Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War is Coming Home. West Germany, 1989. To avoid certain collapse, the Soviet army boldly advances into Europe. NATO responds only to be met on a second front -- a diversionary attack on the American homeland. You are a field commander, leading the era’s most powerful military machines inWar is Coming Home. West Germany, 1989. To avoid certain collapse, the Soviet army boldly advances into Europe. NATO responds only to be met on a second front -- a diversionary attack on the American homeland. You are a field commander, leading the era’s most powerful military machines in the campaign to retake America’s cities and suburbs. Superpowered Warfare - Unleash the arsenals of the great military superpowers in the gripping single-player story created by best-selling author and Cold War authority, Larry Bond. MassTech Engine - The latest version of Massive’s proprietary engine allows for a full 360° range of camera control, allowing you to get right down into the midst of battle. Demolish Everything - Destroy every object in the game – crush cars, destroy buildings, burn forests! Drop-in Multiplayer - Join on-going games and immediately help your team take control of the map. [Sierra] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    A triumph for Massive Entertainment. The developers have managed to take a quirky "action game" take on the real-time strategy genre and wrap it in an instantly appealing, accessible and highly polished package.
  2. It’s a fun, addictive, fast paced, and fresh take on a very stale genre. This is not only one of the PC’s best this year, it’s one of the best games in the genre, period; and we’re talking in the infinite sense.
  3. Simply put, World in Conflict is a blockbuster of almost epic proportions.
  4. 90
    The most imaginative RTS since last year's "Company of Heroes," World of Conflict arrives with one hell of a bang, offering up some of the most explosive real-time experiences I've ever seen.
  5. It's the immediacy of World in Conflict that drives it beyond anything else in the genre. The constantly fast pace, the race to accumulate Tactical Aid points, the relentless explosions and surges make for one of the most exhilarating experiences you'll have from a strategy title.
    On so many counts Massive Entertainment have delivered on the "easy to learn, difficult to master" mantra, a strategy game that can be enjoyed by anybody.
  6. It's entirely its own creature and brilliant. [Nov 2007, p.74]
  7. Overall, World in Conflict is not bad, but if you've been keeping up to with other RTS titles, it will not come across as much other than a well-written single-player experience.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 72
  2. Negative: 13 out of 72
  1. Mobius
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    An Excellent Strategy game with a simple control interface, people saying that this game has no strategy should stick to their Sims 2 games, An Excellent Strategy game with a simple control interface, people saying that this game has no strategy should stick to their Sims 2 games, the thing with this game is that if your not a team player then your not going to either win or enjoy it, rushing into a capture point with all your tanks is going to get you nowhere unless the team uses a strategy. As one player prepares to move to a location he will request an artillery strike from another player to clear the target and when capturing the target he should have anti Air support to secure the location. all sounds straight forward, but that may not be good enough, how about using that attack as a diversion and drawing the enemy away from the real target you wanted. Tactics and strategy are very important and it Expand
  2. TheDreadedAtrox
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Simply an amazing game from an amazing team. Turns the RTS on it's head successfully, has amazing team- based mulitplayer, and gorgeous Simply an amazing game from an amazing team. Turns the RTS on it's head successfully, has amazing team- based mulitplayer, and gorgeous graphics. Plus, who doesn't think a Cold War era World War III would make a kick- ass game? Expand
  3. SamM.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Great game with very well detailed models, and the coolest part is the wire physics when they get cut. But the best part world in conflict is Great game with very well detailed models, and the coolest part is the wire physics when they get cut. But the best part world in conflict is i don't have to "Money Farm" anymore. Aka... i don't have to wait around 10 minutes to build up a base to just have it annihilated in the end, instead in wic, i pick a drop zone and get right into the action, get my ass kicked, then do it over again. Sure it has great graphics but the first time i played was on low detail on my older computer. So those no goes that say graphics make a game great (Which in most cases it dose) it doesn't in wic, So go shove it. Expand
  4. A.C.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    This game is intense, althoguh its not like most rts games, such as command and conquer. its all about team word, tactics, and strategy, This game is intense, althoguh its not like most rts games, such as command and conquer. its all about team word, tactics, and strategy, which takes alot more skill then C&C becuase each player has to work togethor, althoguh it does have its flaws, it is an awesome game, and an expansion pack is due. WW2 ganmes are getting old,a s well as futureistic games, its about time someone came out with something more modern. anyone who doesnt like this game probably sucks at it and is unable to use proper tactics, such as flanking and cutting off and surrounding the enemy. this game is realistic and not ment for amatuers. Expand
  5. Maslab
    Jun 9, 2008
    7
    Really fun RTS. I do enjoy watching the physics engine take hold of an jeep barreling downhill when a tank shell shreds it. The camera work Really fun RTS. I do enjoy watching the physics engine take hold of an jeep barreling downhill when a tank shell shreds it. The camera work is very nice, almost FPS style. The storyline is pretty good, but some gameplay issues make it annoying to handle units. Tactical aid is overpowering, but with all the enemy AI units running around, you do kind of need it, although the use of it can best be called a "BS maneuver", in which you can be an inch away from a killing blow only to have all your troops blown away by a couple artillery rounds. I do like it, but it could have been a lot better. Multiplayer is repetitive, unit control gets annoying, its nothing you haven't seen before. But the phyics are pretty nice. Expand
  6. Jameson
    Nov 28, 2007
    6
    Now this game would have been a good game, had it come out several years ago. I didn't like it for a number of reasons. First off the Now this game would have been a good game, had it come out several years ago. I didn't like it for a number of reasons. First off the controls are just wacky and they bother me a lot. Obviously this is not a huge problem as this is completely personal. Second: There is no building a base which, in my opinion, really adds fun to an RTS game. Instead you are just get units via air drop. Third: There was very little decision making or strategic situations which I think is absolutely essential to any RTS as RTS means Real Time Strategy. Forth: There is not resource gathering either which is another strategic aspect pretty much required for a good RTS game. Like the requirement to defend your base and supply lines. Fifth: There is no skirmish mode that you can just play against the AI. It is only multiplayer which can be fun but sometimes its more enjoyable to play against the computer. There is one campaign and almost identical playable factions that include the skins as well as the damage, speed, and armor values. As well as the fact that the units are VERY limited in the sense that there are few units, let alone unique ones. I guess I have been spoiled by Westwood's Command and Conquer series where I had to think and do something. This is a pretty negative stand point but I am picky with RTS games. The game has good graphics how ever but it is not the best thing to buy it because of that. Basically if you are looking for another RTS game that could be fun, this could be for you but definetly not (in my opinion) a well thought out and brilliant game. It lacks in most areas that I believe are necessities for a game of this genre and time. Expand
  7. JakeK.
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    A triumph in symmetry and genericism. Remove the graphics from this game and you have nothing more than a generic strategy game with very bad A triumph in symmetry and genericism. Remove the graphics from this game and you have nothing more than a generic strategy game with very bad controls, even C&C 3 is better than WIC and that's not saying much. Do NOT, I repeat DO NOT buy this stinker. Try the demo first as the press reviews are based purely on graphics and not game-play. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews