Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1668 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Four years have passed since the aftermath of Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, and a great tension now smolders throughout the ravaged world of Azeroth. As the battle-worn races begin to rebuild their shattered kingdoms, new threats, both ancient and ominous, arise to plague the world once again. World of Warcraft is an online role-playing experience set in the award-winning Warcraft universe. Players assume the roles of Warcraft heroes as they explore, adventure, and quest across a vast world. Being "Massively Multiplayer," World of Warcraft allows thousands of players to interact within the same world. Whether adventuring together or fighting against each other in epic battles, players will form friendships, forge alliances, and compete with enemies for power and glory. A dedicated live team will create a constant stream of new adventures to undertake, lands to explore, and monsters to vanquish. This content ensures that the game will never be the same from month to month, and will continue to offer new challenges and adventures for years to come. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    There’s always a hesitation in giving something 10 since you are essentially saying that it’s perfect but as things stand now that’s exactly what World of Warcraft deserves.
  2. Incredibly addicting... They’ve just cleaned up your standard Dungeons and Dragons style online RPG and made it super fun, extremely refined, and exceedingly accessible to gamers of all levels.
  3. Part of what makes this game so remarkable is it doesn't assume that all you have to do in your busy life is play this one game, and so it delivers a high-quality experience regardless of how much or how little time you're able to invest...A stunning achievement that will make you feel privileged to be a game player.
  4. Broadly speaking, in MMOs you hit things, then fashion things to make your hitting more effective. World of Warcraft does that better than anything else on the market at the moment. [Jan 2005, p.96]
  5. This game has kept me glued to the screen longer than any other MMORPG and that's down to the fun-factor.
  6. 90
    Like "Warcraft III" before it, World of Warcraft is less about cataclysmic evolution and more about refinement.
  7. Fix your game, Blizzard. Listen to your players, actually cater to the high end, fix bugs that need fixing, and don’t leave your playerbase hanging for months on end. Then I will give your game a higher mark.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Judging from the variety i would say 10/10 because has big content inside it. Judging from the storyline, (yes this game has a storyline) i would say 10/10. Judging from the graphics( most MMO's dont need perfect graphics) i would say 8/10 Juding this game as a social game a game that u can play with friends) i would say 9/10 About the subscription price i think is 9/10 good because this is a big game and has a lot of content and you can play with your friends have fun on PvP or PvE.

    This game got 2 planets, very good story lore .It allows the players to play with friends and the most important are challenges and competition.

    As most games, this games got its problems. PvP is not 100% balanced and its based on burst .
    Not everygame is perfect.
    Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best Mmorpg out there. It keeps me entertained for hours and I never get bored of it. The new patches and expansions always add new content to keep me playing for hours. Graphics don't look that amazing, but they were never a factor to me. WoW Ftw! Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    The time when World of Warcraft was THE MMO. It wasn't the down-booted bantha crap that is now. This was the time when the game made you actually think about tactics, professions and others. Hell, if you compare the mounts' level and prices, you should know what I mean: Vanilla: Lvl40: around 100g,normal mount. Cataclysm/WOTLK: Lvl40: less than 100g and EPIC mount. Getting Items was another thing. When I got my first epic item, I was incredibly happy (I still remember which item it was). In newer expansions: Completely unexperienced kids running around in Full Epic because they did a heroic with some other kid who MIGHT had some XP in the game. I even had a full-epic off set from the stupid Triumph badges that dropped from heroics. To sum up, If you feel yourself as a beginner in MMOs, you might wanna try the newer Expansions first, but when you're tired of the no-challanges, you'll defineatly wanna try one of the Vanilla Private servers. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2013
    8
    I made an account just so i could summarise something here:

    1) The game does not require grinding to level up,I agree the system for
    leveling could be improved but there is no grinding i assure you

    2)People who say minecraft graphics are better have clearly not played world of warcraft

    3)The sound-track is not brilliant sadly =(

    4)The game has an immersive story which at first may be difficult to understand however by reading the quest logs you may begin to understand the story

    5) The game does have a subscription fee but i believe the price is adequate

    6) Sadly but recently all servers have been having lag (Probably because of the sheer amount of players)

    Overall: I would reccomend the game to somebody who is not new to the mmo genre as it can be complicated to play at higher levels requiring exact keystrokes or failure awaits :p
    Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    I've been playing World of Warcraft on and off since it was released. Initially, I found it incredibly boring after getting to level 20. It's slowly grown on me through the years, and I suspect it has to do with my patience and the Blizzard developers getting better at making MMOs more accessible. Normally, I'm against "accessibilty" for a larger audience, but this is one of the few times I think accessibility actually makes the game better.

    Quests, especially those released with Cataclysm are less focused on gathering this or killing ten of that, but doing actual interesting things. Another aspect that has made the game better by far is friends. When I first started I didn't talk to anyone or try to join any guilds, but when I started again a year ago I did with my girlfriend who has friend that play WoW. I have to say playing with other people increases the entertainment value by a lot. All in all I can say that World of Warcraft is a very solid game and while not my favorite, I will eventually pick it up again when I have the time and I will enjoy it.
    Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    Great fun to play with friends, still the most playable and responsive mmo i have experienced. Do not get sucked into the end game content unless you enjoy not having a life outside of azeroth. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    no...just no. this game was good (in 2003) and deserved the high subscription fees because of lack of technology propelling the internet. Most people ran on dialup! moden days, everyone is basically unlimited and now it is very cheap to keep servers up, but blizzard continues to charge full price on subscription on this abomonation of a game. play any other mmo for a good time, especially gw2 (no subscription fees) Expand

See all 444 User Reviews