game strips away the dirt farming found in other games of the series, and improves upon everything else. The story is first class, sure it seems a little far fetched, but if you realize that the Cold War could have turned out this way, it really makes you think. Online play for I'll keep this short, but sweet. WiC is probably one of the best RTS or RTT if you wish game out there. The game strips away the dirt farming found in other games of the series, and improves upon everything else. The story is first class, sure it seems a little far fetched, but if you realize that the Cold War could have turned out this way, it really makes you think. Online play for this game is rock solid, and really addictive. Even if you are not a fan of RTS games you should still check this game out. It is a true breath of fresh air to a otherwise stale genre. As a guy who started playing RTS with Dune II, I must say this game really delivers. Expand
  15. SteveT.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    AMAZING game. I would have to say the only downside to it is when your team is full of noobs or when a clan stacks cause the game is all about teamplay and if your team does not coordinate very well, you will be ripped apart which is prolly why some of these other people disliked it. Beautiful graphics, amazing gameplay, 8v8 i love it and u can join a server at any time. Its easy to learn AMAZING game. I would have to say the only downside to it is when your team is full of noobs or when a clan stacks cause the game is all about teamplay and if your team does not coordinate very well, you will be ripped apart which is prolly why some of these other people disliked it. Beautiful graphics, amazing gameplay, 8v8 i love it and u can join a server at any time. Its easy to learn and it gets rid of the boring base building. You get right into the fight within the first minute of the match. Singleplayer is addicting and the multiplayers is simply the best out there. Expand
  16. PaulK.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    World in Conflict features great maps and locations, an immersive storyline which is not great but still entertaining and superior to most other RTS; command of small strike forces of units is great, and like the slightly better Company of Heroes, World in Conflict has a stunning sense of power. Rocket launch systems destroy buildings, you zoom in and hear the crack of tanks main guns, World in Conflict features great maps and locations, an immersive storyline which is not great but still entertaining and superior to most other RTS; command of small strike forces of units is great, and like the slightly better Company of Heroes, World in Conflict has a stunning sense of power. Rocket launch systems destroy buildings, you zoom in and hear the crack of tanks main guns, and it really is amazing. I have never encountered any real bugs, and the interface is responsive. Every command I give works, and performance is good. Expand
  17. WillY
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    Not perfect, but close. It is, when compared to other strategy games (or starcraft, which is more build order and spam), is revolutionary. And this is why some people have it and others (like me) love it. It is by all acounts the most realistic in terms of obtaining units, although the actual combat is not (CoH does it much better). Countering the hate further, I will try to explain some Not perfect, but close. It is, when compared to other strategy games (or starcraft, which is more build order and spam), is revolutionary. And this is why some people have it and others (like me) love it. It is by all acounts the most realistic in terms of obtaining units, although the actual combat is not (CoH does it much better). Countering the hate further, I will try to explain some of the things, like no resources and balanced units. 1) Balanced units: this is modern, and although everyone would think it funny and almost right that all the Russians have are AK-47s and Dragonovs (not a sniper btw), this is not true. Their military is almost up to our level at this point. Plus, it is fiction, duh. 2) No resource gathering/no bases: for god sakes, no war was EVER fought with tanks being built on the front lines and mindlessly rushing them straight into the wall of guns that is a defense. Altough the airdropping of an A1M1 (Abrams for the laymen) is a bit sketchy (they do weigh 60 tons), it is better than front-line assembly. 3) "mindless point and click": this is from the perspective of the commanding officer, not an omnipotent, omniceint eye-in-the-sky. Just because you cant "see" the the units fighting per se doesnt mean that they arent, i.e. the devs thought that soldiers actually have brains and could fight on their own. Not a game for the micro-managers except for some of the abilities the units have. And the point-click complainers obviously only played the demo on easy. The tactical abilities are there exactly for those nub campers on the hill, and are actually somewhat hard to use on a smart opponent. All in all, a very good attempt at reinventing the RTS. Expand
  18. Oct 9, 2010
    7
    While not perfect World in Conflict has a gripping single player experience that while a tad unbelievable is highly entertaining and a fantastically challenging multiplayer mode that puts your ability to think fast to the test. People who claim this game does not require thought or strategy are totally in a state of tunnel vision about what an RTS is. World in conflict is a real timeWhile not perfect World in Conflict has a gripping single player experience that while a tad unbelievable is highly entertaining and a fantastically challenging multiplayer mode that puts your ability to think fast to the test. People who claim this game does not require thought or strategy are totally in a state of tunnel vision about what an RTS is. World in conflict is a real time strategy game who ever says otherwise is an idiot, RTS games don't need base building or resource mining and what not, that's just added. At its heart and RTS is a game that requires the ability to manage multiple units effectively the person who's is the best at that wins (as compared to a shooter where you manage yourself), resources add a different level but don't change the base concept. This game requires immense skill and teamwork when played multiplayer and the learning curve is a bit steep but anyone who wants to play a game that requires a brain as well and dexterity should try it out since if you don't like multiplayer the single player and skirmish mode (which exists I don't know what people are talking about) are well worth the money. Expand
  19. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    This is how a strategy game is supposed to be like. A story that makes you feel like immersed like you're in the middle of a gripping movie as well as a fun and addictive game. Bear in mind though that this review is written by someone that had Soviet Assault as well installed. It seems that the expansion adds alot of dimension to the story as well as fixes some minor but annoying things.This is how a strategy game is supposed to be like. A story that makes you feel like immersed like you're in the middle of a gripping movie as well as a fun and addictive game. Bear in mind though that this review is written by someone that had Soviet Assault as well installed. It seems that the expansion adds alot of dimension to the story as well as fixes some minor but annoying things. Get this game if you enjoy strategy games. Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Excellent single player RTS experience. Since I like strategy games for the single player experience, I've lost interest in games like Warcraft 3 that require you to be able to press 10 buttons per second. This game feels more like a strategy game, and less like a frantic button-pressing competition. The story's amazing, really, and really draws you in (with the expansion, it gets evenExcellent single player RTS experience. Since I like strategy games for the single player experience, I've lost interest in games like Warcraft 3 that require you to be able to press 10 buttons per second. This game feels more like a strategy game, and less like a frantic button-pressing competition. The story's amazing, really, and really draws you in (with the expansion, it gets even better, as you see the conflict from both sides). The battles are truly gorgeous, and the gameplay is simply awesome.
    Since this game's a bit old, it can be bought real cheap, and its worth it.
    A 9, since it is indeed a bit short. As for multiplayer, who cares?
    Expand
  21. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Excellent game. It lacks some of the strategic depth of some other games in the RTS genre, but I have a feeling that really isn't what they were going for. I found it unique and refreshing that instead of being placed in control of all forces on the map, you were a subordinate to a commander and had to work in tandem with your team-mates. The single player campaign is well told andExcellent game. It lacks some of the strategic depth of some other games in the RTS genre, but I have a feeling that really isn't what they were going for. I found it unique and refreshing that instead of being placed in control of all forces on the map, you were a subordinate to a commander and had to work in tandem with your team-mates. The single player campaign is well told and beautifully realized, though I have yet to test out multiplayer. Expand
  22. SamM.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Great game with very well detailed models, and the coolest part is the wire physics when they get cut. But the best part world in conflict is i don't have to "Money Farm" anymore. Aka... i don't have to wait around 10 minutes to build up a base to just have it annihilated in the end, instead in wic, i pick a drop zone and get right into the action, get my ass kicked, then do it Great game with very well detailed models, and the coolest part is the wire physics when they get cut. But the best part world in conflict is i don't have to "Money Farm" anymore. Aka... i don't have to wait around 10 minutes to build up a base to just have it annihilated in the end, instead in wic, i pick a drop zone and get right into the action, get my ass kicked, then do it over again. Sure it has great graphics but the first time i played was on low detail on my older computer. So those no goes that say graphics make a game great (Which in most cases it dose) it doesn't in wic, So go shove it. Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    I give it a 10/10 not because it's perfect, but because of the dedication made to this game. There are no bugs or glitches of any kind. It is a hidden gem. Anyone who is an RTS fan should buy this. Heck, EVERYONE should buy this, because you're really missing out if you don't. Sure there is no resource gathering, but don't think this makes the game any easier, the enemy doesn't needI give it a 10/10 not because it's perfect, but because of the dedication made to this game. There are no bugs or glitches of any kind. It is a hidden gem. Anyone who is an RTS fan should buy this. Heck, EVERYONE should buy this, because you're really missing out if you don't. Sure there is no resource gathering, but don't think this makes the game any easier, the enemy doesn't need resources either, and you need tactics to defeat them. The story is really, really strong. Need I say more? Expand
  24. TheDreadedAtrox
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Simply an amazing game from an amazing team. Turns the RTS on it's head successfully, has amazing team- based mulitplayer, and gorgeous graphics. Plus, who doesn't think a Cold War era World War III would make a kick- ass game?
  25. TimD.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    I do not feel the reviews matched my personal experience. I found the game to be too fast-paced, arcade-like and non-fulfilling. As a war-buff and a war simulation first-person shooter, I found it very shallow and disappointing. It reminds me of all the other command-and-conquer type games.
  26. CB
    Nov 10, 2008
    0
    I bought this game and still I only made it through the first few missions then gave up never to bother trying it again. The free demo for Command and Conquer 3 is MUCH more fun than this although it is obviously an incomplete game. Your role in WIC is relegated to mindless point and clicking. I cannot emphasize enough how little fun this game is. Once again, I bought it based on the I bought this game and still I only made it through the first few missions then gave up never to bother trying it again. The free demo for Command and Conquer 3 is MUCH more fun than this although it is obviously an incomplete game. Your role in WIC is relegated to mindless point and clicking. I cannot emphasize enough how little fun this game is. Once again, I bought it based on the reviews and only played it for 1-2 hours before I never touched it again. Lesson is: never buy a game before trying the demo. Expand
  27. JakeK.
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    A triumph in symmetry and genericism. Remove the graphics from this game and you have nothing more than a generic strategy game with very bad controls, even C&C 3 is better than WIC and that's not saying much. Do NOT, I repeat DO NOT buy this stinker. Try the demo first as the press reviews are based purely on graphics and not game-play.
  28. Tal
    Feb 3, 2008
    1
    Come on! Didn't symmetrical faction design die in the 90's. Was all the time spent making this game look pretty so that it would get good reviews?Seriously, this could have been so much better. What a waste.
  29. IncoG
    Aug 16, 2009
    7
    I bought the complete edition of this game Summer 2008, 2 years after the release. Because the addon "Soviet Assault" only adds 6 single-player missions, i'm writing my review only for the original game. // Even after 2 years, the graphics on highest settings in DX10 are absolutely fantastic, and the sound and voice acting are probably 10/10. Wether you're just looking at I bought the complete edition of this game Summer 2008, 2 years after the release. Because the addon "Soviet Assault" only adds 6 single-player missions, i'm writing my review only for the original game. // Even after 2 years, the graphics on highest settings in DX10 are absolutely fantastic, and the sound and voice acting are probably 10/10. Wether you're just looking at landscapes or towns, from villages to big cities, in all kinds of settings from deserts over green forests to winter sceneries, or you are looking at tense battles with explosions, fire, gas clouds, planes dropping bombs or support crates and fire flares to avoid AA missiles - the game is absolutely breathtaking to look at. // Doing the tutorial, you get totally hyped out, the details are insane - the free camera lets you overview the entire battle, or zoom in so close that you even can hear tank crews doing small talk while waiting for orders. The whole single player campaign (especially with the added Soviet Assault missions in between) is worth every single minute, and took me about 2-3 days to finish. Both plot and gameplay are much better than anything ive seen so far. If this was about the single player only, i would probably give it a 9 or even 10/10. // However, the single player at times feels like it is preparing you for the ultimate multiplayer part of the game, most missions teach you particular roles of every unit like emergency repairs, or how to use Helicopters etc. . And that's where the fun suddenly ends. The gameplay in multiplayer has hardly anything to do with the singleplayer. No matter where you place your ground troops, there will be anti-tank / napalm / nukes dropped on your units if you stand in place for longer than 10 seconds. Anti-Air batteries will be wiped out even by Helicopters, Tanks shot to pieces by basically everything, teamplay is so critical that it's nearly impossible to get into the game. The only way i could be high on scores so far was to simply build repair vehicles and some AA, and repair everything in sight - which isn't very satisfying in the long run. The community just seems to hate newcomers, just take a look at the forums how people keep writing how much they hate newbies. Example: You join a game, support role is recommended. You buy heavy artillery and anti-air and you will be "kicked due to a vote" in about 1 minute - instead of giving you advice that they don't want/need artillery in their team, i only found out later while browsing forums that using any artillery units is "forbidden" even in public play. Also there are only about 10-20 servers around with people on it and playable latency (playing from europe, no mods). // On the technical side, single-player works like a charm without any crashes or FPS issues on a quad 2.83Ghz, ATI 4870 and 4GB RAM. In multiplayer, the game sometimes halfway locks up - it just stops doing anything, although windows says the application was still working fine. Customer support both by UBI and on the Massgate forums have been the worst i've seen so far. // I think this game is already past its time multiplayer-wise, although it's very much worth 30 Expand
  30. StevenN.
    Oct 18, 2007
    7
    The graphics are great but... The gameplay is horrendous. It can be fun but, the factions are un exciting and you will be using the same units over and over again. This is not a true RTS! Real RTS's put you in charge of resource building but instead you have to wait for "funds" to come in.... And wait.... And wait... And get back into the battle.
  31. StephenH.
    Oct 19, 2007
    6
    Having only played the single player game of this Real Time Strategy game I can only say this. I played the game through the first four missions and I wasn't impressed. Everything felt straight forward and simple, not at all like a good strategy game should be, deep and rewarding. The missions themselves felt rushed, as in; making me move onto the next primary objectives before fully Having only played the single player game of this Real Time Strategy game I can only say this. I played the game through the first four missions and I wasn't impressed. Everything felt straight forward and simple, not at all like a good strategy game should be, deep and rewarding. The missions themselves felt rushed, as in; making me move onto the next primary objectives before fully achieving my secondary ones. The strange thing about this game was... When I was playing it all I could think of was 'this is no way as good as Company of Heroes'. Much better use of resources. In World in Conflict they provide the resources for you, and units are replenished if or when they are destroyed. The problem is, you can find yourself with no units, or limited units whilst you wait for your reinforcements to arrive. There are so many problems with this game. I'll stick with Company of Heroes, a far better, better designed, implemented game. Yes, it needs patching, but Company of Heroes out does World in Conflict in every way. Please note: I did not play the multiplayer game of World in Conflict, which I believe this particular game was made for. Collapse
  32. BenderJ.
    Oct 8, 2007
    2
    Seeing the press reviews for this game really makes me laugh. If you like RTS games, it is plainly obvious how bad World in Conflict is after an hour. It was made more for people that like to click and not think. The factions are boring and even worse 99% symetrical across the board. If you are going to make a game as simple and mind numbing pointless as WIC, the developers could have Seeing the press reviews for this game really makes me laugh. If you like RTS games, it is plainly obvious how bad World in Conflict is after an hour. It was made more for people that like to click and not think. The factions are boring and even worse 99% symetrical across the board. If you are going to make a game as simple and mind numbing pointless as WIC, the developers could have atleast made three unique factions, but oh well. To truly see if this sticks for you, download the demo, play on low detail settings. If you're not board within 20 minutes, maybe wic is the game for you. Personally, I definatly won't be buying a sequel or expansion for this turd. Expand
  33. ChrisB.
    Oct 9, 2007
    2
    Wow I thought..RTS of the Operation Flashpoint genre...symmetrical factions...click-crazy w/no real inspiration...how can you nuke a town then move right back in? To truly play you have to zoom so far out that the beauty of the detail is lost...bored by 3 go-around in multiplayer...stick w/Company of Heroes if you must RTS
  34. RaidetJ.
    Oct 25, 2007
    4
    This had so much potential. Graphics and game engine are great. Problem is that you're dragged around from one objective to the next by the pubic hair so quickly, you never get the chance to think and employ any actual strategy. You just have to go back and replay the missions until you're satisfied with your clearance of the objectives. Because of this, it's reminiscent of This had so much potential. Graphics and game engine are great. Problem is that you're dragged around from one objective to the next by the pubic hair so quickly, you never get the chance to think and employ any actual strategy. You just have to go back and replay the missions until you're satisfied with your clearance of the objectives. Because of this, it's reminiscent of Dragon's Lair (remember that?). Do exactly what the game is trying to get you to do at exactly the right time, and you'll complete your objectives. Stray even slightly from this path and you lose. Expand
  35. OrenthalJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    This is probably the worst game I've played this year. Even after four patches, it's still stupidly unstable. The interface freezes a lot, and commands don't "clear". Using hotkeys to select groups of units often causes a lot of commands in the bottom left corner of the screen to be greyed out when they shouldn't be. Commands like "stop" and "hold fire". This is This is probably the worst game I've played this year. Even after four patches, it's still stupidly unstable. The interface freezes a lot, and commands don't "clear". Using hotkeys to select groups of units often causes a lot of commands in the bottom left corner of the screen to be greyed out when they shouldn't be. Commands like "stop" and "hold fire". This is probably the worst RTS I've ever played, just because it plays like an arcade game. Yes, I know, "it's an RTT". That's a great cliche and all, except for the problem that there is no such genre as that, and it's being used as a copout excuse to mask the fact that Massive failed to design a decent RTS instead of having to say, simply, "Sorry, we failed to design a decent RTS." The fact that Gamespot has given this game a 9.5 just means I'll never read Gamespot again. It's that terrible. This game was fuelled by hype, and 100% of the revenue it brings in is due to that hype. Not due to a quality game. Whatever Gamespot employee thinks this game is worth even a 5.0 should be shot. This is the "ET: The Extra Terrestrial" of the modern era. I can't even imagine how much worse the Xbox version must be. Expand
  36. TonyF.
    Oct 3, 2007
    6
    This game is not what everyone is making it out to be. It has great graphics which require a great computer or will lag horribly. The games multi player gets OLD! It's the same boring thing. Even though the graphics are great, they still seem bland. How do you do that... honestly. There story is interesting but does not make up for the fact that the gameplay is so one demensional. This game is not what everyone is making it out to be. It has great graphics which require a great computer or will lag horribly. The games multi player gets OLD! It's the same boring thing. Even though the graphics are great, they still seem bland. How do you do that... honestly. There story is interesting but does not make up for the fact that the gameplay is so one demensional. save your money Expand
  37. DominickM.
    Sep 16, 2007
    3
    Limited units. Lack of true diversity among the factions. Awesome graphics, but gameplay gets old fast. This is not an RTS -- its some FPS/RTS hybrid that does mediocre on both fronts. I could be biased here, but I felt the game was far less about strategy then it was about properly using your tactical aids and unit special abilities. This gives it a very arcade-ish feel. Game lacks depth.
  38. Hulk
    Sep 17, 2007
    1
    One of the more shallow and boring strategy games I've had the chance to play in years. If you like pretty graphics and mindless strategy, this game is for you.
  39. SeanE
    Sep 19, 2007
    4
    WIC has good graphics with simplified commands. The program is designed to be an arcade shooter with minimal strategy. What I would like to see is a turn-based Play By Email ("PBEM") game to allow more tactics and strategy. In addition, a slow paced PBEM game would allow more units in the game. As the game lacks any significant strategy it only get a four.
  40. Mike.np
    Sep 23, 2007
    1
    There is far more strategy in burning ants with a magnifying glass than playing WIC. Play the demo before buying the game.
  41. GlowBug
    Jan 24, 2008
    1
    A not so perfect blend of fantastic visuals and horrible gameplay. If you like games that look great, but play like a hard turd in an ice storm, World in Conflict is for you.
  42. JesperB.
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    The game reinvents RTS to a fair degree and both the multiplayer gameplay and the graphics simply astound me. Though I found the demo version of the single player a bit confusing. The game is a polished product rivaled only by Blizzard products and is truly fantastic in most ways.
  43. GaboB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    3
    What a waste of designing talent! This is a first person shooter with multiple units, No strategy at all. You are just required to create a number of unites and send them to figth. Beautifully modeled units though!
  44. Jameson
    Nov 28, 2007
    6
    Now this game would have been a good game, had it come out several years ago. I didn't like it for a number of reasons. First off the controls are just wacky and they bother me a lot. Obviously this is not a huge problem as this is completely personal. Second: There is no building a base which, in my opinion, really adds fun to an RTS game. Instead you are just get units via air Now this game would have been a good game, had it come out several years ago. I didn't like it for a number of reasons. First off the controls are just wacky and they bother me a lot. Obviously this is not a huge problem as this is completely personal. Second: There is no building a base which, in my opinion, really adds fun to an RTS game. Instead you are just get units via air drop. Third: There was very little decision making or strategic situations which I think is absolutely essential to any RTS as RTS means Real Time Strategy. Forth: There is not resource gathering either which is another strategic aspect pretty much required for a good RTS game. Like the requirement to defend your base and supply lines. Fifth: There is no skirmish mode that you can just play against the AI. It is only multiplayer which can be fun but sometimes its more enjoyable to play against the computer. There is one campaign and almost identical playable factions that include the skins as well as the damage, speed, and armor values. As well as the fact that the units are VERY limited in the sense that there are few units, let alone unique ones. I guess I have been spoiled by Westwood's Command and Conquer series where I had to think and do something. This is a pretty negative stand point but I am picky with RTS games. The game has good graphics how ever but it is not the best thing to buy it because of that. Basically if you are looking for another RTS game that could be fun, this could be for you but definetly not (in my opinion) a well thought out and brilliant game. It lacks in most areas that I believe are necessities for a game of this genre and time. Expand
  45. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    As a russian, i don't like games where russia attacks the US. Here, again, this happens, and there is no reason, no explanation except that russians are just generally bad. That said, the game itself starts idiotic. There is plenty of cutscenes, the controls are constantly taken from you. It's not like a strategy game anymore but like some dumbed down RPG or something. Surely, theAs a russian, i don't like games where russia attacks the US. Here, again, this happens, and there is no reason, no explanation except that russians are just generally bad. That said, the game itself starts idiotic. There is plenty of cutscenes, the controls are constantly taken from you. It's not like a strategy game anymore but like some dumbed down RPG or something. Surely, the animations are great, the graphics are amazing, there are special effects and it's generally visible that the project was done on a high budget. But this doesn't make a good game. It's a dumb RTS catered for some idiots how adore hollywood blockbusters. Expand
  46. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    I love war games, I love explosions and I love RTS games, so this was a game I was highly interested in. While it did not really meet my lofty expectations, I thought it was good enough for a playthrough. The graphics are excellent, with amazing model detailing. Great battles abound! The gameplay is more fun than some people say it is. Yes, all you do is call in your units and they appearI love war games, I love explosions and I love RTS games, so this was a game I was highly interested in. While it did not really meet my lofty expectations, I thought it was good enough for a playthrough. The graphics are excellent, with amazing model detailing. Great battles abound! The gameplay is more fun than some people say it is. Yes, all you do is call in your units and they appear after a short period and then boom you can deploy them. Yes, you'll often call on the same units after playing this for a while. No more base building. No more resource gathering. Just pure combat essentially not too much strategy involved since everything is given straight to you and the only real strategic element is in choosing how you use up your unit quota based on which units you deploy. Obviously, this semi-RTS isn't for everyone, but I thought it was worth it to play it.

    Why is this not a 9? I wish that it was bigger; would have been a lot more fun with more units/increased unit cap and even bigger environments. Story and characters could have been much better, cinematics graphics did not match the level of detail during gameplay (which I found weird), and the
    Expand
  47. BenC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    5
    Looks great, runs really well but falls short at the end of the day. Unit choices are generally bland, with both sides being basically the same. Multiplayer games should work well in theory, but everything happens too fast for there to be much strategy. Artillery spamming seems to beat most unit combinations without too much effort. Plays a bit like Ground Control 2 but without the Looks great, runs really well but falls short at the end of the day. Unit choices are generally bland, with both sides being basically the same. Multiplayer games should work well in theory, but everything happens too fast for there to be much strategy. Artillery spamming seems to beat most unit combinations without too much effort. Plays a bit like Ground Control 2 but without the feeling that your units are valuable and are worth saving, as you can just throw more right into the fray. Expand
  48. GlynnF.
    Sep 20, 2007
    5
    Without a doubt this is one of the most visually stunning games out there especially for the RTS market. However it lacks one thing, any for of strategy. Unfortunatly no matter how hard I try to like this game the single-player is dire, I find it's dull repetative gameplay a serious letdown which hopefully will be improved by a patch (more hope than expectation though). One thing Without a doubt this is one of the most visually stunning games out there especially for the RTS market. However it lacks one thing, any for of strategy. Unfortunatly no matter how hard I try to like this game the single-player is dire, I find it's dull repetative gameplay a serious letdown which hopefully will be improved by a patch (more hope than expectation though). One thing that has to be said though is that the multiplayer, if done with friends and not complete strangers, is awesome. However when it comes to just diving into a random match with people over the internet then it's more a case of carnage as everyone zips about doing their own thing rather than collaberating as a team. In conclusion only purchase if you know 7 other people who are also going to buy it and will help you make the most out of the game. Otherwise you're going to be severely disappointed by what some people will see as the biggest anti-climax of gaming this year. Expand
  49. Maslab
    Jun 9, 2008
    7
    Really fun RTS. I do enjoy watching the physics engine take hold of an jeep barreling downhill when a tank shell shreds it. The camera work is very nice, almost FPS style. The storyline is pretty good, but some gameplay issues make it annoying to handle units. Tactical aid is overpowering, but with all the enemy AI units running around, you do kind of need it, although the use of it can Really fun RTS. I do enjoy watching the physics engine take hold of an jeep barreling downhill when a tank shell shreds it. The camera work is very nice, almost FPS style. The storyline is pretty good, but some gameplay issues make it annoying to handle units. Tactical aid is overpowering, but with all the enemy AI units running around, you do kind of need it, although the use of it can best be called a "BS maneuver", in which you can be an inch away from a killing blow only to have all your troops blown away by a couple artillery rounds. I do like it, but it could have been a lot better. Multiplayer is repetitive, unit control gets annoying, its nothing you haven't seen before. But the phyics are pretty nice. Expand
  50. JimP.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    This is a really good arcade game. You will spend a lot of time clicking the mouse very quickly to try to achieve your goals. If this is what you like then buy the game. Otherwise if you want a real time STRATEGY game buy CoH. It will require you to make actual strategic decisions that affect the lives of your troops. CoH also has even more detailed modeling and graphics, which is obvious This is a really good arcade game. You will spend a lot of time clicking the mouse very quickly to try to achieve your goals. If this is what you like then buy the game. Otherwise if you want a real time STRATEGY game buy CoH. It will require you to make actual strategic decisions that affect the lives of your troops. CoH also has even more detailed modeling and graphics, which is obvious if you've ever seen a tank tear a building apart piece by piece while it's occupants are knocked through walls and windows. Expand
  51. DavidB.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    This is good. But limited. While other RTS games are expanding the skirmish modes this has removed it. No strategy, no skirmish, no build, no defence structures. You just create units, push them to battle and create some more (seemingly with no limit). There's no incentive to keep your units alive. That said, it looks and feels fantastic and is still not to be missed, but This is good. But limited. While other RTS games are expanding the skirmish modes this has removed it. No strategy, no skirmish, no build, no defence structures. You just create units, push them to battle and create some more (seemingly with no limit). There's no incentive to keep your units alive. That said, it looks and feels fantastic and is still not to be missed, but there's little to keep you involved longer term. Expand
  52. K.G.
    Sep 19, 2007
    7
    All the factions are basically the same. A Soviet UAZ packs the same punch and armour as a Hummer. Interesting reinforcement system, but not overly innovative. Serious strategy gamers have seen the requisition point system before. Excellent graphics and effects, the game controls are pretty good too. This would be a fantastic game for people who just want to have fun, and aren't All the factions are basically the same. A Soviet UAZ packs the same punch and armour as a Hummer. Interesting reinforcement system, but not overly innovative. Serious strategy gamers have seen the requisition point system before. Excellent graphics and effects, the game controls are pretty good too. This would be a fantastic game for people who just want to have fun, and aren't looking for a realistic tour of duty. Example: The gun on your Bradley is has trouble destroying light soviet jeeps with it's 25mm chain gun. Such a heavy gun should be able to rip light vehicles apart. You will have fun with this game whether you're looking for realism or not, but serious strategy gamers will have to take into account some shortcommings. Expand
  53. Wintert
    Sep 20, 2007
    7
    Astounding graphics do remarkably well to conceal an intrinsically mediocre game. The combat engine is overly fast and lacks depth, even considering that it is targeted towards the lower-brow side of the gaming community. It illustrates only the simplest tactical aspects modern warfare. (See a tank? Click the big red button to shoot a TOW missile. Did you hit it? Well done. Have a Astounding graphics do remarkably well to conceal an intrinsically mediocre game. The combat engine is overly fast and lacks depth, even considering that it is targeted towards the lower-brow side of the gaming community. It illustrates only the simplest tactical aspects modern warfare. (See a tank? Click the big red button to shoot a TOW missile. Did you hit it? Well done. Have a cookie). These short-comings aside, the game is highly polished, and the environment and plot do well to portray the situational urgency of a Soviet invasion of US territory. This game will appeal to those who entertain the notion of being battlefield commanders, but lack the true insight and temperament to stomach even marginally more realistic games. Those wishing to purchase the game for the multiplayer challenge should be warned that it is aimed squarely at the Counterstrike/FPS market, and will likely attract such a "community". Expand
  54. Alan
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    Stunning graphics? Not quite, and the little boost from lowest quality to highest quality (really, the boost is little, a perk here and there) will cost your FPS dearly. I like the range of view of this game, but allowing a company to tell where a tank is just because it fired at them doesn't seem quite realistic. The AI was definitely a step down from Company of Heroes, considering Stunning graphics? Not quite, and the little boost from lowest quality to highest quality (really, the boost is little, a perk here and there) will cost your FPS dearly. I like the range of view of this game, but allowing a company to tell where a tank is just because it fired at them doesn't seem quite realistic. The AI was definitely a step down from Company of Heroes, considering how infantry will remain standing even within heavy crossfire, and will only go prone after being hit once or twice, then awaiting death just lying there in the middle of the streets. Are American troops really that obedient? At least in CoH they try to find cover, while this game they would refuse it even if they are RIGHT BESIDE A FOREST. The tanks have amazing agility and accuracy, and Anti-Tank Infantry has lots of RPG's, and infinite ammo. Causing major imbalances within the game as you can simply win by pumping AT-troops. Either way, this game is much too easy. No need to build or anything, just DESTROY. When it is possible to destroy an entire building with nothing but bullets, what else is impossible? Expand
  55. stephenb
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game! Brilliantly coded, bug free, everything is designed for comfortable functionability. Especially multiplayer: many servers, always an opening somewhere or other, quick entry into games. WIC defines co-op: no one can win alone, no "deathmatch", team play with each player taking one of 5 military roles (support, armor, etc.). The only problem is system specs: my quad-core Fantastic game! Brilliantly coded, bug free, everything is designed for comfortable functionability. Especially multiplayer: many servers, always an opening somewhere or other, quick entry into games. WIC defines co-op: no one can win alone, no "deathmatch", team play with each player taking one of 5 military roles (support, armor, etc.). The only problem is system specs: my quad-core 2.4/Geforce8300gts can only run smoothly at the lowest settings. The graphics, however, are the absolute finest of any rts today; the game comes close to a Battlefield 1942 experience, capturing the elusive combo of rts and FPS, 1 & 1/2 years old, it's still my top game, and it looks like it was coded several months from now! Expand
  56. CirapC
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    More of a RTT (Real Time Tactcal) than RTS. There is no tedious base building or resource gather, jump straight in the fight. The game is easy to pick up for a novice, and still feel like they can contribute to the fight, and if they do lose they don't feel like they wasted 2 hours building a base just to be wiped off the map. At the same time it offers a lot for the experienced RTS More of a RTT (Real Time Tactcal) than RTS. There is no tedious base building or resource gather, jump straight in the fight. The game is easy to pick up for a novice, and still feel like they can contribute to the fight, and if they do lose they don't feel like they wasted 2 hours building a base just to be wiped off the map. At the same time it offers a lot for the experienced RTS player. A must-have for any fan of RTT/RTS and action game fans alike. Awesome graphics just sweeten the deal. One of the best games of 2007, and THE best RTT/RTS game of 2007. the 2009 addition Soviet Assault just makes a great game even better! Expand
  57. Evilmomo
    May 27, 2009
    10
    This is one of the greatest RTS games ive ever played, however it has some minor minor minor flaws. One thing that was off setting to me was that there are only 2 (3 if you count NATO) factions...... meh. i more like games like DOW were there's like 10 factions, but that is not a big deal at all. great graphics, cool cut scenes, awesome physics. im mean who doesn't like blowing This is one of the greatest RTS games ive ever played, however it has some minor minor minor flaws. One thing that was off setting to me was that there are only 2 (3 if you count NATO) factions...... meh. i more like games like DOW were there's like 10 factions, but that is not a big deal at all. great graphics, cool cut scenes, awesome physics. im mean who doesn't like blowing the Sh*t out of commies? and artillery, all good stuff. great game but just like Corvus it should be a 9/10 but cause all you Zeroers. ( i don't think thats a word, but i dont care). Expand
  58. RobertD.
    Nov 7, 2007
    7
    Standard. Games need to have balance but this doesn't. base building would have been good but they didn't want it. four or five humvees will not, i repeat, will not take out any type of heavy tank. the health bars are so simple and frustrating, damage to vehicles doesn't affect manouverability or accuracy at all. none of the new features they were bragging about (pree Standard. Games need to have balance but this doesn't. base building would have been good but they didn't want it. four or five humvees will not, i repeat, will not take out any type of heavy tank. the health bars are so simple and frustrating, damage to vehicles doesn't affect manouverability or accuracy at all. none of the new features they were bragging about (pree release) were well done except the drop in/out multi-player. no complaints with the graphics but i think this game struggles to decide wether it's small, or large scale. sup comm or COH make up your damn mind! Expand
  59. A.C.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    This game is intense, althoguh its not like most rts games, such as command and conquer. its all about team word, tactics, and strategy, which takes alot more skill then C&C becuase each player has to work togethor, althoguh it does have its flaws, it is an awesome game, and an expansion pack is due. WW2 ganmes are getting old,a s well as futureistic games, its about time someone came out This game is intense, althoguh its not like most rts games, such as command and conquer. its all about team word, tactics, and strategy, which takes alot more skill then C&C becuase each player has to work togethor, althoguh it does have its flaws, it is an awesome game, and an expansion pack is due. WW2 ganmes are getting old,a s well as futureistic games, its about time someone came out with something more modern. anyone who doesnt like this game probably sucks at it and is unable to use proper tactics, such as flanking and cutting off and surrounding the enemy. this game is realistic and not ment for amatuers. Expand
  60. AronL.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    The perfect action RTS the singleplayer may be short but e-sport multiplayer is where the action is.
  61. DavidC.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Best Graphic ever for an RTS game. But where is the strategy? I give 9 because it is a graphic masterpiece, but the game could be better. I hoped it was an hybrid rts/fps... so much detailed graphic and there isn't an fps implementation?? Why not?? It wuold be great. The future is hybrid games (rts/fps/rpg/sim life all in one) like Spore of Will Wright. World in Conflict is a great Best Graphic ever for an RTS game. But where is the strategy? I give 9 because it is a graphic masterpiece, but the game could be better. I hoped it was an hybrid rts/fps... so much detailed graphic and there isn't an fps implementation?? Why not?? It wuold be great. The future is hybrid games (rts/fps/rpg/sim life all in one) like Spore of Will Wright. World in Conflict is a great Game, but nowdays there are too much RTS. World in Conflict is another great RTS, like Company of Heroes, Medieval Total War II, Battle for Middle Earth II (the funniest RTS ever), C&C3, Supreme Commander. Expand
  62. AveryB
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Game is amazingly fun and the graphical details will blow you away from what you see in other games of this type. It's very well balanced between the opposing forces so no one has an advantage over the other. Team work and tactics are key to winning! Single player game is also very very fun.
  63. JeffC.
    Feb 13, 2008
    8
    This is truly a great game. The campaign is well written, and very fun. I didn't like the gameplay all that much, then again its not the game's fault, its because I've been playing traditional RTS's for way too long, this game is technically a RTT not an RTS. The units were fun to use and the story is very immersive. If your not a RTS junkie like me, you will want to This is truly a great game. The campaign is well written, and very fun. I didn't like the gameplay all that much, then again its not the game's fault, its because I've been playing traditional RTS's for way too long, this game is technically a RTT not an RTS. The units were fun to use and the story is very immersive. If your not a RTS junkie like me, you will want to pick up World in Conflict, because its easier to learn how to play when compared to more traditional RTS's. This is very similar to Battalion Wars 1&2 for the Gamecube and Wii, which was great to begin with, but with improved graphics this RTT is truly worth it! Expand
  64. XitArS
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    The single player campaign is among the greatest I have ever seen in a game of this genre. IT is short yes, but 90% of this games value lies in it's multiplayer. And Ok, let's be honest here. This is not a RTS, this is a Real Time Tactical. So if you want to play a game where your goal is to build bases and gather resources, then you've found the right opposite. This is all The single player campaign is among the greatest I have ever seen in a game of this genre. IT is short yes, but 90% of this games value lies in it's multiplayer. And Ok, let's be honest here. This is not a RTS, this is a Real Time Tactical. So if you want to play a game where your goal is to build bases and gather resources, then you've found the right opposite. This is all about fast action paced tactical warfare in a team of 5+ where each player is totally dependent of their team mates in order to succeed. because of this, the online experience can be a bit rough for new players and I have to agree that in the beginning I had some real hard times. But once I learned the system this game is a real diamond. It's more addictive than anything else I have ever played, the graphics are insane , the balance(concerning units and unit types) is perfect and the gameplay is just amazing. So, if you want a fast paced RTT action game where the key to success lies in your teams ability to cooperate, then this is the game for you. If you want a base building and resource gathering RTS where you alone can rule the match, then go find yourself another game, because you will piss on this one. Expand
  65. May 20, 2014
    10
    I have played and finished this game 3 times. It's an outstanding game, which deserves 11/10 .
    Some aspects of it could probably be done a little bit better, but overall it delivers an experience which no other game has managed to give me. Only MW 1 and MW 2 come close to it in terms of gaming experience, but they are a different gender altogether.
    If you are a PC gamer and appreciate
    I have played and finished this game 3 times. It's an outstanding game, which deserves 11/10 .
    Some aspects of it could probably be done a little bit better, but overall it delivers an experience which no other game has managed to give me. Only MW 1 and MW 2 come close to it in terms of gaming experience, but they are a different gender altogether.
    If you are a PC gamer and appreciate great games, this game is a must in your collection.
    Expand
  66. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My Favorite Game of All Time. I'm a strategy game player, so i know my way around RTS, and WIC is the the most action-packed, and fun-filled game i have ever played. The first thing i look for in a game is game-play. How is the UI, balance, tactics, and other areas that affect how a game is played. WIC is undoubtedly a 10/10 on this point. I love the team-based aspect of the game. As well the lack of macro (base-building and unit recruiting) is an important decision that adds to the fast-paced fun of the game. The story-line is epic; USA vs. USSR (How could i not be with such a topic). With it's legendary graphics (Which can still hold their own today) and superb voice acting they come together to form a powerful story-line. In fact, I actually felt attached to the characters in the game, which is something that the majority of other games have failed to do so for me (Although i only play strategy game, so perhaps that has something to do with it). The epic story-line frames the single player adding depth and complexity to the game. The single player isn't particularly difficult, but it is engaging and entertaining to play. The multiplayer of this game is where it delivers. Being able to jump into games that have already begun is a huge breakthrough and one of the major bonuses of the game. As mentioned above, the team-based aspect of the game is one of the major advantages of the game. It eliminates Rambo players and even the best player in the world can't win you a game. Meticulously balanced classes and variety of units and off-map support add to the depth, merit, and competitiveness of the multiplayer. The unfathomable hours i spent on this game are a testament to it's immense value. Expand
  67. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    The best competitive tactical RTS on the market , only game that can compare with it in terms of pro gaming support is Starcraft 2. Great game, great support from developers (Massive) ,but still nobody bought WiC...
  68. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Too bad the servers aren't as busy any more........................................................................................................................
  69. May 30, 2014
    9
    I myself am a fan of the real-time tactics genre and though Cold War is not really my favorite setting for a video game, I still have to say this game is great, fantastic even in many ways. It has one of the most innovative tactical aid systems I've ever seen in any video game featuring a real tactical aid systems. Visuals are really great, especially when using a kick-ass tactical aidI myself am a fan of the real-time tactics genre and though Cold War is not really my favorite setting for a video game, I still have to say this game is great, fantastic even in many ways. It has one of the most innovative tactical aid systems I've ever seen in any video game featuring a real tactical aid systems. Visuals are really great, especially when using a kick-ass tactical aid like carpet bombing or better yet, a nuke! The tactics are well implemented, the ranges of weaponry are pretty realistic or in anyway, perfectly scaled to fit the map, and the map is freaking huge even for a genre that should include big-size maps like RTS or RTT. And the combat is off the hook! It's always intense and full of action at any given minute, heck, second. And this game also emphasizes the TEAMWORK, which is the first time I've ever experienced and it's well done. Also, this game has almost zero bug which is one of the many great things this title has to offer. The only downside I could find is that out of the campaign, there really is no skirmish section to enjoy the mechanics even more. Too bad there's no further project for the sequel which is really bad cause this game set a really shining example to all RTT and even RTS games out there. I'm gonna give a 9 to this excellent display of RTT, minus 1 point cause there's no SP skirmish mode but all in all, this is a must buy for RTT and even RTS fans out there. It's just excellent. Expand
  70. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    10/10 Best RTS of all times: best graphics, best balances, best music tracks (separate spasibo for an Ola Strandh), best animations, variety units appearances, very good users maps, diversity maps.

    Unusual strategy - you dont build structures and fortifications at one spot - you move, attack and maneuver your enemies.
  71. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    Corny but once you start carpet bombing, you'll never look back........................................................................................
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Another masterpiece from the folks at Massive, and one of the most beautiful visions of warfare you're ever likely to see. [Oct 2007, p.30]
  2. 93
    It’s not very often that a real-time strategy title comes along and changes the way you think about the genre. World in Conflict is one of those, not because all of the ideas are totally new, but because they’re all put together in such a successful way.
  3. With its combination of dazzling graphics and fast, tactical gameplay, I can easily see World in Conflict becoming a favorite of competitive clans and LAN parties everywhere. [Nov 2007, p.72]