Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    100
    Unique and confident in its place in the free-to-play world, this team-based MMO is a surefire winner, balancing fun with depth and detail with action.
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    100
    If you've ever had dreams of being a wartime tank commander, you just absolutely have to try it out.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    95
    Wargaming.net should also be praised for the careful line the game treads between being an arcade game and full on tank sim. It's accessible enough that you can master the controls in seconds, but detailed enough to satisfy hardcore tankheads.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 21, 2011
    92
    World of Tanks is one of the most amazingly captivating, habit forming, slow moving multiplayer shooters ever! Even the whiners and nay-sayers can't stop playing. However, World of Tanks needs the promised new gameplay modes and soon, please. [May 2011]
  5. Jul 6, 2011
    92
    All in all, World of Tanks is a ruthlessly addictive game.
  6. Apr 10, 2012
    88
    It combines aspects of great RPG games and first person shooters, wraps them into a package that will appeal to the historian, and tosses in a dash of addiction to combine into one great final product.
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    87
    The concept is simple, but the variety and customization are without equal and keep you coming back for more.
  8. Aug 4, 2011
    85
    The setting is unique and you're able to modify all of your panzers in great detail, this game certainly addresses the clientele.
  9. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    This is by far the best free to play MMO out there at the moment. Its well polished, with good sound effects, well detailed tanks and terrain and regular updates and maps.
  10. Jun 17, 2011
    85
    World of Tanks combines RPG elements, strategy and deep tactics with a simple interface and addictive gameplay. The title still needs some balancing and fixes but it's a rising star in the online gaming world.
  11. PC Gamer UK
    May 22, 2011
    85
    It's a delight, a near-perfect example of a populist combat sim. It's a rare battle passes some nailbiting duel or pulse-propelling advance. [June 2011, p.96]
  12. May 12, 2011
    85
    A great mixture of authentic Battles and interresting gameplay.
  13. Sep 4, 2011
    81
    All in all World of Tanks even with some of its minor annoyances is a very addictive game and a solid addition to worthwhile gaming. World of Tanks is great because it can be played in small doses or just jump into one battle after another. Check it out now Look up World of Tanks on the web and have a go!
  14. Apr 30, 2011
    81
    For a free-to-play game, World of Tanks offers a surprising wealth of entertainment, although you may feel the need to fork out a bit of cash for some armor upgrades. The best part of this armored adventure is that enjoying a few rounds of battle doesn't take the time commitment required by other MMOs.
  15. Games Master UK
    Dec 18, 2012
    80
    Bucketloads of depth and surprisingly simple to jump into. It's free, too! [Jan 2013, p.84]
  16. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    World of Tanks is the ultimate tank battle game, and with a price tag of 0 whatever your currency is - there really isn't anything major to complain about.
  17. Mar 7, 2012
    80
    I look forward to playing this game long after this review is on the shelf, and I look forward to future patches and additions to this game, as well as future installments from Wargaming.net. They're working on similar style games called World of Battleships and World of Warplanes. These games will be a part of a trilogy that will use your common account and, as I understand it, your earnings will be transferable between them as well. So, expect to see a couple more reviews in the not-too-distant future.
  18. 80
    World of Tanks is a nice alternative for anyone who is passionate about armored mayhem, with a good mix of fun and strategy to meet every gamers' expectations. The large number of vehicles, the customizing possibilities and the variety of equipment will please every action and strategy passionate. It all depends on how willing are you to grind your vehicle into the upper Tier, how much can you stand a faulty matchmaking system and disregard the curiosities of Clan Wars, but overall I can only recommend the game as a solid product.
  19. Dec 2, 2011
    80
    If you like RPGs, strategy or even action games, you'll love this; it looks great and it's pretty addictive. The free-to-play model means you've got nothing to lose by trying it out. Whatever the case, this is one of the finest free-to-play MMOs to date.
  20. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    It might be a little cruel to pick apart World of Tanks like this while it's still in beta, but Wargaming.net is nevertheless charging people for a boxed copy. Still, the game is progressing well and constantly seeing new maps and new tanks added, with a whole slew of French units soon to be released.
  21. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    World of Tanks is a great, accessible shooter that you'll probably end up spending some money on even though you don't have to.
  22. Aug 8, 2011
    80
    For those with the time and patience however, World of Tanks looks to be an ever-evolving title with ambitions to stay fresh for the foreseeable future (new nations have been added since launch, and Risk-style clan-based world warfare is reportedly coming soon).
  23. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 23, 2011
    80
    Interesting massively multiplayer online action game focuses on tank battles offers both thrills and fun. There is only a one game mode though and the payment system makes "free" play quite unbalanced. [June 2011]
  24. PC Gamer
    Jun 18, 2011
    80
    An ambitious and unique shooter, World of Tanks starts slow, peaks in a few hours, and soon runs low on fuel. [Aug 2011, p.72]
  25. May 30, 2011
    80
    World of tanks is a good free to play game; an hybrid of strategy, shooting and role playing combined with a good graphics. It's recommended both to the casual player and the hardcore one. The only downside is the need to go premium in order to have access to the more advanced features.
  26. May 4, 2011
    80
    Playing World of Tanks without spending a penny it's impossible but it looks like, for the price of a full game, you will guarantee yourself months of blitzkrieg like you never had before.
  27. May 28, 2011
    77
    World of Tanks isn't perfect, but it's a perfect game for in-between, just to jump into the tank for an hour to go to battle. If you want to play for free, it'll take ages to unlock new tanks, but that's all paying does: speeding things up. One of the best free-to-play games so far.
  28. Jul 21, 2011
    75
    It manages to straddle pure tank simulation and shooter action to produce something that, despite being flawed, remains genuinely fun.
  29. May 20, 2011
    75
    World of Tanks is a game with potential - it introduces many interesting elements that surely will find their way into the gallery of video gaming standards that will by used many times in the future. However there are three main problems: the game is half-baked, lacks attention to detail and has a terribly annoying payment system. I would rather buy a complete game and enjoy it with friends than have to engage in frequent micro-transactions that are a camouflaged form of a monthly subscription.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1415 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 399
  1. May 11, 2011
    1
    At first it's fun but then it's constant struggle and frustration. I played closed beta for 4 months then stopped. Now I started again andAt first it's fun but then it's constant struggle and frustration. I played closed beta for 4 months then stopped. Now I started again and after two weeks I must say that it still has many flaws. Sure, it's free but playing without premium account is a pain. Additionally, developers are trying desperately to encourage players to spend some money by forcing you to fight against higher tier tanks. Believe me, after playing countless battles in which you can't damage anything you will hate this game. Some may say that it's a challenge but I think that fun factor is important and this game lacks it.
    Next con are maps. There are too few of them and some are really badly designed. Another important flaw is imbalance. Some tanks are much better then others of the same tier, eg. infamous Russian T-54. Avoid this game, not fun.
    Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2011
    0
    Update. We now have the situation where community feedback is not only being ignored by the DEVs but moderators of the forums are now beingUpdate. We now have the situation where community feedback is not only being ignored by the DEVs but moderators of the forums are now being policed by the minute to stamp out as they call it threads that create unrest. In effect any posting discussing the failings of the game, the broken mechanics, the falling server populations is being met with a forum ban and removal of the thread. Never before in my life have I seen a community forum for a game being repressed in this way. So in short this is one to avoid. The DEVs are now only interested in scrambling as much gold sales before the game dies completely. This week has already seen a 25% drop in server population. Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    4
    This is a long review, but I've played the game for so long and I'm honest enough about the entire thing to give a useful opinion withoutThis is a long review, but I've played the game for so long and I'm honest enough about the entire thing to give a useful opinion without being a fanboy or bashing the game completely, so please keep this in mind as you read.

    This game is a very mixed bag. First off, the core gameplay can be entertaining if you're willing to learn how it works and operate within those boundaries. There's a lot of satisfaction to gain from this, which is why as a person who detests this game, I actually do still play it. The game is all about grinding. Tier 1-3 goes fast, 3-4 is a little longer, 4-5 is very long, then after that it doesn't seem to be long before tier 6, and then 7, but 8, 9 and 10 are very long grinds. I've played since June 2011 basically EVERY day and I have two tier 10 tanks unlocked, a couple of tier 9 tanks, half a dozen tier 8's, many tier 7's. So you can see it takes a long time to get tanks. I play to get one win a day in each tank I care about, never grinding because that's too tedious and it takes me this kind of time.

    The game heavily rewards money spending via premium tanks that are poorly balanced and with premium shells (Though these can now be bought with in-game currency - which has caused some chaos and imbalance). The premium tanks are frequently overpowered when introduced, causing much anger among players who face them - which of course means lots of players run out and buy these tanks. They're not cheap either. The game's in-game currency is gold, you can buy 1250 gold for about $8. Most of the tier 7-8 premium tanks which are the most powerful and fun to use are about 8000-12000 gold which comes out to about $35-50. That's $35-50 for ONE tank. The next step, Wargaming nerfs the tank so the normal playerbase stops complaining, but then they buff it again and it goes on and on. All these tanks do is return more in-game credits than a normal tiered equivalent. Lots of normal tanks are poorly balanced so the problem becomes that to get a fun to use tank you may have to go through a few badly balanced and unfun tanks. Despite these tanks being unbalanced negatively, players who complain in the forums trying to get these tanks improved are ridiculed and told they're just bad at the game. Wargaming NEVER listens to player feedback, as the game is most popular in Russia and that is truly the only playerbase they care about. The Russian developers ignore American feedback, they just allow us to pretend we matter to silence us - this may sound conspiracy theorist but it really is true in this game.

    The community is also one of the worst I've ever seen. Players are very bad at the game even at higher tiers, and they just keep playing which ruins the fun for a normal/good player. Battles are 15 players vs 15 players and the matchmaker is notoriously bad. Using an external mod which shows player's skill ratings and win rates during a match, I've observed the game frequently stacks one team full of very good players and the other team is full of bad players. This game is NOTORIOUS for losing streaks, worse than any game I've ever seen. You can be good (which not to brag, I am pretty good at the game) and still be shafted by bad matchmaking, poor player skills, and random number generation - which is how the game determines damage, penetration, and basically everything.

    Wargaming is also probably one of the worst game companies I've had the displeasure to play a game from. They give their moderators free realm to basically do whatever they want, and their "appeals" section if you get chat banned in the game is basically for show - they never repeal bans, no matter what. This game is so terrible about censorship, that despite allowing you to disable a profanity filter I personally have been banned for calling somone a noob before. Yes, they're THAT kind of moderators. If you insult the developers, other players, in ANY fashion even calling them stupid or dumb you'll get banned for a few days. They also frequently tell people to stop spamming or stop using caps when no one is doing either action. Wargaming is a very shallow company concerned only with squeezing profit out of the game while doing as little as possible to improve long standing issues. Users make great suggestions, and they're never listened to. The also ignore all test server player feedback, they just use hard stats like win rates, average damage and other things that do not reveal the full picture to determine what's balanced and what's not.

    The game can be fun when everything is alright, but too many times the game is just awful. Many maps are bad, many tanks are bad, and the community is awful, the developer/staff is terrible. There's a fun game buried underneath this mess, but it's not worth your time to find it if you ask me - I've played over 2k hours, I'd know...
    Full Review »