User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 796 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    WoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a differentWoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a different demographic - the game is now for kids. If you enjoy paying a monthly fee AND playing with (other) children, this game might be for you. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    Even more terrible pvp design choices, some of the dullest raids in the history of mmos, and complete removal of any challenge and instead a leap towards 'gear+class=win'. The only positive thing about this xpac is that it wasn't Cataclysm
  3. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    again same crap in different wrapping,the game should be called wrath of the players,i feel sorry for every soul that buyed this piece of **** must be against some law to release this.
  4. Aug 28, 2010
    0
    same sh**, different colors...whatever. fu** WoW and fu** blizzard fo lyfe. I've played this sh** on and off for roughly 4 years, small sacrifice now to get cataclysm...but I feel bad for the poor bastards who will have to buy 3 games before they can get rolling in cataclysm, then the monthly fee. that's pathetic...
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Very veeeeeeery bad expansion. It's here where all the catering to bad players took it pace. Game was so easy even monkey could level to 80 and clear raids. Only thing good about Wotlk was Ulduar, one of best raids ever, everything else was crap.
  6. Feb 13, 2012
    3
    Truly awful.
    I liked the features, such as the new achievements and SOME of the dungeons, but i hated the expansion.
    After the falling in love with the BC, this came and replaced it.
    Music was brilliant, Graphics were the same, the quests were bland and the dungeons were dull.
    A real disappointment.
  7. Mar 10, 2012
    0
    Like many others have already said....it's insulting how much they've dumbed-down everything. Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible.
  8. Mozg
    Nov 25, 2008
    3
    Lets face it - WoW is an old and outdated boring MMORPG, all about grinding mobs and gearing up. There are so many new games that it really bewilds me as to who can play this game today? Even on the day of its release it was worse then EQ2. Even more so now, when there are EQ2, Vanguard:SOH, AOC, WAoR, LOTR. The "King" may be an excellent addition to WoW in its own right, but by the Lets face it - WoW is an old and outdated boring MMORPG, all about grinding mobs and gearing up. There are so many new games that it really bewilds me as to who can play this game today? Even on the day of its release it was worse then EQ2. Even more so now, when there are EQ2, Vanguard:SOH, AOC, WAoR, LOTR. The "King" may be an excellent addition to WoW in its own right, but by the MMORPG standards of today the game itself waggles behind other titles in all aspects, most importantly it lacks non-grinding and non-repetitive gameplay. And I don't even mention the outdated graphics, which would shock anyone more or less acquainted with modern MMORPGs or off-line PC titles. It is only the never ending media hype that keeps this title running. So only a 3 from me. Please forgive me diehard WoW fans, but this game is really past its time. Expand
  9. DalekPrivate
    Jan 10, 2009
    0
    How can you like this game? I was at a lan party and 4 people spent half of the time playing wow instead of playing with the other people. There is alot of bad video's about it and the game just gets super boring after a few months... Come on, xcom or a old pixel game is better than wow. Wow also has way to many players Over 7million.
  10. NickD
    Mar 12, 2009
    2
    I have played WoW since pre-BC times and i have to say it was pretty good then. But seriously this expantion just put me off. Yet again another grind to a higher lvl and then what? Raiding? From what i've heard the raiding isn't that great. At all. And yet again the xpac is very expensive. Just don't bother imo.
  11. FF
    May 20, 2009
    3
    I really liked the Classic WoW ( Pre-TBC ) , i had raid geared 60 lvl warrior, then the TBC came out and it took ages again to get good gear at 70's , then when u have geared up at 70's there comes WotLK , All work which took months must do again ??? Soon there will come more and more expansions and everybody must work again and again to get max lvl and good gear. Game has gone I really liked the Classic WoW ( Pre-TBC ) , i had raid geared 60 lvl warrior, then the TBC came out and it took ages again to get good gear at 70's , then when u have geared up at 70's there comes WotLK , All work which took months must do again ??? Soon there will come more and more expansions and everybody must work again and again to get max lvl and good gear. Game has gone very very bad after the expansions , i hope the expansions haven't come and there would be the Classic WoW.... It was the best , the expansions ruined the game. Expand
  12. BB
    Sep 7, 2009
    0
    I'm suprised no one has really acknowledged it...but the overall principal of WoW that has become almost its foundation following the first six months after its initial release is Gold and Gear. I hardly see any real gameplay beyond constant chatter of individuals seeking one or the other of the aforementioned. Most peolpe sit in capital cities stagnant looking to Buy or Sell.I'm suprised no one has really acknowledged it...but the overall principal of WoW that has become almost its foundation following the first six months after its initial release is Gold and Gear. I hardly see any real gameplay beyond constant chatter of individuals seeking one or the other of the aforementioned. Most peolpe sit in capital cities stagnant looking to Buy or Sell. Effectively WoW has become a virtual eBay. Expand
  13. TitiWiti
    Jan 19, 2010
    2
    It's just more of the same, where is housing, minigames, ships to own, dance styles, etc....? just more dungeons, more levels, more boreness
  14. MatthewC.
    Nov 30, 2008
    0
    World of warcraft is psychologically destructive, but this is a games review section so I
  15. JohnD.
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    Blizzard is stuck behind in the past with this one... with Warhammer destroying the foundation of MMORPG's WoW is highly out-dated, and it shows heavily after the best mmorpg to date was released. WoW is now out-dated, old news, can't save itself from the grind it started and now continues, come on blizzard innovation much? I used to be a die-hard WoW addicted, just like in 99 I Blizzard is stuck behind in the past with this one... with Warhammer destroying the foundation of MMORPG's WoW is highly out-dated, and it shows heavily after the best mmorpg to date was released. WoW is now out-dated, old news, can't save itself from the grind it started and now continues, come on blizzard innovation much? I used to be a die-hard WoW addicted, just like in 99 I was a diehard everquest addict, now I am a WAR addict and if you want to get your mmorphg fix go for war, your not going to impressed when this launches as anyone like me in beta can tell you. hope all that time spending on raiding for gear pays off when the first green you get at 71 is better than your uber epic. War has amazing gear but will never have this problem in the same way. Expand
  16. SteveL.
    Dec 8, 2008
    2
    I love this game.
  17. Luke
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    My sister introduced me to WoW and I've been playing on her PC for about two months. I have had fun during this experience. This game has been addicting, though, more than anything else. But, after getting a warlock into upper 60s and an over-powered death knight to the mid 60s, I'm saying enough. I've realized that through the modest amount of gaming I have done, I have My sister introduced me to WoW and I've been playing on her PC for about two months. I have had fun during this experience. This game has been addicting, though, more than anything else. But, after getting a warlock into upper 60s and an over-powered death knight to the mid 60s, I'm saying enough. I've realized that through the modest amount of gaming I have done, I have never had as unsatisfying of a gaming experience as WoW. Other types of games reward you when you personally gain skill; it is satisfying to use that skill to defeat the computer or human opponent. With WoW, you only become better by playing more because you rank up and getting better gear. So there is the constant desire and EXPECTATION of killing monsters and completing quests to level and gear up. Because this is an expectation, you never truly enjoy it, you are always thinking about the next level or piece of equipment. With other games, I can sit down for half an hour or an hour and be satisfied by my exercise of skill and the result of such and walk a way and not have a need to play for a few days. With WoW, I've spent a couple hours here, a couple there, trying to find this same feeling. I thought I was having fun, but never had the sense of enjoyment or accomplishment like other games. Again, this is because you don't get better at the game, you just spend time to make your character better, and you don't gain satisfaction from doing so, rather you only expect your character to get better because of your time commitment. Overall, I feel like I had fun with WoW, but understand that I fell victim to Blizzard's design. I'm fortunate to only have spent a couple of months sucked in when others have spent years. It was a good lesson to learn, but one that I hope not many more people will not waste too much time finding out for themselves. Expand
  18. MarshallL
    Jan 28, 2009
    3
    I really enjoyed TBC and I have a 70 rogue and a 70 warlock who were both really fun to level up and play at end game pvp and raiding. When I heard the new x-pac was coming out I was like oh this should be cool. So I got the 10 day free trial to test it out. One of my old end game raid guildies messaged me and showed me how excited he was, he was level 80, had all these epics, was talking I really enjoyed TBC and I have a 70 rogue and a 70 warlock who were both really fun to level up and play at end game pvp and raiding. When I heard the new x-pac was coming out I was like oh this should be cool. So I got the 10 day free trial to test it out. One of my old end game raid guildies messaged me and showed me how excited he was, he was level 80, had all these epics, was talking about how fun it was to get gear, ect . . . and I could think about was man I already went through this before. I have fully a full epic rogue in pvp and pve and a decently geard warlock and I was thinking whats the point in working for this all over again. I really busted my butt leveling my guys and getting them all kinds of cool stuff. I mean it was fun then, but no I just can't go through all that hard work all over again. I mean raiding and pvp was fun when it was new but I have done that stuff to death and am sick of it. It's just going to be the same process work work work get something work work work get something else. If you have never played wow I would say you will really enjoy this game, but if you have played this before and did all the end game raiding and pvp I say forget it. It's just the same crap with a few new features, zones, monsters, raids, ect . . . Expand
  19. LouisP
    Jan 8, 2009
    4
    Yet another interesting expansion, but... still the same gameplay with the same outdated graphics. Another reason for blizzard to make money by delivering their daily drug to all their crackheads. Their are other games out there (better ones) that cost the same price, but don't cost the monthly fee, money you can then spend on more constructive activity. It's still alot of fun Yet another interesting expansion, but... still the same gameplay with the same outdated graphics. Another reason for blizzard to make money by delivering their daily drug to all their crackheads. Their are other games out there (better ones) that cost the same price, but don't cost the monthly fee, money you can then spend on more constructive activity. It's still alot of fun playing this... for one month. Expand
  20. StephenD
    Jun 16, 2009
    0
    Really a hard game to get into with the current community it is dieding fast and it has the ability to ruin a good LAN i got together with my mates at a PC gaming place to have a lan and half of them buggered of to play wow for the night and even then when i investigated i found out that they weren't even on the same servers .... (IT RUINED MY NIGHT).
  21. TylerW.
    Jun 16, 2009
    1
    Wrath of the Lich King destroyed World of Warcraft. I played the game since launch, got caught up in the end game at 60. After Burning Crusade I was in a top 20 US raiding guild and devoting time every season to get duelist or gladiator on multiple characters. That being said, Wrath of the Lich King turned raiding into a joke, and made PvP balance laughable. In retrospect, it's Wrath of the Lich King destroyed World of Warcraft. I played the game since launch, got caught up in the end game at 60. After Burning Crusade I was in a top 20 US raiding guild and devoting time every season to get duelist or gladiator on multiple characters. That being said, Wrath of the Lich King turned raiding into a joke, and made PvP balance laughable. In retrospect, it's probably the best thing that ever happened to me since I quit because of it, and my life has been better since, but from a "reminiscing" point of view, it's not the same game to which I once gladly devoted my time. I'll give it a one, because it kept me entertained for a month before I gave up the addiction. Expand
  22. MalteB
    Jun 5, 2009
    3
    i've played the game since The original WOW was released. I LOVED The Burning Crusade and i played non stop but when Wrath of the lich king was released everything went wrong the game went boring. Everything was easy and deathknight were overpowered and beated the shit out of all...
  23. MylesK
    Jul 8, 2009
    3
    Since the original release, World of Warcraft has been an enjoyable game. Since Wrath of the Lich King, this game has been under management of Activision, and it has been showing it. The game is becoming more and more simplistic and boring. Activision is milking World of Warcraft for all it can as it slowly dies.
  24. DavidO.
    Sep 21, 2009
    4
    WoW is a decent game. However it becomes monotonous after awhile. I jumped on about two months after BC came out. I found the lore of WoW on the whole to be amazing. I love the backstory, and some of of the arcs in game as well. It took me about two months to level my toon to 70, which was fine with me because I had fun doing it, and felt a sense of accomplishment when I reached that WoW is a decent game. However it becomes monotonous after awhile. I jumped on about two months after BC came out. I found the lore of WoW on the whole to be amazing. I love the backstory, and some of of the arcs in game as well. It took me about two months to level my toon to 70, which was fine with me because I had fun doing it, and felt a sense of accomplishment when I reached that level. I found a marginally decent guild to raid with, and got some decent gear and was pretty strong I thought. I DID have fun for awhile. But you will soon realize that the fun disappears with the high end content (which is really what the game is all about). It starts to feel like more like a job than a game. Endless hours spent collecting items to level up one of your professions. And if you don't gather things yourself (because you want to spend more time on the "fun" stuff, the items are ridiculously priced on the auction house because it took that person hours of their own time to collect, which is why they want the exorbant fees they charge). If you don't have gold in the game you can go absolutely nowhere. You have to pay for repairs, and "battle buffs" aka flasks, elixirs etc., and if you're really lucky the occasional epic piece of gear that can actually be sold on the AH. So you're stuck with the montony of gathering, crafting to make money whether you like it or not. The game is also way too dependant on you finding a group of people (Guild) who's schedules and personalities seemingly align perfectly with your own. Good luck on that one. Because if you don't find a great guild, you're screwed. Completely. All the high end content is more or less raiding. And if you don't have a guild, you're not raiding. Pick up groups are a joke. Not to mention they don't have rules on who is next in line to finally recieve that awesome piece of gear you've been waiting weeks, or even months to acquire. It's just random with them. So I say again, if you don't find that perfect guild you're screwed. You won't get to experience the raids like they should be done. Not too mention, even if you do get a great guild, you can only do each seperate raid only ONCE a week. So even then you still have to sink a very huge chunk of time being a part of the guild to earn respect and senority. So you're able to get ahold of the gear that drops from raids before the newer, or "less able members" (read: people who can't devote their life to the game) of the guild. You have to consider that the raids need 10 people for the normal ones, and 25 for the heroic modes. 25 ! Twenty-five people to take on the hardest mode, and thus get the strongest gear. Assume that there are only three members who are the same class and spec as you're own. You then have to compete against them for the gear you want (assuming it even drops !). You could potentially lose out to getting new gear 2 weeks in a row ! Nothing, notta, zilch, to show for those 2 weeks of your time in the game. And of course I'm being modest with the 2 or 3 people with your same spec. It's usually 4-5. Unless you're lucky enough to stumble into a guild who doesen't have any of your chosen class (which is HIGHLY unlikely because Blizzard makes it almost essential to have at least 1 of every class to go on raids). Wrath of the Lich King is just more of the same that BC offered. Of course it made all the months I spent acquiring gear moot. And they also added a "fun" new twist that they were careful to leave out in Classic and BC; powerleveling. This just makes it ridiculously easy for people to level up new toons. You can literally do it in a few days if you wanted to. Just have a high level buddy run you through some dungeons 10-20 times. That made my sense of pride at reaching the top level disappear in an instant, because now any jackass can do it in a weekend. More raids were added, but they're still the same as before, just with a different skin on it. You'll spend MONTHS to get a full set of tiered gear. And by the time you finally do get that set, you think "Hey, finally, I'm powerful and have achieved something"; you are painfully smacked off you're pedestal by the mighty hand of Blizzard with newer raids that make you're gear obsolete. It's just too much of a time sink to actually achieve things in the game. And when you finally do, all of your time spent is made moot by the newest content. It's done over and over. I had fun for awhile, I did. But I'm done this time. I've quit and come back before, but this time I really am done. I will no longer sink months, or years of my life into a game that does nothing but rehash the same formula. So in conclusion, go ahead and pick up the game if you don't have alot of other things going on in your life. Because that's the only way you will really get anywhere. You can have fun for awhile, moreso if you're new to the game, but you WILL become tired of the constant screwovers by Blizzard. If I were you though, I'd heed my advice and just skip the game and try one of the newer MMOs out there (as I'm about to do), and hope they don't copy the same messed up formula that is WoW. Expand
  25. SJojo
    Jan 31, 2010
    1
    More of the same... boring. Once you grind your way to the max level and get tired of PvP and running heroics, that leaves you only with raiding, and it becomes a Raid-Or-Quit scenario, and I would rather quit because raiding is generally repetitive and annoying.
  26. JoeG.
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    Are you kidding me ? Another expansion to further ruin an originally good game. WotLK is another effort by Blizzard at pilfering BILLIONS of dollars from addicted users. Epic gear for the casual players, daily quests for the gold farmers, and another forced expansion for anyone who wants to compete. All that time and hard WORK and I do mean WORK was again for nothing as the expansion Are you kidding me ? Another expansion to further ruin an originally good game. WotLK is another effort by Blizzard at pilfering BILLIONS of dollars from addicted users. Epic gear for the casual players, daily quests for the gold farmers, and another forced expansion for anyone who wants to compete. All that time and hard WORK and I do mean WORK was again for nothing as the expansion makes everything you can do in the game worthless and forces you to expand. I can't believe I WASTED 3 years playing this franchise and I think I'm gonna have to boycott Blizzard games forever. It used to be the only people wearing EPIC gear were the hard-core players, but low and behold Blizzard realized that they can make 100's of millions of more dollars by offering these so-called "EPICS" to everyone for little effort and time. It's a sad, sad day for me to finally say goodbye to all my fellow gamers that I played WoW with. The hours and money I had invested in the game over 3 years could've been spent getting a better education or maybe a more active social life. If you are considering starting a WoW account I highly recommend you don't. If you are considering getting the WotLK expansion I'd advise you to reconsider and play other games. 40 dollars for the expansion and you don't get 30 days of free play, as if Blizzard needs the money. It's rape people plain and simple. Blizzard is the Crack dealer and you are the crackhead. WAKE UP !!! Expand
  27. HerbE.
    Dec 26, 2008
    2
    More of the same. Soon enough you'll be on your party mount in Dalaran, AFK waiting for something interesting to happen. That is, if you can't devote your life to raiding the ridiculous high-end content that only a minuscule percentage of the player base gets to see, let alone conquer. However, the game retains it's great environment aesthetic, one of the only memorable More of the same. Soon enough you'll be on your party mount in Dalaran, AFK waiting for something interesting to happen. That is, if you can't devote your life to raiding the ridiculous high-end content that only a minuscule percentage of the player base gets to see, let alone conquer. However, the game retains it's great environment aesthetic, one of the only memorable features of the game. Expand
  28. SeanM
    Jul 12, 2008
    0
    Fail. Take their money and let them stay hooked. As for me I know this game is just more of the same. WoW is still bad and will always be. A few petty adjustments and addons does not compensate for its lack of real gameplay. I seriously hope that Diablo 3 is nothing like WoW. Thanks for trying Blizzard.
  29. sethw
    Jan 12, 2009
    2
    i have played wow for 4 years so far and this game made me dispise wow, i hated every aspect of the game with this expansion, i came to hit lvl 80 within the 1st week of relase and soon realized the content was awful let alone challenging no wonder the top guilds in wow beat all the new content in by the sunday following the release. the new pvp system is rediculouse picure a battle feildi have played wow for 4 years so far and this game made me dispise wow, i hated every aspect of the game with this expansion, i came to hit lvl 80 within the 1st week of relase and soon realized the content was awful let alone challenging no wonder the top guilds in wow beat all the new content in by the sunday following the release. the new pvp system is rediculouse picure a battle feild full of over powered characters and the only way to win now is to be the 1st to deal damage, skill is not a factor in wotlk for pvp. the only part i enjoyed was returning back to naxx again wich was awsome and the only reason why i didnt give it a 0 Expand
  30. MattS
    Jan 24, 2009
    3
    I've played WoW since the original release. This is a review of the actual product, not of the "WoW mindset" or whatever everyone is talking about. Raiding and dungeons are way too easy, PvP is balance is worse than BC and the playstyle is dumbed down, quests should be renamed errands, since you never have to travel more than 100 yards from the person who gave it to you. Everything I've played WoW since the original release. This is a review of the actual product, not of the "WoW mindset" or whatever everyone is talking about. Raiding and dungeons are way too easy, PvP is balance is worse than BC and the playstyle is dumbed down, quests should be renamed errands, since you never have to travel more than 100 yards from the person who gave it to you. Everything in the game has been dumbed down. There are a few good things, achievements are fun, the ambiance and story are nice too. Overall though, it's crap in a pretty package. Expand
  31. JimJ.
    Nov 17, 2008
    1
    this game is so bad. There is nothing new but 10 lvls of the same crap and a riding mount that goes alittle faster. I do have to admit that the overpower shammy is getting more powerful with the new bump spell. You cant even ride your 50 dollar flying mount in the new zone.
  32. [Anonymous]
    Nov 21, 2008
    0
    Terrible graphics, unbalanced gameplay, textwall quests, tons of bugs, boring music in the ambience, same and same animation all the time when walking and unmature players. What more to say? This game takes your life, you become a nerd, you loose real-life friends the higher level you reach. Deathknights are overpowered and forces you to buy from burning crusade to wrath of lichking Terrible graphics, unbalanced gameplay, textwall quests, tons of bugs, boring music in the ambience, same and same animation all the time when walking and unmature players. What more to say? This game takes your life, you become a nerd, you loose real-life friends the higher level you reach. Deathknights are overpowered and forces you to buy from burning crusade to wrath of lichking because you will still meet deathknights that will defeat you in no time even you're 5-10 levels higher than yourself. I highly recommend you not to buy it if you don't want to end like a nerd and should start using glasses because you will begin start staring at your monitor that shows your world of warcraft. When you finally know that you can take all cloths off except underwear, you want to create a female character with a random name and you will take her cloths off until you see this *cough* neat woman with her bikini. You want to stare at her in hours and your eyes gets broken and can't read at 10 foot distance because of your monitor leeches your sharpeness in your eyes. Therefore, this deserves a bloody zero and alot of thumbs down as it already stole 10-16 million peoples lifes. Expand
  33. MMORPGAddict
    Nov 23, 2008
    0
    Same stuff all over again. Woopie, 10 more levels and a different character set! Who cares. This whole game is a waste of money now. People actually stayed home for three days straight, skipping school/work, to level up to 80 to get "ahead" of everyone. Tons of no lifers. If you want an MMORPG that is actually exciting and does not have tons of kids or people with anger management Same stuff all over again. Woopie, 10 more levels and a different character set! Who cares. This whole game is a waste of money now. People actually stayed home for three days straight, skipping school/work, to level up to 80 to get "ahead" of everyone. Tons of no lifers. If you want an MMORPG that is actually exciting and does not have tons of kids or people with anger management problems, get EVE Online or Warhammer. Collapse
  34. JoshT
    Nov 24, 2009
    0
    If you want to have a life, don't play World of Failcraft. If you don't sell your soul to World of Warcraft, you will be considered a noob. If you do decide to sell your soul to the game and become the best at what you do, you will get the vain praises of others on your in-game realm only to realize that you are slowly severing yourself from your real family and life. Source: Experience
  35. WillS
    Dec 14, 2009
    2
    This game has shown to be one of the most played world-wide. Yet, the expansion reveals nothing but dull content and false advertisements. Hence the true example of over rated. As mentioned before the expansion, they stated there would be flying combat mounts in Winter Grasp, new dances, guild battlegrounds, guild housing, and many of the other illusions that could have been converted This game has shown to be one of the most played world-wide. Yet, the expansion reveals nothing but dull content and false advertisements. Hence the true example of over rated. As mentioned before the expansion, they stated there would be flying combat mounts in Winter Grasp, new dances, guild battlegrounds, guild housing, and many of the other illusions that could have been converted into actual content. Please, and be rational of what you're saying Blizzard. Although there are a few positives to this expansion, but as little as a rating of 2 must do. Although, with the previous 3.3 patch, questing and dungeons have made a slight smile to the fan base due to simple, reliable, interfaces implemented. Yet in comparison, they are speckles of paint versus a concrete wall. Of course you'll understand that some day. Again, I hope all the best content goes into Cataclysm as hopefully they've learned these lessons. But I would rather have them contemplate rather than take a GLANCE. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.