User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 538 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 538

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobDole
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    This game is hugely addictive. Glad I picked it up for only 5 dollars. The most surprising thing about this game is the soundtrack. It definitely takes this game to a whole new level. Buy it and you'll know what i mean.
  2. ZombieT.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    This game is absolute perfection. Perfect score for visuals, audio/music, gameplay and story. And made by two guys! I'd still give it 10/10 if it were made by a larger company, but that really stands out to me. Most amazing game all year!
  3. [Anonymous]
    May 9, 2009
    10
    World of Goo is one of the most innovative games I have played in a long time. It is simple, yet addictive. It brings back fond memories of Lemmings from my childhood. Sometimes seeing the demise of your little goolings is as much fun as leading them to the goal. If I had three thumbs, it would get three thumbs up.
  4. JohnC
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    This is an amazing game. Very very fun. Great music, great lasting appeal, and tons of ways to have fun with it all. Pick it up.
  5. DouglasBurrill
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    A fantastic indie game. I was particularly how interested my two kids (aged 3 and 5) were with the game. I bought it for myself but it turned into a family entertainment game. Different themes for each chapter helped keep their interest. The kids actually identified with some of the different goo ball characters but the best part was that they were excited to interact with a physicsA fantastic indie game. I was particularly how interested my two kids (aged 3 and 5) were with the game. I bought it for myself but it turned into a family entertainment game. Different themes for each chapter helped keep their interest. The kids actually identified with some of the different goo ball characters but the best part was that they were excited to interact with a physics based game. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    World of Goo is one of the greatest puzzle games of all time, the graphics suit the game perfectly the sound track is truly amazing and the game is fun and challenging, could be longer is my only criticism but thats only because i enjoyed it so much
  7. JoshP
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Let me try and describe this game in one word... Incredible. The scenery is beautiful, music touches your soul, gameplay is addictive and fun, and its just overall fun everysecond. Everyone.. seriously, EVERYONE should try this game. Greatest indie game I have ever played
  8. SignPainter
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    Whenever I pick up a new video game it's usually Because it has been recommended to me. But w/ World of Goo. I wanted it. I have to say I got World of Goo, And I cried, Because I had deeply underpaid at 15$ This is the kind of game who just "stuck it" to all those repetitive game franchises. This is possibly the greatest game ever made. I am eagerly awaiting the witty and humorous Whenever I pick up a new video game it's usually Because it has been recommended to me. But w/ World of Goo. I wanted it. I have to say I got World of Goo, And I cried, Because I had deeply underpaid at 15$ This is the kind of game who just "stuck it" to all those repetitive game franchises. This is possibly the greatest game ever made. I am eagerly awaiting the witty and humorous content 2D Boy has yet to throw at us. -The Sign Painter Expand
  9. BannonDC
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    Great puzzle game. No impossible levels. No dead ends. Silly back-story. A little work out for your brain instead of your reflexes. At $20 for the download, there is no reason not to buy this one. As stated by other reviewers, it does end too quickly... I wanted more!
  10. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    I bought this game on steam sale for 1 dollar. And I liked World Of Goo very much! A cheap cool game, that could help you to spend some time in fun! Good physics and nice graphics with awesome gameplay- that is my choice!
  11. Orion
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    One word describes this physics-based puzzle game : Epic. It is so well polished that you feel like you are playing a $50 game. This game is for the ages, telling the grand kids about time for the smart gamer wasn't over in 2008. All of the puzzles are difficult without being impossible. OCD challenges will make you have to bend the in-game physics to your will like a god to completeOne word describes this physics-based puzzle game : Epic. It is so well polished that you feel like you are playing a $50 game. This game is for the ages, telling the grand kids about time for the smart gamer wasn't over in 2008. All of the puzzles are difficult without being impossible. OCD challenges will make you have to bend the in-game physics to your will like a god to complete them, but when you do it, you'll jump with celebration. Story is funny and cute and emotionally grabbing. Graphics are perfect and fit along the story like a glove. Music is incredible.
    For an added challenge, buy it for the Wii.
    BUY it NOW!!!
    Expand
  12. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    This game reminded me a lot of Portal. A little short, but very fun. There are a lot of nice touches, clever puzzles and well crafted gameplay. I was pleasantly surprised by the new levels and the way the game progressed. I really enjoyed it, and have recommended it to all my gamer friends.
  13. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    First I would like to state that I am not a indie addict by any means (ok I just bough humble bundle 2, but thatâ
  14. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    This is an Amazing game. Although it can be hard at times, it can really be satisfying to beat them. The game has great comical graphics (you don't need ultra-crysis realism to have good graphics, it just has to look good). It has funny little sounds for the goos. It is comical down to the core. The only time you will wouldn't like it is if you try the OCD.
  15. WilliamZ
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Derek, I'm rather amused about your comment. The levels are not hard in any way, and person with a creative mind should figure out the levels. Each level is uniquely different, and require you to think differently. And yes, the last three levels are doable, you just have to think. I managed to beat the entire game skipping only once on Blustery Day, and then redoing it. The Derek, I'm rather amused about your comment. The levels are not hard in any way, and person with a creative mind should figure out the levels. Each level is uniquely different, and require you to think differently. And yes, the last three levels are doable, you just have to think. I managed to beat the entire game skipping only once on Blustery Day, and then redoing it. The soundtrack is also excellent, representing the mood at the scene. And this game is amazingly unique and creative. World of Goo is a must buy, and it only costs $15! Expand
  16. StephenS.
    Oct 15, 2008
    9
    Great, fun, enjoyable game all around. Doesn't seem too long of a game, but I haven't finished it yet, so I can't say for sure. There's always the OCD challenges for each level so even if I finish I'm thinking about going back and getting what I can.
  17. LudovitcheT
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. Knowing that so few people worked on it I could almost compare this to the 2-men revolution that was the first Prince of Persia... While blockbusters keep repeating themselves, from GTA 4 to Tom Clancy's X's war video game (I like these games, but... always the same !), the independant video game industry shows that some people can still innovate. Yet I put 9, I Amazing game. Knowing that so few people worked on it I could almost compare this to the 2-men revolution that was the first Prince of Persia... While blockbusters keep repeating themselves, from GTA 4 to Tom Clancy's X's war video game (I like these games, but... always the same !), the independant video game industry shows that some people can still innovate. Yet I put 9, I feel frustrated... Maybe I'm good at a video game for the first time ever :), but it was sooo short ! 5 chapters ? I would have needed 15 chapters to feel satisfied... that game kept me busy for 2 evenings only... I Hope new levels will come soon ! Expand
  18. FrazerSmith
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    Even though EA games pumps out a large amount of games each year, if you were to put all of them together they wouldn't even match the gameplay, creativity and fun of this game.
    The songs are brillaint, the graphics are cute and the gameplay itself requires you to use your brain unlike a certain big games developers' games.

    2D boy know how to make a game, with "love".
  19. brandonraccoon
    Mar 22, 2009
    10
    World of Goo is easily a perfect 10, as the only thing wrong with this game is many people still aren't playing it. While the game itself offers a good 12+ hours of play time in the standard story mode, the OCD/achievement system offers several additional days worth of value, and the endless building/tower stage will keep you playing, well, endlessly. The replay value after all of World of Goo is easily a perfect 10, as the only thing wrong with this game is many people still aren't playing it. While the game itself offers a good 12+ hours of play time in the standard story mode, the OCD/achievement system offers several additional days worth of value, and the endless building/tower stage will keep you playing, well, endlessly. The replay value after all of that remains incredibly high, too. The graphics are cute and stunning, the music is FUN, and the overall game play, story, levels and other odd twists those two guys tossed in keep the game fresh and fun and purely enjoyable, exactly what a game should be. World of Goo is the very definition of fun. Expand
  20. CableGuyF.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best puzzle games made in a very long time. Everything is fun about it, the storyline, music, gameplay, simply perfect. Even more amazing, the fact that it was only made my a small amout of people, yet they still seemed to have the ideas of a huge gaming company. Fabulous.
  21. SarahB
    May 23, 2009
    10
    I personally thought this game was amazing. The music is great, the puzzles are great, the physics is flawless, and there's endless replay value. The best game of 2008.
  22. Mezzo
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    Definitely a shining example that there are still bright ideas still to come, and that all video games certainly aren't mindlessly repetitive things from the likes of Halo and such. The amount of work put into this game really shows, and it's just impossible for anyone to give it anything lower than a 10.

    In short: This is up there on the scale of Perfection next to Portal.
    Definitely a shining example that there are still bright ideas still to come, and that all video games certainly aren't mindlessly repetitive things from the likes of Halo and such. The amount of work put into this game really shows, and it's just impossible for anyone to give it anything lower than a 10.

    In short: This is up there on the scale of Perfection next to Portal. It's 15$ on Steam before January 2, and you'd be damned not to take advantage of it.

    It's just that great.
    Expand
  23. PatrickG.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Perfect little game. And it will runs on about any platform even without a dedicated graphics and/or physics card. Plus it's lacking the kind of DRM, Phone Home Spyware Components, Daily Online Activation or 50-Digit Serial Numbers that the big Players insist on using to torture their paying customers with. Buy it and buy a copy for a good friend and support people who actually care Perfect little game. And it will runs on about any platform even without a dedicated graphics and/or physics card. Plus it's lacking the kind of DRM, Phone Home Spyware Components, Daily Online Activation or 50-Digit Serial Numbers that the big Players insist on using to torture their paying customers with. Buy it and buy a copy for a good friend and support people who actually care about their customers. Expand
  24. NinjaHedge
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    I would say that this is a VERY entertaining game. For the $5 I bought it through Steam (discount on Black Friday) it has been worth at least double that! The puzzles are fun, although some ARE indeed frustrating (especially not being able to make things strait, or make cross bracing with any regularity). The Sign Painters signs and the mild social commentary are cute and well made and I would say that this is a VERY entertaining game. For the $5 I bought it through Steam (discount on Black Friday) it has been worth at least double that! The puzzles are fun, although some ARE indeed frustrating (especially not being able to make things strait, or make cross bracing with any regularity). The Sign Painters signs and the mild social commentary are cute and well made and brough a smile to my face. i sincerely hope they make additional lvels, or make a user content section to allow special puzzles that let you solve them on your time in your way. only downside is that once you have achieved the goal, you can not replay or use the flashback thingers to make it get more extra goo-balls. I have had several times where I have lost dozens because I over reached the end and saw them plummet, only to barely meet the goal and not be able to restart.... I say this is NOT worth $20, but $15 would be the fair price I would call on this. Any lower for this, and you do NOT get it, do not call yourself a puzzle player. Expand
  25. MarkB
    Mar 25, 2009
    10
    I've played a lot of stuff over the past year or so, mostly on my Xbox 360 and PC, but for me World of Goo beats everything else hands down for sheer fun factor. Fallout 3, Deadspace, Fable II, Mirrors Edge, Crysis and Prince Of Persia have been amazing experiences in their own way (well, maybe not Fable II) but they just can't match World Of Goo for its pick-up-and-play I've played a lot of stuff over the past year or so, mostly on my Xbox 360 and PC, but for me World of Goo beats everything else hands down for sheer fun factor. Fallout 3, Deadspace, Fable II, Mirrors Edge, Crysis and Prince Of Persia have been amazing experiences in their own way (well, maybe not Fable II) but they just can't match World Of Goo for its pick-up-and-play simplicity and joyously creative execution. It maybe even tops the wonderful Braid... And I've only just completed the first chapter! I've had a huge smile on my face nearly the whole time when building my wobbly towers and bridges. Aside from the fiendishly fun gameplay, the engaging art, animation and interface are excellent, and the music is the absolutely brilliant icing on the cake. And I can't believe I got it for just a few quid on Steam. Thank you 2D Boy... you've made me realise again how much fun gaming can be! Collapse
  26. RichardS.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    World of Goo's innovative game play created a unique game play experience that me laugh, gawk, laugh some more and even a little sad. Once I had beaten the game I considered going through and getting all the "OCD" requirements, but about half way through the game I decided I simply wanted to experience Goo again; I promptly removed it and then reinstalled it, and played through the World of Goo's innovative game play created a unique game play experience that me laugh, gawk, laugh some more and even a little sad. Once I had beaten the game I considered going through and getting all the "OCD" requirements, but about half way through the game I decided I simply wanted to experience Goo again; I promptly removed it and then reinstalled it, and played through the entire game, again, in one sitting. World of Goo is proof that a game doesn't have to have marvelous graphics, the best multiplayer and matchmaking or even a solid plot line to be considered one of the best modern games. 100% recommended for any age, any player of any experience level. Expand
  27. BryanB.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    What a treat this game is! It is positively brilliant, clever, fun, and it begs for a sequel or two. Most of the criticisms I've read are rubbish and really expose how amateur most game critics are allowed to get away with being. I especially like the EuroGamer summary above. My only criticism is that it ended. Note that I didn't say the game was too short, which means something What a treat this game is! It is positively brilliant, clever, fun, and it begs for a sequel or two. Most of the criticisms I've read are rubbish and really expose how amateur most game critics are allowed to get away with being. I especially like the EuroGamer summary above. My only criticism is that it ended. Note that I didn't say the game was too short, which means something different. I was just disappointed when it was over that it couldn't go on a little longer. But really, that's underhanded praise and not a criticism at all. Expand
  28. Spliter
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    The game is a brilliant game from the menu screen up to the very end of the credits. The music is top shelf, elevating the atmosphere, and it blends magnificently with the graphics, story and gameplay itself. This game has definitely became one of my favorite games of all time. Story is simple and entertaining, brought to you by The Sign Painter, and the available Obsessive CompletionThe game is a brilliant game from the menu screen up to the very end of the credits. The music is top shelf, elevating the atmosphere, and it blends magnificently with the graphics, story and gameplay itself. This game has definitely became one of my favorite games of all time. Story is simple and entertaining, brought to you by The Sign Painter, and the available Obsessive Completion Distinction achievements with the meta game that allows you to build a giant tower of goo will definitely entertain you after you've finished the main story. Expand
  29. T.S.PJ
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    I have in my Steam list two kinds of game; the kind that is epic and I can play for hours, such as Bioshock, the Half-Life series, and then there are the much smaller games that you can dabble with but ultimately are likely to tire of either after you finish them a few times, or just get over them. This game strike a remarkable middle-ground I'd not thought possible. Whilst being I have in my Steam list two kinds of game; the kind that is epic and I can play for hours, such as Bioshock, the Half-Life series, and then there are the much smaller games that you can dabble with but ultimately are likely to tire of either after you finish them a few times, or just get over them. This game strike a remarkable middle-ground I'd not thought possible. Whilst being comparitively short, the story is truely wonderful - something you wouldn't expect from a small puzzle game. To this end it is extremely dark, and the end will probably leave you with a couple of questions. Even though this game by no means has infinite replayability, when faced with a choice of similar games, this is probably the one I for one would play through again. After perhaps an hour or two, you may tire of it and it's probably best to walk away for a bit, make a sandwich, and try to avoid the Tetris Effect - but soon you'll want to be right back in there. So excuse me, but I've still gotta get the OCD achievements. -Epic Metacritic; The Sign Painter. Expand
  30. FilipK.
    Dec 31, 2008
    10
    I didn't expect anything special from that game, but it really surprised me very positively. This game isn't the same all the time, there are some turning points, it's a true revolution. Fantastic idea, a little psychodelic climate, marvelous handmade-like graphics, that remind me best LucasArts adventure games (Curse of Monkey Island, for example) make this game one of the I didn't expect anything special from that game, but it really surprised me very positively. This game isn't the same all the time, there are some turning points, it's a true revolution. Fantastic idea, a little psychodelic climate, marvelous handmade-like graphics, that remind me best LucasArts adventure games (Curse of Monkey Island, for example) make this game one of the greatest from a genre and absolute evergreen (I'm sure we will still play it years after release). Additionally, it's cheap and has low requirements. You just MUST play it. We're waiting for the second part! Expand
  31. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    This game is beyond description, each level makes you feel brilliant, with their own twist, it has an unseen morale, and so much more! It is beyond our limited vocabulary for me to fully describe to you a minor glimpse of this game!
  32. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This game... is brilliant... It struck emotions in me that most mainstream games never can do. I found it more emotional than Heavy Rain, and the weird thing is that the story isn't really that structured. It really is just stuff happening, but I think that the music had a lot to do with it. The Sign Painter's signs are probably one of the best parts of the game too. Reading those signsThis game... is brilliant... It struck emotions in me that most mainstream games never can do. I found it more emotional than Heavy Rain, and the weird thing is that the story isn't really that structured. It really is just stuff happening, but I think that the music had a lot to do with it. The Sign Painter's signs are probably one of the best parts of the game too. Reading those signs always adds a bit of humor, and sometimes it even adds some bits of other emotions, like hopelessness and despair. World of Goo has solid gameplay, the levels can become a bit difficult but a calm head can get you through it. If you really can't beat a level, you can skip it and do it later. And it's not based on luck solely, there's a lot of strategy to this game. Expand
  33. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Considering that basically the entire game was created by TWO PEOPLE, i can't think of anyway that this game could have been made better. Some people are complaining about price, which doesn't do the game justice in itself.
  34. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    I never though building things out of talking balls of snot would be fun but it was. World of Goo is a great mix of a beautiful scenario and sound effects. The game does get very challenging later on so it isn't exactly something just everyone can play, but all in all it was very fun. I ended up buying it for my kids but I had to help them so much I might as well had been playing it forI never though building things out of talking balls of snot would be fun but it was. World of Goo is a great mix of a beautiful scenario and sound effects. The game does get very challenging later on so it isn't exactly something just everyone can play, but all in all it was very fun. I ended up buying it for my kids but I had to help them so much I might as well had been playing it for them full time. Expand
  35. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    This game, is probably the most fun I've had in a long time. I can't even begin to describe the perfection of this game. Graphics and scenery are beautiful, the music is so delicate, and the gameplay is so smooth and fun to play. I would highly recommend this game.
  36. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Insanely good game from start to the very end. Gameplay is smooth and easy to controll and puzzles get very interesting and challenging along the way. It has just the right amount of dificulty. The soundtrack is one of the best in a sea of amazing indie game tracks. The slow story unfolding is perfectly paced and is very interesting to follow to see where it leads with an amazingInsanely good game from start to the very end. Gameplay is smooth and easy to controll and puzzles get very interesting and challenging along the way. It has just the right amount of dificulty. The soundtrack is one of the best in a sea of amazing indie game tracks. The slow story unfolding is perfectly paced and is very interesting to follow to see where it leads with an amazing ending. This is one of my favorite indie games and I have a lot. Expand
  37. 4DI
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    A puzzle game, that raises the bar for all future puzzle games.
  38. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    This game is one of a kind. It takes thinking games to a whole new level. The only thing I did not like about the game is there were some levels that seemed impossible and I could not figure out how to get past them. I used www.worldofgooguide.com for the levels that made me want to rage quit! Minus the frustration, I love the game and recommend it to any one who likes a simple yetThis game is one of a kind. It takes thinking games to a whole new level. The only thing I did not like about the game is there were some levels that seemed impossible and I could not figure out how to get past them. I used www.worldofgooguide.com for the levels that made me want to rage quit! Minus the frustration, I love the game and recommend it to any one who likes a simple yet complicated game. Expand
  39. Jan 30, 2013
    9
    Very original idea and great gameplay. I have this game on my PC and Android, which both this is fun to play :) Levels are quite difficult, just needs to be clever and fast.
  40. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    For an indi game its awesome and very fun. Game uses unique mechanics, giving you puzzles to solve. I reccomend this! By the way, there are discounts for it in Steam atm.
  41. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Best Indie Game Ever If you havent played that game so you made a great mistake of all your gaming life The music ,,the art the gameplay its a deep experience that you will never forget
  42. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Beautiful game. Gameplay is straightforward and fun. Art design is adorable yet stylish. Well the music ... give the atmosphere another great boost!
    This is the kind of game will always stay in my hard-disk.
    People who can't take a little challenge in a casual indie game? Well, there's a genre of games called "interactive fiction"
  43. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    Otro de los buques insignia de los videojuegos indie. Gráficos muy pulidos, mecánicas sencillas, curva de dificultad bastante nivelada. A los niños les encanta y debería estar en tu colección.
  44. Dec 4, 2014
    10
    This was my first ever pc game. No other pc game has ever mounted up to, or even gotten close to how awesome this game is. I love every aspect about it, and I played it until 10:00 PM to get the next level. Wow. Amazing OST, smooth gameplay, and SCREW not being able to customize it fully. It's Perfect the way it is.
  45. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    Amazingly cute game with clever puzzles, outstanding art style and soundtrack that offers genuinely fun gameplay. Definitely a game I would recommend for young and mature gamers.

    I completed the game multiple times, and then went for the OCD challanges. I can't seem to get tired of this game! I'd love to see some expansion or continuation for it at some point.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The members of 2D Boy should be carried around in chariots while this glory lasts - because at some point, they're going to realise what a murderously high standard they've set for themselves, and run away forever.
  2. 100
    World of Goo's mix of ingenious physics-based puzzles and witty, colorful presentation make it a game almost everyone should check out. It goes by fast -- you can get through most of the puzzles in 5-6 hours -- but for $20, there's little excuse not to check out this World.
  3. Masterfully done, and certainly set to become an instant Wii and PC cult hit. [Dec 2008, p.98]