User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 672 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 672

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    WoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a differentWoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a different demographic - the game is now for kids. If you enjoy paying a monthly fee AND playing with (other) children, this game might be for you. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    Just more boredom and grinding in a game that's nothing but. This was also where arena was added, and thus marked the end of balance in pvp, and the start of a FotM roller coaster that would destroy the game.
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    0
    Better games out there...Don't be fooled by the new gear, mounts, races its the same thing it was. Instancing, raiding for counless hours It just doesnt compare too the new better mmos coming out in the market. Game hasnt gotten any better quit wasting your money$$$.
  4. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. utterly crap ,can not beleve pepole still are buying this **** have improvedthan just longer eyebrow on elfs,i cant stress how much crap this game is ..montly fee and everything,and they dont come up with anything better Expand
  5. ThiagoT
    Jun 27, 2008
    2
    The worst expansion I've ever seen. Burning Crusade DESTROYED that epic atmosphere I saw at the first game. Now we play at Outland, an entire map with green gear better than epics from Azeroth dropped from Kelthuzad's own ass. Even Hellfire Peninsula looking great I think the second game should be at Northrend. everybody wanted undeads, plague everywhere, Arthas and his minions, The worst expansion I've ever seen. Burning Crusade DESTROYED that epic atmosphere I saw at the first game. Now we play at Outland, an entire map with green gear better than epics from Azeroth dropped from Kelthuzad's own ass. Even Hellfire Peninsula looking great I think the second game should be at Northrend. everybody wanted undeads, plague everywhere, Arthas and his minions, etc! And more: we like 40 man, we hate 25 man. We also hate to grind hundred hours to get gear that we have already spent on 60. Where is the lore? Sieges? New classes? Pandarens? Why blizzard destroyed Warcraft? And fuck the Lich King and its new Hero Classes! I can see the same shit done before and worst. Still have a dream called Diablo 3. Expand
  6. BenJ.
    Feb 28, 2007
    0
    WoW needs to die, and this expansion is not helping. This expansion adds repetitive missions and does not improve anything about the game. Compared to other expansions out there, this seems like being handed a cup of sewage and told to pony up money. Sorry, but WoW has already blinded gamers' eyes from the actually decent titles, and this is just another blindfold over their eyes.
  7. SebastianB.
    Apr 7, 2007
    0
    A boring game which makes people addicted! Don't start playing cause you can't stop again. And the graphics is nothing compared to many other games.
  8. OnurYuksel
    May 6, 2007
    1
    I am playing WOW more than 2 year.I have paladin 70 level.but I really bored playing Wow.Before patch everything is perfect.Our guild members and me love playing it.We made hundreds of BWL MC A.Q and Naxx. we got our Sets T1 T2 T2.5. T3 nearly playing 1 year and more raids.We gave our all.After the BC patch Level 63 items are better than our T3 T2 T1 items.that means Blizzard forgetI am playing WOW more than 2 year.I have paladin 70 level.but I really bored playing Wow.Before patch everything is perfect.Our guild members and me love playing it.We made hundreds of BWL MC A.Q and Naxx. we got our Sets T1 T2 T2.5. T3 nearly playing 1 year and more raids.We gave our all.After the BC patch Level 63 items are better than our T3 T2 T1 items.that means Blizzard forget and don t think our efforts.Then I think when we again start Raid for T4 T5 .Blizzard again will release other patch to 80 level or up.Also our efforts will gone ! So dont play BC...... Expand
  9. SuperRogue
    Jul 29, 2007
    0
    Whoever said this expansion is addictive is because they're newbs. They don't know it's the same old repetitive, boring, unintelligent rep and instance grinding. My time and money are better spent elsewhere.
  10. FranciscoC.
    Jan 20, 2007
    1
    I loved the first game, but this think will mark Blizzard! By the bad side... This expansion should be just a patch, blizzard is making us waste our money, you want an advice? Buy "Guild Wars: nightfall" that is a pretty good game.
  11. AdamR.
    Jan 20, 2007
    0
    Does not fix most of the problems of WoW like laggy servers, does not add any depth to an already boring game which centers on grinding monsters to do the fun bit which is raiding WoW and Burning crusade should be free if you are going to be charged such a large subscription per month to play them There are many better games out there to spend your time on, WoW just seems to be a way for Does not fix most of the problems of WoW like laggy servers, does not add any depth to an already boring game which centers on grinding monsters to do the fun bit which is raiding WoW and Burning crusade should be free if you are going to be charged such a large subscription per month to play them There are many better games out there to spend your time on, WoW just seems to be a way for people to waste time and escape life Collapse
  12. SamuelC.
    Mar 3, 2007
    3
    Better games out there...Don't be fooled by the new gear, mounts, races its the same thing it was. Instancing, raiding for counless hours It just doesnt compare too the new better mmos coming out in the market. Game hasnt gotten any better quit wasting your money$$$.
  13. JasonR.
    Mar 7, 2007
    1
    Exactly the same over-done repeated things you did for the first 60 levels, only with tree's and hills in different spots. If your lucky a different looking mob but no real advancement to anything but your level count. Graphics, Questing, Crafting system(with the exception of adding a new crafting type) basically haven't changed. Just means longer fights for less reward and the Exactly the same over-done repeated things you did for the first 60 levels, only with tree's and hills in different spots. If your lucky a different looking mob but no real advancement to anything but your level count. Graphics, Questing, Crafting system(with the exception of adding a new crafting type) basically haven't changed. Just means longer fights for less reward and the endless cycle of boredom that is WoW continues. Expand
  14. BrianP
    Sep 4, 2008
    3
    Basically this expansion took wow and launched it again but without the magic and addictiveness of the first installment. With gamebreaking problems and balance issues (warrior, RNG, ect) TBC might as well have not even been released.
  15. JoeJok
    Jan 17, 2007
    0
    This game is laughable. It's amazing what people will pay just for an upgrade that really should be downloadable. Blizzard will keep on sucking the money out of all of you fools.
  16. PhilipL.
    Jan 18, 2007
    3
    3 points for the effort. Sadly huge ripoff and an obligation to BUY the expansion pack (better armor and higher lvl cap). Play if you like, but in my case: no thx, Guild Wars calls.
  17. SomeGuy
    Jan 22, 2007
    2
    This game has been going too long...people are losing their lives with this game and I'm now no longer one of them. This add-on isn't worth the $40. I went to a friends house to check it out and realized it's not worth the money. I also realized it's just a game and not worth the time. I've given it a "2" because if it was only $20 or less it would get a "8"This game has been going too long...people are losing their lives with this game and I'm now no longer one of them. This add-on isn't worth the $40. I went to a friends house to check it out and realized it's not worth the money. I also realized it's just a game and not worth the time. I've given it a "2" because if it was only $20 or less it would get a "8" but because it's $40 I will give it a very poor rating...just another way to give us not much for our money. Expand
  18. Alex
    Jan 26, 2007
    1
    i think i'm missing something. WoW has over 7 million players, most of which are rabbid fans of the series. why don't i like it? maybe its the repetitive and mundane tasks that clog the game. maybe its the auto attack feature. or maybe its just because the game is juat plain boring to me. whatever the case, neither WoW or Burning Crusade will be seeing any of my hard-earned cash i think i'm missing something. WoW has over 7 million players, most of which are rabbid fans of the series. why don't i like it? maybe its the repetitive and mundane tasks that clog the game. maybe its the auto attack feature. or maybe its just because the game is juat plain boring to me. whatever the case, neither WoW or Burning Crusade will be seeing any of my hard-earned cash any time soon. probably the only thing it has going for it is that the character creation is pretty cool, and the game runs fairly smooth for an MMORPG of that size. 0.5 out of 10. Expand
  19. JesusC
    Jan 29, 2007
    3
    An uninspiring expansion; it's the same old game packaged in a new shiny box. Between the grinding, the Barrens chat, and the tedious raiding you should all see that WoW is a crappy game that sucks the life out of you simply because you have hopes of making your character better. Your character doesn't exist IRL by the way.
  20. EhrenM.
    Feb 16, 2007
    3
    Same mechanics all my characters have been through in wow, this expansion just adds more content to keep you in line and paying. Same old low-end and outdated cartoonish graphics, that don't make use of new modeling and lighting techniques which made basically every other game now so gorgeous. This game feels very old on my system to be honest. As above, no improvement in gameplay, Same mechanics all my characters have been through in wow, this expansion just adds more content to keep you in line and paying. Same old low-end and outdated cartoonish graphics, that don't make use of new modeling and lighting techniques which made basically every other game now so gorgeous. This game feels very old on my system to be honest. As above, no improvement in gameplay, even the quests feel the same, only new content that willl last you a few more months. Just compare this not as an MMO, but a game by itself with most games out there in the past 2 years and I'll be perfectly clear to those who are not already hopelessly addicted. Expand
  21. TomG.
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Here's another insanely terrible game from Blizzard. I think they're just starting to not care about their games. Sure there's new stuff to explore, but that's pretty much it. All you're doing is wasting $40 initally, and then another $15 every month. There's also no improvements to the engine. It looks decent enough, but there's no modern day features, Here's another insanely terrible game from Blizzard. I think they're just starting to not care about their games. Sure there's new stuff to explore, but that's pretty much it. All you're doing is wasting $40 initally, and then another $15 every month. There's also no improvements to the engine. It looks decent enough, but there's no modern day features, specifically, High Dynamic Range light blooming. This is something Blizzard should have taken advantage of. Do yourself a favor and save some money. Pass the World of Warcraft series all together. Expand
  22. DerekM.
    Apr 12, 2007
    1
    I personally hate the game for one reason and its not because the expansion. Mainly because blizzard didnt follow the original story line very well. As being the gamer I am I rather like if somehting has a good stroy line and follows previous ones at that. I should have gave it a zero but then that wouldnt be right cause if the game had followed the story line of the previous i would have I personally hate the game for one reason and its not because the expansion. Mainly because blizzard didnt follow the original story line very well. As being the gamer I am I rather like if somehting has a good stroy line and follows previous ones at that. I should have gave it a zero but then that wouldnt be right cause if the game had followed the story line of the previous i would have gave it a 10. If you havent played the original dont play WoW please. Expand
  23. AnthonyO
    May 9, 2007
    0
    This was by far one of the worst expansions I have ever played. I remember when Diablo II: LoD came out and I was more addicted to a game that I had ever been. When Burning Crusade came out I lvled up to 70 in a bit over a week, did a couple of weeks of instances, pvp, and rep grinding, and then found myself bored as hell. They also should have named it the Grinding Crusade because once This was by far one of the worst expansions I have ever played. I remember when Diablo II: LoD came out and I was more addicted to a game that I had ever been. When Burning Crusade came out I lvled up to 70 in a bit over a week, did a couple of weeks of instances, pvp, and rep grinding, and then found myself bored as hell. They also should have named it the Grinding Crusade because once you hit 70 anything you would really want requires stupid amounts of grinding and i'm not talking at all about your first flying mount. I had the gold by 70 to get my mount and skill and had bought tons of expensive stuff before I even hit 70. It's the fact that when you rep grind and such generally there is only 1 item or so per rep that you want meaning you have to grind soo many different reps if you want some decent rewards. Also with flying mounts, they are probably the only change to the actual gameplay, and even then they are really just a method of transportation. You can't do anything interesting on them aside from fly to different areas and as cool as it may sound it gets boring extremely fast. I even had an epic flying mount before I quit and still wasn't overly excited. Maybe it is just me but I will warn you many of my friends have quit for pretty much the same reasons I have listed and many more that would take way too long to list. I definitely do not recommend this game, especially not for someone considering getting back into WoW. All new boring content and no gameplay enhancement/changes. Expand
  24. DaveL.
    Jan 18, 2007
    1
    I really don't like the expansion. Just a waste of money. Again blizzard is ripping us all off. I gave it a 1 just for the box. I like the box...makes it look cool...but that's it. I admit, I'm hooked on this game...but the expansion really wasn't worth the money. That's for the pretty box Blizzard!
  25. ShaneT
    Jan 19, 2007
    1
    I mean Come on Blizzard! We already pay way to much to subscribe to an unreliable service . I mean what are we paying for? Xmas lights and a Santa clause outfit at Christmas and new weapons? This should be FREE. I recently stopped playing this game ... we should not pay for a lack of creativity, repetitive missions and no new content to evolve this game. They are all about the money now.I I mean Come on Blizzard! We already pay way to much to subscribe to an unreliable service . I mean what are we paying for? Xmas lights and a Santa clause outfit at Christmas and new weapons? This should be FREE. I recently stopped playing this game ... we should not pay for a lack of creativity, repetitive missions and no new content to evolve this game. They are all about the money now.I mean these fanboys are happy for any new content considering the complete lack of considering the subscription price. I for one will not be playing this game anymore. Expand
  26. DuncanN.
    Jan 23, 2007
    3
    I gave this a 3, because it's a must-have if you enjoy boring and repetitive tasks, but have OD'd on match-stick pictographs and stamp collecting. The main draw for WoW fans here are the soon-to-be ubiquitous Blood Elves, and the Pandare--- opps, Draenei; and the fact that they haven't upset the gameplay by introducing any frightening new innovations such as I gave this a 3, because it's a must-have if you enjoy boring and repetitive tasks, but have OD'd on match-stick pictographs and stamp collecting. The main draw for WoW fans here are the soon-to-be ubiquitous Blood Elves, and the Pandare--- opps, Draenei; and the fact that they haven't upset the gameplay by introducing any frightening new innovations such as 'interactivity' and 'fun'. Expand
  27. JakeT.
    Apr 12, 2007
    4
    The Burning Crusade is hard to rate. The leveling from 60 to 70 was really nice, but at the moment you´re hitting 70 there´s nothing different than at 60. Two weeks after getting lvl 70 I feel just boring in the game and I see no reason why to go on playing the game.
  28. CaseyM.
    Apr 18, 2007
    0
    This is a completely overrated expansion to an overrated MMORPG. I don't think any other game in the history of gaming compares to the biased reviews this game has received altogether, and apparently that is what has gave Blizzard a hefty revenue to spend absolutely none of it on enhancing the gameplay. WoW:BC has added 10 new levels in order to help you make your days of (endgame?) This is a completely overrated expansion to an overrated MMORPG. I don't think any other game in the history of gaming compares to the biased reviews this game has received altogether, and apparently that is what has gave Blizzard a hefty revenue to spend absolutely none of it on enhancing the gameplay. WoW:BC has added 10 new levels in order to help you make your days of (endgame?) raiding go completely obsolete. Reading all these reviews, I honestly wouldn't be surprised if I found out they were bribed. New locations, characters, items and monsters compliment a 100 score? The belief that WoW has changed MMORPG history has burned so many undesirable images in my mind that suicide isn't far from a subtle replacement. Expand
  29. ReddRed
    Nov 24, 2008
    0
    This game kinda...sucked! boring and repetitive tasks! Kill 10 of this, kill 15 of that, or go get this letter and bring it to me...then we will let you be level 50! after that you can do more meaningless tasks in which you will recieve "XP"...but we will double your load in xp points to gain next level...uhhh... whats the point in that? BORING. PVP was kinda fun for a while, but got This game kinda...sucked! boring and repetitive tasks! Kill 10 of this, kill 15 of that, or go get this letter and bring it to me...then we will let you be level 50! after that you can do more meaningless tasks in which you will recieve "XP"...but we will double your load in xp points to gain next level...uhhh... whats the point in that? BORING. PVP was kinda fun for a while, but got boring quick aswell. i give the game a 0. i tried it because of the hype but don't understand how people get addicted to it. Overall it sucked, there is other better games out there. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. New areas and races are well thought out and there is tons of stuff to do. Some hardcore raiders will not love the new 25 player raid cap, though, and the guild aspect of the game could have used more improvements. [Jan 2007]
  2. 100
    The new locations, characters, items, and monsters are nothing short of awesome. The voice acting is perfect, the sound effects spot-on, and the score at times both ominous and uplifting.
  3. Launch issues aside, there's absolutely no reason why any World of Warcraft player should hesitate to pick it up. Consider it essential.