Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 884 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: World of Tanks is the first and only team-based massively multiplayer online action game dedicated to armored warfare. Throw yourself into the epic tank battles of World War II with other steel cowboys all over the world. Your arsenal includes more than 150 armored vehicles from America,World of Tanks is the first and only team-based massively multiplayer online action game dedicated to armored warfare. Throw yourself into the epic tank battles of World War II with other steel cowboys all over the world. Your arsenal includes more than 150 armored vehicles from America, Germany, and the Soviet Union, carefully detailed with historical accuracy. A flexible system of authentic vehicle upgrade and development allows you to try any of the vehicles and weapons in the game. Whether you prefer to exhaust your foes with fast and maneuverable light tanks, make deep breaches in enemy lines with all-purpose medium tanks, use the force of giant tanks to eliminate opposing armored forces, or become a heavy sniper with long-range howitzers, each unit type has its own advantages and can be extremely effective when operated by a true tank ace. But being a great tank commander alone isn't enough to win! In World of Tanks, it's all about teamwork. Victory is achieved by combining your combat skills with those of the other members of your team, each playing their own role on the battlefield. Just add your favorite strategy to build your own iron empire and manifest the indisputable authority of the tank! Feel the tank power! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    100
    Unique and confident in its place in the free-to-play world, this team-based MMO is a surefire winner, balancing fun with depth and detail with action.
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    92
    All in all, World of Tanks is a ruthlessly addictive game.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    This is by far the best free to play MMO out there at the moment. Its well polished, with good sound effects, well detailed tanks and terrain and regular updates and maps.
  4. Jun 18, 2011
    80
    An ambitious and unique shooter, World of Tanks starts slow, peaks in a few hours, and soon runs low on fuel. [Aug 2011, p.72]
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    It might be a little cruel to pick apart World of Tanks like this while it's still in beta, but Wargaming.net is nevertheless charging people for a boxed copy. Still, the game is progressing well and constantly seeing new maps and new tanks added, with a whole slew of French units soon to be released.
  6. Jul 21, 2011
    75
    It manages to straddle pure tank simulation and shooter action to produce something that, despite being flawed, remains genuinely fun.
  7. Jul 5, 2011
    60
    The ground it treads is hardly innovative, and the grind is intolerable. Clan play helps to skirt these issues, but in general, World of Tanks is a dull slog to be enjoyed solely between rounds of other, more interesting games. Vision slit.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    FPS in armored vehicles. I had mixed feelings when Ijoined up during their closed beta period in December 2010, but reckoned that it would beFPS in armored vehicles. I had mixed feelings when Ijoined up during their closed beta period in December 2010, but reckoned that it would be good enough to pass a couple of hours during the christmas holidays.

    Boy was I wrong.. This game is addictive - severely. The developers have found a nice mix between pure arcade and historical simulation. The tanks are very nicely modelled graphically, including small details such as tool strapped to the outside, holes appearing from shell hits, and the landscape is absolutely amazing.

    The game itself is easy to get into, and hard to master. Even though you can use in-game gold currency and the ingame Credits to buy items for your tank, they don't guarantee you a victory. You'll still be hit, you'll still depend on the other members of your team to win, and you'll still die. The good thing about the gold currency, is that it enables you to purchase premium status, which increases the amount of experience and credits your tank earns in battles. That allows you to progress faster through the various tanks, even though it is stil very much possible to do so without ever spending a dime on gold.

    There are still some issues in the game, which the developers are working on, even if their patches isn't issued as frequently as in other games I've played. Now that the game has gone live, they will have to live up to their promises in the upcoming 0.6.4.0 patch, which should fix a whole slew of issues reported in the beta. I don't doubt they will be able to do this, since they seem very dedicated to their game. I've even met and played against some of them, and been able to beat them in a regular competion called Killed The Mods.. Got in game gold for my victory as well.

    For a free to play game, World of Tanks is exceptional good value and fun. I'll be sticking to this game for quite a while, since they project it to run for at least 5 years, with content and new features added during the lifespan of the game. The next addition to the game, a global Clan Wars persistent world fighting for territories is going to be introduced this summer and sounds very interesting. Untill then I am playing with my clan mates in platoons and tank company battles, and thouroghly enjoying it.
    Expand
  2. May 12, 2014
    10
    This games absolutely a 10/10, and it's totally addicting. I've spent well over 1000 hours on this game. I consider it more of a sport becauseThis games absolutely a 10/10, and it's totally addicting. I've spent well over 1000 hours on this game. I consider it more of a sport because of all the talent it takes to actually be good in this game. There's so much skill to it.

    Check it out, you definately won't regret it. This game is super popular for a reason.
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    8
    The game walks a fine line between historical accuracy and balanced gameplay, and does so successfully for the most part. A Tiger tank --The game walks a fine line between historical accuracy and balanced gameplay, and does so successfully for the most part. A Tiger tank -- while one of the most lethal on the battlefield in WW2 -- is 'only' a tier 7, and based on game design is primarily a sniper tank for example. Having played over 3000 matches, I can say that every tank in the game has strengths and weaknesses. Most complaints of tanks being overpowered or underpowered are based on an unwillingness to learn different styles of play, where you need to take advantage of the tank's strengths and offset their weaknesses. Are you a brawler? Sniper? Intended to scout? Fast speed for flanking actions? Heavily sloped armor so you're intended to play mostly hull down?

    I've spent about $80 on the game having played almost an entire year. I purchased one 'gold' tank, where the gold tanks' main advantage is the ability to generate credit income faster than other tanks. Real $ tanks are almost exclusively inferior to experience point equivalent tiers, whcih is the primary reason why this game is not 'pay to win'. The gold tanks facilitate easier experience point and credit grinds... but offer no advantages on the battlefield. Its a brilliant design, and works well.

    My experience indicates the most fun tiers to play are between tiers 5 and 8. Tiers 9 and 10 have exceedingly expensive repair bills (unless you're running as a premium account) and typically are very conservative matches due to the severity of artillery. Lower tier matches tend to be very zerg-like and usually your teammates are still learning the game. Great game, very well balanced -- a 'thinking man's FPS.
    Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    3
    Grinding is not fun. The cost of faster advancement is not cheap. You can easily spent more than $100 on this game.

    You will be cycled
    Grinding is not fun. The cost of faster advancement is not cheap. You can easily spent more than $100 on this game.

    You will be cycled through a pattern of being frustratingly weak and slow, until you upgrade your tank fully. You can either then try to get your crew experience if you enjoy fighting in that tier and want to stick to a tank, or move on and restart a new cycle of frustration and upgrading. Those who upgraded or have paid, will enjoy destroying others in your helpless state... "zomg, I killed 5+ tanks! So epic!"

    I personally got fed up by Tier 3/4. I finally found a tank I liked, the German "Luchs", but the reward for the grind just wasn't very satisfying. Some have said that Tier 6 tank that my Luchs can research into, a VK2801 or something, was amazing, but I rather not play a game with so much grinding, unless it had a better social aspect.

    To say the least, I really like the music.
    Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    1
    The game requires the use of gold in order to enjoy. As others have said, things become frustrating, after a while, when you are incapable ofThe game requires the use of gold in order to enjoy. As others have said, things become frustrating, after a while, when you are incapable of playing well against opponents without upgrading.
    Additionally, the price of gold is obscene. It costs $100 dollars for enough gold to obtain a premium account for merely a year. I expect more than than that.
    Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2015
    0
    Pay2Win as hell especially in higher levels!!! The match making also a trash. Often you find yours self againts 2(or sometimes more) levelPay2Win as hell especially in higher levels!!! The match making also a trash. Often you find yours self againts 2(or sometimes more) level higher tanks than you are (there are 10 levels and u cant penetrate a 2+ leveled tank without a premium ammo, sometimes with them either.). Not recomended! Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2013
    0
    Game starts out fun in the lower tiers, but quickly turns into a pseudo paygate situation if you happen to choose the wrong tank tree. ThereGame starts out fun in the lower tiers, but quickly turns into a pseudo paygate situation if you happen to choose the wrong tank tree. There exists no fun way of advancing with certain tanks, and either you pay up to skip to a better tank or for better equipment, or you tough it out and risk losing all drive to play the game. Either way, the game feels like more of an exercise in frustration than any other game I've come across. Expand

See all 288 User Reviews