Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The new features in FM07 enhance its already superior gameplay and maintain its healthy lead over its competitors.
  2. 92
    This is a game that becomes a part of your life in a way that only the very very best games can do.
  3. Almost boringly brilliant... Feature-rich and endlessly absorbing - but where is there to go from here? [Dec 2006, p.98]
  4. If you want a game that lets you take a club to glorious heights or just go on a one-man sabotage mission to ruin Manchester United, then this is by far the most refined, in-depth and yet most approachable version Sports Interactive has come up with to date.
  5. They’ve taken what’s essentially a big database and made it come alive in ways you’d never imagine, and you’ve got to give them credit for that.
  6. When you've got a series that already has such a high level of quality, the real skill lies in not changing all those things that work perfectly well and ensuring that the adjustments and additions you do make improve on what has come before. In both these regards Football Manager 2007 can be considered a success.
  7. Thankfully, what we got is new layers of depth that, while not revolutionising the series, have made this year's game a more accurate and more immersive managerial experience.
  8. Engaging and absorbing. Prepare to lose yourself again. [Dec 2006, p.106]
  9. I did briefly forego free food and beer and the attention of 20 teenage models dressed a refugees in an attempt to arrest the slide, putting together a four-match unbeaten run. [Christmas 2006, p.68]
  10. If you like taking notes on graph paper, then this game is for you. If you have more than 2 teams in fantasy soccer leagues on the Internet, then this game is for you too.
  11. FM 2007 remains a blinding mass of statistics at first sight, but they yield an intoxicating world of heartbreaking injuries, transfer coups, heroic defeats and the pursuit of glory. In short, it's football. No other game comes close. [Dec 2006, p.104]
  12. Sports Interactive's best game to date combines stability and variety in a truly immersive football experience.
  13. Quite simply, there’s no alternative. [Dec 2006, p.118]
  14. Sports Interactive once again overcome any initial scepticism with a multitude of little touches and new introductions combined to make Football Manager 2007 an essential update - just that little bit better then before.
  15. 80
    Very well-executed football management sim catering to the business-minded group of the fans. Anyone not after crunching numbers and statistics should steer clear.
  16. The best manager game ever but it is also full of bugs, misinformation and problems with the economic model. Interaction with players and other minor flaws are getting more serious every year. And Finnish league cup at the middle of February is played outside with over 6000 spectators? Give me a break! [Dec 2006]
  17. WSM2007 offers a staggering amount of gameplay which serves to be the game's biggest selling point and potential downfall, as the sheer volume of depth will not accommodative gamers who have little patience.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. J.S.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Not only the best football management game or sports management game, but the best strategy game period.
  2. MarkR.
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    For some reason this version has kept me hooked the longest. brilliant game.
  3. IlieF.
    Jan 13, 2007
    2
    I am very very very dissapointed about this version and I am talking about the new generation of youngsters...come on, i see only players with acceleration and pace under 10 especially on positions which are requiring speed like full backs or right / left midfielders. Usually when a young player impress his manager it do it with his pace,acceleration or technique ( Messi ). How come that you give players natural positions attacking midfielder right and midfielder right is only accomplished when in reality everybody knows that attacking midfielder right is a derivate from the natural position of midfielder right? The same thing is available for full-backs but they are naturally like wing-backs...come on..Marcelo, Eduardo Ratinho are the best examples for that, they are playing in reality as full backs and not like wing backs.I.Please , next time be careful who will test the game for you because who did that have no idea about football positions and players ability and skills.And please in the next patch make the necessary corrections. One major problem is that in all this world I can't find a central defender of 20-21 years old with acceleration 14 , pace 14 who use his left foot...not to mention about full backs , I mean they are a lot of full backs but where are their speed? I remember about the central midfielders...I think a player who play as a defensive midfielder could play as well as central midfielder but you rated again those positions. That's all for now, for help you can contact me on my mail list. Bye Bye. Full Review »