User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 265

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    If you are into strategy games, you have to try this game. Excellent Story, Graphics, Gameplay and Presentation. There is an overall polish to this game compared to the recent strategy games out there. Highly recommended to try it out.
  2. AlterC.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    World in Conflict, the name of one strategy game, but this is the one...say good bye to food and wood gathering, say good bye to factory building, cause WiC is nothing about those things. Here you get the chance to put to test since the very first second you play it all the mighty power of 3 factions, USA, NATO and USSR. The very instance you start the game you are put directly into the World in Conflict, the name of one strategy game, but this is the one...say good bye to food and wood gathering, say good bye to factory building, cause WiC is nothing about those things. Here you get the chance to put to test since the very first second you play it all the mighty power of 3 factions, USA, NATO and USSR. The very instance you start the game you are put directly into the battlefield that quite frankly is our own backyard. Yes all the maps you're gonna fight into are all areas from our own cities, our own towns and neighborhoods. The visuals are fantastic. Massive has elaborated the graphics at such a great detail that you might even see the rebelious graphitis on the walls of some neighborhood building, to the flying newspapers in the hollow space left in a deserted town. The units you fight with are detailed to the maximum way possible known today, very high rendering gives us a really great view to play in. Then again it doesn't stop here, if you have a cutting-edge graphics card then you can pop the game up to DirectX 10 rendering, giving you visuals you won't ever forget. From ground deformation, cloud shadows, high-processed physics, volumetric light, HDR...and the list does not stop. The campain is limited to 2 factions. You can play only as USA or/and Nato vs. the invading USSR. It takes place on year 1989...yeah right when the Cold War was supposed to end...but the russians didn't think of so...You have to defend you own backyard, and repel the russian invasion from Europe. Unfortunately, they are releasing it only with 2 factions available on SP, due to not post pone the date, but you can really easily play the USSR faction on the MP. And to mention it the multiplayer is a bomb, and there have been several ways to show it. First the fortunate one to play the Alpha Test and as an Alpha Tester it did a very good impression on me. Second Massive released a Beta Test but Closed MP, only a few keys were released and they did a lot of changes in there from the Alpha but it was a great adventure playing it. Massive then having the reports releases the Wide Open MP Beta that was a fully integrated MP where most of the players (by the ending date i counted 216000) had a great time with the game, then demo comes with the final touches and a SP mission. On MP you can create clans with your friends and match other clans to earn points and reputation worldwide, or you can be the solitare wolf and kick***. Massgate grants the good players with ranks and medals, and they already have a ladderboard going on since demo. Personally, the fun i had and will have with this game, is immense...so i'd get it at any cost. In short terms like the leader of massgate told to all of us expecting this great game: World in Conflict The Most Intense Strategy Game Ever Crated...and I STAND BY IT. Expand
  3. MattG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    If you liked Company of Heroes or the Dawn of War series, give this one a try. If your more of a fan of the Starcraft, slower paced RTS's you may be dissapointed with this one, and while I love Starcraft as much as the next person, I think the faster paced RTS's are a breath of fresh air to the genre, and I personally can't stop playing this game. As someone else said, try If you liked Company of Heroes or the Dawn of War series, give this one a try. If your more of a fan of the Starcraft, slower paced RTS's you may be dissapointed with this one, and while I love Starcraft as much as the next person, I think the faster paced RTS's are a breath of fresh air to the genre, and I personally can't stop playing this game. As someone else said, try the demo first, but I personally think most everyone will love it. Expand
  4. MercFox1
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    World In Conflict is a perfect example of a game that's completely misunderstood. That said, World In Conflict had one of the best single-player experiences I've ever had (including Deus Ex, Half-Life 1 & 2, and Starcraft). The writing is superb, and the tension leading up to the end is palpable, making the campaign one of the best (albeit shortest) I've ever played. Now, World In Conflict is a perfect example of a game that's completely misunderstood. That said, World In Conflict had one of the best single-player experiences I've ever had (including Deus Ex, Half-Life 1 & 2, and Starcraft). The writing is superb, and the tension leading up to the end is palpable, making the campaign one of the best (albeit shortest) I've ever played. Now, the majority of the game's value lies in Multiplayer. Having been through both closed and open betas, I've seen firsthand the evolution of this game from a multiplayer standpoint. Those who say the sides are similar tend to forget how mirrored each modern army is to the next; tanks, APCs, infantry are all integral parts...Massive wasn't going to include Arbiters or Mammoth Tanks just to satiate the fanboys, and not to mention how that would completely wreck the atmosphere of 1989 American and European vistas. Instead, the burden of the balance falls to the players of multiplayer. Your dominance directly falls to how well you play as your role and how well you play as a team. Because this is such a new experience, (no other RTS has weighted so much of the success upon proper cooperation) a majority of casual RTS gamers are overwhelmed by the new coordination that is required of them. While I don't mean for this to be a psycoanalytical study of other users posts, when people get beat, they tend to complain. That said, if you approach WiC Multi with a rambo-like attitude, you will get destroyed. It's as simple as that. On a side note, those that are complaining that this is a failed RTS say so out of ignorance. Massive never meant for this to be an RTS. They've said from the beginning of the development it is oriented around combat and coordination and not base building or resource gathering. Do not come to this game expecting an RTS and then proceed to sully its name by stating things that are simply not true. Expand
  5. WilliamK.III
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    I agree that this game lakes the depth the true RTS like company of heroes has, however its not a typical RTS. All too often we get caught up in the genres and titles of games to look deeper. This game has as much to do with RTS as it does FPS, I mean the controls are FPS and the style of running and gunning doing away with building in favor of team based destroy fests is what this game I agree that this game lakes the depth the true RTS like company of heroes has, however its not a typical RTS. All too often we get caught up in the genres and titles of games to look deeper. This game has as much to do with RTS as it does FPS, I mean the controls are FPS and the style of running and gunning doing away with building in favor of team based destroy fests is what this game does best. What I love the most is the fact that unlike COH I can get on and play for an hour or 10 mins and not in the middle of battle upseting all present. I love COH but there are times when I want to think les about what building and unit to purchase and more about tactical movement and strategy on a more personal scale. Besides nothing beats having all the enamies camping a hill thinking themselfs invulnerable then droping the tactical nuke or 3 wide artilery berages. Expand
  6. MarkB.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    I can't get enough of this game. When I first got it I played the multiplayer and loved it. I never really liked RTS single players until I tried World in Conflict's. This game is really action packed.
  7. CorvusC
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    This game is truely a good piece of work, and very enjoyable in it's own right. I might prefer Company of Heroes over World in Conflict, but just by the slightest. And that's not small thing to say, CoH is one of the best strategy games in my opinion. If I'm honest, this game is not perfect and in reality deserves a rating of 9, but just because of stupid fanboys and haters This game is truely a good piece of work, and very enjoyable in it's own right. I might prefer Company of Heroes over World in Conflict, but just by the slightest. And that's not small thing to say, CoH is one of the best strategy games in my opinion. If I'm honest, this game is not perfect and in reality deserves a rating of 9, but just because of stupid fanboys and haters who gave this great game 0-1 points, I'll give it a 10 just to be fair. Expand
  8. EdoardoV
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    Only after some patched that solved the many performance issues this game can show how fast is modern war! The single player campaign is creative and immersive, but it's the multiplayer game that reveals the true power of this game. Coordination between players, to mount combined-arms assaults and manouvers, is essential. I will not mention the graphic, but the sound very good sound Only after some patched that solved the many performance issues this game can show how fast is modern war! The single player campaign is creative and immersive, but it's the multiplayer game that reveals the true power of this game. Coordination between players, to mount combined-arms assaults and manouvers, is essential. I will not mention the graphic, but the sound very good sound choice and the intuitive interface. This game may appear simple with no resources to harvest or bases to defend, but just surviving the World War 3 carnage is hard enough. Expand
  9. TehGeneral
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The Sinlge player side of World In Conflict(WIC) is the only bit that lets the game down. though personally i see the single player side of WIC as being the Training and its the multiplayer side of things that this game excels at. so for this review ill forget that the single player even exists, to start with their is everything here for team play. for starters their is in game VOIP, this The Sinlge player side of World In Conflict(WIC) is the only bit that lets the game down. though personally i see the single player side of WIC as being the Training and its the multiplayer side of things that this game excels at. so for this review ill forget that the single player even exists, to start with their is everything here for team play. for starters their is in game VOIP, this allows you to talk in game during the matches, the use of this is what make you the better player as you can make requests from other players. also their is a option by pressing Q you open up a window that allows you to place various reguests around the map. this game is all about team work and if you dont play as part of a team your side is going to lose the match. the other great things about WIC is the level of detail, from playing as a floating camera to see the entire map to clicking on your unit icon and zooming in to seeing the amazing detail on the units. i mean you can look at a helicopter flying near a target and zoom in to see that the pilots are animated with the helicopters. another great feature is that all your stats are logged and you can see what medals you have recived. their is a ranking ladder that shows top infintry, top Air, Top Armour, top Support players. top clans. this game covers everthing you could want from a multiplayer game. even down to haveing your own created avatar tags showing on your vehicles ingame . ive had the game since launch and am one of the higher ranking players on the servers but ive still yet to complete the 3rd mission on single player, because its not realy a sinlge player game. i feel that the single player side of the game was more of a after thought after they had created the fantastic multiplayer game. if you have played Ground control 1 or 2 then you will find that this game is very similar. next Expand
  10. JoeM.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Superb! This is action and strategy with amazing visuals and sound! Online with teammates is even better!
  11. EmanuelKumlien
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    Best game ever. period.
  12. R.B.
    Sep 19, 2007
    9
    This is a team game, it actually makes you communicate with your team mates (VoIP included, which helps) to be successful. Good ranking system by massgate similar to BF2142. Customizable decals on units. Awesome zooming ability, you can zoom straight in and see individual units fighting/talking or zoom out to see more of the map. One of the best RTS games I've played.
  13. Mobius
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    An Excellent Strategy game with a simple control interface, people saying that this game has no strategy should stick to their Sims 2 games, the thing with this game is that if your not a team player then your not going to either win or enjoy it, rushing into a capture point with all your tanks is going to get you nowhere unless the team uses a strategy. As one player prepares to move to An Excellent Strategy game with a simple control interface, people saying that this game has no strategy should stick to their Sims 2 games, the thing with this game is that if your not a team player then your not going to either win or enjoy it, rushing into a capture point with all your tanks is going to get you nowhere unless the team uses a strategy. As one player prepares to move to a location he will request an artillery strike from another player to clear the target and when capturing the target he should have anti Air support to secure the location. all sounds straight forward, but that may not be good enough, how about using that attack as a diversion and drawing the enemy away from the real target you wanted. Tactics and strategy are very important and it Expand
  14. Randy
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    I'll keep this short, but sweet. WiC is probably one of the best RTS or RTT if you wish game out there. The game strips away the dirt farming found in other games of the series, and improves upon everything else. The story is first class, sure it seems a little far fetched, but if you realize that the Cold War could have turned out this way, it really makes you think. Online play for I'll keep this short, but sweet. WiC is probably one of the best RTS or RTT if you wish game out there. The game strips away the dirt farming found in other games of the series, and improves upon everything else. The story is first class, sure it seems a little far fetched, but if you realize that the Cold War could have turned out this way, it really makes you think. Online play for this game is rock solid, and really addictive. Even if you are not a fan of RTS games you should still check this game out. It is a true breath of fresh air to a otherwise stale genre. As a guy who started playing RTS with Dune II, I must say this game really delivers. Expand
  15. SteveT.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    AMAZING game. I would have to say the only downside to it is when your team is full of noobs or when a clan stacks cause the game is all about teamplay and if your team does not coordinate very well, you will be ripped apart which is prolly why some of these other people disliked it. Beautiful graphics, amazing gameplay, 8v8 i love it and u can join a server at any time. Its easy to learn AMAZING game. I would have to say the only downside to it is when your team is full of noobs or when a clan stacks cause the game is all about teamplay and if your team does not coordinate very well, you will be ripped apart which is prolly why some of these other people disliked it. Beautiful graphics, amazing gameplay, 8v8 i love it and u can join a server at any time. Its easy to learn and it gets rid of the boring base building. You get right into the fight within the first minute of the match. Singleplayer is addicting and the multiplayers is simply the best out there. Expand
  16. PaulK.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    World in Conflict features great maps and locations, an immersive storyline which is not great but still entertaining and superior to most other RTS; command of small strike forces of units is great, and like the slightly better Company of Heroes, World in Conflict has a stunning sense of power. Rocket launch systems destroy buildings, you zoom in and hear the crack of tanks main guns, World in Conflict features great maps and locations, an immersive storyline which is not great but still entertaining and superior to most other RTS; command of small strike forces of units is great, and like the slightly better Company of Heroes, World in Conflict has a stunning sense of power. Rocket launch systems destroy buildings, you zoom in and hear the crack of tanks main guns, and it really is amazing. I have never encountered any real bugs, and the interface is responsive. Every command I give works, and performance is good. Expand
  17. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    This is how a strategy game is supposed to be like. A story that makes you feel like immersed like you're in the middle of a gripping movie as well as a fun and addictive game. Bear in mind though that this review is written by someone that had Soviet Assault as well installed. It seems that the expansion adds alot of dimension to the story as well as fixes some minor but annoying things.This is how a strategy game is supposed to be like. A story that makes you feel like immersed like you're in the middle of a gripping movie as well as a fun and addictive game. Bear in mind though that this review is written by someone that had Soviet Assault as well installed. It seems that the expansion adds alot of dimension to the story as well as fixes some minor but annoying things. Get this game if you enjoy strategy games. Expand
  18. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Excellent single player RTS experience. Since I like strategy games for the single player experience, I've lost interest in games like Warcraft 3 that require you to be able to press 10 buttons per second. This game feels more like a strategy game, and less like a frantic button-pressing competition. The story's amazing, really, and really draws you in (with the expansion, it gets evenExcellent single player RTS experience. Since I like strategy games for the single player experience, I've lost interest in games like Warcraft 3 that require you to be able to press 10 buttons per second. This game feels more like a strategy game, and less like a frantic button-pressing competition. The story's amazing, really, and really draws you in (with the expansion, it gets even better, as you see the conflict from both sides). The battles are truly gorgeous, and the gameplay is simply awesome.
    Since this game's a bit old, it can be bought real cheap, and its worth it.
    A 9, since it is indeed a bit short. As for multiplayer, who cares?
    Expand
  19. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Excellent game. It lacks some of the strategic depth of some other games in the RTS genre, but I have a feeling that really isn't what they were going for. I found it unique and refreshing that instead of being placed in control of all forces on the map, you were a subordinate to a commander and had to work in tandem with your team-mates. The single player campaign is well told andExcellent game. It lacks some of the strategic depth of some other games in the RTS genre, but I have a feeling that really isn't what they were going for. I found it unique and refreshing that instead of being placed in control of all forces on the map, you were a subordinate to a commander and had to work in tandem with your team-mates. The single player campaign is well told and beautifully realized, though I have yet to test out multiplayer. Expand
  20. SamM.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Great game with very well detailed models, and the coolest part is the wire physics when they get cut. But the best part world in conflict is i don't have to "Money Farm" anymore. Aka... i don't have to wait around 10 minutes to build up a base to just have it annihilated in the end, instead in wic, i pick a drop zone and get right into the action, get my ass kicked, then do it Great game with very well detailed models, and the coolest part is the wire physics when they get cut. But the best part world in conflict is i don't have to "Money Farm" anymore. Aka... i don't have to wait around 10 minutes to build up a base to just have it annihilated in the end, instead in wic, i pick a drop zone and get right into the action, get my ass kicked, then do it over again. Sure it has great graphics but the first time i played was on low detail on my older computer. So those no goes that say graphics make a game great (Which in most cases it dose) it doesn't in wic, So go shove it. Expand
  21. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    I give it a 10/10 not because it's perfect, but because of the dedication made to this game. There are no bugs or glitches of any kind. It is a hidden gem. Anyone who is an RTS fan should buy this. Heck, EVERYONE should buy this, because you're really missing out if you don't. Sure there is no resource gathering, but don't think this makes the game any easier, the enemy doesn't needI give it a 10/10 not because it's perfect, but because of the dedication made to this game. There are no bugs or glitches of any kind. It is a hidden gem. Anyone who is an RTS fan should buy this. Heck, EVERYONE should buy this, because you're really missing out if you don't. Sure there is no resource gathering, but don't think this makes the game any easier, the enemy doesn't need resources either, and you need tactics to defeat them. The story is really, really strong. Need I say more? Expand
  22. TheDreadedAtrox
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Simply an amazing game from an amazing team. Turns the RTS on it's head successfully, has amazing team- based mulitplayer, and gorgeous graphics. Plus, who doesn't think a Cold War era World War III would make a kick- ass game?
  23. JesperB.
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    The game reinvents RTS to a fair degree and both the multiplayer gameplay and the graphics simply astound me. Though I found the demo version of the single player a bit confusing. The game is a polished product rivaled only by Blizzard products and is truly fantastic in most ways.
  24. stephenb
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game! Brilliantly coded, bug free, everything is designed for comfortable functionability. Especially multiplayer: many servers, always an opening somewhere or other, quick entry into games. WIC defines co-op: no one can win alone, no "deathmatch", team play with each player taking one of 5 military roles (support, armor, etc.). The only problem is system specs: my quad-core Fantastic game! Brilliantly coded, bug free, everything is designed for comfortable functionability. Especially multiplayer: many servers, always an opening somewhere or other, quick entry into games. WIC defines co-op: no one can win alone, no "deathmatch", team play with each player taking one of 5 military roles (support, armor, etc.). The only problem is system specs: my quad-core 2.4/Geforce8300gts can only run smoothly at the lowest settings. The graphics, however, are the absolute finest of any rts today; the game comes close to a Battlefield 1942 experience, capturing the elusive combo of rts and FPS, 1 & 1/2 years old, it's still my top game, and it looks like it was coded several months from now! Expand
  25. CirapC
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    More of a RTT (Real Time Tactcal) than RTS. There is no tedious base building or resource gather, jump straight in the fight. The game is easy to pick up for a novice, and still feel like they can contribute to the fight, and if they do lose they don't feel like they wasted 2 hours building a base just to be wiped off the map. At the same time it offers a lot for the experienced RTS More of a RTT (Real Time Tactcal) than RTS. There is no tedious base building or resource gather, jump straight in the fight. The game is easy to pick up for a novice, and still feel like they can contribute to the fight, and if they do lose they don't feel like they wasted 2 hours building a base just to be wiped off the map. At the same time it offers a lot for the experienced RTS player. A must-have for any fan of RTT/RTS and action game fans alike. Awesome graphics just sweeten the deal. One of the best games of 2007, and THE best RTT/RTS game of 2007. the 2009 addition Soviet Assault just makes a great game even better! Expand
  26. Evilmomo
    May 27, 2009
    10
    This is one of the greatest RTS games ive ever played, however it has some minor minor minor flaws. One thing that was off setting to me was that there are only 2 (3 if you count NATO) factions...... meh. i more like games like DOW were there's like 10 factions, but that is not a big deal at all. great graphics, cool cut scenes, awesome physics. im mean who doesn't like blowing This is one of the greatest RTS games ive ever played, however it has some minor minor minor flaws. One thing that was off setting to me was that there are only 2 (3 if you count NATO) factions...... meh. i more like games like DOW were there's like 10 factions, but that is not a big deal at all. great graphics, cool cut scenes, awesome physics. im mean who doesn't like blowing the Sh*t out of commies? and artillery, all good stuff. great game but just like Corvus it should be a 9/10 but cause all you Zeroers. ( i don't think thats a word, but i dont care). Expand
  27. A.C.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    This game is intense, althoguh its not like most rts games, such as command and conquer. its all about team word, tactics, and strategy, which takes alot more skill then C&C becuase each player has to work togethor, althoguh it does have its flaws, it is an awesome game, and an expansion pack is due. WW2 ganmes are getting old,a s well as futureistic games, its about time someone came out This game is intense, althoguh its not like most rts games, such as command and conquer. its all about team word, tactics, and strategy, which takes alot more skill then C&C becuase each player has to work togethor, althoguh it does have its flaws, it is an awesome game, and an expansion pack is due. WW2 ganmes are getting old,a s well as futureistic games, its about time someone came out with something more modern. anyone who doesnt like this game probably sucks at it and is unable to use proper tactics, such as flanking and cutting off and surrounding the enemy. this game is realistic and not ment for amatuers. Expand
  28. AronL.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    The perfect action RTS the singleplayer may be short but e-sport multiplayer is where the action is.
  29. DavidC.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Best Graphic ever for an RTS game. But where is the strategy? I give 9 because it is a graphic masterpiece, but the game could be better. I hoped it was an hybrid rts/fps... so much detailed graphic and there isn't an fps implementation?? Why not?? It wuold be great. The future is hybrid games (rts/fps/rpg/sim life all in one) like Spore of Will Wright. World in Conflict is a great Best Graphic ever for an RTS game. But where is the strategy? I give 9 because it is a graphic masterpiece, but the game could be better. I hoped it was an hybrid rts/fps... so much detailed graphic and there isn't an fps implementation?? Why not?? It wuold be great. The future is hybrid games (rts/fps/rpg/sim life all in one) like Spore of Will Wright. World in Conflict is a great Game, but nowdays there are too much RTS. World in Conflict is another great RTS, like Company of Heroes, Medieval Total War II, Battle for Middle Earth II (the funniest RTS ever), C&C3, Supreme Commander. Expand
  30. AveryB
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Game is amazingly fun and the graphical details will blow you away from what you see in other games of this type. It's very well balanced between the opposing forces so no one has an advantage over the other. Team work and tactics are key to winning! Single player game is also very very fun.
  31. XitArS
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    The single player campaign is among the greatest I have ever seen in a game of this genre. IT is short yes, but 90% of this games value lies in it's multiplayer. And Ok, let's be honest here. This is not a RTS, this is a Real Time Tactical. So if you want to play a game where your goal is to build bases and gather resources, then you've found the right opposite. This is all The single player campaign is among the greatest I have ever seen in a game of this genre. IT is short yes, but 90% of this games value lies in it's multiplayer. And Ok, let's be honest here. This is not a RTS, this is a Real Time Tactical. So if you want to play a game where your goal is to build bases and gather resources, then you've found the right opposite. This is all about fast action paced tactical warfare in a team of 5+ where each player is totally dependent of their team mates in order to succeed. because of this, the online experience can be a bit rough for new players and I have to agree that in the beginning I had some real hard times. But once I learned the system this game is a real diamond. It's more addictive than anything else I have ever played, the graphics are insane , the balance(concerning units and unit types) is perfect and the gameplay is just amazing. So, if you want a fast paced RTT action game where the key to success lies in your teams ability to cooperate, then this is the game for you. If you want a base building and resource gathering RTS where you alone can rule the match, then go find yourself another game, because you will piss on this one. Expand
  32. May 20, 2014
    10
    I have played and finished this game 3 times. It's an outstanding game, which deserves 11/10 .
    Some aspects of it could probably be done a little bit better, but overall it delivers an experience which no other game has managed to give me. Only MW 1 and MW 2 come close to it in terms of gaming experience, but they are a different gender altogether.
    If you are a PC gamer and appreciate
    I have played and finished this game 3 times. It's an outstanding game, which deserves 11/10 .
    Some aspects of it could probably be done a little bit better, but overall it delivers an experience which no other game has managed to give me. Only MW 1 and MW 2 come close to it in terms of gaming experience, but they are a different gender altogether.
    If you are a PC gamer and appreciate great games, this game is a must in your collection.
    Expand
  33. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. My Favorite Game of All Time. I'm a strategy game player, so i know my way around RTS, and WIC is the the most action-packed, and fun-filled game i have ever played. The first thing i look for in a game is game-play. How is the UI, balance, tactics, and other areas that affect how a game is played. WIC is undoubtedly a 10/10 on this point. I love the team-based aspect of the game. As well the lack of macro (base-building and unit recruiting) is an important decision that adds to the fast-paced fun of the game. The story-line is epic; USA vs. USSR (How could i not be with such a topic). With it's legendary graphics (Which can still hold their own today) and superb voice acting they come together to form a powerful story-line. In fact, I actually felt attached to the characters in the game, which is something that the majority of other games have failed to do so for me (Although i only play strategy game, so perhaps that has something to do with it). The epic story-line frames the single player adding depth and complexity to the game. The single player isn't particularly difficult, but it is engaging and entertaining to play. The multiplayer of this game is where it delivers. Being able to jump into games that have already begun is a huge breakthrough and one of the major bonuses of the game. As mentioned above, the team-based aspect of the game is one of the major advantages of the game. It eliminates Rambo players and even the best player in the world can't win you a game. Meticulously balanced classes and variety of units and off-map support add to the depth, merit, and competitiveness of the multiplayer. The unfathomable hours i spent on this game are a testament to it's immense value. Collapse
  34. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    The best competitive tactical RTS on the market , only game that can compare with it in terms of pro gaming support is Starcraft 2. Great game, great support from developers (Massive) ,but still nobody bought WiC...
  35. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Too bad the servers aren't as busy any more........................................................................................................................
  36. May 30, 2014
    9
    I myself am a fan of the real-time tactics genre and though Cold War is not really my favorite setting for a video game, I still have to say this game is great, fantastic even in many ways. It has one of the most innovative tactical aid systems I've ever seen in any video game featuring a real tactical aid systems. Visuals are really great, especially when using a kick-ass tactical aidI myself am a fan of the real-time tactics genre and though Cold War is not really my favorite setting for a video game, I still have to say this game is great, fantastic even in many ways. It has one of the most innovative tactical aid systems I've ever seen in any video game featuring a real tactical aid systems. Visuals are really great, especially when using a kick-ass tactical aid like carpet bombing or better yet, a nuke! The tactics are well implemented, the ranges of weaponry are pretty realistic or in anyway, perfectly scaled to fit the map, and the map is freaking huge even for a genre that should include big-size maps like RTS or RTT. And the combat is off the hook! It's always intense and full of action at any given minute, heck, second. And this game also emphasizes the TEAMWORK, which is the first time I've ever experienced and it's well done. Also, this game has almost zero bug which is one of the many great things this title has to offer. The only downside I could find is that out of the campaign, there really is no skirmish section to enjoy the mechanics even more. Too bad there's no further project for the sequel which is really bad cause this game set a really shining example to all RTT and even RTS games out there. I'm gonna give a 9 to this excellent display of RTT, minus 1 point cause there's no SP skirmish mode but all in all, this is a must buy for RTT and even RTS fans out there. It's just excellent. Expand
  37. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    10/10 Best RTS of all times: best graphics, best balances, best music tracks (separate spasibo for an Ola Strandh), best animations, variety units appearances, very good users maps, diversity maps.

    Unusual strategy - you dont build structures and fortifications at one spot - you move, attack and maneuver your enemies.
  38. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    Corny but once you start carpet bombing, you'll never look back........................................................................................
  39. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. My Favorite Game of All Time. I'm a strategy game player, so i know my way around RTS, and WIC is the the most action-packed, and fun-filled game i have ever played. The first thing i look for in a game is game-play. How is the UI, balance, tactics, and other areas that affect how a game is played. WIC is undoubtedly a 10/10 on this point. I love the team-based aspect of the game. As well the lack of macro (base-building and unit recruiting) is an important decision that adds to the fast-paced fun of the game. The story-line is epic; USA vs. USSR (How could i not be with such a topic). With it's legendary graphics (Which can still hold their own today) and superb voice acting they come together to form a powerful story-line. In fact, I actually felt attached to the characters in the game, which is something that the majority of other games have failed to do so for me (Although i only play strategy game, so perhaps that has something to do with it). The epic story-line frames the single player adding depth and complexity to the game. The single player isn't particularly difficult, but it is engaging and entertaining to play. The multiplayer of this game is where it delivers. Being able to jump into games that have already begun is a huge breakthrough and one of the major bonuses of the game. As mentioned above, the team-based aspect of the game is one of the major advantages of the game. It eliminates Rambo players and even the best player in the world can't win you a game. Meticulously balanced classes and variety of units and off-map support add to the depth, merit, and competitiveness of the multiplayer. The unfathomable hours i spent on this game are a testament to it's immense value. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Another masterpiece from the folks at Massive, and one of the most beautiful visions of warfare you're ever likely to see. [Oct 2007, p.30]
  2. 93
    It’s not very often that a real-time strategy title comes along and changes the way you think about the genre. World in Conflict is one of those, not because all of the ideas are totally new, but because they’re all put together in such a successful way.
  3. With its combination of dazzling graphics and fast, tactical gameplay, I can easily see World in Conflict becoming a favorite of competitive clans and LAN parties everywhere. [Nov 2007, p.72]