Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    100
    Unique and confident in its place in the free-to-play world, this team-based MMO is a surefire winner, balancing fun with depth and detail with action.
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    100
    If you've ever had dreams of being a wartime tank commander, you just absolutely have to try it out.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    95
    Wargaming.net should also be praised for the careful line the game treads between being an arcade game and full on tank sim. It's accessible enough that you can master the controls in seconds, but detailed enough to satisfy hardcore tankheads.
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    92
    World of Tanks is one of the most amazingly captivating, habit forming, slow moving multiplayer shooters ever! Even the whiners and nay-sayers can't stop playing. However, World of Tanks needs the promised new gameplay modes and soon, please. [May 2011]
  5. Jul 6, 2011
    92
    All in all, World of Tanks is a ruthlessly addictive game.
  6. Apr 10, 2012
    88
    It combines aspects of great RPG games and first person shooters, wraps them into a package that will appeal to the historian, and tosses in a dash of addiction to combine into one great final product.
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    87
    The concept is simple, but the variety and customization are without equal and keep you coming back for more.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 759 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 246
  1. May 11, 2011
    1
    At first it's fun but then it's constant struggle and frustration. I played closed beta for 4 months then stopped. Now I started again and after two weeks I must say that it still has many flaws. Sure, it's free but playing without premium account is a pain. Additionally, developers are trying desperately to encourage players to spend some money by forcing you to fight against higher tier tanks. Believe me, after playing countless battles in which you can't damage anything you will hate this game. Some may say that it's a challenge but I think that fun factor is important and this game lacks it.
    Next con are maps. There are too few of them and some are really badly designed. Another important flaw is imbalance. Some tanks are much better then others of the same tier, eg. infamous Russian T-54. Avoid this game, not fun.
    Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2011
    0
    Update. We now have the situation where community feedback is not only being ignored by the DEVs but moderators of the forums are now being policed by the minute to stamp out as they call it threads that create unrest. In effect any posting discussing the failings of the game, the broken mechanics, the falling server populations is being met with a forum ban and removal of the thread. Never before in my life have I seen a community forum for a game being repressed in this way. So in short this is one to avoid. The DEVs are now only interested in scrambling as much gold sales before the game dies completely. This week has already seen a 25% drop in server population. Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2011
    1
    You will have an awesome time with this shooter up until you start trying to work up and over tier 4 tanks. You will hit a big roadblock where things cost tens of thousands of experience points to buy but you only get 50-100 per match because your weapon cannot hurt the other tanks you will be matched up with (which is the main source of experience points in this game, dealing damage to enemy tanks.) The matchmaker is horrific. My friends and I call this game Rage of Tanks because it is difficult to get through two concurrent matches with swearing out-loud. If you have an awesome time getting mauled to death every match while you slowly build up experience points to buy the next gun upgrade or turret upgrade so that you can buy a gun upgrade to be able to get a better amount of points out of matches then you should have an awesome time playing this game and I highly recommend it. This is the most horrific grind-fest I have ever played, a game only for hardcore masochists. Full Review »