Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1901 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Four years have passed since the aftermath of Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, and a great tension now smolders throughout the ravaged world of Azeroth. As the battle-worn races begin to rebuild their shattered kingdoms, new threats, both ancient and ominous, arise to plague the world onceFour years have passed since the aftermath of Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, and a great tension now smolders throughout the ravaged world of Azeroth. As the battle-worn races begin to rebuild their shattered kingdoms, new threats, both ancient and ominous, arise to plague the world once again. World of Warcraft is an online role-playing experience set in the award-winning Warcraft universe. Players assume the roles of Warcraft heroes as they explore, adventure, and quest across a vast world. Being "Massively Multiplayer," World of Warcraft allows thousands of players to interact within the same world. Whether adventuring together or fighting against each other in epic battles, players will form friendships, forge alliances, and compete with enemies for power and glory. A dedicated live team will create a constant stream of new adventures to undertake, lands to explore, and monsters to vanquish. This content ensures that the game will never be the same from month to month, and will continue to offer new challenges and adventures for years to come. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    This is the best example of what a massively multiplayer online game can offer, and is highly recommended to anyone who simply enjoys playing games.
  2. Addictive from the moment you begin...It's incredibly friendly to the solo gamer, allowing players not only to gain Levels 1 to 60 without ever grouping with someone else if they prefer, but also to earn the same or more experience playing that way. That means the solo gamer can level nearly as quickly as a group of power gamers playing together.
  3. Though WoW doesn't radically differ from the tried-and-true MMORPG formula, the subtle tweaks, additions, and special layer of Blizzard polish make it an amazing and fresh experience. [Feb 2005, p.122]
  4. World of Warcraft may not be the great savior of MMORPGs, but it's certainly the most solid one to come out in a long time.
  5. 91
    The MMO we've all been waiting for. It does not blow away the genre, but it does hone it to near-perfection. I think the biggest problem you'll have is managing to play it in moderation.
  6. With the dust settling now on World of Warcraft, it is becoming more and more obvious that this is by far the best MMORPG currently on the market.
  7. Fix your game, Blizzard. Listen to your players, actually cater to the high end, fix bugs that need fixing, and don’t leave your playerbase hanging for months on end. Then I will give your game a higher mark.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. JoshM.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    World of WarCraft has taken massively multiplayer online games to a new plateau. Sure, there are growing pains. At times you
  2. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    Good: Gameplay, Community/Guilds/People, Locations, Raids, Atmosphere, Setting
    Mixed: Story, Leveling, Sounds
    Bad: --- Very addictive
    Good: Gameplay, Community/Guilds/People, Locations, Raids, Atmosphere, Setting
    Mixed: Story, Leveling, Sounds
    Bad: ---

    Very addictive game. Many fantastic memories. Easily the best MMORPG on the market, at least when i played ;) .
    Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    The time when World of Warcraft was THE MMO. It wasn't the down-booted bantha crap that is now. This was the time when the game made youThe time when World of Warcraft was THE MMO. It wasn't the down-booted bantha crap that is now. This was the time when the game made you actually think about tactics, professions and others. Hell, if you compare the mounts' level and prices, you should know what I mean: Vanilla: Lvl40: around 100g,normal mount. Cataclysm/WOTLK: Lvl40: less than 100g and EPIC mount. Getting Items was another thing. When I got my first epic item, I was incredibly happy (I still remember which item it was). In newer expansions: Completely unexperienced kids running around in Full Epic because they did a heroic with some other kid who MIGHT had some XP in the game. I even had a full-epic off set from the stupid Triumph badges that dropped from heroics. To sum up, If you feel yourself as a beginner in MMOs, you might wanna try the newer Expansions first, but when you're tired of the no-challanges, you'll defineatly wanna try one of the Vanilla Private servers. Expand
  4. LuisS.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Would have been a perfect 10 if not for too many down times. For $50.00 + $15.00 a month, there should be little to none. I have free Would have been a perfect 10 if not for too many down times. For $50.00 + $15.00 a month, there should be little to none. I have free Massively played online games which I purchased for much less and experience very little if any down times. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    Finally got around to playing this game when Blizzard began the free level 20 trial. I am frankly amazed that this is the game that supplantedFinally got around to playing this game when Blizzard began the free level 20 trial. I am frankly amazed that this is the game that supplanted Everquest. I can accept that an older game will not be as clean and polished as a newer game. However, this game seems like it must have been outdated almost as soon as it was released. This game is neither as immersive as contemporaries Everquest and Ultima Online nor is it as ground-breaking. It offers few real character customization options, redundant gameplay, poor music, sugary cartoony graphics and extremely unimaginative quests. PvP is not a clever interplay of positioning, skills and counter-skills but rather a foregone conclusion based on build and gear. The one thing WoW seems to get right is that it is very giving with experience and loot, allowing you to play relatively hassle free in those regards. I assume it also started the now well established trend of marking quest NPCs. Otherwise I really can not imagine what it is about this game, other than the title, that made it so popular. I am giving it a 6. It is certainly better than nothing at all, but better games are out there now, and they are sometimes even free to play. Expand
  6. BobbyG.
    Dec 18, 2007
    4
    This game will absorb your life and make you completely severed from the outside world. If you are prepared to give up everything in your This game will absorb your life and make you completely severed from the outside world. If you are prepared to give up everything in your life from the moment you get this game, then its OK at best. I suggest not even trying it. Expand
  7. StevenM.
    Jun 16, 2007
    0
    Terrible, waste of time, money, and your life. Seriously the worst game ever made. Nothing original and nothing a rational minded gamer would like

See all 472 User Reviews