Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1850 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Four years have passed since the aftermath of Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, and a great tension now smolders throughout the ravaged world of Azeroth. As the battle-worn races begin to rebuild their shattered kingdoms, new threats, both ancient and ominous, arise to plague the world onceFour years have passed since the aftermath of Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, and a great tension now smolders throughout the ravaged world of Azeroth. As the battle-worn races begin to rebuild their shattered kingdoms, new threats, both ancient and ominous, arise to plague the world once again. World of Warcraft is an online role-playing experience set in the award-winning Warcraft universe. Players assume the roles of Warcraft heroes as they explore, adventure, and quest across a vast world. Being "Massively Multiplayer," World of Warcraft allows thousands of players to interact within the same world. Whether adventuring together or fighting against each other in epic battles, players will form friendships, forge alliances, and compete with enemies for power and glory. A dedicated live team will create a constant stream of new adventures to undertake, lands to explore, and monsters to vanquish. This content ensures that the game will never be the same from month to month, and will continue to offer new challenges and adventures for years to come. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    This is the best example of what a massively multiplayer online game can offer, and is highly recommended to anyone who simply enjoys playing games.
  2. Addictive from the moment you begin...It's incredibly friendly to the solo gamer, allowing players not only to gain Levels 1 to 60 without ever grouping with someone else if they prefer, but also to earn the same or more experience playing that way. That means the solo gamer can level nearly as quickly as a group of power gamers playing together.
  3. Though WoW doesn't radically differ from the tried-and-true MMORPG formula, the subtle tweaks, additions, and special layer of Blizzard polish make it an amazing and fresh experience. [Feb 2005, p.122]
  4. World of Warcraft may not be the great savior of MMORPGs, but it's certainly the most solid one to come out in a long time.
  5. 91
    The MMO we've all been waiting for. It does not blow away the genre, but it does hone it to near-perfection. I think the biggest problem you'll have is managing to play it in moderation.
  6. With the dust settling now on World of Warcraft, it is becoming more and more obvious that this is by far the best MMORPG currently on the market.
  7. Fix your game, Blizzard. Listen to your players, actually cater to the high end, fix bugs that need fixing, and don’t leave your playerbase hanging for months on end. Then I will give your game a higher mark.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. JorgeP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Most polished and addictive MMO to have ever come out. If you don't believe it, the fact that it's the most popular game ever, at Most polished and addictive MMO to have ever come out. If you don't believe it, the fact that it's the most popular game ever, at over 9million subscribers, should be a sign. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    Playing wow for 11 years.I quit this season. Being 30 now, with real life having to work out of town, it's just not possible to keep myPlaying wow for 11 years.I quit this season. Being 30 now, with real life having to work out of town, it's just not possible to keep my conquest cap up. I'll come back when wow realizes that rated pvp(Arena/RBGs) should not have a gearing phase. At the start of any arena season, everyone should have full pvp gear for rated PvP.

    Gearing pvp gear with conquest cap should be for world pvp and normal bg's. Its that simple.
    Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    The time when World of Warcraft was THE MMO. It wasn't the down-booted bantha crap that is now. This was the time when the game made youThe time when World of Warcraft was THE MMO. It wasn't the down-booted bantha crap that is now. This was the time when the game made you actually think about tactics, professions and others. Hell, if you compare the mounts' level and prices, you should know what I mean: Vanilla: Lvl40: around 100g,normal mount. Cataclysm/WOTLK: Lvl40: less than 100g and EPIC mount. Getting Items was another thing. When I got my first epic item, I was incredibly happy (I still remember which item it was). In newer expansions: Completely unexperienced kids running around in Full Epic because they did a heroic with some other kid who MIGHT had some XP in the game. I even had a full-epic off set from the stupid Triumph badges that dropped from heroics. To sum up, If you feel yourself as a beginner in MMOs, you might wanna try the newer Expansions first, but when you're tired of the no-challanges, you'll defineatly wanna try one of the Vanilla Private servers. Expand
  4. BenH.
    Jan 24, 2006
    9
    This is a well made game. Can get a little reptitive but hell thats MMORPG's for you. Only drawback that i see is the modelling. I find This is a well made game. Can get a little reptitive but hell thats MMORPG's for you. Only drawback that i see is the modelling. I find the models quite basic and quite childish. This game needs a bit of blood and a storylines that freak you out. It needs to grow up a little. Other then that its a really well made game. Expand
  5. GradC.
    Dec 22, 2009
    6
    What started off as an excellent game has in recent months gone down-hill. End goals are easily obtained through soloable means, and less What started off as an excellent game has in recent months gone down-hill. End goals are easily obtained through soloable means, and less emphasis is placed on group effort. New end game boss fights have abilities and set-up that seem recycled. I have enjoyed the game and hope it will be worth giving a 9 in the future. Expand
  6. AnthonyO.
    Feb 17, 2008
    4
    I have to say that of all RPGs out there, this may possibly be the one I hate the most. It seems to me that it takes the mindless droning of I have to say that of all RPGs out there, this may possibly be the one I hate the most. It seems to me that it takes the mindless droning of a sub-teenager to be able to sit glued to your computer screen repetitively killing the same monster over and over for hours on end to level up.... once. Also, the game's lack of depth in terms of difficulty and what I call 'intelligence requirements' are rather low, resulting in an experience that feels degrading. I must admit however, that the game has a somewhat decent look to it, and the graphics have a nice touch to them, but are still sub-par in the current world of gaming. Overall, I did not enjoy my experience with this game. Expand
  7. StevenM.
    Jun 16, 2007
    0
    Terrible, waste of time, money, and your life. Seriously the worst game ever made. Nothing original and nothing a rational minded gamer would like

See all 468 User Reviews