User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    Seems good so far! There is much unit customization, and it is fun having battles with multiple players at a time. The graphics are great, I have not seen rts mmo's with graphics these neat for some time, and it is rewarding seeing the equipment you put on your units show up on them in battle. I can see hardcore gamers that are fans of Shogun, Mount and Blade, or League of Legends seeing this game fun and competetive. What's even better is doing a 4v4 match with armies via skype with some freinds, it's interesting to see all of the comotion and strategy that takes place when players control large armies. You can buy stuff in game with real money, but what is cool is you can pay for the stuff via money you make in game anyways, and so far the costs don't seem too rediculous at all. Not only that, but there is a persistant map in which you can have clans battle over, I have engaged in this very little, but it seems like a fun experience. ALSO if you are a fan of Warhammer, I very very highly recommend this game, it seems like some of the lore itself is stemmed from it, and the gameplay mechanics are very similair. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2012
    7
    This game seems good so far. There are three different factions in the game all with three different races. There's a ton of unit customization, you can upgrades your units weapons and armour, recruit new units and recruit other units from different races, however a lot of units will fall into your generic spear men, footsoldiers, archers and cavalry. The game also allows you to import an image for your character avatar and army banner and also allows you to name your character and army. This is a great feature since the game makes you feel like it's your own army that you have created and given it a name, rather then the game doing it for you.

    The pvp in the game is a 4v4 and forces you to work as a team rather then an individual. It can also be unbalanced at times but it's usually not the case. Also there isn't much variety in the maps most of the are wide open fields and are just boring to look at. You will also need a high performance system since this game does have a lot of high requirements. Saying that though it does look amazing, character details look nice and battles look realistic.

    Probably the biggest problem is earning money and xp. There are two types of currency gems which are earn't by achieving a certain objective or by purchasing through micro transactions. The second currency is gold which you get after each battle as well as xp. Both gems and gold are used to purchase weapons and armour and both are a pain to get especially gems. Also some items in the game can only be purchased with gems. Overall I would say its worth checking out at the very least
    Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    I like this game cause it gives both space for Strategy on Global Map and for Tactics on Battlefield.
    Also as a clan leader i feel myself a king of a small kingdom with real warlords inside, real diplomacy with other leaders, conflicts and so on. For me it does not lag at all, interface is pretty nice and easy to use.
    The best strategy game you can find now also with endless potential
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    This game is Free to Play done right! There are no features in this game that cannot be accessed for free. The game features multiple races and is a real thrill to play. It basically follows the format of the Total War games, but with a massive online twist. Unfortunately, the graphics are somewhat dated but this is a fair trade off for having eight players and hundreds of units on the field at a time. In addition, the back story of the series could seriously do with some fleshing out, as it is an extremely generic fantasy setting at the moment. This game might not be for everyone, both those who enjoy table top war games will love it!

    As another example of what this game is like, this is essentially WarHammer turned into a computer game :)
    Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    1
    Painful to play, poor interface control and execution. I can hardly see where the enjoyment comes in this game unless you simply like your units to tell you "yes m'lord." Purchases prices are very high and effect gameplay significantly.
  6. May 6, 2012
    10
    This game includes tabletop wargame level tactical richness combined with adrenaline-boosting real-time action. An extremely efficient "one click" system of matchmaking provides for balance of battles and optimizes them for the maximum fun of all the participants. A wide range of customizable equipment, which is 100% visually reflected on every soldier in real-time 3D battles, guarantees spectacular sights on the battlefield. And a highly detailed, fully interactive Global Map introduces a completely new meaning to Clan Wars and Land Owning. Its realy nice to play with friend! Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2012
    0
    I will never understand why people think it's okay to release/publish a game that has very dated graphics while lagging and eating resources like (6GB RAM, 3,2 GHz quadcore) like it was the most complex simulation on earth.
    The gameplay is okay I guess, but the game starts very slowly and just isn't nice to look at. The year is 2012. You either do good 3D-graphics or you offer something
    unique/with style. Nobody needs uninspired games done for the ceapest production costs possible. Expand
  8. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    I`m an experienced strategy player and played all RTS games since 1996.
    Noticed the game some time ago, and still happy to play it.
    The best balance between units i have ever seen before, deep customization, helpful advisers, racial variety, interesting battles, yes, i like that!
  9. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    I've got the 45'th lvl today, and the game is still exciting and interesting for me. Clan management, conquering new territories, opening new units and new clothes for them - it seems that you'll never get tired of that. Moreover with every new patch and modification the game becomes more and more interesting. I've never seen the game that offers something similar online. Definitely needs a try if you are into strategy genre. Expand
  10. May 13, 2012
    0
    I didn't really like it as a free to play. Purchase prices are really high, and give too much of an advantage. Matchmaking is kinda poor: I often found myself paired with a few other newbs against seasoned players with 50 more units, with most unit being the upgraded version of what we had. The controls seems to have forgotten the total war series, and the graphics are really obsolete. This could have been forgivable if everything else was top notch, unfortunately it isn't. Expand
  11. Nov 7, 2012
    6
    For an RTS this is a decent game. There are some unique aspects to the strategy for controlling units and utilizing them best against opposing units. If you can grasp that some units are better against specific types of units and play them accordingly, you will find enjoyment and success with this game. If you just try to rush your whole army at the opposing force looking for brute force wins, you will be shredded apart before you knew what happened. Good game with a higher level of thought needed for success. Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    A great strategi fantasy game, good balance in units and epic battles, i see this as the fantasy version of totalwar with same tactics and gameplay in the battles, but without the city management.
    + great gameplay if u like strategi games
    + very cool units and races, orcs, dark elfs, undead, dwarfs etc.
    +unit customization
    +each army can get a giant master unit 30times larger than
    normal units +unit balance is good
    u can earn crystals ingame through daily and global clan map system so anyone who puts the time into it can buy anything in the game, gear, units and premium membership, and there are 50% on some units and gear each that changes each two weeks, so i dont get why people give this a 0 or 1 score on that reason?
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    64
    Great customisation and a compelling clan war layer, but the multiplayer just isn't interesting enough to support them. [Aug 2012, p.96]
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    75
    World of Battles: Morningstar offers rewarding real-time strategy depth and tactics at a good price, at least initially.