User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1037 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Best expansion I've played since Burning Crusade. Excellent storyline and a depth and variety of activities to perform that all other MMOs seem to still lack.
  2. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    Blizzard really needs to re-learn how to make fun games. Nothing new, same old stuff with more ilvl, same old crafting materials, and questing is still boring.
  3. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This expansion may not be ground breaking or revolutionary, but it certainly does provide more quality content in a game that has provided hundreds of hours of escapism for day to day life. The new features such as pet battles and scenarios are and interesting way to spend your time while logged in and the game has now managed to provide both the hardcore gamer and the casual gamer various options to keep both happy. You can still do progression raiding and challenge modes as a hardcore or you have the LFR and scenarios if you simply do not have hours on end to apply to your time logged in. Warcraft will always be a polarizing game simply because each individual player believes that their ideas and preferences simply must be the best and most outstanding take on the situation. Blizzard does a fantastic job as an MMO giant providing content that keeps you playing and pleases as large a crowd as possible. If you don't like the game anymore, stop playing. If you like the predictable but steady expansions they provide with a few dashes of new game play styles, then enjoy. You are the consumer. Don't keep paying for something you don't enjoy. I, however, find that Blizzard does the best they can with each release and appreciate the fleshed out world they provide for me to dive in to after a hard day of work. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    3
    Wow, what can I say besides, really Blizz? How do you give into greed after creating what was once regarded as the greatest MMO. After the dreadful Cataclysm expansion, did you really think appealing to 12 year olds was going to make salvage your rep? Terrible expansion, really pissed off I wasted $40 bucks on this crap.
  5. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    Have a child, pre-teen, or grandparent that you want to introduce to MMOs? World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria is the perfect game for them because there is no thinking involved!

    Quest rewards and talents are perfectly streamlined for children/grandparent that don't understand what they're doing. Plus limited questing zone options and gigantic arrows keep them focused on what to do
    next. As a bonus cross realm zones ensures your child or parent will always have someone to possibly play with! Grouping for dungeons is also incredibly easy. With just a touch of a button they will be taken to places and able to fight off all kinds of monsters with strangers whether they like it or not.

    Do you remember loving Pokemon as a child? Do you like playing FarmVille occasionally as an adult? Mists of Pandaria offers something similar but much simpler than either game has to offer! Think that's impossible? Well think again! The ridiculous amount of easy but time consuming daily quests will keep your parent or children entertained for minutes on end!

    _________________

    This is a most definitely starter MMO for children and grandparents that find Pokemon and FarmVille games too difficult. This is not a good MMO for those that play games regularly, you will be bored and frustrated with how easy it all is very quickly.

    If you are bad at games in general this is a perfect MMO to start or continue playing.
    Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2012
    4
    Mostly Quest based expansion. Warning to those that don't enjoy questing do not buy this!! In order to do this new content you are forced to quest no matter if you enjoy them or not. Even if you just want to pvp you will not escape having to quest. Also if you don't have 40+ hours a week to dedicate to wow then you will remain casual and never see the high end raids. Not to mention the endless rep grinding to get any kind of raid gear wich also requires mass questing. If you enjoy Pokemon or farmville or mass questing then this xpack is for you. Otherwise stay clear of mists Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2012
    1
    This game has gone a long way in terms of instances, loot, hp, etc. But what still irks me every time I play this game is the fact 9/10 people who play wow are trollers and griefers.
  8. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    Ummm no. Just no. Huge waste of $40. All I have to say to anyone who would actually pay $15 a month for this game after MoP is: BWAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA WoW is now the joke of the gaming world!
  9. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Wow, so many haters. If you like "violence" and "manliness" so much, go play CoD. If you don't like how the launch was going, then you didn't see any other MMO launches.
    The design of MoP is great, I'd say it's the best looking wow addon so far. The talent system is not that easy as it looks like (maybe for casuals it is, but hardcore players will see it's potential). Quests is good. Not
    great, but good enough. Scenarios/heroic dungeons/challenges is a step in a right direction.
    The only thing that I think could be better is LESS DAILIES. WE DO NOT LIKE THEM. But whatever, they're there for keep us playing even if we can't find what to do AND they also give great opportunities for world-pvp
    Expand
  10. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    Honestly, it is just pure stealing now. They have created something that feels tacky and dull. Honestly, do yourself a favor and buy yourself GW2. In GW2, you don't pay out the nose for an enjoyable experience and the plays so much better.
  11. Sep 29, 2012
    1
    Sad to see WoW fall so low. A little background about me: I played vanilla when it first came out, cleared Naxx, did mostly arena in TBC, and only got to level 78 in WotLK. I returned for Cata briefly but quit at level 69 (I lost my old account).

    The game that was once tough and fun is now just casual trash. Once, the game catered to people who had played Warcraft III, StarCraft,
    Diablo, and just real gamers in general. Now those demographics are entirely alienated in favor of Farmville types of players. They should just make it free to play at this point; I am not coming back to this and I don't miss the game at all. The game has been oversimplified thanks to incessant whining from the lowest common denominator. The game assumes you're so stupid it's offensive. It's a stark betrayal of the fans that propelled this game in the beginning. Every decision Blizzard has made since TBC has been to expand its user base and dumb down the game at the cost of anything. At this point, they have polarized their audience and squandered any vestige of good will they had left. I, personally, will never buy another Blizzard game. I am glad I just played this at my friend's house and not myself. Expand
  12. Sep 29, 2012
    3
    super mario mmorpg. everything is so colourful, cheery and merry that i almost feel as if the game is about to send me on a quest to save a princess that was abducted by a nasty giant turtle with spikes on its shell. everything is ageing extremely bad: from the ancient quest system design to the old (but surprisingly resource taxing) graphics. i've spent countless days of my life playing this game, but i guess this expansion sealed the coffin. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    Terrible xpac. The cut scenes are atrocious and truly has started catering to a new generation of kids out there with pandas. They have removed skill trees from the game and they pretty much spoon feed you your skills now. No longer are there skill trees that you need to think through and try out.

    The graphics are a decent update but the core content of the game is what drives me and
    this falls flat on its face for sure. For those that are giving high scores for this game, I'm not certain what game they are playing but this is not a great game. Such a shame that once a proud and great company that produced quality games and make tonnes of money are only concerned now with making tonnes of money and not quality games. It's time to shelve the WoW series as Mist of Pandaria is a nail in their coffin for enjoyment. Expand
  14. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The wow, falls downhill without brakes, and with this painful and sad exp, Moreover, thanks to the arrival of GW2 have, and no fees, this is how deverian be the MMO, pay each month, it's a scam and more by exp refried, poorly finished,

    Count all the talents of the current WOW, xD.
    Expand
  15. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    This review is by my spouse and is intended for parents only.

    Dear Responsible Parents,

    As a WOW player and a mother, I use to love playing World of Warcraft with my children. World of Warcraft: Mist of Pandaria brought a (feature) known as (CRZ) or cross realm zones. Our family had separate accounts for each family member. The children accounts were monitor to insure they were on a
    parental approved server. Our family oriented community (server) was ruined because of a (feature) known as CRZ.

    How was this ruined you asked? Our servers did a great job policing them and make things safe for the children. Now we are merged with M-rated servers. General Chat, Trade Chat, ETC is now filled with:

    "Hey man let's kill some F___ts"
    "Dude I just sucked a pregnant woman's ____"

    All communicated in vivid detail. I may be 100% pro-human rights, but I also want to keep my children shielded away from the R-rated parts of what people do in the bathroom stalls of a gay-bar. While I understand what Proudmoore represents (I am happy they found a safe-haven) I did not want my children exposed to the above straight, gay or otherwise. We avoided creating create characters on Proudmoore, Blackrock, ETC for a reason.

    To make things worse, currently you have no way to report players of another server for language, harassment, or discrimination. The in-game feature is bugged and does not work. If you manually create a ticket, you get an automated response of "Dear ____ please use our in-game report feature for assistance on this topic." If you write a ticket on the forum you get "This is better suited for using the in-game report feature." I am not sure why Blizzard Blue Posts have failed to notify the Customer Service Department on a now ongoing 4 week old bug.

    Because of the lack of policing, World of Warcraft: Mist of Pandaria is now promotes hatred, bigotry and discrimination. I implore all concerned parents to avoid purchase World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria for their children. This has changed an otherwise family friendly game (given the right server) into a family avoid game.

    Good parents say no to World of Warcraft: Mist of Pandaria because of the negative implication associated with CRZ.

    Thank you for your time,

    A Concerned Parent
    Expand
  16. Sep 29, 2012
    1
    Let's take a $200 used car and put a $700 body kit on it so it grab everyone's attention. It's still a $200 used car. This analogy can be used for Mists of Pandaria. Let's take a used game, add something new to it in order to grab attention and sell it. It carries the bad design of Cata on it's shoulders. This gets a 1 simply because it might be good for you if: A) You are new to wow therefor less likely to be biased B) Enjoy games that will hold your hand for you C) Are a parent looking for an at home babysitter that costs $15/month Expand
  17. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best content Blizzard has ever put out. The questing is superb, the story, the mechanics, I once again have that feeling of AWE I have missed since Vanilla. Kudos Blizzard, this is the best MMO out there.
  18. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    The now mega international corporate that made 3 billion in profit over the first 7 years now develops its game like its a small production house making F2P rpg's. Like all other big game companies, the emphasis has been firmly placed on do things as cheaply as possible for maximized profits and propagandizing the faithful into thinking they're playing a game with depth and substance. Makes its customers pay full price for a title that's a blatant marketing ploy geared towards a specific demographic. Despite the repeated blows to meaningful character development and the dev staffs love affair with homogenization they still can't balance classes in a way that makes pvp less of a bad joke or lets raiders "bring the player not the class". More new forgettable zones, more ez mode and turn your brain off questing, more uninspiring and boring dungeons, more gimmick 101 raiding. Immersive and challenging content has been replaced by frilly things like achievements, pokemon and farmville. For the third straight expansion, they are relying on addictive ploys like that, to go a long with the all time giant, the gear carrot, to keep people playing instead of making it interesting enough to warrant what amounts to be a pretty large investment over years of play. Expand
  19. Sep 29, 2012
    0
    Worst score for the worst expansion of a great old game. Pandas killed wow. If Blizzard wants more oriental players on this game than they will lost many more european and american one. Good luck for this crazy choice. Bye bye wow!
  20. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    There are many things that are wrong with WoW's newest expansion. Though there is so much more that is right. Mists of Pandaria represents the culmination of years of experience in making WoW expansions. It is the best of the series without question, or perhaps seems as such following the horrible blunder that was Cataclysm. The art style, questing systems and new continent are everything that the game needed to feel refreshing, while also boosting it's normal "World of Warcraft" style that people either love or hate. While most reviews herein contain reasons such as "network" or "Pandas" followed by obscene ignorance, MoP is everything that any past expansion has given and perhaps more. Gamers today as a whole have lost the ability of distinction, and it is human nature to hate on something that is popular if you are not a part of that group. This is exasperatingly evident with MoP, which brings forth new content, brilliant visuals (ala WoW style), hilarious and entertaining quests and an promise of so much more. The new systems alone provide for bonus addons that give players new things to do while preparing for raids and to do battle; the cross realm system, while very irritating to non-PvP realm characters, is a great idea that was poorly implemented. Getting gold ratings on challenge modes are incredibly hard even for hardcore raiders, and scenarios bring an additional outlet for people to spend time earning justice and new items without needed a tank or healer. In addition, the reformat of normal dungeons to the era of Wrath, while maintaining the difficulty of challenge modes, is a tremendous improvement over the last expansion where dungeons weren't all that popular until the second patch.

    Blizzard has promise bi or tri monthly patches containing alternating portions of contents such as raids, dungeons, dailies and story that will further advance the storyline of Mists of Pandaria. As such, huge battles are expected, and there is already more blood in the water than in any expansion thus far. PvP is rampant on PvP realms, and so are a huge amount of issues that should have been handled during beta (such as crz and it's general useless nature other than providing extra players to steal your kills or quest mobs).

    Pet battles are strangely addicting, and farming is less than optimal in being entertaining. Still, the game boosts tremendous improvements over the past, learning from mistakes and rewarding multiple different types of crowds. As most raids haven't been released (scheduled for a week or two), the only experiences I could speak of such is from the Beta, of which I found to be very enjoyable and just challenging enough.

    Questing is entertaining from the start, minus the somewhat poor cut-scenes made to introduce them. Multiple different objectives, story-lines and "just for fun" tasks bring forth refreshing leveling when focused on at a moderate pace. Pandas, while controversial, bring about a certain feeling of "zen" in their own land, but ultimately cause one to quirk their eyebrows when seeing them in regular towns. Luckily, if Worgen are any indication, they will be a rare race of bestials despite having an "awesome" flare to a certain crowd. To put it bluntly, if one is on the fence about this expansion and you've enjoyed WoW in the past, it is definitely worth the purchase price and a few months of entertainment. Many are getting tired of the whole raiding scene and just getting new gear just to get new gear. Though the amount of content and things to so and do within WoW will give months to do while waiting on other games or just needing to fill time in general out of boredom.
    Expand
  21. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    masterpiece, the art design is superb when you stand in the valley of the four winds its almost like living in a painting ( high graphics settings), every culture is finely detailed with buildings, props and inspired backstories, and i have to say this follows the blizzard principle of quality trough details. Love the game i am actually kind of sad that in time i will finally explore the whole continent but then i will have a farm to take care and my ever growing pokemon collection

    and the rest pve and pvp great as always but i dont really care much about this because any mmo can put some kind of dungeon/raid/battleground, blizzard just makes them beautiful and detailed
    Expand
  22. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    WoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a different demographic - the game is now for kids. If you enjoy paying a monthly fee AND playing with (other) children, this game might be for you. Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Have the people leaving 9s and 10s even played this? "Beautiful scenery" and "immersive questing" or how about "fascinating storyline" WTH??? Seriously? Are we talking about the same game here?? The positive reviews have got to be from bitter fanboys or blizzard corporate shills. Seriously this game is trash through and through.
  24. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Interesting to me that the best parts of this Xpac are stolen.... umm I mean borrowed IP from other games. Wondering if Nintendo will sue. I leveled 2 toons to 90 on the beta servers. Same old stuff apart from the Pokemon and Harvest Moon rip offs. I think the thing that really sunk the score for me is the big hardware reduction plan they're trying to sell as a feature. CRZ has made a mess of the leveling process and it will be coming soon to the 86-90 zones so have fun if you're an alt-oholic like me. Or was, I should say. I'm out and on to other (better) things. Feel sorry for the ones trying to tough it out. Good luck on Blizz fixing anything. They didn't trademark SOON for nothing. Expand
  25. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Same old boring world of warcraft now catered for even younger kids in the 10-12 year age, god what has happend to MMO these days...Blizzard is panically milking the last money possible out of their costumer base before everyone leaves.
  26. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    I tried to like it, but in my heart I knew wow had jumped the shark when I saw the pandas doing karate. Beware. Avoid at all costs. You will regret it if you fall for this like I did.
  27. Sep 28, 2012
    1
    This expansion shows how far the World of Warcraft has fallen. From childlike comic book characters, to pokemon pet battles for children, its apparent that this game has become a marketing tool to draw in children and console kiddies. Gone is the sense of accomplishment from wandering in dangerous lands where elite npc's await you, gone is the fun of discovering new flight paths. It's all given to you on a delicate simplistic silver platter. The talent system is dumbed down to almost meaningless, and the whole game seems to be a fischer price product geared toward ages 6-10. So sad, so very sad... Expand
  28. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This game has breathed a breath of renewed life into World of Warcraft. Too many people expect this to be a GW2 clone with a WOW skin over the top - it is not, and that is why it is successful. World of Warcraft is returning to its roots, leveling is a longer and more rewarding experience than 'oh I hit 81..and then an hour later oh I hit 82'. The scenery is beautiful, the music is well made and immersive.

    There are so many bad reviews from butthurt old-timers who expected 'passive mitigation' and people who just down-vote the game for no reason other than D3 being a flop. I have -actually- played this game since Vanilla, and this is honestly the most fun I have had since LK. Do yourself a favour and give this expansion a go, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  29. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Holy Cow! Blizzard really jumped the shark with this one. YES people wanted more races....but that should have been done early and often- finally adding one all these years later is more like a slap in the face to the players who gave up playing because of how static the game world has become. The fact that they were too lazy to make new races for both sides (or even *gasp* add a new side to the war) also hurts the games premiss. Expand
  30. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Mists is awful, disgusting visuals, bland new areas to "explore" and dumbed-down new dungeons with childish stories that take you through the "content". Peoples hatred for Blizzard is understandable, and the fact that the fanboys rate this game a '10' just shows immaturity, even when they are crying themselves to sleep because they want a more simple game? I think Blizz did a horrible job, the old talent trees were ok because everyone at least had some sort of choice, now it actually requires no thought at all. Anyone who is praising on the game is just bitter because their childhood has passed them by and they want to relive it. Expand
  31. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    I was playing Mists of Pandaria on my Pandaren Monk when my wife peeked into my office, looked at the screen, chuckled and muttered "you're not a man" and walked away. I am not very impressed with Mists of Pandaria thus far.
  32. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    This game is totally for little kids now. Complete with immersion-breaking pop cultures memes EVERYWHERE. If you're looking for deep gameplay, or an immersive world, you certainly won't find it in pandaria. The questing is some of the easiest and most boring content WoW has seen to date. Oh and update the graphics already, they were sub-par in 2004 and now they are just plain hideous
  33. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Anyone giving this a 9 or 10 is out of their mind. Biggest gaming disappointment in recent history. I'm gonna give this what it deserves.....a big fat 0!
  34. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    Fantastic, immersive questing; wonderful graphics (yes, the engine is old, but so what? this makes it accessible to a wide variety of people); and a fascinating storyline with subtle, adult undertones make this the best expansion since Wrath of the Lich King. Raid content is not yet open so cannot comment yet on this, but based on several days of play I cannot see myself getting bored or unhappy with this expansion. They have put in so much to for me to do that I'll be kept busy for the next year. Two thumbs up. Expand
  35. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Looks like Blizzard is in full damage control mode right now sending their employees out to give 9 and 10 score ratings. There's also some fanbois making multiple accounts trying to up the score. Pretty sad they have to do this just to justify playing this turd. They have made forum posts telling people to come here and make multiple accounts just give the game 10, so most of the good reviews here and just the same group of people doing it over and over again. Pathetic. Sorry Blizz and Blizz fanbois, too many people are upset about wasting their money on this lackluster expansion. You can't hide the truth! Expand
  36. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I think its a GREAT value for the money. You play it for a few months, get your monies worth and then quit when something else shiny/new comes out. Its the cost of about 2 movies. I quit a couple years ago, came back to Mists and personally, I'm having a GREAT time. I would happily spend the money again. Some of these reviews are laughable. What do people expect? Some kind of life altering experience? Please. Expand
  37. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    For me, MoP was an awesome experience. Most of the people who are writing bad reviews probably have not even reached end-game yet. Some of them complain about the new talent system, which is an excellent idead in my opinion. No more ''cookie-cutter'' builds, where if you did not pick specific talents, you would have much lower DPS then others. You usually only had 1-3 points to put where you wanted and even then, they did not change much (Some Builds did not even have those extra points). With the new system, the talents you choose actually modify your gameplay, and there is USUALLY no good answer, it is left to the preference of the player. Furthermore, the new continent is stunning, the environnement is beautifully done and the artwork on some of the mobs are very intricate and interesting. There are new battlegrounds and Dungeons, two whole new modes (Challenge mode and Scenarios), new raids, AoE looting, changes to raid looting, reputation, etc. Hell, some stuff went back to how it was in vanilla ! All in all, i seriously don't understand why people are disliking this expansion. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who enjoys World of Warcraft. Expand
  38. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Who would have thought the king of mmos would be taken down by pandas?? Blizzard has sent a clear message to their players: this is no longer a game for us, it's for the kids now. After spending some "quality" time with mists, I can tell you without a doubt that it 100% deserves all of the low scores it's been receiving here. Well $40 bucks down the drain but no worries - I'm off to play that *ahem* other much better game. Bye wow it was fun while it lasted =) Expand
  39. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    From CRZ to Fixed Mana, to the "Talent" system. Game is a joke. And let's not talk about panda's. If you have a brain in your head stay far away from this horrible game.
  40. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    With Mists of Pandaria, World of Warcraft really starts to show its age. Instead of revitalizing or revamping the existing content and core of the game, the developers have gone a different route: they're going all-in on childlike simplicity. They're adding Kung fu pandas, tacked on 5 levels to a game where no one seems to care much about the leveling process anymore, added another 100+ levels of gear grind, chucked in additional sparkle ponies, made the old (but lore-rich content) even more irrelevant, added new lore where absolutely nothing epic happens (unlike every other expansion), simplified all the talents, and thrown in Pokemon for good measure.

    All the gimmicks seem like a play for younger gamers (who don't play MMOs, generally) and/or Asia (but the Asian themes are silly caricatures). In any case, I'd have preferred fundamental improvements to the combat system, leveling process, and story, modern character customization options, and a move away from nothing but max level loot grinding. That didn't happen here.

    Ultimately, the highly addicted WoW player base will quickly level to 90 in a few days and then begin their new, long slog to nab up as much loot as those contestants on the old game show, Supermarket Sweep. The world will be desolate again quickly, filled with old, obsolete content. PvP won't be any better than it is now, which is to say the worst in the industry (WoW with its stark gear imbalance and grindiness actually may have the most imbalanced PvP of any major video game, in any genre).

    The developers didn't fix any of the old, increasingly obsolete features of the game. And it saddens me to see what used to be valuable content thrown by the wayside in the entire focus on max-level gear grinding. The result has been a virtual world that's not very alive outside of instances, and everyone will eventually tire of the treadmill. The gimmicks and 5 levels feel like a poor substitute for the overhaul the game needs to keep pace with newer competitors.
    Expand
  41. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    After the release of Mists of Pandaria World of Warcraft players are facing a lot of ridicule. There have been reports of kids of all ages getting picked on at schools, and WoW players are now the butt of all jokes at the workplace. It's very sad because WoW really didn't mean anything to non-players before MoP, but now after all of the TV advertisements and panda-sporting card board stands in the front of stores like Wal-Mart and Target, people have learned to despise everything WoW related. It's like WoW players are the new juggalos. As far as the expansion itself goes, it's just more of the same except everything has been simplified to an extreme level, which just makes playing that much more boring. The Pandas look terrible, and when I see them I understand why people would want to make fun of this game now. Expand
  42. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Horrible expansion. This is not WoW anymore it's one big kiddyland. Game is so easy it's not playable anymore. Good days of Vanilla and TBC are gone forever.
  43. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well i see lots of discontent here. Before you are so harsh to judge the game, picture this. Here you are raiding Dragon Soul on heroic difficulty over and over again. You have nothing else to do right? Okay. Lets go farm stuff, make money, get mounts and complete a mother-load of achievements. Suddenly... oh wow what is this!? A new expansion!? Finally! So you go and read up on it little by little as it reaches launch time. Good, now you are in game. Pandas, pandas everywhere, awesome detail new quest-lines, awesome new factions/races, new items, new mounts, new tittles, new achievements, scenarios, challenge modes and a plethora of new content. So here i ask you. Are you judging the new expansion because you never really progressed into raiding and completion during your previous plays? Are you not content with the fact that the game still has low rez graphics to compensate for it's size? (WoW has over 6 million players, with server capacities on the edge of 1000 or more). Are you just a fan boy of previous releases? Or, you just cant accept how awesome this expansion really is because you never cared to research/progress further into the game? Whatever your reason may be, this game deserves much credit. People that complain about the Panda race/faction clearly never understood or read the lore. Pandas were a part of wow long since its begging, just mentioned in short sections. And of course i cant stress this enough again and again, there is the Graphics Enthusiast. I personally demand high graphics from my games, in fact i sometimes judge the games on it's graphics (bad habit), but when it comes to WoW you have to understand that it was never about the graphics, it was about the game play. And last but not least, i am baffled by people who judge this game based on how hard or easier it gets. Raid finder= Great for experiences players who are eager to learn the ropes of raiding.
    Scenarios= Awesome idea towards achievements and "something to do"
    Challenge mode= Perfect way to test your strength and skills as a hardcore gamer, with a rewarding ending only for those who can prove themselves.
    Of course the dungeons and new raids are amazing, explosive content everywhere. So much more lore, so much more unique environments, great unique bosses and worth-wile rewards.
    Now here's another thing. Wonder why WoW MoP is still (TBD) here? Its because a Metacritic less than 90 you hurt its sales. Blizzard knows best, and quite frankly they will destroy those numbers. People have to realize that criticism here is hurting the gaming industry in terms of artistic meaning and individuality. If a game scores low it has a lesser chance to be sequel-ed. And that is completely ignorant.
    Expand
  44. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    It's sad to see how far World of Warcraft has fallen. WoW used to be an amazing game. Even up until the beginning of Cataclysm it was still the best MMO and the obvious choice for serious gamers. Now it's just not the same game we fell in love with over 7 years ago. "Jumped the shark" can't begin to describe what Actiblizzard has done to the masterpiece that was World of Warcraft.

    The
    talent system is a joke now. You can close your eyes, pick random talents, and end up with a viable character. Customizing your character and creating that perfect build is one of the most basic and fundamental aspects of playing any RPG. Even if that spec came off of a website, it still took some work to figure it out and tweak it to your needs. They've essentially removed talents altogether and made the specs all cookie cutter.

    No new content. Sure there's new dungeons, raids, zones, etc., but it feels like Blizzard is just going through the motions and this point and milking the game for everything they can. It's all the same rehashed content with no real substance or innovation.

    The game is old. Mists of Pandaria would have looked impressive back in 2004, but for a 2012 release the graphics are pathetic.

    Pandas...Yeah yeah they predate Kung Fu Panda, Blizzard can retcon whatever they want, and there's already other animal people in the game. But still, it's Kung Fu Panda. The game doesn't have the same "serious" feel to it like in past expansions, and that's important when you're investing 20+ hours every week playing it competitively. Although extremely nerdy, there was something cool about spending 40 hours a week with your guild trying to kill the Lich King. Now that feeling is gone. It's more difficult to justify the same hardcore playstyle when you're dealing with Pandas.

    The story, the poor poor story. Not much to say besides the writers have clearly lost their touch when it comes to creating interesting and at times logical lore. To be fair it's been in steady decline for a while now, but Pandaria is a new low.
    Expand
  45. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    A lot of people at my school have been making fun of me for playing WoW! Nobody ever said anything before stupid pandaland came out. People were calling me things like "little panda ferry" and saing I was a girl just for playing WoW! WoW used to be a pretty cool game until they added a bunch of baby stuff like pokemon and stupid looking pandas. Even my dad laughed at me when he saw the MoP box in my room! I hate you blizzard you ruined my life! Expand
  46. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    First and foremost, let me start out by saying that I think many of the people here who have reported the game as being shipped out as the same content over and over have to realize something about MMOs in general: they all follow the same pattern. Sure, there are games out, now, like Guild Wars 2 and Rift that implemented an event-based questing system. But guess what? 8 years down the line when the game releases their expansions, I wonder how many people are going to say oh god, not another EVENT-BASED expansion? Because after 8 years of a game being released and built upon, I would think people are just looking to hate on a game thats been walking a delicate line between releasing drastic changes and retaining much of the nostalgic and old-style feel from Classic WoW. What people want is an overhaul, but not an -overhaul-. Oh, please change all x things, but leave x things the same! I am in no way a Blizzard fangirl.Blizzard has made some royal screw-ups in the course of its career, but I -do- think they are trying. Do people really think these developers and artists just sit there and put no love into their work? Do you think they hate their own games? Come on. Use your brains. If -you- were a developer working day and night on a project as big as WoW, youd do the best you can at making it a game worth playing. Stop being petty and play the game longer than three days before you start down-rating it for issues that are either already being addressed or that are never going to change, period. If you dont like the rep/quest grind any longer, you should just stop playing MMOs in general and quit downgrading a game solely on a mechanic that is NEVER going to go away.
    Quests: There have been quite a few bugs here and there in the questlines. Such is expected of a newly game, so I give them an appropriate amount of time to go back in and fix those bugs. They are doing so as I type this...a two hour down-time period for them to do an overhaul and fix some of the more glaring issues. I dont mind taking a break from my grind to come back to fixed content. Now, we have the quests themselves, which actually are still reminiscent of the typical quest grind, but have some interesting lore surprises just when you think things are getting boring! I thoroughly enjoy the turn the lore has taken for the Alliance-side questing through Pandaria and have been following closely through each zone. Some quests are very fun and light-hearted, some might call them 'childish' but really, we're all playing an online fantasy game, what else do you expect? Pandaren: They are pretty interesting...I thoroughly LOVE Chinese lore in and of itself and I think Blizzard was very respectful in borrowing and honoring some implemented qualities from the culture and design. This is coming from a person who went to Blizzcon and grouched about the day they announced the idea of Pandaren: I didnt like them and didnt want them in my WoW. But now that I've run around on one for quite a while and delved into their lore, I have changed my mind.
    Continent: There are certain areas in Pandaria that just blew me away visually...I stand still or run around an area just to take in the beauty of it all. Zones all have something unique about them that set them apart and the flow of the quest chains has you visiting every single area so you dont miss out on any of the hard work they put into the design. Lore: I think the lore in this expansion is everything I had hoped for, not just for the Pandaren, but for the Alliance and Horde in general. I would like to go into further details but Id rather not spoil anything for anybody who hasn't gotten through most of the first batch of content. Ive been waiting for is some kind of recognition from Blizzard that there are players out there who want to see some character development for our lore characters! Graphics: The graphics have been updated significantly: better texture resolutions, smoother animations, some recycled but many of them new and fresh. They contrast heavily with the older textures and previous armor-styles but Blizzard has made it clear that they will be working on and releasing revamped character models in the future. As long as that promise is upheld, I can be patient and wait for that to roll around.
    CRZ: I heavily dislike them, I wish they were never implemented. I feel as though this is the source of all my lag and would prefer it if they would remove the feature entirely. Talent System: I miss the old talent system. I think this new change is interesting, at best, but I saw nothing wrong with the old talent trees and wish they had never touched them. I like the minor glyphs and even some options that change spells to better fit a play style. Major glyphs help to counter a little of my dislike towards the talent changes.
    Scenarios/Challenges: Have not gotten that far, yet, but after doing Theramore I think they show potential.
    Overall, this expansion gets a 9/10.
    Expand
  47. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    As an mmo veteran i would like to say that I really love this expansion. I must be playing a different game than some of the negative posters. The transition was seamless for me, I've had a total of two MINOR bugs throughout the entire expansion. To dislike the pandas just because they seem childish is very shallow, the panda starting zone was very entertaining and the lore is amazing. The artwork in mists of pandaria is beautiful, I just want to take my time questing so I can enjoy the scenery. Sure the graphics could be better but you have to sacrifice so some people can play (not everyone can have a state of the art computer). I have leveled several characters throughout the whole game and I must say that the questing experience keeps getting better. The interactions with the NPC's and the flawless phasing makes everything seem so real. To say this game is easier I think is wrong also. The mini rarespawn's throughout the questing zones make use of difficult mechanics that even a veteran will struggle with, the new talent system (although simplified) now can be encounter specific and good players will know which talents to use for each fight. The old talent system was never very difficult to begin with. Overall I think it is beautiful, questing is more involved, and very well put together. Thank you Blizzard! Expand
  48. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    The monk class released with this expansion class is one of my favorite classes from any mmo so far. I used to wonder why most MMOs did not offer a "Martial Arts" sort of class. Well finally WoW has, and it is not only my favorite class in the game, but of any MMO. The new Pandaren race is very well done, and many would agree has the best animations of any race in the game. World of Warcraft is about as polished as a game can get from my experience, and I play just about every major MMO released. I am VERY pleased that I gave WoW another try, I have not been able to stop playing since MoP released. Expand
  49. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    This game gets worse and easier with every expansion. The graphics and gameplay need a big update. It's a shame to she how this game has gone so low in all this years.
  50. Sep 28, 2012
    1
    honestly, i didn't expect any better, just another pointless expansion with no texture or graphics updates, i think WoW has had it's time and needs to rethink there style and what makes an MMO fun. gameplay is dull , nothing new brought to the MMO genre. However, i did enjoy the dungeons.
  51. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    This game deserves nothing higher than a 0. It's graphics are dated back to the stone age, the lore is **** and the community is made of children. The class mechanics are all blending together in a horrible mush.
  52. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I love this expansion, While a lighter tone for the most part then the others it really sets the stage for the war between the Horde and Alliance coming back, The amount of new end game content is fantastic, between challenge modes, scenario's, pet battles, and various other mini games. I can see myself playing this for a long while, and probably well up until the next expansion. I do believe the game has gotten easier to an extent but players have also been playing this for over 7 years. The game play can only change so much in a game that's already built and I think blizzard does a wonderful job adding in new and crazy mechanics. Boss fights require a little more motion and being on your toes then "Don't stand in the fire". For everyone else reviewing this game, its only been out for 3 days. 95% of the player base is mot even at level 90 yet and the end game is where this expansion is really suppose to stand out. Stop judging it harshly until you've given it a fair chance. Collapse
  53. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    I played WoW back in 2006 and was surprised when I resubbed that the game did not age well at all. The questing is dated, the graphics look terrible, and the community is probably the most vile I have ever seen anywhere. Got my refund after one day of playing.
  54. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Really don't understand all the negative. Quests are fun and very varied. Story lines are equal parts serious and funny. Zones end in big dramatic conclusions that tie together every story you've followed. The zones are gorgeous and filled with variety. The enemies each have unique attacks that keep most fights interesting. The dungeons, while brief, offer something different around each turn, even if they are somewhat derivative of previous boss fights.It's also a relief to be playing a story that is about more than just a big enemy. It's still WoW, people. You still accept quests, use abilities, turn in quest. But the shape around it has changed. Its also a massive relief to see some things condensed. I feel like Warcraft continues to evolve with my life changes, offering me new options to explore the content I don't have quite as much time for.
    Also, ignore reviews that came out at launch. This is not an expansion that can be summed up inone days worth of play.
    Expand
  55. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    This game is horribly disappointing. I felt like a 10 yaer old girl playing it. Really, pandas and pokemon? After Diablo 3's rip off Blizzard really needed to hit a home run with Mists of Pandaria and they failed miserably. Never buying another Blizzard game. Burn me once shame on you, burn me twice shame on me. Off to GW2 I go.
  56. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    Pandas... Excellent, here's a 0 for blizzard. If i could I'd give it -1000. The graphics look like a turd, I have seen PS2 games look better than WoW. Good job blizzard.
  57. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    It's quite easily to say this:

    Mists of Pandaria is Blizzard's masterpiece in the World of Warcraft.

    Pandaria is absolutely breathtaking, lightyears better than WotLK or Cataclysm.
  58. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Mists is great, fantastic visuals, great new areas to explore and awesome new dungeons with great stories that take you through the content. Peoples hatred for Blizzard amazes me, and the fact that they rate this game a '0' just shows immaturity, even when they are crying themselves to sleep because they want a more mature game..? I think Blizz did a great job, the old talent trees were stupid because everyone would just hop on google to find the best spec, now it actually requires personal choices as opposed to just following the crowd. Anyone who is hating on the game is just bitter because they're childhood has passed them by and they want to relive it. Expand
  59. Sep 28, 2012
    1
    "Everyone gets a trophy for showing up".
    This unfortunately is Blizzards mantra on their game design these days. In an attempt to staunch the loss of subscribers Blizz has decided that content needs to be easy, unchallenging, and provide rewards regardless of effort or skill. The leveling process, which is a huge part of any RPG MMO has slowly but surely been flattened and dumbed down to
    little more than a themepark ride, where mashing your buttons randomly will reward you with success, and never once will there be any danger of failure for poor decisions. Even the traditional challenge of needing to learn the mechanics of your class to succeed in group content; such as dungeons and raids, has been removed in favour of sleepwalking through content to collect shiny loot at the end.
    Another huge part of any MMO; the social aspect, has been gutted and left to rot in favour of appeasing the lazy anti-social loot-hungry players. While forming a group through actual social interation and discussion was time consuming, it created bonds with fellow players, it opened up opportunities for guild recruitment and just good old fashioned making friends. But crucially it created a sense of value in other players when teaching each other and sticking with a group meant something. Now with the auto dungeon/raid finder other players have zero value. Its far easier to abuse another player and kick them out the group knowing that the automatic finder tool will happily keep replacing that player for you until you find someone that meets your exact required numbers.
    Groups are just silent anti-social loot farming expeditions, where kicking for the slightest of perceived mistakes or shortcomings are the order of the day. Friends lists are all but dead and empty, guilds have dried up and disappeared in favour of the mega-leveling guilds which are used only for their guild level benefits. The social aspect of the game has been inadvertantly destroyed for the sake of ease and laziness. Just because players want the easiest route doesnt mean its actually good for them and the community, just as children who only want to eat icecream but we know that making them eat their vegetables is good for them in the longterm.
    The dungeon and raid content has also been a victim of easy no-effort rewards. Players who have no interest in learning about their class, learning how to player more effectively have found that its much easier to complain to Blizzard and demand easier content. In the belief that making content as easy as possible will prevent further subscriber loss Blizz happily keep dumbing group content down. Now Raid Finder is nothing more than a loot distribution tool requiring a half-asleep raid group to hit a cardboard cutout boss before watching it fall over so they can pat themselves on the back for completing a "challenging raid and getting hard-won loot".
    All of this while the core game has never brought any real innovation to the genre. The age old hamster wheel of fetching 10 boar spleens and killing 8 kobolds to level up, so you can farm the same handful of dungeons to get gear for raiding so you can farm the same raid to get gear for the next expansion, all so you can then farm to replace all your gear for a few more +1's and wait to do it all again in a couple months. No meaningful character progression outside of farming gear over and over again. Proffessions that are meaningless other than providing a couple of minor stat boosts. PvP that relies on tedious endless point grinding to get gear just to be able to compete. Daily quests that are nothing more than more hamster wheels to deperately keep you paying your monthly fee while waiting to farm more dungeons.
    Lastly the talent system that has been reduced to a simplified system which is terrified of letting anyone make a mistake. The idea of making a poor decision and learning from it has been deemed unacceptable. Everyone needs to succeed all the time, regardless of skill or knowledge. As such its a system with no real choice, since there are no "wrong" choices. Its a theme that is repeated throughout the games design. When everyone is a winner, then nobody wins.
    Expand
  60. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Tons of new thinks. The new pet system is awesome. Until now i think its so much better then cataclysm. It brings a lot of new things, systems, raids.
  61. Sep 28, 2012
    3
    Now, I used to raid in WoW for over a year but real world time commitments have forced me to stop playing so hard. WoW is years polished and I love playing as a healer but I've simply burnt out on this model. It's fine if many other people have not but I have. I find myself frustrated compared to playing say Guild Wars 2, and while a 3 is pretty harsh, I'd say this feels like their least inspired work to date. Bring on Titan Blizzard if you really want to set the next standard again. Expand
  62. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    This game completely sucks now. WoW was once one of the best mmos on the market, but now it's one of the worst. There are free to play games that trump WoW these days, and paying $15 a month for this terrible game just seems stupid after the MoP debacle.
  63. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Not the worst expansion, but definitely not the best either. The Pandaren starting zone is boring and very slow paced, especially since you are unable to send over your BoA items straight away. The art style and music in Pandaria is great. Cross realm zones hurt the game more than they add to it. Pet battles are an absolute joke and are a prime example as to why Cory Stockton should not be a Lead Content Designer. Level 90 class talents are not balanced at all in that some classes only get meh abilities. Expand
  64. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Curious so many negative scores were put in before anyone even had a chance to try the game. Anyway, on one side I'm a bit sad that I have to give such high marks to an old title such as World of WarCraft who simply stick to the tried and true formula because it works. But the truth is there just isn't any better MMO out there. I think it's only fair the actual good games receive their deserved ratings while the mediocrity we must suffer at the hands of overhyped, but now dying games like Guild Wars 2 are left in the dust. Expand
  65. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Mists of Pandaria sucks! The Pandaren suck, the quests suck, pandaria sucks, talents suck, monks suck, pvp sucks, crz sucks, ect. ect. Fun fact: Pandas are so lame they won't even mate with each other to save their own species.
  66. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    It's sad to see how far World of Warcraft has fallen. WoW used to be an amazing game. Even up until the beginning of Cataclysm it was still the best MMO and the obvious choice for serious gamers. Now it's just not the same game we fell in love with over 7 years ago. "Jumped the shark" can't begin to describe what Actiblizzard has done to the masterpiece that was World of Warcraft.
  67. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I made an account to post this. MoP is easily the best expansion to date. There is a great deal of critism of anything blizzard does or doesnt do these days and I would like to say out that ANYONE who gives expansion under a 5 has either not actually played it or made up there mind not based on reality but on there own misconception or hatred of anything that blizzard produces. There is one controversial change which I cannot comment on as I have seen very little of its impact which is cross realm zones. In theory it should be a good thing and I dont see why it shouldnt especially if it adds more chance for random PVP encounters. But I will leave it at that.

    Talent/skill/glyph revamp- One of the most unfun things to do in an MMO is to have to learn and relearn complicated trees which alter stats. If you are playing 1 or 2 characters it is easy to keep upto speed and actually know how to make a profficent build. After 10 years of online game I have a small army of characters across doaens of games and it is almost more trouble than it is worth to go back and jump on one you havent played for a while. The new talent system can only give you strong builds that can be figured out relatively quickly. There is also a greater degree of tactical flexibility with the ability to loadout skills and glyphs on the fly allowing more focus on actual combat. I have notivced several skills which have been integrated as passives or into other skills. I think this is great as having more and more skills every year only overcomplicate what should be simple.

    Pet battles- only done it a short time but it seems very well done. If you ever played pokemon on gameboy you will like this. It is optional and offers a bit of depth.

    Pandaria- I have played many wow clones over the years and I have come to the conclusion that if you are looking for that kind of simple casual progression wow does it just as good and in many cases better than any. They have not reinvented the wheel. but further refined the original formula to make your basic kill/collect quest as entertaining as possible. I wasnt sure if I would be into the whole panda/chinese/kun-fu theme, although they have done a good job of it. It has an exotic feel to it. Alot of the fights are 2-5 mobs and it reminds me of fighting creeps back in the days of ROC/TFT alot more than previous expansions. Monk- Havent played hte new class however I have fought against them and they seem pretty powerful. People actually playing them like it. Dungeons/raids- Only done 4 of the new ones on normal and they are what one would expect. I look forward to the challenge modes and scenarios.

    Area looting- about f'in time.

    PVP-
    havent been able to try new BG, I think they are lv 90, however there is a hell of alot of world PVP. Sharing quest hubs with the other faction can be tense and difficult at times, and because of that we have the highest levels of WPVP sing the southshore/TM days. Both good and someimes annoying but its what alot of people have been saying they want for years and I dont mind. Overall- I am level 88 and have had the most fun in wow since vanilla. The overall experince is top notch. it is an experiance. I am actually looking forward to leveling up some alts which is unusual. Most people I have talked too and played with have high opinion of MoP. The many low scores reviewers have given on this site is a joke written by a growing minority of disgruntled players who have lost there perspective. I suspect that this is because they have been playing blizzard games/MMOs heavily for years and are incapable of enjoying them anymore. That has happened to me before and I couldnt play for years.
    Expand
  68. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    If you left cause there was nothing to do in Cata check out MoP cause theres a over whelming amount of content. Reminds me a lot like the burning cruesade, also dont believe the people that give the game a zero there either GW2 fans or just haters cause this xpac is so much fun.
  69. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Please do not listen to the fanboys on here. This expansion is awful. The same people that are giving 10s are the same people that will be whining about how much they hate it an a few weeks. Same thing happened with Cataclysm (which I didn't think was all that bad), except Pandaria is waaaayyyy worse. What a trainwreck! Blizzard what were you thinking?
  70. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    I love you Blizzard. You have brought back what I loved about World of Warcraft - the fun. This expansion got me in a way that BC and WotLK did not. Cataclysm revived alt-leveling for me, and this revived end-game for me. It looks absolutely spectacular despite the "dated" engine. Coming straight from Guild Wars 2, I must say WoW has done everything right this time - and I am back to stay. Here, take my money. Please.

    And all the down-votes in here is just rediculous.
    And people wonder why nobody looks at the user-score. It's a total joke.
    0 score = fanboy of another game, and obviously some sort of adolescent jaleousy.
    Expand
  71. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    First of all just want to say that Iv been playing WoW for over 6 years and I have experienced the game from the beginning. First thing I dont like about MoP is the whole simplified formula Blizzard came up with for new / bad players. To be this totally beats the concept of a game, where game should be changeling with some kinda learning curve, I hate hope WoW has become a no brain game that requires minimum skill to play.. I mean damn watching TV is more fun than MoP.. Second, the PvP is imbalanced, the worst it have been so far, there are classes doing too much dps / healing, and classes that are doing too little..I dont know why would Blizz want to throw away 8 years of developing pvp balance and then just throw it all away with the new talent system... Third, the new content is the same old cake, just different icing.. I think Panda's where a bad idea also, I mean there is nothing " Fantasy " about Fun Fu Pandas, WoW is a Fantasy MMO after all.. Oh well, I want give them my money for that junk, Expand
  72. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Been playing since vanilla and I can honestly say that this is the worst expansion ever. Loads of bugs, lagg, disconnects, rude customer support, the list goes on and isnt worth my time. They have lost me as a customer and I will boycott anything this company sells.
  73. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    I am literally cursing myself for buying this. The litany of fail in WoW and MoP has been stated up and down these reviews. Same old race to level cap, but this time through a soulless Disney-esque generic Asian continent. I will not be grinding my way through re-skinned dungeons or raids with the same boring mechanics. Buyer beware.
  74. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    I'll keep it short and sweet.
    Let's say WoW used to be Lego, it is now Duplo.
    That is all. Pandaria is pretty lame overall. Waste of money and time.
  75. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best World of Warcraft expansions ever! I have been playing WoW since the middle of Vanilla, and I can't stop playing MoP. Everything is perfect. When I first logged in after the midnight launch, the servers were really laggy. That was expected because I play on one of the most popular Alliance servers. After 2 days of leveling my professions, I started to quest. I was amazed at how much detail Blizzard put in to each zone and quest. Sure there are a lot of grinding quest, but Blizzard also added new quest with new objectives. Leveling from 85 to 90 takes quite a while now, but I was never bored because the quest were fun. Don't listen to all these kids who giving this expansion low ratings, they're basing their ratings on the the previous patch that came prior to MoP. It changed the talent tree, but it's not biggie. Instead of everyone having 'cookie cutter' talent specs, everyone has their own unique spec now. As a hardcore arena player, and casual pve raider, I enjoy this new talent system. Also do not pay any attention to people are saying WoW is to easy now and takes no skill. Sure, anyone can raid 10 or 25 man raids. That is why still has HEROIC 10 and 25 man raids, they offer better gear and take a lot more coordination. Vanilla was terrible and you only loved it because you were young and didn't have a job yet. This game is amazing, I'm sure Blizzard will release a trial for those who didn't upgrade yet, and when they do, you will love it. Expand
  76. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Just want to echo what a lot of reviews are already stating. MOP is yet another release that fails to meet the high quality standards of the Blizzard we knew before the merger with Activision.
  77. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    The talent system has been homogenized to a simplistic and boring system that doesn't offer anything cool. What used to be unique and interesting classes have been made really dull to play. The talent and ingenuity that was once the WoW dev team have moved to other projects, and there is nothing now that makes the game fun. While they obviously have a talented design team, the overall final product is lackluster.

    MoP was created only for the intent of making as much $ as possible by appealing to the lowest common denominator because the game life cycle has less time ahead compared to what has past.

    As a result you get stupid Pandas, pokemon pet battles, and other silly nonsense that killed the uniqueness of the game. There is nothing fun about MoP. You just get a gaggle of simplistic crap with a few new character models.

    I have been playing since 2005, and MoP offers nothing to an otherwise fun game. Blizzard is not the quality company that it once was. I didn't want to bother with Diablo 3 after the real $ auction house came online. I just found that trifling, and the desire to go higher levels into the game was not there.

    I think I am done with Blizzard, been fun 1997-2012.
    Expand
  78. Sep 27, 2012
    8
    As a player who's been with this game since alpha I can honestly say that this is the best expansion since Burning Crusade. Everything was improved, from combat, to questing. The only thing I cab even nitpick about is the age of the game slowing graphically when compared to more recent MMO titles. Us unfortunate that most reviewers are blinded by their own fanatical love for how WoW "used" too be to realize it. Vanilla was amazing, but what alot of people don't realize is the game its the same and hasn't gotten easier, its just less time consuming. People can't devote 10 hours a day to progression wipes in raids anymore so Blizzard speed punishing people who can't give their life too this game. Graphically the game is sound, but shows a bit of age.

    Ambience music and zone sound tracks are brilliant.

    Gameplay is left relatively unchanged which is both a bad and good thing.

    When it comes down too it though, you'll either love it or hate it. Longtime fans will find more of the same, and newcomers will be welcomed with an expansive world with plenty to do.
    Expand
  79. gmx
    Sep 27, 2012
    0
    From bad to worse. Blizzard has hit a new low. Anyone giving this a 10 must be a blizzard employee or completely delusional. After seeing what people in-game are saying, there's no way there are this many people who actually think this garbage deserves a "10". Whatever, I'm done with WoW for good. Enjoy your pandas and 8 year olds.
  80. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I've played WoW since vanilla. I skipped WotLK entirely, though I've dabbled in some of the content since coming back for Cataclysm. I'm seeing a lot of 0's here, in addition to a lack of professional reviews so I'm putting in my 2 cents worth, because the 4.0 I'm seeing as the user score seems HORRENDOUSLY inaccurate. I'm only level 88, and have only quested the first 3 zones, so my scope is limited, but my first impression is vastly different from what I'm seeing other people (who likely have the same amount of time with the game, or less.)

    Here's the bad:

    This is not a perfect launch for an expansion. There have been quest bottlenecks where there are too many players and not enough mobs. Blizzard took away some very convenient features, such as mass summons, and the ability to use your flying mount while levelling, with the purpose of "allowing the player to better appreciate the world they've designed." Cross realm zones have been obnoxiously bugged, and were fixed only yesterday.

    All of this is to be expected with the launch of a Blizzard MMO title. Every other launch has been exactly the same.

    And guess what? All that stuff doesn't matter.

    The zone design is beautiful. The storyline is full of laugh out loud moments, with all the goofy pop culture references you'd expect from Blizzard. The monster designs are unique and interesting. The atmosphere of the first few zones are lighthearted, with the pandas constantly eschewing their love of peace and food. Food is a big deal in this expansion... there's an entire town called Halfhill devoted to all the different cooking specialties you can learn, and tons of quests to do while learning. I've heard there's also a farming minigame to play as well, where you can grow your own cooking reagents? Tradeskills are exceptionally easy, from what I've heard. You could argue that they are too easy, but then, I never really had all that much fun running around farming ore or herbs or skinning back in the days of Classic and Burning Crusade WoW. I haven't stepped into the new dungeons, but I saw previews of them from back in beta, and they look like they'll fit right in with everything that's come before.

    The story seems lighthearted now, but some NPC's are dropping foreboding hints at a coming darkness. The tension between horde and alliance in the quests is much more prominent than it's been in the past, and this evil force called the Sha keeps showing up. The ancient protectors of the continent are tired, and unable to tend to it on their own. And that's where we come in. I can't wait to get into these dungeons and raids and save the world once again.
    Expand
  81. Sep 27, 2012
    8
    100% improvement vs. Cataclysm. I just came back to WOW after a loooong hiatus and I am liking the fact that Blizzard has decided to switch things up with the talent trees. After being gone for so long, if I was able to come back and "leave right where I left off", and there were no changes to the game, I would have been disappointed. The game is not perfect and the initial surge of people playing on opening day kinda showed some of the oversights/ imperfections of the starting content on the new zone. On Alliance side, gyrocopter event, it took me an hour to complete the night of release. Ran the event again on my rogue the next day and I completed it in 5 minutes. When I play this game, I play it to have FUN and to play with friends, not speed past all of the content just to get my character to lvl 90. So far, I am really enjoying it! Expand
  82. Sep 27, 2012
    1
    Same old boring world of warcraft now catered for even younger kids in the 10-12 year age, god what has happend to MMO's these days...Blizzard is panically milking the last money possible out of their costumer base before everyone leaves.
  83. Sep 27, 2012
    1
    Game is just too old now. Everything is a never ending rinse and repeat. I try to come back to love it like the old days but it's too late. Maybe it's a genre burnout or the games been around longer than it should have been. Thats the problem with mmos. They are all the same and offer nothing exciting and new. Its just regurgitated garbage from a decade ago.
  84. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Kungfu Panda and Pokemon + Stupid re-design of skill trees and boring quests = MoP. Also cross realm pvp was probably the worst ideas ever. Enjoy being camped constantly?
  85. Sep 27, 2012
    8
    First off everyone needs to ignore all scores around 0. It is absolutely ridiculous that little kids/immature with an axe to grind can come on here and cry about Pandas. These aren't reviews they are simply being vindictive and if you read most of them, they are carbon copy posts by cry baby sheep. I am someone who hasn't played in a year and I have generally liked the expansion. To start the release was one of the most solid that i can remember, although there is lag here and there. There really is tons of depth to this game and it's no longer geared to be a second job. Tons of people on here are posting vindictive zeros because they are no longer a unique snowflake. They are butt hurt because EVERYONE can now access raiding via "looking for raid (LFR)". These are the people who raid as their job and base their self-worth on it. They are the ones who stand around in major cities, posing so people can see how beautiful their gear and mounts are. Those days are over because everyone can now access said gear, but in different colors. It is actually quite hilarious that these people are so upset that the game has evolved and they no longer are the only ones with raiding gear, etc. that they feel the need to come here and score it a zero. It's sad actually, but shows you how they were way into the game in the first place.

    If you've been away from the game, give this expansion a shot. There's a lot more to do, previous systems have been tweaked, and a good amount of dungeons and raids to begin with. Too much is made over pandas being a playable race, redone talent system, LFR, etc. I have zero interest in pet battles, but everyone seems to be loving it. Beyond all of that, don't be fooled. This isn't a child's game by any stretch of the imagination. People cry on the internet because they have anonymity and no fear of being called out for acting like spoiled children. Do not let haters and cry babies dictate if you play this expansion or not. I am not a Blizzard fanboy, so take that into consideration. If anything Diablo 3 deserves the zero's, but not this expansion.

    One more thing about the zeros. Maybe all of the haters and cry babies here, who claimed to have quit the game, but probably haven't, hopefully have. What does that mean for the player base? Well if people, like the ones scoring the expansion zero because they are immature crybabies, are gone, that bodes well for a more mature and respectful player base. This expansion, like life, is what you make of it. If you have a sense of entitlement, you think the game should cater to the minority(hardcore, and not the majority of players, then this game isn't for you. If you like to play a very well done game/expansion, that has more depth than anything out there, this is a game for you.

    P.S. Haters gonna hate, so ignore them
    Expand
  86. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Many of these negative score reviews make mention of the decline of excellence from Blizzard games within the last 5 or 6 years.

    The main thing that ruins games, game development and creativity and sinks developers is... interfering, money hungry publishers! Most notably Eidos, Electronic Arts and Activision! Who have ruined many, many fantastic development companies in their time.


    Blizzard was possibly the last great development company not owned by a faceless corporation. However Activision bought Blizzard back in 2007. Need I say more?
    Expand
  87. Sep 27, 2012
    1
    Well, I was disappointed in Cata from the start, and was hoping MoP would bring back anything remotely epic in the game outside of Max level play. Sadly, it's still just an ez rush to endgame, one or 2 shotting mobs along the way. Planned to take my time, enjoy the panda starting zone, but found it so dumbed down(further if possible from Cata), and really uninspiring artistically that I just left the area. The game has finally cured me of my original amazement, and awe. Time to move on. Too much streamlining, too little server interaction and community brought on by the many changes over time, too little immersion. The game is a sad shadow of its former self, where the immersion has been stripped out so everyone can get the big baddy in the end. If no one can lose, how can anyone succeed? The loss of tiered raiding, and true progression have made this game much less than it once was. I have never even been a consistent raider, but I was proud of my progress, even if it was just Heroics in BC. Eventually I moved through the raids, but I wasn't cutting edge by any means...and still there was something for everyone, a niche, where you could find friends at or near your level still climbing the progress ladder. Wrath was filled w mostly 10 man raiding for me, and as with TBC the 10 level expansion made the leveling mean something, there was real progression in your character as you opened new areas at 77, etc..sadly this franchise is nothing more than a $ generator at this point for Blizz. Nothing original in 2 full expacs, micro-transactions and vanity items everywhere, and no longer an ounce of originality. Whoever is working on the game now just seems tired of it, and waiting for people to break their addiction so they can develop something new. Sad for such a formerly great game. Technically, the game is still sound, that's the only saving grace. Expand
  88. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Why did i bother to buy it...Biggest buyers remorse of 2012. I EVEN made an account here because im so frustrated. I want my money back blizzard. There is nothing innovating in this game, even **** guild wars 2 brings more to the table than this pile of ****
  89. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Unless you live in China, you're a massive weeaboo or your IQ is lower than the amount of money you would pay for this game, don't buy it. The game has become a simplistic MMO that requires very little time and effort to play, which is not what I'm looking for. A dumbing down of a genre is what were seeing here.
  90. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    A very good game that brings the fun back into gaming for me. I love being able to group up with my friends from other realms and love the new story-driven expansion. It's very much what I love about Warcraft, intrigue, action, war, history-rich and it also has many new features I can enjoy for a long time. Thanks Blizz.
  91. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Blizzard failed to deliver anything close to what i expected from a company that gets over 1 000 000$ a month. They cant do anything right these days. This was my last Blizzard game ever, im tierd of their ****
  92. Sep 27, 2012
    6
    The game is fun and entertaining for someone who has taken a long break from away from WoW but many of the changes appear to have dumbed it down such as the talents. I am not sure exactly when Blizzard decided to only allow you to update your talent build every 15 levels since I have been away from WoW for some time, but it is really a step in the wrong direction. Blizzard needs to go back to the old talent system. Expand
  93. Sep 27, 2012
    1
    Too much of the same. Little to no change what-so-ever despite, and what little new features there are they are patch worthy at best.

    Do not buy if you're looking for a dramatic change, the game is just as bland as Cataclysm was.
  94. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    Rehashed content, copy and pasted mobs and scenery, bland solo questing, completely uninspired landscapes and dungeons. The dungeons themselves are really bad rehashes (They cut Vanilla dungeons in half and called it a day) and are overly easy. AoE spam fests with no need to bother with mechanics.

    As a matter of fact, ill let Ghostcrawler himself tell you why this expansion sucks and
    why this dungeon model sucked in WoTLK. --- http://us.battle.net/wow/en/blog/2053469 --- As you can see even Blizz realizes how bad this is, but why are they making something they know is bad design? That they criticized themselves for in WoTLK? The simple answer? Money, greed, Activision. This company isnt about gaming, it isnt about making games fun or making games they care about or are inspired to make. Its to make games they couldnt give a crap about to make more $ and it shows. The whole things a bust. 11 years old and under need only apply. Expand
  95. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    First: I really hope this gets posted with paragraphs. I swear they were in here when I submitted this thing.

    This expansion is hands down the best they've ever produced. The scenery is beautiful and there's a ton to do. I even find running my own little farm to be surprisingly fun, and I usually hate that kind of thing. It's just tied together so well.

    They've added content for
    pretty much every kind of player; from the farm and pet battles, to a lot more daily quests (500+) for end game questing variety, to new dungeons, raids, challenge modes, battle grounds, scenarios (fun little story driven dungeons), etc etc. I've played a lot of other massive games over the last couple of years (but not GW2 so I'm not referring to that here!) and Blizzard still has the best designed quests and encounters, in my opinion. Others are getting better, and Rift is certainly great at churning out content, but when I play WoW those other games just seem unpolished by comparison. Even the combat response times are crisper. There are few things I'd like to see added, inspired by the others, but Blizzard only seems to add things after a lot of thought and testing. Programming something that works for millions of players takes time!

    The biggest thing that sets Blizzard apart though is their sense of humor. There's a lot of great references in this game that made me laugh.

    So that's my review; it's awesome, and you should try it. If you're burnt out on WoW it might not help, because it's still WoW; not sure why you'd expect it to suddenly be a different game. But if you just got tired of no new content being posted, well, they just posted a TON. And now my personal soap box:

    I'll preface this by saying that I'm a fan of Blizzard, but I can acknowledge flaws when I do encounter them. I'm sure the game's not perfect and I just haven't played long enough to run into many flaws yet, and I'm a bit forgiving because of how good my experiences with Blizzard games have been in general.

    It seems to me that the biggest problem with WoW is actually a small fraction of the player base leaving reviews and forum posts. There are a lot of negative posts that are good; I'm not talking about those. Some are justifiably upset and offer details on how to fix certain aspects that they disagree with. Most seem to expect a different game, or a system that goes the way they want without realizing there are plenty of people or balance statistics that go the other way. There's a lot of people burned out on the game that don't realize it, and they're a vocal bunch. Then you've got the faction that just thinks everything should be free to play. I imagine they don't like to work and work and not get their pay checks either; not sure why they would expect Blizzard employees to. Others seem to think this is simplified or dumbed down, when gameplay and fights are actually a bit more complex and the mechanics are introduced earlier in the quest lines. I think those people are mis-remembering how content worked in earlier expansions.

    Really, if you want to make a choice about the game, play it yourself or ask some trusted friends what they think. People have different opinions. If you find you don't like it, either move on or post some constructive criticism. Try to remember that WoW is made by a bunch of PEOPLE. EA may be a greedy bunch, but the programmers and artists who craft a silly little chipmunk for you to /love are doing something they love and hoping it makes someone smile.
    Expand
  96. Sep 27, 2012
    0
    What a horrible expansion. Absolutely no innovation, just more of the same but extremely dumbed down this time around. The new talent system is a joke and insults our intelligence, and the pandas running around look really really stupid. Huge disappointment.
  97. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Very happy with this expansion! The lanscaping is beautiful,. the new new race of pandas gives us all license to just have fun and i find the new class very enjoyable to play. Forget the naysayers..this is a GREAT expansion and though there will be bugs at launch, unless you are a picky person who feeds of the negative..such minor annoyances will not deter you from the fact for once you are allowed to enjoy playing a cartooned character and acting like one. Did i mention that the pet battles are addictive. Have fun in mists of pandera...a breath of fresh air! Expand
  98. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    I am rating this high because I am generally a fan of the WoW franchise. The story and feeling of Mists of Pandaria was interesting enough to keep my hooked 85-90. Now that I am 90 there is so much to do (pet battles, dailies, achievements, heroics, scenarios, challenge modes, etc. etc.) that I am struggling to figure out how to spend my time. The new talent system has managed to give people options, and in most situations there are not "cookie cutter" builds as we saw in previous iterations of the game. In the end people who enjoy the lore of Warcraft will like this expansion, and the tone it sets. Expand
  99. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    The best expansion so far, and still by far the best MMO. I've played all of the recent MMOs in the last two years. The level of innovation and fun in MoP just blows them all away. A major improvement on Cataclysm, and a must buy for MMO fans.
  100. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I just came back to WoW for MoP after being discouraged by GW2's dungeon design and even though i was highly skeptic about MoP's concepts they where quickly changed shortly after logging in. Maybe it's because i haven't played WoW in so long but to me MoP is by far the best fun i've experienced since i played vanilla in beta. I also think Monks are one of the best classes Blizz has made, they however a bit simple to play, but never the less i find them the most fun and innovated. Although i told myself i would never but another blizzard product after Diablo 3, i am actually enjoying MoP very much. Expand
  101. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    I love this expansion, While a lighter tone for the most part then the others it really sets the stage for the war between the Horde and Alliance coming back, The amount of new end game content is fantastic, between challenge modes, scenario's, pet battles, and various other mini games. I can see myself playing this for a long while, and probably well up until the next expansion. I do believe the game has gotten easier to an extent but players have also been playing this for over 7 years. The game play can only change so much in a game that's already built and I think blizzard does a wonderful job adding in new and crazy mechanics. Boss fights require a little more motion and being on your toes then "Don't stand in the fire". For everyone else reviewing this game, its only been out for 3 days. 95% of the player base is mot even at level 90 yet and the end game is where this expansion is really suppose to stand out. Stop judging it harshly until you've given it a fair chance. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 86
    An expansion worthy of the franchise’s legacy that, according to sales and subscriptions data, pulls the series back on the right track, in a spectacular way. On the other hand however, the limitations of the World of Warcraft platform are similarly underlined. There’s no room for fundamental restructuring of the game. [November 2012]
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    80
    The fourth World of Warcraft expansion set is trying to get back all of those souls lost in last months, even years. At the end of the day it manages to get them back, letting them forget Cataclysm that's been dull as ditch water.
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    83
    Another great excuse to delve back into this massive world, though archaic gameplay grates. [Christmas 2012, p.92]