User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 816 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 816
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PhillipM.
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    This is a fantastic game to play. I am personally a 62 Paladin and working my way into the higher ranks. The fact that theres tonnes of new things like abilities, races, talents, professions... the list goes on. Its probably not helpful to those not around the level 60 area, but for those who are, they're in for one heck of a journey!
  2. AngieW.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Most wonderful addition to the game, the new Draenei race is the perfect Alliance addition.
  3. TomH
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    i really wanted to give this game a 10 but 10/10 implies that it is perfect which it isnt there are people that say it takes too long to be good at this game these are people that lacked skill in the first place in order to reach high lvls on this game you need to have a good idea of what is the best place to go what quests not to waste your time on and what items best improve your class i really wanted to give this game a 10 but 10/10 implies that it is perfect which it isnt there are people that say it takes too long to be good at this game these are people that lacked skill in the first place in order to reach high lvls on this game you need to have a good idea of what is the best place to go what quests not to waste your time on and what items best improve your class you could play for 8 hours a day badly and lvl no fastert then someone who plays 1-2 hours a day well another thing people claim all quests are the same which while partially true if you really think about it they arent exactly the same as soon as your fighting different things its a different quests every mob-type in the game fights differently and the people that dont try and fight things well and just button bash there way through the game will find it boring people who say PvP is unbalanced are the people that were the wrong gear for there class have no concept of strategy and place thre talents in all the wrong areas im sorry but if thats the case you will get owned people said that lich king should have been first expansion but then what would be second expansion? if you put illidan after lich king that would mean illidan is stronger than the lich king which clearly he isnt blizzard are ordering there expansions so they get progressively harder. people who say wow costs too much are the only people i have seen who have a point activision-blizzzards turnover in the frist 3 months of 2009 was $998,000,000.00 so they can afford to make WoW cheaper Expand
  4. JackB
    Aug 8, 2008
    8
    Okey 1. those who doesen't like this game can leave bye bye no one will miss you(seriously). 2. yes this game isin't all that perfect but it is better than many other games imo. If you grind 1-60 yes it can be boring but that just shows how stupid you are (those yellow markers above npc's head means that they have a quest for you) Then there are so much more than just Okey 1. those who doesen't like this game can leave bye bye no one will miss you(seriously). 2. yes this game isin't all that perfect but it is better than many other games imo. If you grind 1-60 yes it can be boring but that just shows how stupid you are (those yellow markers above npc's head means that they have a quest for you) Then there are so much more than just killing mobs there's q that requires you to gather herbs and stuff, need to bomb something, visit somewhere and many other kind of quest's. I know it takes time to level from 1-70 but you don't have deadline to it. And read the quest they often have pretty interesting storyline to tell you. It's okay if you don't agree with me but don't cry about it .And last but not least if WoW was a free MMO(RPG) it wouldn't have as much content than it now has. PS. Guild Wars bah ! you must be joking right ? Expand
  5. CrazyD.
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Looks like they might have "fixed" their endgame and not made it about 20 hour raid craziness where guilds are required.
  6. DavidH.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Amazing new content! This is a must buy for the legions of WoW fans around the world. Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in.
  7. Hyjal
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    L2P if you gave this less than a 8. This game pwns GW. The xp is fantastic. First set of quests are new and fresh. Most people will upgrade their gear within 3hrs of playing, unless you have full T2 or T3. And the quests let you make a TON of gold. I had made over 35g in 1hr via quests. This game was way worth the $$$. Thanks Blizzard for all your hard work and a great xp! Keep it up!
  8. LoganH.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Great story, ALOT of new content added, and the two new races are AMAZING! A MUST BUY IF YOU OWN World of Warcraft!
  9. ThornR.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    After doing almost everything I could as a lvl 60 I am to be able to play this game. Now a lvl 70, I have so much more end game content to explore. This expansion was well worth the money and the wait.
  10. JamesP.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    The depth of the quests in Shadowmoon Valley alone give this game an amazing feeling, this expansion is the better game of its predecessors, the new races come at a very good time and dungeons have become an excellent challenge, lag and stuff may sometimes be still an issue butthis still gets a 10 from me, not disappointed by 1 bit, this game is *EPIC*.
  11. KevinL.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    World of Warcraft:The Burning Crusade is a excellent expansion, its almost a new game by itself. CONTRARY to other people who give it 0's or 1's, they must appreciate the wealth of monsters, quests, areas, people, npcs, items, dungeans, visuals, goals, and the all famous level 70 whos-gonna-get-there-first bragging rights. All in all, its a 9 becuase, technically, its the same World of Warcraft:The Burning Crusade is a excellent expansion, its almost a new game by itself. CONTRARY to other people who give it 0's or 1's, they must appreciate the wealth of monsters, quests, areas, people, npcs, items, dungeans, visuals, goals, and the all famous level 70 whos-gonna-get-there-first bragging rights. All in all, its a 9 becuase, technically, its the same game, only more. Sort of like getting 2 shirts. Both of em are shirts, but ones better. Kind of like Burning Crusade. Its like the reguler World of Warraft, only better. Expand
  12. TomE.
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    I've been playing WoW for a long time now, have several 60'd and a number of other various level characters. BC gives us players a chance to explore a TON of new content, or start new races. With Paladins for the Horde and Shamans for the Allaince we all now have to rethink how runs can be done. I love the new 25 man cap for raids, sinec it means mid-sized guilds now have a I've been playing WoW for a long time now, have several 60'd and a number of other various level characters. BC gives us players a chance to explore a TON of new content, or start new races. With Paladins for the Horde and Shamans for the Allaince we all now have to rethink how runs can be done. I love the new 25 man cap for raids, sinec it means mid-sized guilds now have a shot, not just the big hardcore ones. Expand
  13. JM
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    Loving this expansion pack so far. There is tons of new content for both the hard core and casual players alike. The new continent of Outland is expansive and very scenic, and the new quests are extremely well implemented. All told, a must buy for any WoW player. And if you hit level 60 and got bored (like many have, I'm sure), here's a reason to keep playing. A terrific expansion pack.
  14. AndrewC.
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Great new content, awesome new races. A must buy for anybody who enjoys WOW, hardcore players and casual alike. Although plauged with the expected launch issues, give it a week or so, and it will be a whole new game to love.
  15. Melf
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    As a person who DINGed last around May 2005, this is a MUCH anticipated and loved expansion. The first few zones are very fun and the quests can be soloed and grouped without difficulty. Rep grinding is non existent and world pvp is back once again! Job well done!
  16. [Anonymous]
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    If you aren't a WOW player, than this has no meaning to you, and Blizz told buyers from the start that it would cost money. sheiza. Great Game Expansion, Alliance FTW.
  17. TinyDruid
    Jan 19, 2007
    8
    You either love it or hate it, still the collectors edition is a must get for WOW players because of all wonderful bonuses inside like a mouse pad, a new game pet, 2 packs of WOW playing cards, and much more. In the end, the only way to win in an MMO RPG is to quit playing it.
  18. MaxE.
    Jan 20, 2007
    9
    I don't really understand, why some people are so negative towards The Burning Crusade. All in all it's a great expansion pack for a great MMORPG. There's lots of new and really interesting content: new territories to explore, new quests to complete, new spells to learn... it's definitely a must have for anyone, who loved WoW, even if it's not flawless (which I don't really understand, why some people are so negative towards The Burning Crusade. All in all it's a great expansion pack for a great MMORPG. There's lots of new and really interesting content: new territories to explore, new quests to complete, new spells to learn... it's definitely a must have for anyone, who loved WoW, even if it's not flawless (which it's not, of course). Expand
  19. JayS.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    It speaks volumes that WoW's first expansion is a more enjoyable stand-alone experience than most MMORPGs' starting content. It's pretty hard to broach any single topic without starting an entire discussion. The music in the game, for example, continues to be outstanding; from the title theme that plays during the breathtaking cinematic introduction to the expansion, which It speaks volumes that WoW's first expansion is a more enjoyable stand-alone experience than most MMORPGs' starting content. It's pretty hard to broach any single topic without starting an entire discussion. The music in the game, for example, continues to be outstanding; from the title theme that plays during the breathtaking cinematic introduction to the expansion, which is ominous and thrilling, to the simultaneously enchanting and off-putting scores of the Blood Elves' homeland which culminate in a majestic battle-march in the capitol itself, Silvermoon, to the downbeat, dreamy tunes of the alien Zangarmarsh, Blizzard's audio work remains some of the most engrossing in the business, creating a truly immersive experience. It's far easier to talk about the things the expansion didn't do right. Those who weren't satisfied by the original game will not find any endearing qualities with the expansion, the intent of which, in retrospect, was clearly to supply the fanbase with more of the same old. The only radically new features are flying mounts and PVP Arenas, both of which have become incredibly popular (and staple) parts of the game for many. Character customization for the older races is still lacking, and fans look eagerly to the second expansion, Wrath of the Lich King, to supply these things - but for some it might be too late. Still, these complaints are far too minor to compare to the expansion's numerous accomplishments, and the two new races combined with Outland will provide gamers with weeks upon weeks of engrossing content. Expand
  20. aidonispanos
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    Perfect game for this kind..!!!!
  21. MicahM.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    The Burning Crusade is everything an expansion should be. My only complaint is the relatively limited amount of content aimed toward casual and new players; the (admittedly ubiquitous) Blood Elf and (less appealing) Draenei starting zones force players into the "real Word of Warcraft" a bit too early without establishing enough genuine character of their own. All in all, though, a job The Burning Crusade is everything an expansion should be. My only complaint is the relatively limited amount of content aimed toward casual and new players; the (admittedly ubiquitous) Blood Elf and (less appealing) Draenei starting zones force players into the "real Word of Warcraft" a bit too early without establishing enough genuine character of their own. All in all, though, a job well done--and certainly leagues beyond its competitors. Expand
  22. SamG.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    The best add on I have seen, the graphics are good and there is more to explore.
  23. SangyeJ.
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Adds a wealth of new and exciting content. This is one monster of an expansion!
  24. fatdog
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    This game is great. I do admit that once you hit a certain level of gear (pretty much past Karazhan going into 25-mans) the amount of time and effort it takes to acquire a single upgrade (or in some cases a sidegrade) does seem to increase exponentially. However, its not a boring grind fest like some other reviewers are claiming.
    The reputation grinds are far from "same old boring
    This game is great. I do admit that once you hit a certain level of gear (pretty much past Karazhan going into 25-mans) the amount of time and effort it takes to acquire a single upgrade (or in some cases a sidegrade) does seem to increase exponentially. However, its not a boring grind fest like some other reviewers are claiming.
    The reputation grinds are far from "same old boring crap" as most instances give the required reputation (if you don't like instanced dungeons you may as well not play the game, as it is a huge part of the end game and the reason you gear up to begin with), with the exception of the Kurenai/Maghari(sp) reps, which yield items that aren't exactly necessary for the game, but are nice additions (a new epic ground mount, which you don't HAVE to have, some vendored gear which has similar counterparts elsewhere, etc). If you don't like instanced dungeons, there's always PVP battlegrounds that offer quite powerful epic gear.
    The variety in the new quests and overall content is a nice change to what was beginning to get old and really quite annoying (levels 50-60 are a pain. "Hey, welcome to Darnassus. Take this backpack to Suchandsuch in Nethergarde Keep" [NW corner of the world to SE corner of the world with no direct travel >.<]). Instances like Blackrock Depths are waaaaay too long for my taste, and the new instance dungeon formats of trash-trash-boss x3,4 or 5 are a nice. And finally, the inclusion of (now 2) 10 man raid instances allows smaller guilds to progress significantly (and effectively gear up) without making the 25 man guilds feel cheated.
    Expand
  25. NightElf
    Feb 19, 2008
    8
    This is very entertaining, well made expansion for the original World of Warcraft. I gave WoW a 9 but I thought The Burning Crusade deserved a slightly lower score just because the experience isn't completely new. However, the addition of new races, classes, places, and of course ten new levels, was quite a treat. The arcitecture and design of this game is very nice. It has several This is very entertaining, well made expansion for the original World of Warcraft. I gave WoW a 9 but I thought The Burning Crusade deserved a slightly lower score just because the experience isn't completely new. However, the addition of new races, classes, places, and of course ten new levels, was quite a treat. The arcitecture and design of this game is very nice. It has several new, challenging places to level up in the more advanced levels. I thought it was a very cool addition to WoW and hopefully Wrath of the Lich King will surprise me just as much as this game did. Expand
  26. RyanD
    Sep 5, 2008
    9
    An excellent first expansion for WOW. The two new races are a welcome addition for beginners and there is plenty of great high level content including the new world of Outland. Only flaw is that high level dungeons take an awfully long time to complete. You can still solo up to 70 though.
  27. HadynD.
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    Well done Blizzard. Great new content and the new realms have that epic big budget movie feel!
  28. DekothC.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    If you look at past MMO's, this expansion is almost like two expansions in one, the two new races could have easily been separate from the new Outland continent; which is now easily one of the most awe-inspiring areas available in the game with unique quests, such as flying over forces of the Legion and dropping bombs from above. The blood elves look superb, giving the Horde a If you look at past MMO's, this expansion is almost like two expansions in one, the two new races could have easily been separate from the new Outland continent; which is now easily one of the most awe-inspiring areas available in the game with unique quests, such as flying over forces of the Legion and dropping bombs from above. The blood elves look superb, giving the Horde a 'pretty' race, and have wonderful new quests and zones. Its saddening to see users give this bad reviews without even looking into it. I'm having such a joy just to adventure around in new, unfamiliar lands. Expand
  29. RobT.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, just like every other game blizz has ever made , I love the look and feel of outland so far,top job blizz. Also,if you are reviewing box art or objecting to Blizzards marketing go somewhere else, this is for judging a game based on its actual content.
  30. JudasG.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    I honestly don't understand how anyone could give a rating of 0 or 1. The amount of love and detail Blizzard continues to put in to their product is astounding. And for all those who say that it should have been free: You already get more free content than is offered from 99% of other developers. Pony up the well-worth-it asking price or enjoy your sour grapes.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    90
    New areas and races are well thought out and there is tons of stuff to do. Some hardcore raiders will not love the new 25 player raid cap, though, and the guild aspect of the game could have used more improvements. [Jan 2007]
  2. 100
    The new locations, characters, items, and monsters are nothing short of awesome. The voice acting is perfect, the sound effects spot-on, and the score at times both ominous and uplifting.
  3. 90
    Launch issues aside, there's absolutely no reason why any World of Warcraft player should hesitate to pick it up. Consider it essential.