Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 507 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: World of Goo is a physics based puzzle / construction game. The millions of Goo Balls that live in the beautiful World of Goo don't know that they are in a game, or that they are extremely delicious. [2D Boy]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    World of Goo falls into a special category that only a select few games fall into. Do you remember when you first got your hands on Super Mario 64, the excitement that oozed out of you when you picked up the pad and controlled Mario around in 3D for the first time? Or when you were pulling out the Master Sword from its stone placement in The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time? These were special moments in a gamer’s life and playing World of Goo deserves to be placed alongside such events.
  2. Play it, and be happy. [Dec 2008, p.57]
  3. One of the best puzzle releases in the recent history of video games.
  4. World of Goo is a revolutionary and independent game that uses creativity to take advantage of the physics engine. A stunning, beatutiful title that will allow you to experience the true power behind the most elastic creatures ever seen in the videogame industry.
  5. Engrossing puzzle games featuring balls are a dime a dozen. But this one is different, believe me. This one is exceptional. [Dec 2008]
  6. 90
    In a gaming world populated by companies able to throw millions of pounds at tired franchises that sell on their name alone and where genuine innovation and fresh ideas should be welcomed with open arms, there's no better game to throw your weight behind than World of Goo. If more titles were made with this much passion the gaming world would be a much nicer, although possibly gooier, place.
  7. This is a game that will make you hold your breath, and curse at your monitor (I have since apologized to my LCD).

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 65
  2. Negative: 6 out of 65
  1. JoshP
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Let me try and describe this game in one word... Incredible. The scenery is beautiful, music touches your soul, gameplay is addictive and fun, and its just overall fun everysecond. Everyone.. seriously, EVERYONE should try this game. Greatest indie game I have ever played Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This game... is brilliant... It struck emotions in me that most mainstream games never can do. I found it more emotional than Heavy Rain, and the weird thing is that the story isn't really that structured. It really is just stuff happening, but I think that the music had a lot to do with it. The Sign Painter's signs are probably one of the best parts of the game too. Reading those signs always adds a bit of humor, and sometimes it even adds some bits of other emotions, like hopelessness and despair. World of Goo has solid gameplay, the levels can become a bit difficult but a calm head can get you through it. If you really can't beat a level, you can skip it and do it later. And it's not based on luck solely, there's a lot of strategy to this game. Expand
  3. DouglasBurrill
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    A fantastic indie game. I was particularly how interested my two kids (aged 3 and 5) were with the game. I bought it for myself but it turned into a family entertainment game. Different themes for each chapter helped keep their interest. The kids actually identified with some of the different goo ball characters but the best part was that they were excited to interact with a physics based game. Expand
  4. LudovitcheT
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. Knowing that so few people worked on it I could almost compare this to the 2-men revolution that was the first Prince of Persia... While blockbusters keep repeating themselves, from GTA 4 to Tom Clancy's X's war video game (I like these games, but... always the same !), the independant video game industry shows that some people can still innovate. Yet I put 9, I feel frustrated... Maybe I'm good at a video game for the first time ever :), but it was sooo short ! 5 chapters ? I would have needed 15 chapters to feel satisfied... that game kept me busy for 2 evenings only... I Hope new levels will come soon ! Expand
  5. BobDole
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    This game is hugely addictive. Glad I picked it up for only 5 dollars. The most surprising thing about this game is the soundtrack. It definitely takes this game to a whole new level. Buy it and you'll know what i mean. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    WORLD OF GOO: This is one of those games that I really like to play when got bored with my daily lives. OK... Here's World of Goo. It's a physics-based puzzle game where you construct goos so that they can made it into the end point which is the pipe. That's pretty much the whole explanation. There are various goo types as you play. There are the baloon goos (or maybe they are actual baloons), there are the removeable goos, trasparent goos, and soo many more. Even with the simple gameplay, you still need your brain right here though not fully. Maybe because you mindlessly construct goos. But this game actually requires strategy and prediction in the later levels. The overall gameplay is very fun, though it can get hard sometimes. Surprisingly this game has a very interesting personality on itself. The game is just making fun of things and not taking it too seriously. Yeah, it's maybe a little mindless, but it's still fun to play. So far, the only problem i got on this game is that it spoils how many chapters are on this game. Though, this game still can hook you up with like 30-40 hours. OVERALL: This is an awesome game. I have a fun times playing with it as a casual gamer. Puzzle game fans should definitely check it out. It's pretty cheap right now so why don't you buy it!. Oh, and it works really well on any netbook so you can bring it anywhere. [8/10] "Awesome" Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2014
    0
    I didn't enjoy it at all..it was stunning for the first 2 minutes... then I realized that it wad bad.Don't bother it's not a game.U won't enjoy it as puzzle game Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Trailers