World of Tanks Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1574 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: World of Tanks is the first and only team-based massively multiplayer online action game dedicated to armored warfare. Throw yourself into the epic tank battles of World War II with other steel cowboys all over the world. Your arsenal includes more than 150 armored vehicles from America,World of Tanks is the first and only team-based massively multiplayer online action game dedicated to armored warfare. Throw yourself into the epic tank battles of World War II with other steel cowboys all over the world. Your arsenal includes more than 150 armored vehicles from America, Germany, and the Soviet Union, carefully detailed with historical accuracy. A flexible system of authentic vehicle upgrade and development allows you to try any of the vehicles and weapons in the game. Whether you prefer to exhaust your foes with fast and maneuverable light tanks, make deep breaches in enemy lines with all-purpose medium tanks, use the force of giant tanks to eliminate opposing armored forces, or become a heavy sniper with long-range howitzers, each unit type has its own advantages and can be extremely effective when operated by a true tank ace. But being a great tank commander alone isn't enough to win! In World of Tanks, it's all about teamwork. Victory is achieved by combining your combat skills with those of the other members of your team, each playing their own role on the battlefield. Just add your favorite strategy to build your own iron empire and manifest the indisputable authority of the tank! Feel the tank power! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
World of Tanks - WCG 2012 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    100
    Unique and confident in its place in the free-to-play world, this team-based MMO is a surefire winner, balancing fun with depth and detail with action.
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    92
    All in all, World of Tanks is a ruthlessly addictive game.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    This is by far the best free to play MMO out there at the moment. Its well polished, with good sound effects, well detailed tanks and terrain and regular updates and maps.
  4. PC Gamer
    Jun 18, 2011
    80
    An ambitious and unique shooter, World of Tanks starts slow, peaks in a few hours, and soon runs low on fuel. [Aug 2011, p.72]
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    It might be a little cruel to pick apart World of Tanks like this while it's still in beta, but Wargaming.net is nevertheless charging people for a boxed copy. Still, the game is progressing well and constantly seeing new maps and new tanks added, with a whole slew of French units soon to be released.
  6. Jul 21, 2011
    75
    It manages to straddle pure tank simulation and shooter action to produce something that, despite being flawed, remains genuinely fun.
  7. Jul 5, 2011
    60
    The ground it treads is hardly innovative, and the grind is intolerable. Clan play helps to skirt these issues, but in general, World of Tanks is a dull slog to be enjoyed solely between rounds of other, more interesting games. Vision slit.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 453
  1. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    FPS in armored vehicles. I had mixed feelings when Ijoined up during their closed beta period in December 2010, but reckoned that it would beFPS in armored vehicles. I had mixed feelings when Ijoined up during their closed beta period in December 2010, but reckoned that it would be good enough to pass a couple of hours during the christmas holidays.

    Boy was I wrong.. This game is addictive - severely. The developers have found a nice mix between pure arcade and historical simulation. The tanks are very nicely modelled graphically, including small details such as tool strapped to the outside, holes appearing from shell hits, and the landscape is absolutely amazing.

    The game itself is easy to get into, and hard to master. Even though you can use in-game gold currency and the ingame Credits to buy items for your tank, they don't guarantee you a victory. You'll still be hit, you'll still depend on the other members of your team to win, and you'll still die. The good thing about the gold currency, is that it enables you to purchase premium status, which increases the amount of experience and credits your tank earns in battles. That allows you to progress faster through the various tanks, even though it is stil very much possible to do so without ever spending a dime on gold.

    There are still some issues in the game, which the developers are working on, even if their patches isn't issued as frequently as in other games I've played. Now that the game has gone live, they will have to live up to their promises in the upcoming 0.6.4.0 patch, which should fix a whole slew of issues reported in the beta. I don't doubt they will be able to do this, since they seem very dedicated to their game. I've even met and played against some of them, and been able to beat them in a regular competion called Killed The Mods.. Got in game gold for my victory as well.

    For a free to play game, World of Tanks is exceptional good value and fun. I'll be sticking to this game for quite a while, since they project it to run for at least 5 years, with content and new features added during the lifespan of the game. The next addition to the game, a global Clan Wars persistent world fighting for territories is going to be introduced this summer and sounds very interesting. Untill then I am playing with my clan mates in platoons and tank company battles, and thouroghly enjoying it.
    Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    Well, I have been reading the (above) reviews and have to admit that it is impressive how many below 3s and above 7s you find. I always thinkWell, I have been reading the (above) reviews and have to admit that it is impressive how many below 3s and above 7s you find. I always think that everyone is entitled of their opinion, which I totally respect even if I disagree. To my humble opinion, the game rates low by hard core WWII fans or MMO gamers. I read above that it takes 3 months to get a tier 8 tank... Well, I play for 5 months now and only been to tier 6. I guess I am a casual gamer myself... However, I LOVED the game. I stick to the tanks I like and I am not obsessed by reaching Tier 10 anytime soon. I simply do not care. I love each and every tank I own, even created a "bond" with the crew (as you can transfer them from one tank to another)! I lose some battles, win some others, get destroyed and destroy others. I strongly believe that there is a huge research project behind its development and every single detail is thought of. Ok, you might have some balancing issues but what can you do? Enjoy the time you spend playing people! I have spent some money and I think it totally worth it... Don't get me started with all the AAA titles that I have purchased and spent 0 time with them... To my point of view, get a Tier 2 tank (it's free) stick with that alone, find your preferred tank type (Light, Medium, Heavy, Tank Destroyer or SPG) and follow each one's path slowly enjoying all the way. After all it is the journey that matters and not the destination ;-) Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    6
    I've decided to update my review, as some changes dramatically improved the game play over the past 2 years.

    First, the matchmaker spread
    I've decided to update my review, as some changes dramatically improved the game play over the past 2 years.

    First, the matchmaker spread was greatly reduced so the silly situations where you could not damage any part of enemy tank (including its rear) no longer happen for the most part. They improved the graphics and removed all pay to win advantages so that you can buy premium ammo/equipment with credits and all the premium tanks are much weaker than elited standard vehicles.

    At this point you can only speed up your grind with money. This applies mostly to credits, as you can only convert experience between tanks (with some limits) for money, you can't directly pay money to unlock a tank. Premium Account is a must if you are serious about the game, it's 10€ per month and it's the only thing you should buy.

    The major problem at this point is the player base. It's absolutely astonishing to watch this many braindead people playing this game, without grasping any concept of armor and cover whatsoever. It would literally take one day to implement a bot that would play smarter than at least 70% of players. This is mostly a problem because Wargaming refuses to implement any sort of skill-based match matching. Therefore, especially on weekends, the game turns into frustrating series of matches where you play 1 vs 29 simply because your team mates are retarded.

    And while this could be easily solved, it most likely won't ever be. I'm rating it 6 mostly because of the terrible experience this game brings at times. On the other hand there isn't any competition when it comes to tank shooters, so it's most certainly worth to at least give it a try.
    Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2014
    1
    Ok, this will be my second review, after giving an extended second try at this game. To their credit, Wargaming has changed the awfulOk, this will be my second review, after giving an extended second try at this game. To their credit, Wargaming has changed the awful matchmaking that threw tier 4 light tanks against tier 8 heavies. They have also nerfed some tanks heavily ( not any Russian ones though, surprise!). These nerfs are contentious at best, but not the worst thing about the game. To be fair, the worst thing about the game is not actually the devs fault - the players are the worst thing about this game. It's like the devs have crafted a mecca for morons, the cognitive abilities of the majority of players is such that you are surprised they manage to cross the road without getting killed.
    There is a lot of tunnel vision, with most players ploughing forward regardless of whether there is a friendly tank in front of them, desperately trying to backtrack to cover after getting hammered. They don't stop going forward, they just don't. Whole flanks are ignored, it's like the left (or right) doesn't exist - how they walk without going round in circles is a matter for science to investigate.
    Teamkilling is frequent, often at the end of the battle when there are no more enemies and you sit back with pride at how you played the round - BOOM!, dead by teammate.
    Others will push you out of your carefully chosen hiding place and into the firing line of the tank you have almost killed and need one more shot on - BOOM!, dead.
    The zombie apocalypse has arrived, and they are all playing World Of Tanks.
    Avoid.
    Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2016
    0
    Самая ужасная игра в мире. Отсутствие баланса, Разработчики обманщики, кривая физика, дисбаланс доната, однообразные карты, никакого развитияСамая ужасная игра в мире. Отсутствие баланса, Разработчики обманщики, кривая физика, дисбаланс доната, однообразные карты, никакого развития игры. Все это вперемешку с багами. В общем этой игре давно пора уйти в историю, как самое безобразное творение в игровой индустрии. Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2015
    0
    разрабы пидоры,смерть артеввввввввввввввввввв СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВАразрабы пидоры,смерть артеввввввввввввввввввв СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА СЛАВА МУРАЗОРУ МУРОЗОРУ СЛАВА Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    Im giving this game a zero because it simply, pay to win, and the game is setup to basically make free to play insanely frustrating andIm giving this game a zero because it simply, pay to win, and the game is setup to basically make free to play insanely frustrating and pointless, you are literally cannon fodder for wallet warriors. I know they are a business but this is an extremely greedy money mongering business that has corrupt practices, meaning I wouldnt support it based on that alone. I wont go into speculative reasons of their wrong behavior such as, premium shells rolling higher, matchmaking being rigged, or releasing overpowered pay to win content (then nerfing it when they release new pay to win content, aka planned obsolescence), or anything else which cant be verified but is widely thought as true, I will simply state the facts which are more than enough to show you this game is not worth your time or money. Expand

See all 453 User Reviews