User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 917 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZachB.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    WotLK, in my opinion, is a great expansion to WoW. I have been playing WoW ever since its release and unfortunately got quite bored with it through the original release and the BC expansion. However when Blizzard started the patch to ready WoW for WotLK I was instantly hooked. Although I found it hard to play until WotLK, I have been a big fan of the mystical world the WoW takes place in WotLK, in my opinion, is a great expansion to WoW. I have been playing WoW ever since its release and unfortunately got quite bored with it through the original release and the BC expansion. However when Blizzard started the patch to ready WoW for WotLK I was instantly hooked. Although I found it hard to play until WotLK, I have been a big fan of the mystical world the WoW takes place in which causes me to find it humorous on some reviews on here saying things such as "WoW is an old and outdated boring MMORPG, all about grinding mobs and gearing up." When they dont realize that WoW is more about a mythical world that you can take a part in and experience and while you can ignore that aspect, it's still fun to do the many quests, group with others to run instances or raids, and to just play the game. I know many people won't agree with me and I know I cant change that but in my opinion WotLK is a great expansion. Expand
  2. JosephS.
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    Not a perfect game, but what game is? This new expansion keeps me entertained for minutes or hours, whatever amount of time I have to play. Makes me very happy some times, other times it pisses me right off (more like other players *cough pvp cough*) All the new stuff will keep old players entertained, and if your just starting, you will have plenty of people to run you through instances Not a perfect game, but what game is? This new expansion keeps me entertained for minutes or hours, whatever amount of time I have to play. Makes me very happy some times, other times it pisses me right off (more like other players *cough pvp cough*) All the new stuff will keep old players entertained, and if your just starting, you will have plenty of people to run you through instances and all the lowbie mobs you want, not to mention a game that will last you a while since the level cap is now 80 (watch it on pvp servers though, level 80 death is lurking everywhere heh heh heh) --However--, if you are in school, are nursing or pregnant, or have heart conditions I would not suggest playing this game. You'll get bad grades, forget about your kids, and / or die. It is that engrossing. But seriously, either try the trial first or play at a friends house, this games isn't for everyone and we don't need more bad reviews because a few people are mad they lost a measly $15 (assuming they only paid for a month since it was so bad for them :) Expand
  3. AdamW.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    A superb expansion to an even better game! For those of you who say that WoW is just a massive grind fest, no wonder you hate the game! Best way to level is to quest, group up with your pals, and do some dungeons, this is where the "King" really shines. This game IS NOT a repeat of past expansions. There are so many new quests from hopping on a mammoth and goring a boss to taking flight A superb expansion to an even better game! For those of you who say that WoW is just a massive grind fest, no wonder you hate the game! Best way to level is to quest, group up with your pals, and do some dungeons, this is where the "King" really shines. This game IS NOT a repeat of past expansions. There are so many new quests from hopping on a mammoth and goring a boss to taking flight in an air plane and getting into dog fights with gargoyles. Basically, the people who give this a low score know nothing about lore. People who give this a hi score are the ones that read the quests, know there lore, and is wondering what is going to happen next in one of the greatest and detailed stories ever, Warcraft. (I'd like to see one of those 0 rating people tell me who and where illidan is and where he came from, and how he came to be evil). Also, the graphics are upgraded by alot. Better textures and lighting and effects. Those of you still playing on the same system during the release of the original game are not going to see an upgrade. (The old pentium 4, 512 mb ram, ati 9800 beast just isn't going to cut it anymore) Play the game on an HD LCD Monitor and get a graphics card that can handle WoW on all max settings (ati 2600 XT or better) and has pixel shader 3.0 and the game really shines. For those of you who complain about queues and how blizz should make more servers, you all need to switch servers. There are about 10 servers that are full constantly, the remainder 40 some odd servers are sitting there.... waiting..... waiting for someone else to finally log on before the server forgets its on. Blizzard also made 3 new servers to compensate for the Northrend Blitz. One last note. Warhammer is still on its knees begging to be worthy of even thinking about World of Warcraft, for it lacks depth story and most if all..... a community of over 1000 players ;-) WoW 11 million....AND COUNTING! Expand
  4. doodman
    Dec 9, 2008
    8
    Definitely an improvement from BC is some areas, but also a step backwards in others. The new abilities for each class make them much more interesting and original (not to mention fun to play) but that's basically where the really good stuff ends. Much of the end game content is more shallow, offering less to shoot for. My guess is this will be changed with patches though. There have Definitely an improvement from BC is some areas, but also a step backwards in others. The new abilities for each class make them much more interesting and original (not to mention fun to play) but that's basically where the really good stuff ends. Much of the end game content is more shallow, offering less to shoot for. My guess is this will be changed with patches though. There have been small improvements all around the board, making it worth while to play. I think the only major downfall of this game is the players. A sadistic crazed addiction to get more stuff for no real ultimate reason other than to get more stuff shoots this game into the shitter. This game is made to be enjoyed by DOING those things which give you the cool stuff. stupid, stupid people. Expand
  5. MooreJ
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    To get some of the pointless comments out of the way i'll sum them up for you: "Im a war fanboy" After playing warhammer online and WOTLK i decided to go with WOTLK for several reasons. Firstly being that this game is just more fun to play, there's no two ways about it. It's called world of warcrack for a reason, it's addictive and YES it will remove all your spare To get some of the pointless comments out of the way i'll sum them up for you: "Im a war fanboy" After playing warhammer online and WOTLK i decided to go with WOTLK for several reasons. Firstly being that this game is just more fun to play, there's no two ways about it. It's called world of warcrack for a reason, it's addictive and YES it will remove all your spare time from you, but when your paying monthly to play something surely you'd expect to get the most from it. Secondly i wanted to play as a death knight. Upon release they're clearly overpowered however at 80 any skilled player can deal with them if specced correctly. Finally i was already playing burning crusade and had a level 70 character so i figured this would be the logical step to take to continue my enjoyment of the game. I now have 9 characters to 60 or above and one at 40. Reviewing this as a standalone title is just stupid, "Same graphics" well yeh it's an expansion and sorry to put you down but the graphics engine has changed quite a lot. People complaining about queues are just upset they couldn't get on to play the game... you obviously want to play it so why throw a tantrum when you can't. There's a reason the other games don't have massive queues, because they don't have half as many players (Hell even 1/10th) as WoW does. One thing the game doesn't mention is that you need to have burning crusade to play this game, but i suppose common sense may provail here... hopefully In the end it's a simple descision wether you buy this game or not. If you have burning crusade, and have a character above level 55 then you should buy this game, you'll have access to the deathknight and you'll start with all blue gear when you get to outland. And if you havn't seen all the outland content then the deathknight is probly the best character to do it with due to gear advantages, a free epic mount, and being pretty overpowered at 60-70. If you don't like WoW then don't expect an expansion pack to change your mind, it's high level content and considering you didn't like the game to begin with then you're never gonna see this content anyway. Expand
  6. SebastianJ
    Apr 28, 2009
    8
    Compared to the previous expansion (TBC), this has not met my expectations completely - however, with the recent patches, it has certainly improved, and checking developers notes on their forums, it does not seem that they are going to stop any time soon. The only thing I'm missing with WotLK is the difficulty of the game - it is much easier than the few last months of TBC was, but I Compared to the previous expansion (TBC), this has not met my expectations completely - however, with the recent patches, it has certainly improved, and checking developers notes on their forums, it does not seem that they are going to stop any time soon. The only thing I'm missing with WotLK is the difficulty of the game - it is much easier than the few last months of TBC was, but I am not in doubt that Blizzard is going to do something alike with WotLK. The graphics has improved over the last couple of patches, but I usually consider graphics a bonus and not a requirement to play a game. My recommendation: Buy it. Expand
  7. PaulC.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Can't see the point of telling people that you are bemused that they like the game. That's not criticism, that's banging your head against a wall. Really, if that's all you've got to say, then you'd be better off not saying anything (Better to remain quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt), WoW is massively popular. It Can't see the point of telling people that you are bemused that they like the game. That's not criticism, that's banging your head against a wall. Really, if that's all you've got to say, then you'd be better off not saying anything (Better to remain quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt), WoW is massively popular. It swallows the membership of the next 3 biggest MMORPG's for breakfast. The people who play WoW COULD play one of these other games..they dont. There's a reason for this...have a guess what that might be ... WotLK is a good addition. Many many quest trees (those who criticise the game for grinding only can't be playing the same game..It's possible to get 75% or more through every level without Mob grinding at all. I've gone from 69 to 74 without a single minute outside of quest lines. The new instances are very good, the GFX are improved (only slightly though). The game is very well balanced. DK's seem overpowered to begin with, but at level 60+ (when the blues they start with at 55 are beginning to look a bit tired) it begins to level out..and hey ANYONE can become a DK at 55 (one per server) so why bitch ? All in all a superb addition to a game that, like it or not, is soooo far ahead in terms of content and balance that LotR, WAR, Conan etc seem primitive by comparison (yes they have slightly better GFX than WoW - but that's where thet ends) 10/10 Expand
  8. AricR
    Mar 24, 2009
    8
    As a game, it's extremely addictive and there are never any problems (What Blizzard does best). To the casual-type player it's a smashing success in every way allowing to access any content at any time. This is also the problem with it as well. With everyone being able to do everything, the will to participate in raids and/or PvP diminishes. The reason why the first two were As a game, it's extremely addictive and there are never any problems (What Blizzard does best). To the casual-type player it's a smashing success in every way allowing to access any content at any time. This is also the problem with it as well. With everyone being able to do everything, the will to participate in raids and/or PvP diminishes. The reason why the first two were perfect was because of character attachment. Although for me personally it didn't live up to my expectations, buying this game will prove to be a great decision for people who can just pick up a game and quit whenever. Collapse
  9. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This is where game started to get easy. That being said it had good story and end game, wintergrasp was also great when it didn't lag.

    What I do not like is the fact that now with reduced XP you skyrocket to level 80 but you still need to pay for that expansion. I think it should be merged with Starter Edition.
  10. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    I used to enjoy World of Warcraft. I played every single day, one hour on weekdays, two on weekends. This was the best expansion. I really want it back. There were very few bad things about this. The Death Knights were very fun to play, and Northrend looked very beautiful. If I wrote this a few years earlier, I probably would have given it a 10/10, as I thought WoW was "the best game EVAR"I used to enjoy World of Warcraft. I played every single day, one hour on weekdays, two on weekends. This was the best expansion. I really want it back. There were very few bad things about this. The Death Knights were very fun to play, and Northrend looked very beautiful. If I wrote this a few years earlier, I probably would have given it a 10/10, as I thought WoW was "the best game EVAR" up until Cata, but looking back now, I probably won't enjoy it as much as I did back then. It was a good expansion, and I don't understand how it has such a bad user score. I really want to play this again, but Blizzard changed WoW so much, it's not the same as it was in WotLK. Expand
  11. TaylorB.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    One of the most polished games I've ever played. The terrain and other visuals are amazingly detailed and beautiful. Blizzard also did a terrific job at varying up the types of quests they give you, with amusing vehicle based quests, etc. The world phasing feature is also quite entertaining; it's fun to be surprised with how a zone has changed as the result of you having One of the most polished games I've ever played. The terrain and other visuals are amazingly detailed and beautiful. Blizzard also did a terrific job at varying up the types of quests they give you, with amusing vehicle based quests, etc. The world phasing feature is also quite entertaining; it's fun to be surprised with how a zone has changed as the result of you having completed a certain quest, etc. Expand
  12. VoqarN.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Best expansion to a MMORPG ever. It's beautiful, impeccably designed, and tons of fun. Everywhere you go there are "wow" moments, and at this stage of the MMORPG game, that's not easy to pull off anymore. Just when you though questing had become routine, Blizzard introduces a boatload of variety and twists to refresh quest-driven leveling.
  13. DanielBourdon
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Lich King is everything I hoped it to be and more. The quests are actually fun to do. Yes there are still the staple kill quests and gathering quests thrown in there, but overall leveling has been a blast. The worlds are beautiful, wait till you see crystalsong forest it is truly beautiful. A great game that is well worth the 40 bucks.
  14. BexS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    This is by some way the best expasion Blizzard have done for WoW. Apart from the improved graphics, there are also many more improved quests, not simply killing monsters, but much more inventive quests, the whole area looks beautful, the dungeons are as well designed as ever, and I still have ariel combat, seige vehicles, and multiple carry mounts to look forward to! As well as all those This is by some way the best expasion Blizzard have done for WoW. Apart from the improved graphics, there are also many more improved quests, not simply killing monsters, but much more inventive quests, the whole area looks beautful, the dungeons are as well designed as ever, and I still have ariel combat, seige vehicles, and multiple carry mounts to look forward to! As well as all those achievements, not to mention prot warriors finally being able to do their job! Well done Blizzard! Ill be playing this for years to come! Expand
  15. RandyL.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Even with its flaws, Wrath of the Lich King is absolutely the best expansion of WoW to date. The new continent and its zones are absolutely amazing, and the Death Knight class is the most engaging experience ever, and probably one of the best features to be in the game so far. As far as expansions go, or even a game in general, "King" is masterful, and an absolutely amazing experience. Even with its flaws, Wrath of the Lich King is absolutely the best expansion of WoW to date. The new continent and its zones are absolutely amazing, and the Death Knight class is the most engaging experience ever, and probably one of the best features to be in the game so far. As far as expansions go, or even a game in general, "King" is masterful, and an absolutely amazing experience. There's nothing else like it, and it's more addictive than ever. If "The Burning Crusade" expansion was a five finger exercise, then "King" is an entire symphony. Expand
  16. MarisParker
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Blizzard has outdone themselves with Wrath of the Lich King. It's everything I loved about the original World of Warcraft x 10. If this is what taking your time and not rushing a game results in (a great setting, great art, unique quest mechanics, and best of all, just plain fun gameplay), then I wish more companies would care about their players the way Blizzard does and not justBlizzard has outdone themselves with Wrath of the Lich King. It's everything I loved about the original World of Warcraft x 10. If this is what taking your time and not rushing a game results in (a great setting, great art, unique quest mechanics, and best of all, just plain fun gameplay), then I wish more companies would care about their players the way Blizzard does and not just care about the $$$. Expand
  17. SethD
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    I can't help but laugh at some of the negative user reviews that have shown up on here. A lot of the facts are down right incorrect. For example, you can use your flying mount in Northrend, however you must first reach level 77 and spend 1000 gold for the Cold Weather Flying training in Dalaran, but I digress. This is a fantastic addition to the WoW universe. Wrath of the Lich King I can't help but laugh at some of the negative user reviews that have shown up on here. A lot of the facts are down right incorrect. For example, you can use your flying mount in Northrend, however you must first reach level 77 and spend 1000 gold for the Cold Weather Flying training in Dalaran, but I digress. This is a fantastic addition to the WoW universe. Wrath of the Lich King brings a ton of new features, zones, abilities, monsters, instances, raids, and factions to the table. There is more then enough content to keep even the most die hard player busy for months, especially if they're the OCD type that feels every faction must be Exalted. The quests are a lot of fun and there have been several new and unique quest types that are actually a lot of fun. The instances and raids are beautiful and a lot of fun to do. Boss mechanics focus on fun and interesting strategies rather than the popular gear check tank and spank that plagued past content. Of course we can't forget the new Death Knight class, and while there is a huge influx of players rolling this class at the moment this will eventually die down. Their group mechanics are off the wall and fill many different rolls. Blizzard went above and beyond to deliver such an amazing expansion and it'll only get better with future content patches. Expand
  18. Max
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Definitely keeping with the Blizzard and WoW tradition, this game delivers even more fun for lovers of the series, and even for new 70s like me. Going into Northrend is quite amazing, and the game is definitely worth the 40 dollars and 15 monthly.
  19. DanielB.
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    I've been playing the xpac since it came out and honestly I love it so far. I leveled to 80 pretty fast because I've had a lot of free time lately and it's been so cold. The new pvp zone Wintergrasp is a lot of fun, but it only runs every 3 hours, which is pretty lame. There are a lot of DK's running about, but it's new and expected, I'm sure it will die down I've been playing the xpac since it came out and honestly I love it so far. I leveled to 80 pretty fast because I've had a lot of free time lately and it's been so cold. The new pvp zone Wintergrasp is a lot of fun, but it only runs every 3 hours, which is pretty lame. There are a lot of DK's running about, but it's new and expected, I'm sure it will die down in time. The zones are gorgeous and quests this time around are awesome. It's just fun to do them. The 5 mans are beautifully done and fun as well. I'm not in an endgame guild, so I can't comment on the content in that area, but I'm sure harder content will be available in upcoming content patches. All in all I think it's been a great xpac. Expand
  20. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the new expansion "Mists of Pandaria" did not turn out as well as i thought but all the other ones were good and i can't wait to see what new expansion comes out next! :D
  21. Tmiller
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    I give it a 10 because it has still managed to keep me addicted i don't really know why i find myself doing what i did in tbc after clearing all content sitting in dalaran wishing that the couple of pieces of gear i needed had dropped of the boss this week being running back in forth wasting my gaming time doing absolutely nothing but well wtf i guess ill prob keep playing just I give it a 10 because it has still managed to keep me addicted i don't really know why i find myself doing what i did in tbc after clearing all content sitting in dalaran wishing that the couple of pieces of gear i needed had dropped of the boss this week being running back in forth wasting my gaming time doing absolutely nothing but well wtf i guess ill prob keep playing just because no other game is nearly as fun. Expand
  22. TR
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Graphics: 8.5 There are some really incredible locations and general details around Northrend. People say they don't like the graphics because "they're too cartoony". In my own personal opinion, I'm pretty sure that gritty realism is NOT the way to handle the looks of a fantasy mmorpg. Sound: 9 The music is great and fits the mood near perfectly. Dont like it? Turn it off Graphics: 8.5 There are some really incredible locations and general details around Northrend. People say they don't like the graphics because "they're too cartoony". In my own personal opinion, I'm pretty sure that gritty realism is NOT the way to handle the looks of a fantasy mmorpg. Sound: 9 The music is great and fits the mood near perfectly. Dont like it? Turn it off and put on some music of your own. Gameplay: 9 PVE: 9.5 - If there's anything funner than playing a DK or questing in Northrend in any given MMO, I'd like to hear it. The Northrend quests are fun, and contrary to popular beliefs (read: idiotic reviews) WoW is not, will not be, and never has been all about grinding. Yes, there are kill/collect x of y for ***hole z quests, but those are outweiged by quests themed around things such as large scale battles, aerial combat, bombing the **** out of various locations, and decimating armies of elite troops while riding an enourmous fire/ice breathing dragon. BLOWING. ****. TO. HELL. WITH. A. DRAGON. IS. NOT. THE. SAME. AS. GRINDING. Good, I'm glad that that's settled. PVP: 7- Gyawd I hate Death Knights. Being a caster, there is nothing that I hate more than going into a battleground only to find that 80% of everyone there is a Dk. Blizzard screwed us over that way. Death Knights: Fun to play, not fun when they start to take over servers. Next subject! Also, stop comparing this to Warhammer online etc. This is not warhammer online. Warhammer is a PVP based game, and WoW is a PVE based game with PVP elements. So please, don't b**** about the pvp and give it a 0. World of Warcraft has 12 MILLION players for a reason. *Note: my actual rating for this game is a 9, as no game is perfect, but I'm scoring it to make up for one of the many idiots who wrote "Werld uv Worecraft is dum" "The grafiks are stoopid" etc. - 0 Expand
  23. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is arguably the best MMO I have played, the graphics, the story, everything blends together perfectly. A lot of people complain that this game is addictive. All good things are addictive but only if you let them rule your life. There is absolutely no reason why anyone should feel compelled to play this game all day every day, and if they do, its those people who will be addicted toThis is arguably the best MMO I have played, the graphics, the story, everything blends together perfectly. A lot of people complain that this game is addictive. All good things are addictive but only if you let them rule your life. There is absolutely no reason why anyone should feel compelled to play this game all day every day, and if they do, its those people who will be addicted to anything. If you are so bored of your life that you can only find solace in a virtual world, then please by all means avoid this game. World of Warcraft is an amazing game and its an even better experience to share with your friends. Thats why I love this game, I can raid one day, battle in an arena or a battleground on another or just goof around with my friends, and there is no pressure. Relax, and enjoy this great game, make new friends and share some fun adventures with your existing ones, just please stop blaming a game for "ruining your life". Expand
  24. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the game I'd like to give a 10, but if I look at Its whole life-time, I simply can't. This was an expansion pack I waited with great fun too. It was really good to catch up with everyone's favorite heros' story from Warcraft 3 and 2, Ner'zhul and Arthas. When I started a Death Knight (Former recruits of the Argent Dawn who got raised as the Scourge's "shock troopers" by the Lich King to serve his needs), I was shocked and not in a negative meaning. The linear and good story, the characters, the phasing and especially, the music was so damn good that I had to play the Scarlet Enclave again. Then I went back to my main character and started leveling. The same could be told here too. Good and linear story, great characters and music. Getting Items felt easier here, though u still needed the time or many gold to do the crafted epics. But it was still hard here. Heroics in the beginning were pretty much hard. But they meant a lot of fun, as did the new Achievement system. Naxxramas and Sartharion were only for really experienced players. This was the time when I was on top in WoW. I had full epic from crafted items and from Sartharion/Naxx. This was my favorite time. Unfortuneatly, It all ended in a damn patch that introduced the finished Argent Colisseum and the new Badge System. This was the Patch that murdered the half of WoW. Unexperienced players with full epics running all around and the only way to know what they MIGHT know was to check their Achievements. This was the time when I was only heroicing, playing on battlegrounds, and doing daily quests because I simply couldn't stand ToC and also didn't need anything from there because I got everything else from crafteds and heroics. You got everything from heroics and didn't even needed to raid! ToC was like standing in one place and killing waves. Great. By Icecrown came out I was barely doing anything beside doing the first daily heroic and getting money because it gave you 2 Emblem of Frost and from those you could get everything you needed to get on the same level as those who actually went to Icecrown Citadel. About the money, this was the only thing that was still challange to get, much little challange, but still a challange. I was saving the money I got for a Traveler's Tundra Mammoth which was 16000 gold and a Dalaran Signet that cost 6800 gold and the 3 upgrades were 1000 gold (I was exalted with Kirin Tor, which meant 20% discount for repairs and prices). With Miner-farming i got the money for the rings and the mammoth, well, a little trick was needed for the mammoth, but i got them all. It was 22000 gold, but I got it. After this point, I found no other challange, so I started doing 2 alts. A Death Knight and a Paladin. I did some heroic with the DK at lvl 80 but I got bored with it so i leveled the Paladin. It was so overpowered that it was disgusting. I could solo a raid quest with it on lvl 60 and leveling was a laugh, especially when the enemys were undeads. After both alt got their Cold Weather flying skill (1000 gold) and epic mount, I stopped playing this game until Cataclysm. I simply didn't find joy in playing this game and I was hoping Cataclysm would bring back that. I still checked the World of Warcraft Wiki on what happened to the Lich King and I thought that It was really stupid to butcher two of the most popular character from the original Warcraft trilogy. They had put the adventurers in a far larger role they should have. That moment was really a punch in the stomach for those who played Warcraft 3 or 2. So, it was a long review. To sum up: It was the greatest expansion pack until 3.2.0 patch, which completely destroyed challanges in the game. I'd really like to give it a 10, but I have to consider the part which happened after 3.2.0 so with a kind heart it's an 8. Expand
  25. TedroRedro
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    One word: EPIC. From the music to the quests, low fantasy has returned to WoW in a big way. The Burning Crusade was a half-hearted expansion, which never really felt like the original. While the gear was great and the art was impressive, the style was way off and the quests seemed fragmented. WoTLK is the return of the old WoW, but with an impressive upgrade in graphics, art, music, and One word: EPIC. From the music to the quests, low fantasy has returned to WoW in a big way. The Burning Crusade was a half-hearted expansion, which never really felt like the original. While the gear was great and the art was impressive, the style was way off and the quests seemed fragmented. WoTLK is the return of the old WoW, but with an impressive upgrade in graphics, art, music, and functionality. The view distances are huge! WoTLK demands a far better hardware spec than the original. Single-player is as rewarding as dungeon/raiding (in terms of scope and content). If you liked WoW before TBC, or if you have a 70 sitting around, you owe it to yourself to renew and buy the expansion. It will not disappoint. Expand
  26. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    Wrath of the Lich king is coming to an end with Cataclysm launching December. I can honestly say that the last two years have been great for World of Warcraft. This expansion brought in so many great changes to WoW - dungeon finder, battleground finder, etc. - that were just awesome. Fantastic expansion.
  27. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This game this expansion is too easy in my opinion, but overall not a bad expansion... just this expansion was so easy even noobs could do it... Unlike Vanilla and Burning Crusade, If you were a nab then you'd get pvp gear... Not saying that everyone in pvp gear were nabs but that's the way it went.. if you couldn't get yourself into a good raiding guild. I just hope that cataclysm won'tThis game this expansion is too easy in my opinion, but overall not a bad expansion... just this expansion was so easy even noobs could do it... Unlike Vanilla and Burning Crusade, If you were a nab then you'd get pvp gear... Not saying that everyone in pvp gear were nabs but that's the way it went.. if you couldn't get yourself into a good raiding guild. I just hope that cataclysm won't be boring like wrath... don't want to get bored for 6 months again just raiding naxxaramas, that was rather boring if i'm honest.. but i guess that's why they bought heroic modes, but then again.. they get rather boring after a while also... i'd give this game a 8/10 Expand
  28. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    World of warcraft review

    World of warcraft is the largest mmorpg (massive multiplayer online role playing game) on the pc it has hundreds of thousands of player it has to groups â
  29. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    So there are several reasons why this expansion was, and still is, the greatest of all of the World of Warcraft expansions, including the original release.

    - Difficulty: While WotLK's content was quite difficult, it was not remorselessly so like in previous incarnations of the game. It still had room for the raiding elite to show off their swag whilst simultaneously allowing more of the
    So there are several reasons why this expansion was, and still is, the greatest of all of the World of Warcraft expansions, including the original release.

    - Difficulty: While WotLK's content was quite difficult, it was not remorselessly so like in previous incarnations of the game. It still had room for the raiding elite to show off their swag whilst simultaneously allowing more of the broader audience of the game to access the end-game content they had previously been denied.

    - Plot: Wrath of the Lich King addressed a FANTASTIC villain and story in the form of Arthas Menethil, one of the greatest villains in video gaming history as well as approaching many other, brand-new plot elements such as the Nexus War against the Blue Dragonflight and the secrets of Ulduar.

    -Music: The soundtrack to Wrath of the Lich King managed to capture the perfect balance between epic orchestral scoring and subtle, ambience, something I personally feel has been lost in subsequent expansions.

    -Environments: Wrath of the Lich King introduced Northrend, which had a variety of fantastically emersive environments for us to explore.
    Expand
  30. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    best expansion of them all, i didnt like cataclysm so much and hope the mop expansion will be good too
    this expansion had the best story and music and zones, realy nice that arthas showed up in different places
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. 90
    Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.