User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 323
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    If you are into strategy games, you have to try this game. Excellent Story, Graphics, Gameplay and Presentation. There is an overall polish to this game compared to the recent strategy games out there. Highly recommended to try it out.
  2. AlterC.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    World in Conflict, the name of one strategy game, but this is the one...say good bye to food and wood gathering, say good bye to factory building, cause WiC is nothing about those things. Here you get the chance to put to test since the very first second you play it all the mighty power of 3 factions, USA, NATO and USSR. The very instance you start the game you are put directly into the World in Conflict, the name of one strategy game, but this is the one...say good bye to food and wood gathering, say good bye to factory building, cause WiC is nothing about those things. Here you get the chance to put to test since the very first second you play it all the mighty power of 3 factions, USA, NATO and USSR. The very instance you start the game you are put directly into the battlefield that quite frankly is our own backyard. Yes all the maps you're gonna fight into are all areas from our own cities, our own towns and neighborhoods. The visuals are fantastic. Massive has elaborated the graphics at such a great detail that you might even see the rebelious graphitis on the walls of some neighborhood building, to the flying newspapers in the hollow space left in a deserted town. The units you fight with are detailed to the maximum way possible known today, very high rendering gives us a really great view to play in. Then again it doesn't stop here, if you have a cutting-edge graphics card then you can pop the game up to DirectX 10 rendering, giving you visuals you won't ever forget. From ground deformation, cloud shadows, high-processed physics, volumetric light, HDR...and the list does not stop. The campain is limited to 2 factions. You can play only as USA or/and Nato vs. the invading USSR. It takes place on year 1989...yeah right when the Cold War was supposed to end...but the russians didn't think of so...You have to defend you own backyard, and repel the russian invasion from Europe. Unfortunately, they are releasing it only with 2 factions available on SP, due to not post pone the date, but you can really easily play the USSR faction on the MP. And to mention it the multiplayer is a bomb, and there have been several ways to show it. First the fortunate one to play the Alpha Test and as an Alpha Tester it did a very good impression on me. Second Massive released a Beta Test but Closed MP, only a few keys were released and they did a lot of changes in there from the Alpha but it was a great adventure playing it. Massive then having the reports releases the Wide Open MP Beta that was a fully integrated MP where most of the players (by the ending date i counted 216000) had a great time with the game, then demo comes with the final touches and a SP mission. On MP you can create clans with your friends and match other clans to earn points and reputation worldwide, or you can be the solitare wolf and kick***. Massgate grants the good players with ranks and medals, and they already have a ladderboard going on since demo. Personally, the fun i had and will have with this game, is immense...so i'd get it at any cost. In short terms like the leader of massgate told to all of us expecting this great game: World in Conflict The Most Intense Strategy Game Ever Crated...and I STAND BY IT. Expand
  3. MattG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    If you liked Company of Heroes or the Dawn of War series, give this one a try. If your more of a fan of the Starcraft, slower paced RTS's you may be dissapointed with this one, and while I love Starcraft as much as the next person, I think the faster paced RTS's are a breath of fresh air to the genre, and I personally can't stop playing this game. As someone else said, try If you liked Company of Heroes or the Dawn of War series, give this one a try. If your more of a fan of the Starcraft, slower paced RTS's you may be dissapointed with this one, and while I love Starcraft as much as the next person, I think the faster paced RTS's are a breath of fresh air to the genre, and I personally can't stop playing this game. As someone else said, try the demo first, but I personally think most everyone will love it. Expand
  4. MercFox1
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    World In Conflict is a perfect example of a game that's completely misunderstood. That said, World In Conflict had one of the best single-player experiences I've ever had (including Deus Ex, Half-Life 1 & 2, and Starcraft). The writing is superb, and the tension leading up to the end is palpable, making the campaign one of the best (albeit shortest) I've ever played. Now, World In Conflict is a perfect example of a game that's completely misunderstood. That said, World In Conflict had one of the best single-player experiences I've ever had (including Deus Ex, Half-Life 1 & 2, and Starcraft). The writing is superb, and the tension leading up to the end is palpable, making the campaign one of the best (albeit shortest) I've ever played. Now, the majority of the game's value lies in Multiplayer. Having been through both closed and open betas, I've seen firsthand the evolution of this game from a multiplayer standpoint. Those who say the sides are similar tend to forget how mirrored each modern army is to the next; tanks, APCs, infantry are all integral parts...Massive wasn't going to include Arbiters or Mammoth Tanks just to satiate the fanboys, and not to mention how that would completely wreck the atmosphere of 1989 American and European vistas. Instead, the burden of the balance falls to the players of multiplayer. Your dominance directly falls to how well you play as your role and how well you play as a team. Because this is such a new experience, (no other RTS has weighted so much of the success upon proper cooperation) a majority of casual RTS gamers are overwhelmed by the new coordination that is required of them. While I don't mean for this to be a psycoanalytical study of other users posts, when people get beat, they tend to complain. That said, if you approach WiC Multi with a rambo-like attitude, you will get destroyed. It's as simple as that. On a side note, those that are complaining that this is a failed RTS say so out of ignorance. Massive never meant for this to be an RTS. They've said from the beginning of the development it is oriented around combat and coordination and not base building or resource gathering. Do not come to this game expecting an RTS and then proceed to sully its name by stating things that are simply not true. Expand
  5. WilliamK.III
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    I agree that this game lakes the depth the true RTS like company of heroes has, however its not a typical RTS. All too often we get caught up in the genres and titles of games to look deeper. This game has as much to do with RTS as it does FPS, I mean the controls are FPS and the style of running and gunning doing away with building in favor of team based destroy fests is what this game I agree that this game lakes the depth the true RTS like company of heroes has, however its not a typical RTS. All too often we get caught up in the genres and titles of games to look deeper. This game has as much to do with RTS as it does FPS, I mean the controls are FPS and the style of running and gunning doing away with building in favor of team based destroy fests is what this game does best. What I love the most is the fact that unlike COH I can get on and play for an hour or 10 mins and not in the middle of battle upseting all present. I love COH but there are times when I want to think les about what building and unit to purchase and more about tactical movement and strategy on a more personal scale. Besides nothing beats having all the enamies camping a hill thinking themselfs invulnerable then droping the tactical nuke or 3 wide artilery berages. Expand
  6. MarkB.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    I can't get enough of this game. When I first got it I played the multiplayer and loved it. I never really liked RTS single players until I tried World in Conflict's. This game is really action packed.
  7. CorvusC
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    This game is truely a good piece of work, and very enjoyable in it's own right. I might prefer Company of Heroes over World in Conflict, but just by the slightest. And that's not small thing to say, CoH is one of the best strategy games in my opinion. If I'm honest, this game is not perfect and in reality deserves a rating of 9, but just because of stupid fanboys and haters This game is truely a good piece of work, and very enjoyable in it's own right. I might prefer Company of Heroes over World in Conflict, but just by the slightest. And that's not small thing to say, CoH is one of the best strategy games in my opinion. If I'm honest, this game is not perfect and in reality deserves a rating of 9, but just because of stupid fanboys and haters who gave this great game 0-1 points, I'll give it a 10 just to be fair. Expand
  8. EdoardoV
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    Only after some patched that solved the many performance issues this game can show how fast is modern war! The single player campaign is creative and immersive, but it's the multiplayer game that reveals the true power of this game. Coordination between players, to mount combined-arms assaults and manouvers, is essential. I will not mention the graphic, but the sound very good sound Only after some patched that solved the many performance issues this game can show how fast is modern war! The single player campaign is creative and immersive, but it's the multiplayer game that reveals the true power of this game. Coordination between players, to mount combined-arms assaults and manouvers, is essential. I will not mention the graphic, but the sound very good sound choice and the intuitive interface. This game may appear simple with no resources to harvest or bases to defend, but just surviving the World War 3 carnage is hard enough. Expand
  9. TehGeneral
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The Sinlge player side of World In Conflict(WIC) is the only bit that lets the game down. though personally i see the single player side of WIC as being the Training and its the multiplayer side of things that this game excels at. so for this review ill forget that the single player even exists, to start with their is everything here for team play. for starters their is in game VOIP, this The Sinlge player side of World In Conflict(WIC) is the only bit that lets the game down. though personally i see the single player side of WIC as being the Training and its the multiplayer side of things that this game excels at. so for this review ill forget that the single player even exists, to start with their is everything here for team play. for starters their is in game VOIP, this allows you to talk in game during the matches, the use of this is what make you the better player as you can make requests from other players. also their is a option by pressing Q you open up a window that allows you to place various reguests around the map. this game is all about team work and if you dont play as part of a team your side is going to lose the match. the other great things about WIC is the level of detail, from playing as a floating camera to see the entire map to clicking on your unit icon and zooming in to seeing the amazing detail on the units. i mean you can look at a helicopter flying near a target and zoom in to see that the pilots are animated with the helicopters. another great feature is that all your stats are logged and you can see what medals you have recived. their is a ranking ladder that shows top infintry, top Air, Top Armour, top Support players. top clans. this game covers everthing you could want from a multiplayer game. even down to haveing your own created avatar tags showing on your vehicles ingame . ive had the game since launch and am one of the higher ranking players on the servers but ive still yet to complete the 3rd mission on single player, because its not realy a sinlge player game. i feel that the single player side of the game was more of a after thought after they had created the fantastic multiplayer game. if you have played Ground control 1 or 2 then you will find that this game is very similar. next Expand
  10. JoeM.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Superb! This is action and strategy with amazing visuals and sound! Online with teammates is even better!
  11. EmanuelKumlien
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    Best game ever. period.
  12. R.B.
    Sep 19, 2007
    9
    This is a team game, it actually makes you communicate with your team mates (VoIP included, which helps) to be successful. Good ranking system by massgate similar to BF2142. Customizable decals on units. Awesome zooming ability, you can zoom straight in and see individual units fighting/talking or zoom out to see more of the map. One of the best RTS games I've played.
  13. Mobius
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    An Excellent Strategy game with a simple control interface, people saying that this game has no strategy should stick to their Sims 2 games, the thing with this game is that if your not a team player then your not going to either win or enjoy it, rushing into a capture point with all your tanks is going to get you nowhere unless the team uses a strategy. As one player prepares to move to An Excellent Strategy game with a simple control interface, people saying that this game has no strategy should stick to their Sims 2 games, the thing with this game is that if your not a team player then your not going to either win or enjoy it, rushing into a capture point with all your tanks is going to get you nowhere unless the team uses a strategy. As one player prepares to move to a location he will request an artillery strike from another player to clear the target and when capturing the target he should have anti Air support to secure the location. all sounds straight forward, but that may not be good enough, how about using that attack as a diversion and drawing the enemy away from the real target you wanted. Tactics and strategy are very important and it Expand
  14. Randy
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    I'll keep this short, but sweet. WiC is probably one of the best RTS or RTT if you wish game out there. The game strips away the dirt farming found in other games of the series, and improves upon everything else. The story is first class, sure it seems a little far fetched, but if you realize that the Cold War could have turned out this way, it really makes you think. Online play for I'll keep this short, but sweet. WiC is probably one of the best RTS or RTT if you wish game out there. The game strips away the dirt farming found in other games of the series, and improves upon everything else. The story is first class, sure it seems a little far fetched, but if you realize that the Cold War could have turned out this way, it really makes you think. Online play for this game is rock solid, and really addictive. Even if you are not a fan of RTS games you should still check this game out. It is a true breath of fresh air to a otherwise stale genre. As a guy who started playing RTS with Dune II, I must say this game really delivers. Expand
  15. SteveT.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    AMAZING game. I would have to say the only downside to it is when your team is full of noobs or when a clan stacks cause the game is all about teamplay and if your team does not coordinate very well, you will be ripped apart which is prolly why some of these other people disliked it. Beautiful graphics, amazing gameplay, 8v8 i love it and u can join a server at any time. Its easy to learn AMAZING game. I would have to say the only downside to it is when your team is full of noobs or when a clan stacks cause the game is all about teamplay and if your team does not coordinate very well, you will be ripped apart which is prolly why some of these other people disliked it. Beautiful graphics, amazing gameplay, 8v8 i love it and u can join a server at any time. Its easy to learn and it gets rid of the boring base building. You get right into the fight within the first minute of the match. Singleplayer is addicting and the multiplayers is simply the best out there. Expand
  16. PaulK.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    World in Conflict features great maps and locations, an immersive storyline which is not great but still entertaining and superior to most other RTS; command of small strike forces of units is great, and like the slightly better Company of Heroes, World in Conflict has a stunning sense of power. Rocket launch systems destroy buildings, you zoom in and hear the crack of tanks main guns, World in Conflict features great maps and locations, an immersive storyline which is not great but still entertaining and superior to most other RTS; command of small strike forces of units is great, and like the slightly better Company of Heroes, World in Conflict has a stunning sense of power. Rocket launch systems destroy buildings, you zoom in and hear the crack of tanks main guns, and it really is amazing. I have never encountered any real bugs, and the interface is responsive. Every command I give works, and performance is good. Expand
  17. WillY
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    Not perfect, but close. It is, when compared to other strategy games (or starcraft, which is more build order and spam), is revolutionary. And this is why some people have it and others (like me) love it. It is by all acounts the most realistic in terms of obtaining units, although the actual combat is not (CoH does it much better). Countering the hate further, I will try to explain some Not perfect, but close. It is, when compared to other strategy games (or starcraft, which is more build order and spam), is revolutionary. And this is why some people have it and others (like me) love it. It is by all acounts the most realistic in terms of obtaining units, although the actual combat is not (CoH does it much better). Countering the hate further, I will try to explain some of the things, like no resources and balanced units. 1) Balanced units: this is modern, and although everyone would think it funny and almost right that all the Russians have are AK-47s and Dragonovs (not a sniper btw), this is not true. Their military is almost up to our level at this point. Plus, it is fiction, duh. 2) No resource gathering/no bases: for god sakes, no war was EVER fought with tanks being built on the front lines and mindlessly rushing them straight into the wall of guns that is a defense. Altough the airdropping of an A1M1 (Abrams for the laymen) is a bit sketchy (they do weigh 60 tons), it is better than front-line assembly. 3) "mindless point and click": this is from the perspective of the commanding officer, not an omnipotent, omniceint eye-in-the-sky. Just because you cant "see" the the units fighting per se doesnt mean that they arent, i.e. the devs thought that soldiers actually have brains and could fight on their own. Not a game for the micro-managers except for some of the abilities the units have. And the point-click complainers obviously only played the demo on easy. The tactical abilities are there exactly for those nub campers on the hill, and are actually somewhat hard to use on a smart opponent. All in all, a very good attempt at reinventing the RTS. Expand
  18. Oct 9, 2010
    7
    While not perfect World in Conflict has a gripping single player experience that while a tad unbelievable is highly entertaining and a fantastically challenging multiplayer mode that puts your ability to think fast to the test. People who claim this game does not require thought or strategy are totally in a state of tunnel vision about what an RTS is. World in conflict is a real timeWhile not perfect World in Conflict has a gripping single player experience that while a tad unbelievable is highly entertaining and a fantastically challenging multiplayer mode that puts your ability to think fast to the test. People who claim this game does not require thought or strategy are totally in a state of tunnel vision about what an RTS is. World in conflict is a real time strategy game who ever says otherwise is an idiot, RTS games don't need base building or resource mining and what not, that's just added. At its heart and RTS is a game that requires the ability to manage multiple units effectively the person who's is the best at that wins (as compared to a shooter where you manage yourself), resources add a different level but don't change the base concept. This game requires immense skill and teamwork when played multiplayer and the learning curve is a bit steep but anyone who wants to play a game that requires a brain as well and dexterity should try it out since if you don't like multiplayer the single player and skirmish mode (which exists I don't know what people are talking about) are well worth the money. Expand
  19. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    This is how a strategy game is supposed to be like. A story that makes you feel like immersed like you're in the middle of a gripping movie as well as a fun and addictive game. Bear in mind though that this review is written by someone that had Soviet Assault as well installed. It seems that the expansion adds alot of dimension to the story as well as fixes some minor but annoying things.This is how a strategy game is supposed to be like. A story that makes you feel like immersed like you're in the middle of a gripping movie as well as a fun and addictive game. Bear in mind though that this review is written by someone that had Soviet Assault as well installed. It seems that the expansion adds alot of dimension to the story as well as fixes some minor but annoying things. Get this game if you enjoy strategy games. Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Excellent single player RTS experience. Since I like strategy games for the single player experience, I've lost interest in games like Warcraft 3 that require you to be able to press 10 buttons per second. This game feels more like a strategy game, and less like a frantic button-pressing competition. The story's amazing, really, and really draws you in (with the expansion, it gets evenExcellent single player RTS experience. Since I like strategy games for the single player experience, I've lost interest in games like Warcraft 3 that require you to be able to press 10 buttons per second. This game feels more like a strategy game, and less like a frantic button-pressing competition. The story's amazing, really, and really draws you in (with the expansion, it gets even better, as you see the conflict from both sides). The battles are truly gorgeous, and the gameplay is simply awesome.
    Since this game's a bit old, it can be bought real cheap, and its worth it.
    A 9, since it is indeed a bit short. As for multiplayer, who cares?
    Expand
  21. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Excellent game. It lacks some of the strategic depth of some other games in the RTS genre, but I have a feeling that really isn't what they were going for. I found it unique and refreshing that instead of being placed in control of all forces on the map, you were a subordinate to a commander and had to work in tandem with your team-mates. The single player campaign is well told andExcellent game. It lacks some of the strategic depth of some other games in the RTS genre, but I have a feeling that really isn't what they were going for. I found it unique and refreshing that instead of being placed in control of all forces on the map, you were a subordinate to a commander and had to work in tandem with your team-mates. The single player campaign is well told and beautifully realized, though I have yet to test out multiplayer. Expand
  22. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    10/10 Best RTS of all times: best graphics, best balances, best music tracks (separate spasibo for an Ola Strandh), best animations, variety units appearances, very good users maps, diversity maps.

    Unusual strategy - you dont build structures and fortifications at one spot - you move, attack and maneuver your enemies.
  23. SamM.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Great game with very well detailed models, and the coolest part is the wire physics when they get cut. But the best part world in conflict is i don't have to "Money Farm" anymore. Aka... i don't have to wait around 10 minutes to build up a base to just have it annihilated in the end, instead in wic, i pick a drop zone and get right into the action, get my ass kicked, then do it Great game with very well detailed models, and the coolest part is the wire physics when they get cut. But the best part world in conflict is i don't have to "Money Farm" anymore. Aka... i don't have to wait around 10 minutes to build up a base to just have it annihilated in the end, instead in wic, i pick a drop zone and get right into the action, get my ass kicked, then do it over again. Sure it has great graphics but the first time i played was on low detail on my older computer. So those no goes that say graphics make a game great (Which in most cases it dose) it doesn't in wic, So go shove it. Expand
  24. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    I give it a 10/10 not because it's perfect, but because of the dedication made to this game. There are no bugs or glitches of any kind. It is a hidden gem. Anyone who is an RTS fan should buy this. Heck, EVERYONE should buy this, because you're really missing out if you don't. Sure there is no resource gathering, but don't think this makes the game any easier, the enemy doesn't needI give it a 10/10 not because it's perfect, but because of the dedication made to this game. There are no bugs or glitches of any kind. It is a hidden gem. Anyone who is an RTS fan should buy this. Heck, EVERYONE should buy this, because you're really missing out if you don't. Sure there is no resource gathering, but don't think this makes the game any easier, the enemy doesn't need resources either, and you need tactics to defeat them. The story is really, really strong. Need I say more? Expand
  25. TheDreadedAtrox
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Simply an amazing game from an amazing team. Turns the RTS on it's head successfully, has amazing team- based mulitplayer, and gorgeous graphics. Plus, who doesn't think a Cold War era World War III would make a kick- ass game?
  26. TimD.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    I do not feel the reviews matched my personal experience. I found the game to be too fast-paced, arcade-like and non-fulfilling. As a war-buff and a war simulation first-person shooter, I found it very shallow and disappointing. It reminds me of all the other command-and-conquer type games.
  27. CB
    Nov 10, 2008
    0
    I bought this game and still I only made it through the first few missions then gave up never to bother trying it again. The free demo for Command and Conquer 3 is MUCH more fun than this although it is obviously an incomplete game. Your role in WIC is relegated to mindless point and clicking. I cannot emphasize enough how little fun this game is. Once again, I bought it based on the I bought this game and still I only made it through the first few missions then gave up never to bother trying it again. The free demo for Command and Conquer 3 is MUCH more fun than this although it is obviously an incomplete game. Your role in WIC is relegated to mindless point and clicking. I cannot emphasize enough how little fun this game is. Once again, I bought it based on the reviews and only played it for 1-2 hours before I never touched it again. Lesson is: never buy a game before trying the demo. Expand
  28. JakeK.
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    A triumph in symmetry and genericism. Remove the graphics from this game and you have nothing more than a generic strategy game with very bad controls, even C&C 3 is better than WIC and that's not saying much. Do NOT, I repeat DO NOT buy this stinker. Try the demo first as the press reviews are based purely on graphics and not game-play.
  29. Tal
    Feb 3, 2008
    1
    Come on! Didn't symmetrical faction design die in the 90's. Was all the time spent making this game look pretty so that it would get good reviews?Seriously, this could have been so much better. What a waste.
  30. IncoG
    Aug 16, 2009
    7
    I bought the complete edition of this game Summer 2008, 2 years after the release. Because the addon "Soviet Assault" only adds 6 single-player missions, i'm writing my review only for the original game. // Even after 2 years, the graphics on highest settings in DX10 are absolutely fantastic, and the sound and voice acting are probably 10/10. Wether you're just looking at I bought the complete edition of this game Summer 2008, 2 years after the release. Because the addon "Soviet Assault" only adds 6 single-player missions, i'm writing my review only for the original game. // Even after 2 years, the graphics on highest settings in DX10 are absolutely fantastic, and the sound and voice acting are probably 10/10. Wether you're just looking at landscapes or towns, from villages to big cities, in all kinds of settings from deserts over green forests to winter sceneries, or you are looking at tense battles with explosions, fire, gas clouds, planes dropping bombs or support crates and fire flares to avoid AA missiles - the game is absolutely breathtaking to look at. // Doing the tutorial, you get totally hyped out, the details are insane - the free camera lets you overview the entire battle, or zoom in so close that you even can hear tank crews doing small talk while waiting for orders. The whole single player campaign (especially with the added Soviet Assault missions in between) is worth every single minute, and took me about 2-3 days to finish. Both plot and gameplay are much better than anything ive seen so far. If this was about the single player only, i would probably give it a 9 or even 10/10. // However, the single player at times feels like it is preparing you for the ultimate multiplayer part of the game, most missions teach you particular roles of every unit like emergency repairs, or how to use Helicopters etc. . And that's where the fun suddenly ends. The gameplay in multiplayer has hardly anything to do with the singleplayer. No matter where you place your ground troops, there will be anti-tank / napalm / nukes dropped on your units if you stand in place for longer than 10 seconds. Anti-Air batteries will be wiped out even by Helicopters, Tanks shot to pieces by basically everything, teamplay is so critical that it's nearly impossible to get into the game. The only way i could be high on scores so far was to simply build repair vehicles and some AA, and repair everything in sight - which isn't very satisfying in the long run. The community just seems to hate newcomers, just take a look at the forums how people keep writing how much they hate newbies. Example: You join a game, support role is recommended. You buy heavy artillery and anti-air and you will be "kicked due to a vote" in about 1 minute - instead of giving you advice that they don't want/need artillery in their team, i only found out later while browsing forums that using any artillery units is "forbidden" even in public play. Also there are only about 10-20 servers around with people on it and playable latency (playing from europe, no mods). // On the technical side, single-player works like a charm without any crashes or FPS issues on a quad 2.83Ghz, ATI 4870 and 4GB RAM. In multiplayer, the game sometimes halfway locks up - it just stops doing anything, although windows says the application was still working fine. Customer support both by UBI and on the Massgate forums have been the worst i've seen so far. // I think this game is already past its time multiplayer-wise, although it's very much worth 30 Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. PC Format
    90
    Another masterpiece from the folks at Massive, and one of the most beautiful visions of warfare you're ever likely to see. [Oct 2007, p.30]
  2. 93
    It’s not very often that a real-time strategy title comes along and changes the way you think about the genre. World in Conflict is one of those, not because all of the ideas are totally new, but because they’re all put together in such a successful way.
  3. PC Gamer
    93
    With its combination of dazzling graphics and fast, tactical gameplay, I can easily see World in Conflict becoming a favorite of competitive clans and LAN parties everywhere. [Nov 2007, p.72]