User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 966 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MMORPGAddict
    Nov 23, 2008
    0
    Same stuff all over again. Woopie, 10 more levels and a different character set! Who cares. This whole game is a waste of money now. People actually stayed home for three days straight, skipping school/work, to level up to 80 to get "ahead" of everyone. Tons of no lifers. If you want an MMORPG that is actually exciting and does not have tons of kids or people with anger management Same stuff all over again. Woopie, 10 more levels and a different character set! Who cares. This whole game is a waste of money now. People actually stayed home for three days straight, skipping school/work, to level up to 80 to get "ahead" of everyone. Tons of no lifers. If you want an MMORPG that is actually exciting and does not have tons of kids or people with anger management problems, get EVE Online or Warhammer. Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Nov 23, 2008
    7
    Just more of the same great stuff. WoW is a great game...no question... but they refuse to fix the same problems they've always had. PvP is unbalanced and gear dependent. A few bad (ie. immature) players tend to ruin the game for others, and with the recent expansion (and tech problems) the in-game GMs are about 6 hours away. Why bother reporting players, bots or other cheaters?Just more of the same great stuff. WoW is a great game...no question... but they refuse to fix the same problems they've always had. PvP is unbalanced and gear dependent. A few bad (ie. immature) players tend to ruin the game for others, and with the recent expansion (and tech problems) the in-game GMs are about 6 hours away. Why bother reporting players, bots or other cheaters? Nothing is ever done about it. Expand
  3. JoeG.
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    Are you kidding me ? Another expansion to further ruin an originally good game. WotLK is another effort by Blizzard at pilfering BILLIONS of dollars from addicted users. Epic gear for the casual players, daily quests for the gold farmers, and another forced expansion for anyone who wants to compete. All that time and hard WORK and I do mean WORK was again for nothing as the expansion Are you kidding me ? Another expansion to further ruin an originally good game. WotLK is another effort by Blizzard at pilfering BILLIONS of dollars from addicted users. Epic gear for the casual players, daily quests for the gold farmers, and another forced expansion for anyone who wants to compete. All that time and hard WORK and I do mean WORK was again for nothing as the expansion makes everything you can do in the game worthless and forces you to expand. I can't believe I WASTED 3 years playing this franchise and I think I'm gonna have to boycott Blizzard games forever. It used to be the only people wearing EPIC gear were the hard-core players, but low and behold Blizzard realized that they can make 100's of millions of more dollars by offering these so-called "EPICS" to everyone for little effort and time. It's a sad, sad day for me to finally say goodbye to all my fellow gamers that I played WoW with. The hours and money I had invested in the game over 3 years could've been spent getting a better education or maybe a more active social life. If you are considering starting a WoW account I highly recommend you don't. If you are considering getting the WotLK expansion I'd advise you to reconsider and play other games. 40 dollars for the expansion and you don't get 30 days of free play, as if Blizzard needs the money. It's rape people plain and simple. Blizzard is the Crack dealer and you are the crackhead. WAKE UP !!! Expand
  4. RandyL.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Even with its flaws, Wrath of the Lich King is absolutely the best expansion of WoW to date. The new continent and its zones are absolutely amazing, and the Death Knight class is the most engaging experience ever, and probably one of the best features to be in the game so far. As far as expansions go, or even a game in general, "King" is masterful, and an absolutely amazing experience. Even with its flaws, Wrath of the Lich King is absolutely the best expansion of WoW to date. The new continent and its zones are absolutely amazing, and the Death Knight class is the most engaging experience ever, and probably one of the best features to be in the game so far. As far as expansions go, or even a game in general, "King" is masterful, and an absolutely amazing experience. There's nothing else like it, and it's more addictive than ever. If "The Burning Crusade" expansion was a five finger exercise, then "King" is an entire symphony. Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Nov 21, 2008
    7
    its basically more of the same if thats all you wanted then it meets all your expectations however if wow is getting a little stle or you were hoping to seee somthing new and exciting then am afraid this aint it i feel that blizzard could have done more the landscapes have been recycled from previuos ideas and that everything feels kinda samey the dungeons as well suffer from that beenits basically more of the same if thats all you wanted then it meets all your expectations however if wow is getting a little stle or you were hoping to seee somthing new and exciting then am afraid this aint it i feel that blizzard could have done more the landscapes have been recycled from previuos ideas and that everything feels kinda samey the dungeons as well suffer from that been here before feelin dont get me wrong it looks pretty and the music is suberb but ground breakign it aint to be honest it all feel kinda lazy. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Nov 21, 2008
    0
    Terrible graphics, unbalanced gameplay, textwall quests, tons of bugs, boring music in the ambience, same and same animation all the time when walking and unmature players. What more to say? This game takes your life, you become a nerd, you loose real-life friends the higher level you reach. Deathknights are overpowered and forces you to buy from burning crusade to wrath of lichking Terrible graphics, unbalanced gameplay, textwall quests, tons of bugs, boring music in the ambience, same and same animation all the time when walking and unmature players. What more to say? This game takes your life, you become a nerd, you loose real-life friends the higher level you reach. Deathknights are overpowered and forces you to buy from burning crusade to wrath of lichking because you will still meet deathknights that will defeat you in no time even you're 5-10 levels higher than yourself. I highly recommend you not to buy it if you don't want to end like a nerd and should start using glasses because you will begin start staring at your monitor that shows your world of warcraft. When you finally know that you can take all cloths off except underwear, you want to create a female character with a random name and you will take her cloths off until you see this *cough* neat woman with her bikini. You want to stare at her in hours and your eyes gets broken and can't read at 10 foot distance because of your monitor leeches your sharpeness in your eyes. Therefore, this deserves a bloody zero and alot of thumbs down as it already stole 10-16 million peoples lifes. Expand
  7. MarisParker
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Blizzard has outdone themselves with Wrath of the Lich King. It's everything I loved about the original World of Warcraft x 10. If this is what taking your time and not rushing a game results in (a great setting, great art, unique quest mechanics, and best of all, just plain fun gameplay), then I wish more companies would care about their players the way Blizzard does and not justBlizzard has outdone themselves with Wrath of the Lich King. It's everything I loved about the original World of Warcraft x 10. If this is what taking your time and not rushing a game results in (a great setting, great art, unique quest mechanics, and best of all, just plain fun gameplay), then I wish more companies would care about their players the way Blizzard does and not just care about the $$$. Expand
  8. DanielBourdon
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Lich King is everything I hoped it to be and more. The quests are actually fun to do. Yes there are still the staple kill quests and gathering quests thrown in there, but overall leveling has been a blast. The worlds are beautiful, wait till you see crystalsong forest it is truly beautiful. A great game that is well worth the 40 bucks.
  9. KentL.
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    Outstanding expansion! I fully agree with all of the reviews on all but one point, a point severe enough to drop the rating considerably. It seems that WoW has become a victim of it's own success and now resorts to using queue's to put paying customers in line to play the game. I've seen people over 1k in que with wait times nearing an hour. I've got time to write this Outstanding expansion! I fully agree with all of the reviews on all but one point, a point severe enough to drop the rating considerably. It seems that WoW has become a victim of it's own success and now resorts to using queue's to put paying customers in line to play the game. I've seen people over 1k in que with wait times nearing an hour. I've got time to write this review because I'm in one for 45 minutes. By my calculations, with nearly 12 million users, assuming 11 million actually pay (aren't free users), at let's say an average of $10 per month (to make the math easy), Blizzard is raking in $1.3 Billion per year. Doesn't seem like a no brainer that they could spend a few thousand of that on a few more servers that can handle the capacity? Sorry Blizz...you lose some points when you force people to be unable to play. Sure, you offer free server transfers but what good would that do when the heart of your game is social networking? We can't socially network with people on different servers and unless 100% of our friends and people we've met over time move with us, causing over population on that server, we still have the same issue. Great expansion, mediocre capacity planning. Expand
  10. VoqarN.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Best expansion to a MMORPG ever. It's beautiful, impeccably designed, and tons of fun. Everywhere you go there are "wow" moments, and at this stage of the MMORPG game, that's not easy to pull off anymore. Just when you though questing had become routine, Blizzard introduces a boatload of variety and twists to refresh quest-driven leveling.
  11. JimJ.
    Nov 17, 2008
    1
    this game is so bad. There is nothing new but 10 lvls of the same crap and a riding mount that goes alittle faster. I do have to admit that the overpower shammy is getting more powerful with the new bump spell. You cant even ride your 50 dollar flying mount in the new zone.
  12. TaylorB.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    One of the most polished games I've ever played. The terrain and other visuals are amazingly detailed and beautiful. Blizzard also did a terrific job at varying up the types of quests they give you, with amusing vehicle based quests, etc. The world phasing feature is also quite entertaining; it's fun to be surprised with how a zone has changed as the result of you having One of the most polished games I've ever played. The terrain and other visuals are amazingly detailed and beautiful. Blizzard also did a terrific job at varying up the types of quests they give you, with amusing vehicle based quests, etc. The world phasing feature is also quite entertaining; it's fun to be surprised with how a zone has changed as the result of you having completed a certain quest, etc. Expand
  13. BexS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    This is by some way the best expasion Blizzard have done for WoW. Apart from the improved graphics, there are also many more improved quests, not simply killing monsters, but much more inventive quests, the whole area looks beautful, the dungeons are as well designed as ever, and I still have ariel combat, seige vehicles, and multiple carry mounts to look forward to! As well as all those This is by some way the best expasion Blizzard have done for WoW. Apart from the improved graphics, there are also many more improved quests, not simply killing monsters, but much more inventive quests, the whole area looks beautful, the dungeons are as well designed as ever, and I still have ariel combat, seige vehicles, and multiple carry mounts to look forward to! As well as all those achievements, not to mention prot warriors finally being able to do their job! Well done Blizzard! Ill be playing this for years to come! Expand
  14. AlasdairCannon
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    World of Warcraft Wrath of the Lich King is great. Not only do the visuals look beautiful, Blizzard have outdone themselves, and improved almost every gameplay aspect. I'm giving this a well deserved 9/10.
  15. WolfMan
    Nov 15, 2008
    6
    When I saw the Lich King Trailer I said to myself, "Its World of Warcraft! =D. After installing I sat in a one hour queue trying to log in and once I got there I saw Northrend was flooded with hundreds of heroes all killing the same thing, and the docks filled to the max with fishermen and women, and I said to myself, "Its World of Warcraft! =(. Maybe the WOW background is growing thin on When I saw the Lich King Trailer I said to myself, "Its World of Warcraft! =D. After installing I sat in a one hour queue trying to log in and once I got there I saw Northrend was flooded with hundreds of heroes all killing the same thing, and the docks filled to the max with fishermen and women, and I said to myself, "Its World of Warcraft! =(. Maybe the WOW background is growing thin on me but if you are on the fence as to whether to get it or not, I suggest you wait until the flood subsides. I might return to it in a few months when the population dies down a bit Expand
  16. JoeTheUnemployed
    Nov 13, 2008
    9
    7.5 for 39 votes on Day 1? Sorry Metacritic, but it's time to close the User portion of the game rating. Obviously, there's abuse of the system here, when a game that is a must buy for millions worldwide is not properly reflected. User scores have no accountability, have not established credibility, and can easily be manipulated through anonymous voting. Time to get rid of this 7.5 for 39 votes on Day 1? Sorry Metacritic, but it's time to close the User portion of the game rating. Obviously, there's abuse of the system here, when a game that is a must buy for millions worldwide is not properly reflected. User scores have no accountability, have not established credibility, and can easily be manipulated through anonymous voting. Time to get rid of this system for something that will hold users responsible for their opinion. Expand
  17. Max
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Definitely keeping with the Blizzard and WoW tradition, this game delivers even more fun for lovers of the series, and even for new 70s like me. Going into Northrend is quite amazing, and the game is definitely worth the 40 dollars and 15 monthly.
  18. AndrewB.
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    This is A Decient game At The looks so far alot effort and determination have made this epic game a reality, New level and game type on the otherhand have givin first time gamers a week to reach the highest level to play along with the lich king, Well dont Blizz
  19. JohnD.
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    Blizzard is stuck behind in the past with this one... with Warhammer destroying the foundation of MMORPG's WoW is highly out-dated, and it shows heavily after the best mmorpg to date was released. WoW is now out-dated, old news, can't save itself from the grind it started and now continues, come on blizzard innovation much? I used to be a die-hard WoW addicted, just like in 99 I Blizzard is stuck behind in the past with this one... with Warhammer destroying the foundation of MMORPG's WoW is highly out-dated, and it shows heavily after the best mmorpg to date was released. WoW is now out-dated, old news, can't save itself from the grind it started and now continues, come on blizzard innovation much? I used to be a die-hard WoW addicted, just like in 99 I was a diehard everquest addict, now I am a WAR addict and if you want to get your mmorphg fix go for war, your not going to impressed when this launches as anyone like me in beta can tell you. hope all that time spending on raiding for gear pays off when the first green you get at 71 is better than your uber epic. War has amazing gear but will never have this problem in the same way. Expand
  20. SeanM
    Jul 12, 2008
    0
    Fail. Take their money and let them stay hooked. As for me I know this game is just more of the same. WoW is still bad and will always be. A few petty adjustments and addons does not compensate for its lack of real gameplay. I seriously hope that Diablo 3 is nothing like WoW. Thanks for trying Blizzard.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. 90
    Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.