Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Worms Clan Wars is probably the best entry in the long lasting franchise, both visually and gameplay wise. The clan system might work or not in the long terms but it still adds depth to a stellar multiplayer mode, joined by a good amount of single player content.
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    85
    If Revolution was the best that Worms had ever been -- and it was, because I said it was last year -- then Clan Wars is now the definitive version.
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    The campaign, although it features very steep learning curve, proves to be enjoyable for those who are looking for a really high level of challenge, and the multiplayer segment aims to create a community able to keep the title alive for some time.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Worms Clan Wars is to Worms Revolution, what Worms World Party was to Worms Armageddon - a bigger, better version of the game. The new Worms is a game focused on online gameplay, but it can easily provide lots of fun for the lovers of classic hot seat gaming (and single player mode fans will find lots to do as well). Clan Wars isn't as great as the best installments in the series, but undoubtedly is a really cool little game.
  5. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    It still has the soul of the series, and that's everything we ask for. On the top of that, online modes offer that extra fun you may need.
  6. 80
    Clan Wars is a worthy entry in the series, but even then, it’s good to hear that Team 17 is leaving the series alone for a while to work on something new.
  7. 80
    The excellent Clan eSport-style multiplayer, Steam Workshop support, Story Mode, and hilarious water system are all reasons to buy Worms: Clan Wars. It can honestly lay claim to being the new definitive Worms game on PC, despite the mangling of the Ninja Rope.
  8. Aug 28, 2013
    79
    The turn based mayhem is classic Worms entertainment as you know it for almost 18 years. Add to that some clan functions and you have a well rounded package.
  9. Aug 15, 2013
    78
    Fans of Worms will find enough new here to keep things fresh while newcomers can have plenty of fun too.
  10. Aug 15, 2013
    75
    Regardless of how you prefer to play Worms, the potential of this drive for e-sports recognition is sure to add months, if not years, to the longevity of the game's popularity. I, for one, will definitely be adding my roster of worms to the virtual soup of manic mayhem that is Worms: Clan Wars.
  11. Aug 29, 2013
    70
    Whilst another sturdy entry in the series, and Clan Wars will be the quintessential Worms game for the near future, we're thankful for Team 17 taking a break from the series.
  12. Aug 15, 2013
    70
    Worms: Clan Wars is a fine game and, aside from the odd physics bugs here and there, it puts the series back on track after some unfortunate deviations. But it’s essentially the same game from circa 1999, with a moderate graphical overall and a few new weapons.
  13. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    Probably the best game in the long history of the franchise, Clan Wars nonetheless hews close to a formula that was almost perfected long ago. A dull and frustrating singleplayer mode aside, it offers little more than clan and Steam Workshop support to those who own Revolution. For others, however, it's well worth a look.
  14. Sep 10, 2013
    60
    As with earlier Worms games Worms Clan Wars is at its best when you play it with others. Alone the computer controlled players are way too slow and stupid to make things interesting. The campaign makes an alright introduction to the games new mechanics and elements, but as with older titles the games lifespan is a bit too much in the hands of its online community.
  15. Aug 25, 2013
    60
    Worms Clan Wars is boring and repetitive. Though, the game still has its charm with its humor and the Play, Create, Share principle.
  16. Aug 9, 2013
    60
    I like the game overall, but it tends to grow a bit tired after a few missions from the story.
  17. Oct 7, 2013
    50
    Worms Revolution was a flawed, but promising game. Alas, Clan Wars fails to deliver on that promise.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    They did a great job so far, im not sure how other people can review the game and give it a zero when they have never even played it lol. Well im enjoying the new maps with items. Great game! Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    7
    Is this game heavier than Revolution or something? Explosions lag my computer and so does physical water when it is moving. Worms Revolution runs great, BF3 runs great and other 60 games that I have run great on my computer but this game lags when something happens.

    Customizing your worms is slow and pain in the just like it was in Revolution but at least it has a few cool new weapons. You can also create new teams (No more "Clone of Tulipunahapero's team") I was hoping a fun Worms game that my sister's kids could play but unless they make the game run better, I will regret buying this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    Again they locked the FPS to 30fps or at least they designed the animation to not run with more than 30fps resulting in a rather sluggish gameplay even if you run it at 100 fps it will feel slow.

    I say again because they did the same in Worms: Revolution and they never changed or patched it because they can't, they would have to rebuild the engine and animations, and they are not going to do that.

    This along the major problems with the netcode resulting in a very unpleasant multiplayer experience and general performance people with very good PC's running at 10 fps is too much.

    Not buying this one, again.
    Full Review »