• Publisher: Team 17
  • Release Date: Aug 26, 2010
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 173

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    when I played the 1st worms I always thought that they needed more weapons in the game, but when i found worms reloaded with new weapon load outs i bought it on the spot now i play it every day i would recommend this game to everybody i saw!
    BUY THE GAME
  2. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    okay so its not as good as worms armageddon, but that doesn't make it bad. if you have a bro to play with online you can have alot of fun with this game. i will the ai is pretty awful. they throw grenades wih 100% precision....and thats just ridicules. the rest of the single player aspect of the game is pretty meh. buy this one for the multiplayer
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    6
    I was a huge fan of Worms from back almost 10 years ago, this game brought back many good memories. I bought the complete Reloaded + DLC for cheap on sale through Steam, I think it was worth the money just to have even as a collectors game (even if it is digital licensing). The AI can be quite dumb sometimes, often taking themselves or a teammate out, but then again I've done that quiteI was a huge fan of Worms from back almost 10 years ago, this game brought back many good memories. I bought the complete Reloaded + DLC for cheap on sale through Steam, I think it was worth the money just to have even as a collectors game (even if it is digital licensing). The AI can be quite dumb sometimes, often taking themselves or a teammate out, but then again I've done that quite some times too. It's good to know they are prone to errors, and you're not up against a series of perfect shots to avoid defeat. However, beware of any form of grenade or denonating device, they NEVER miss!! Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    This game is NOT bad. It's definitely not perfect either, and in fact, it has a lot of flaws. THE GOOD: There are some really nice additions to the gameplay: dynamic water, physics, worm classes and some new weapons. The single player campaign is also very lengthy, having a deathmatch branch and a puzzle branch, each one with more than 30 missions. The online multiplayer is where the realThis game is NOT bad. It's definitely not perfect either, and in fact, it has a lot of flaws. THE GOOD: There are some really nice additions to the gameplay: dynamic water, physics, worm classes and some new weapons. The single player campaign is also very lengthy, having a deathmatch branch and a puzzle branch, each one with more than 30 missions. The online multiplayer is where the real fun is, obviously. There are three modes: Deathmatch (all vs. all or in teams), Forts (team 1 vs. team 2, each one in its own fort), and Classic (No worm classes, no dynamic water, no physics... for the worm series purists).

    THE BAD:

    The level editor is atrocious. It's completely worthless and it doesn't really let you do anything good.
    The game has some bugs. For some people, the game doesn't even start. For others, worms suddenly become invisible. There have been other minor bugs reported, as well, but mentioning all of them here is impossible.
    There's a lot of content lacking from Armaggedon. Why? No one knows. There's really no logical explanation as to why they would cut content out from older games in a newer game.
    The performance is also quite bad. The game feels laggy and sluggish.
    Finally, there's only 4 landscape themes, and eventhough there's gonna be 3 more coming in form of DLCs in the next months, it still is a bit boring.

    OVERALL:

    This game is overall really solid and fun. The worms spirit is intact and if you like the series, you'll have a blast with this, AS LONG AS you don't run into any bugs and can run the game okay.
    Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2011
    8
    It's a worms game. Not much different from Armageddon. Weapons are more balanced, so you use more of your arsenal than in previous installments. For instance, homing missiles aren't as accurate, grenades are more accurate, grenades do less damage than dynamite, etc. There's a definite tool for different circumstances.

    Physics are a little more casual-friendly: Grenades don't roll as far
    It's a worms game. Not much different from Armageddon. Weapons are more balanced, so you use more of your arsenal than in previous installments. For instance, homing missiles aren't as accurate, grenades are more accurate, grenades do less damage than dynamite, etc. There's a definite tool for different circumstances.

    Physics are a little more casual-friendly: Grenades don't roll as far and such. I play locally only, but me and my kids aged 5 & 8 have a blast with it. The landscape editor isn't exactly robust, but it's easy to use and fun to tinker with.
    Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2010
    0
    Game mechanics resemble more the original Worms (1995) than intended Armageddon. No back jump, no upward jump... WTF? Weapon inventory lacks some of the essential items (Worm selector, bungee, cows...). Most of the new weapons are pointless addition or merely lousy variation of old ones that didn't make their way into this game. Usage of Ninja Rope appeas unruly. Usefulness of Girders isGame mechanics resemble more the original Worms (1995) than intended Armageddon. No back jump, no upward jump... WTF? Weapon inventory lacks some of the essential items (Worm selector, bungee, cows...). Most of the new weapons are pointless addition or merely lousy variation of old ones that didn't make their way into this game. Usage of Ninja Rope appeas unruly. Usefulness of Girders is greatly reduced. Physics suck big time and graphics are, by all means, no better than in previous installments (In fact, they seem even worse). 3D fires and explosions are rather confusing, screen is annoyingly shaky during booms and everything appears to be so small! Whole game is nothing but big S..T wrapped in a shiny paper and it's not even worth a try. A major step back in a Worms franchise. No patch will ever fi that Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2010
    2
    When I first installed this I was thrilled. The graphics seemed fun enough and the tutorial played like I was about to play an interesting enough game, despite many things not quite making sense or working how I would think. It'll grow on me, right? Nope. As I got further into the campaign I found myself calling the game stupid out loud... something I haven't done since I was a teenager.When I first installed this I was thrilled. The graphics seemed fun enough and the tutorial played like I was about to play an interesting enough game, despite many things not quite making sense or working how I would think. It'll grow on me, right? Nope. As I got further into the campaign I found myself calling the game stupid out loud... something I haven't done since I was a teenager. The enemy AI knows the perfect trajectory to hit you right in the face with a grenade the moment it is set to explode. It is so frustrating to attempt a fun trick only to have the enemy do some amazing ricochet off a microscopic/invisible piece ofland, off the bodies of 3 other enemies, and bounce up perfectly into your hiding spot. Meanwhile, half the time I found myself dropping grenades in front of me on accident because the controls have been made so basic that many keys/buttons share the same function. I think the NES controller has more buttons available than this game makes use of. Fire, menu selection, and rotate building pieces are all the same button and you can not change that in the slim options menu. By the way, don't expect great graphics, even if other 2D sidescroller games have looked amazing recently. They're outdated at best. I usually don't worry myself with graphics, but why make a 2D game in 2010 that doesn't look or play better than something made a decade ago? Expand
  8. Aug 26, 2010
    7
    This game is not finished. As much as i love worms this was a letdown, I would recommend to hold on to your money, wait until features like U.I., online lag, voice chat, text chat, speed of rounds and so on have been fixed.

    Team 17, fix this game, you know you can, and it would be the best if we got a game we could wholeheartedly recommend to our many friends, don't hesitate.
  9. Aug 29, 2010
    4
    I've been a fan of the worms games since the original, so when I heard about this game, I was really excited. Team17 had really dropped the ball after worms world party, when they decided to go 3d, so I was excited to see that they seemed to be going back to their roots.
    The first thing that struck me upon starting up the game was the menu. Everything looked huge, so I actually checked to
    I've been a fan of the worms games since the original, so when I heard about this game, I was really excited. Team17 had really dropped the ball after worms world party, when they decided to go 3d, so I was excited to see that they seemed to be going back to their roots.
    The first thing that struck me upon starting up the game was the menu. Everything looked huge, so I actually checked to see if the screen resolution had changed to 640x480 or something. Nope, that's just the way its supposed to look. It was rather annoying trying to create a team, because you can only see one thing at a time. What I mean is, if you want to select a hat for your worms to wear, you have to scroll through each one individually. You cant look at them all at once, or even see a full LIST of them. Same with everything from the gravestones to the soundbanks. I proceeded to play through the entire single player campaign in a few hours. The missions themselves were nothing impressive. Just a collection of increasingly difficult deathmathes interspersed with some simple puzzles. I was glad to see that the graphics and animation were much improved from the old games, but the gameplay didn't feel anything like what I remembered from the games I played 10 years ago. Many of my favorite weapons were nowhere to be found. Much of the depth from the old weapons is gone. For instance, you can no longer set grenades to have a high bounce or low bounce. Girders can no longer have their length doubled. The ninja rope has been nerfed into oblivion. While you used to be able to go up and over things with it, now you can only expect to swing along from the ceiling. Controls for certain things felt weird. For instance, the homing missile. When you have it selected, the arrow keys will no longer move your worm. Instead, they move the cursor so you can choose where the homing missile should go. But isn't that what we have a mouse for? Another huge annoyance is that when your turn comes up, everything freezes either until 5 seconds has elapsed, or until you press a button (and left clicking the mouse doesn't work). Usually, you might want to take a look around the playing field during this time, but you can't do that until you press a button to start your turn.

    At this point, I started to feel like nostalgia was getting the better of me. Nothing felt as good as the game that I remembered. But were the old games really all that good to begin with? Often when I go back and play old games, I realize that they kinda suck by today's standards. So if I just played one of the old worms games so I could see how badly it stood the test of time, maybe I would be able to appreciate this new version a little more.
    So, I managed to find my old Worms Armageddon cd, and proceeded to install it (yes, it works on windows 7, but you need some patches). I expected to be betrayed by my memories, but instead I found that the gameplay was every bit as fun and entertaining now as it was 10 years ago. The missions were much more creative and engaging. The training mode was much deeper, the weapon selection was HUGE, and the ninja rope behaved exactly how I expected it to. On top of that, the amount of options and customizations were overwhelming. I quickly found myself completely immersed in an 11 year old game, with absolutely no desire to play its newer sibling anymore.

    I wasn't able to REALLY appreciate how bad worms: reloaded was until I had a chance to directly compare it to the game which is was supposed to replace. I can objectively say that in just about every area except graphics, the 11 year old Worms Armageddon was a much better game. It had better physics, more weapons, better missions, better training mode, TONS more options, a better interface, and can you believe it still have a thriving internet community?!

    So my advice is to skip worms:reloaded, and pick up a copy of worms: armageddon. You really wont regret it.
    Expand
  10. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    Only for PC, this all new fun and addicting addition to the series has you playing for hours and hours. With nice graphics and clever level designs, the game is a MUST HAVE for Worms fans. Especially if you really like Worms: Armageddon. The game is very similar and has a very high replay value. Especially when you have friends. Featuring online voice chat, this game is sure to satisfyOnly for PC, this all new fun and addicting addition to the series has you playing for hours and hours. With nice graphics and clever level designs, the game is a MUST HAVE for Worms fans. Especially if you really like Worms: Armageddon. The game is very similar and has a very high replay value. Especially when you have friends. Featuring online voice chat, this game is sure to satisfy when your playing with others. Single player campaign mode is also very enjoyable. With harder and harder levels as you progress, "solo mode" will also satisfy. Although the game is truly remarkable, it does have It's very little flaws. This game gets a 9 from me. Expand
  11. Sep 2, 2010
    2
    When I read reviews like this http://www.gamezebo.com/download-games/worms-reloaded/review, I find it difficult to believe that other professional reviewers actually played the game. Or rather, tried to. It gets worse, the demo kept freezing on me. And the limitations! Only 4 worms?

    It could have been so good. But it simply doesn't work. So I won't be buying until the game is properly
    When I read reviews like this http://www.gamezebo.com/download-games/worms-reloaded/review, I find it difficult to believe that other professional reviewers actually played the game. Or rather, tried to. It gets worse, the demo kept freezing on me. And the limitations! Only 4 worms?

    It could have been so good. But it simply doesn't work. So I won't be buying until the game is properly patched. Until then, I'll continue having a blast with Worms Armageddon.
    Expand
  12. Aug 26, 2010
    2
    I've been a die-hard Worms fan since the first one. And i was really looking forward to this one. But this is not the updated Worms Armageddon everyone was waiting for. This is a PC port of the lousy xbla and psn version. The controls are sketchy, the physics awfully off and simplistic, and the HUD looks like a placeholder for beta testing. A blue box with yellow text. That's it, nothingI've been a die-hard Worms fan since the first one. And i was really looking forward to this one. But this is not the updated Worms Armageddon everyone was waiting for. This is a PC port of the lousy xbla and psn version. The controls are sketchy, the physics awfully off and simplistic, and the HUD looks like a placeholder for beta testing. A blue box with yellow text. That's it, nothing more, nothing less, extremely boring. All customisation options are gone, except which hats you fancy on your Worms, and their voice. Seriously ?

    Basically, it's like a cheap rip-off of Worms Armageddon. Everything is off or don't feel right. The AI is terrible. Last time i played, the computer managed to kill ALL HIS WORMS in one single shot. And my Worms weren't even near. I think he wanted to end his misery.

    My advice ? if you still have windows xp, find yourself a copy of Worms World Party, which still run on almost every computer flawlessly.
    Expand
  13. Sep 3, 2010
    0
    why didn't i read the user reviews before buying this game?
    because i'm trusting.
    A back to basics worms game? who could mess that up? Worms was famously made by one dude in his bedroom, it was simple and good. Worms reloaded is hateful. How did that happen? I'm struggling to say something positive, the landscape editor is pretty good. That's it. Everything else is woeful. Do not give
    why didn't i read the user reviews before buying this game?
    because i'm trusting.
    A back to basics worms game? who could mess that up?
    Worms was famously made by one dude in his bedroom, it was simple and good.
    Worms reloaded is hateful. How did that happen?
    I'm struggling to say something positive,
    the landscape editor is pretty good.
    That's it.
    Everything else is woeful.
    Do not give these people your money,
    they will shoot your little wormy dreams.
    Expand
  14. Sep 20, 2010
    3
    It's a good game if you've a partner to play it with, in this case my score is 8/10.
    Otherwise: Online community is deserted in some moments of the day, and the AI is dumb or a genius, so it's not that fun.
  15. Jul 25, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. THIS IS THE WORST WORM PORT EVER RELEASED. The game reviewers responsible for the critic's score were likely paid or had work-related incentive not to be honest about this port of Worms. I will list the problems with this port, so that users familiar with every Worms game can understand very simply what went wrong:

    1) The game's user interface is extremely awkward
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. THIS IS THE WORST WORM PORT EVER RELEASED. The game reviewers responsible for the critic's score were likely paid or had work-related incentive not to be honest about this port of Worms. I will list the problems with this port, so that users familiar with every Worms game can understand very simply what went wrong:

    1) The game's user interface is extremely awkward and time consuming. It takes forever to create teams and create games compared to Worms World Party and Armageddon. The weapon selection during the game is very awkward, as weapons are not well organized, especially compared to Armageddon. The level creation is an astonishing step back from Armageddon. To put it plainly, in Armageddon you could see everything you were doing in setting up the game on ONE SCREEN. In Reloaded, you have to go through 5-6 screens, setting up the match in different steps. You also don't get a list of teams; you scroll through them sideways, which is the most perplexing, terrible and inane decision possible by the design team. It defies logic. It's lazy, poor design by Team 17. Just embarrassing in every possible way.

    2) The game physics have changed for the worse. Weapons that are used to knock worms off of ledges have had their effectiveness reduced to almost nothing. Baseball bats, dragon balls, fire punches and other melee weapons are extremely ineffective. Worms also cannot fling themselves acrobatically using jet packs that are running out and ninja ropes, meaning that escape after placing a weapon in a dangerous place is practically impossible. As a result, the game playstyle is MUCH slower. It's more of a slugfest than a fast-paced, accuracy-based game. 3) The computer AI is terrible (I don't play with computers very often, but this is still disappointing). The computer no longer simulates a very good player that hits every shot. Instead, the computer is also able to hit worms with 100% accuracy AND have them fly at the angle they need to fall off the map 100% of the time. At lower AI levels, the computer mimics total incompetence, and then getting a crack shot off one out of every 10 shots.

    4) Collateral damage from mines, barrels and crates have been reduced. I *think* you can still change this in the game settings (I'm not sure, as I've had a hard time figuring what options I haven't unlocked and what options are not in the game at all), but explosives in general are less effective. Intelligent placement of high-powered weapons (such as placing a banana bomb directly under an enemy worm on an incline in a nook or cave) no longer has devastating effects. Nor does hitting someone with multiple barrels. In general, regular and mid-grade weapons have less effect, thus making super weapons more important.

    5) You have to unlock most options, without knowing what you'll able to adjust. This is a "to be continued" part of my review (I won't review this game again, but you get my meaning), but you just had a lot more available in Armageddon, or even Worms 2, when you started the game. So many weapons and settings need to be unlocked, it would be cool except...

    6) The single player campaign is hilariously bad. What the frak? At a loss for words. The physics changes make the campaign much harder, which makes opening the game options even more infuriating.

    All this doesn't cover all the stuff missing from Armageddon. Team 17 and Steam are stealing your money further by releasing packs and making the gameplay a la carte. It's sad because Worms is one of the best video game series ever, and the direct descendant of Scorched Earth. This port is tragically bad, and you're far, far better off busting out your copy of Armageddon. Armageddon is, by far, the best Worms of the series, and there's no reason to abandon your Armageddon for this truly hideous port of Worms.
    Expand
  16. Jul 28, 2013
    4
    I had a hard time getting used to this game and I can't say I did. Campaign is a stereotype. Zero funky and interesting levels, just "kill all enemies". Game menu is a total failure. It's navigation, design and decomposition.

    Zero (even negative) upgrades from old 2D worms. Seriously, this game is only good when you want to have fun time with friends (I highly recommend controller for
    I had a hard time getting used to this game and I can't say I did. Campaign is a stereotype. Zero funky and interesting levels, just "kill all enemies". Game menu is a total failure. It's navigation, design and decomposition.

    Zero (even negative) upgrades from old 2D worms. Seriously, this game is only good when you want to have fun time with friends (I highly recommend controller for such session). Apart from this, the game is just a huge sack of disappointment.
    Expand
  17. Aug 26, 2010
    5
    I really looked forward to play the new Worms, as the trailers were amazing and I expected a fresh, nice looking, improved Worms Armageddon with an overworked multiplayer experience. So, I pre-purchased the game on Steam, waited for the release timer to hit zero and then immediately downloaded. And what I got was... a game, which does not look finished yet, and is not what I expected. LetI really looked forward to play the new Worms, as the trailers were amazing and I expected a fresh, nice looking, improved Worms Armageddon with an overworked multiplayer experience. So, I pre-purchased the game on Steam, waited for the release timer to hit zero and then immediately downloaded. And what I got was... a game, which does not look finished yet, and is not what I expected. Let me explain.

    At first, the menu. I am not a fan of the new style (which was introduced with Worms 3D), but that is not, what really annoys me with the main menu. It is just every menu point listed under the other, without any pictures or structure - really annoying. I miss the old Worms Armageddon navigation, it was awesome. The next is the tutorial, which is nothing to say about, but it let me get to know the new gameplay and the new ingame look. In both issues, old things were changed senseless and I get the feeling that Team17 does not know what was nice and fun at Worms Armageddon and randomly changed things or built a whole new game, which differs MUCH from the old Worms. The look does not appear fresh and "HD" to me - it looks like an unfinished beta of what Worms Reloaded could have become. The good old comic look was changed to a new style with comic worms mixed with realistic-like fire and annoying 3D backgrounds. The life counter look terrible, the projectiles are much too small, but the confusing explosions are most terrible. Every explosion shakes the screen and has a HUGE animation, although the real impact (damage and terrain destruction) is just the burst of a little mine. The inventory is now full screen and not any longer reachable with the F-keys - another random change with a lame result. The only good addition that kept in my mind is the new zoom function, which is really helpful.

    Maybe I could become accustomed with the new look, but the gameplay messes everything up. The whole physics engine has been written new and nothing behaves as you know it. The aiming sucks, the bazooka not only looks awful but also is not any longer comparable to the old bazooka from Worms Armageddon. The ninja rope sucks big times, as it feels more like the bungee rope, the balancing from all weapons is totally new, you cannot examine the amount of damage the new weapons deal due to the fact that EVERY explosion looks like the holy grenade. The AI of the bots is not balanced too, in one move the computer fires the bazooka right into his teammates, in the next he makes unbelievable aimshots over the whole map and destroys your whole team with it. This is not what was promised on the store page.

    The singleplayer missions are really lame and dissapointing, nearly the same every mission. The other singleplayer challenges are bad structured and not very funny - they were much better in Worms Armageddon, with medals and records, but here everything you get is a lame point score. The good thing is, you can compare this blank score to results of other Worms players all over the world in a new ranking.

    I could go on and criticise a lot more details in this game (e.g. sound), but I think you see were this is going. I am a huge fan of the old-fashioned Worms, but this new Worms is not what i expected. Everyone who has spent hours with hot-seat games (I think Worms is maybe the best hot-seat game ever) on your couch with friends in Worms Armageddon should stay with this and not buy Worms Reloaded. In Worms Armageddon everything feels better, looks better and is solved better than in this remake (except the improved internet mode). Maybe I should not have expected a overworked and improved Worms Armageddon suited for online play. Maybe my fault. For all who are new to Worms, save the money and play Worms Armageddon, although i am not saying that you could have fun with this new worms.
    Expand
  18. Aug 30, 2010
    5
    Feels like a huge step backwards. The only major gameplay effecting problem is that match creation is overly simplified. For example, you can no longer tweak weapon damage/blast radii, you can't create games where worms are locked in place, and team sizes are locked at 4. The other issues are all UI, I have a suspicion it was meant for the Ipad version, and for the most part doesn't giveFeels like a huge step backwards. The only major gameplay effecting problem is that match creation is overly simplified. For example, you can no longer tweak weapon damage/blast radii, you can't create games where worms are locked in place, and team sizes are locked at 4. The other issues are all UI, I have a suspicion it was meant for the Ipad version, and for the most part doesn't give enough useful info. The game was built for a touch screen and is really only capable of doing one thing at a time, getting all the information you need at once is downright impossible. Another problem is that these worms have worst animations and the least charm I've seen in a recent offering. Also, only the classic voice packs are any good, The all new ones kind of suck. It's still a worms game though, and this new offering seems to be pretty upgradeable, so it's up to Team 17 to offer some post-release support. Expand
  19. Aug 31, 2010
    7
    I have only heard good things about the Worms series, so as you can imagine, I was pretty excited to play this one. SO I got it the first day it came out on Steam, and at first had an audio problem. After seeing if others had this problem, I found out that I simply needed to update DirectX. So I start playing the game, having fun, playing the campaign and all. Now either I am the worstI have only heard good things about the Worms series, so as you can imagine, I was pretty excited to play this one. SO I got it the first day it came out on Steam, and at first had an audio problem. After seeing if others had this problem, I found out that I simply needed to update DirectX. So I start playing the game, having fun, playing the campaign and all. Now either I am the worst Worms player ever, or they made that campaign damn hard. The enemies just never miss, unless the shot is physically impossible. Now I can understand a hard game, the reason I gave it a 7/10 is the controls. I don't know if its just me but they feel just terrible to me. I switched them up a bit to make them better, but I have no idea why I wouldn't be allowed to use the mouse to aim. The jet pack has some pretty weird controls too, You use jump to drop a weapon, just the whole thing feels awkward. And don't even get me started on the ninja rope. I can't beat campaign because they force you to use the thing to beat missions, but I just can't do it. I don't know if there is some secret tutorial in the game that tells you how you ACTUALLY use the thing or what. Speaking of them, the tutorials provide you with little help, they could have added more, but I guess not. In the end I'd say it was a fun but difficult game, but with awkward controlling. I'm sure multilayer is player is quite fun, and that kept it from being a 6/10. I haven't played any of the precious installments of the game, so I didn't have as big of a letdown as others, but if I get even more specific, I'd give it a 66/100. Fun game, but from what I understand, previous games in the series are better. Expand
  20. Sep 5, 2010
    9
    This is a must own for any serious gamer. Clearly a great game to add into any evenings rotation. I get such joy when I cause big holes in the map killing all my prey. Who doesn't love sending a sheep on its way to lay waste to some nub. Overall not much new but its nice to have a newer version of worms and for the price there asking who cares its pocket change to a great gaming companyThis is a must own for any serious gamer. Clearly a great game to add into any evenings rotation. I get such joy when I cause big holes in the map killing all my prey. Who doesn't love sending a sheep on its way to lay waste to some nub. Overall not much new but its nice to have a newer version of worms and for the price there asking who cares its pocket change to a great gaming company who at least had the sense not to ruin a great 2d game Expand
  21. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    I loved Worms: Armageddon, so you can imagine my surprise when Reloaded hit Steam. All the joys of Armageddon with updated graphics and new weapons? Sign me up, I said! Unfortunately, this game isn't all it's cracked up to be, and is best described as "one step forward, one step backwards".

    Now, I'm no game designer, but IMHO, a sequel should at least try to include what was in the
    I loved Worms: Armageddon, so you can imagine my surprise when Reloaded hit Steam. All the joys of Armageddon with updated graphics and new weapons? Sign me up, I said! Unfortunately, this game isn't all it's cracked up to be, and is best described as "one step forward, one step backwards".

    Now, I'm no game designer, but IMHO, a sequel should at least try to include what was in the original before adding new content. Sure, now your worms can wear hats, and there are new gravestones and the like, but half the weapons and options from Armageddon are gone! I guess you could argue that many of them were redundant and very situational, but hey, I miss the variety that most new games seem to lack.

    My biggest complaint, though, is the campaign. It's rare that a game can actually showcase the developer's disinterest in it, but Reloaded manages to pull it off. There are a few "themes" you hop between, and the only story you get is "Welp, here's X theme, kill all the worms, or whatever". Then you get to complete "puzzles" that require all of three brain cells to figure out. They included some of the classic campaign missions too. You know, the ones that actually required strategy and skill to beat? Yeah, they're back, if not as a reminder that there was a time when video games were actually challenging, which brings me to my next point:

    The AI is, as a famous game reviewer once said, pants-on-head retarded. Occasionally, it'll manage to pull off some crazy ninja skillz and bean you from across the map with a well-timed grenade, but most of the time you can only sit there and feel bad for it as it shoots a bazooka into a wall at point-blank range. Don't be fooled by the blurb on Steam, the AI only has one setting: imbecile.

    Other than that the game is fairly decent and plays well. I hope Team 17 continues to update and support Reloaded, because I think it has the potential to be a faithful continuation of the old Worms games.
    Expand
  22. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    The advertising is misleading. It states that all weapons and content from every wormgame is included, which obviously isn't. The first 6 weeks the game was unplayable because of multiplayer bugs. It still doesn't run on many win7 64b computers for no obvious reason. The game is exacly the same as 10 years ago, with one layer of extra polish on it.
  23. Aug 29, 2011
    0
    As a fan of the original I was thrilled to play Worms Reloaded! Allthough after a few moments I discovered that it is no longer possible to team up with a human player against AI players. What the Hell? This was one of the most awesome features of Worms since Worms 2! I agree that this version has made backward progress. It is very sad to see, I would not recommend this game to my friends.
  24. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    You could almost mistake Worms Reloaded for one its 20th century ancestors, if it weren't for the myriad of bugs... Creating a multiplayer game is especially difficult.
  25. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    A new, refurbished Worms in 2D. That alone would grant a 10 out of 10 ;). It's really nice to see the good old gameplay return, playable on modern systems, with a lot of nice graphics and animation. A very round package.

    There are a few small downsides. i.e. you can only play with a maximum of 4 Worms, but as already explained, 4 worms make the most sense. It provides the most "tight"
    A new, refurbished Worms in 2D. That alone would grant a 10 out of 10 ;). It's really nice to see the good old gameplay return, playable on modern systems, with a lot of nice graphics and animation. A very round package.

    There are a few small downsides. i.e. you can only play with a maximum of 4 Worms, but as already explained, 4 worms make the most sense. It provides the most "tight" gameplay experience. Local multiplayer is also available, however in online/network multiplayer, you are not able to play with more than 1 team on 1 computer.

    While the single player experience is mostly flawless, there are a few problems in multiplayer though. There are some small, annoying bugs and glitches and a few really annoying, even game breaking ones. Hopefully Team17 will be able to iron them all out.
    Expand
  26. Sep 1, 2010
    9
    It's hard to compare this to games that are out at this time, but Worms continues its nostalgic familiarity and quirky gameplay. If you have played any of the previous titles than this is a must own. The multiplayer is great but I want to have more than 4 Worms in one match.
  27. Dec 28, 2011
    4
    I'm quite a fan of the Worms series and bought this game on release. I played it for a while, it's fun and really good for playing with friends (especially when they're in the same room or you talk via voice-chatting), but it's quite hard to play because of all the bugs, which Team 17 doesn't care about anymore.
    You have to run the game on one core, to fix the terrible lag, and even after
    I'm quite a fan of the Worms series and bought this game on release. I played it for a while, it's fun and really good for playing with friends (especially when they're in the same room or you talk via voice-chatting), but it's quite hard to play because of all the bugs, which Team 17 doesn't care about anymore.
    You have to run the game on one core, to fix the terrible lag, and even after fixing this, the screen freezes after every click in the menu and every turn in the game. (I'm using an AMD graphics card, but the problem is wide spread on the forums.)
    After all it's a good game which is unplayable because of all the bugs.
    Expand
  28. Jul 21, 2011
    3
    The only thing there is to say about this game is that there is a better version of it out: Worms 2. Yeah, that's right; the one made 14 YEARS AGO. The style of play is the same and weapons are almost identical (with the subtraction of some fun powerful items and the addition of hard-to-get weapons that are WEAKER than the starting weapons). The big difference is that Worms 2 looks likeThe only thing there is to say about this game is that there is a better version of it out: Worms 2. Yeah, that's right; the one made 14 YEARS AGO. The style of play is the same and weapons are almost identical (with the subtraction of some fun powerful items and the addition of hard-to-get weapons that are WEAKER than the starting weapons). The big difference is that Worms 2 looks like it played at least once or twice before it was released. This steaming pile of refuse looks like it was hastily evacuated from their sphincter as they ran away with the money I paid for it Expand
  29. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    Not only is this the best looking PC worms game to date, but also the most balanced in terms of gameplay. Many of the ridiculously overpowered weapons from the previous PC games, such as sheep strike and salavation army, have been replaced with more strategic ones such as bunker buster and ferrets. The over-powered ninja rope that previously allowed traversing the length of a map andNot only is this the best looking PC worms game to date, but also the most balanced in terms of gameplay. Many of the ridiculously overpowered weapons from the previous PC games, such as sheep strike and salavation army, have been replaced with more strategic ones such as bunker buster and ferrets. The over-powered ninja rope that previously allowed traversing the length of a map and attacking so easy, has been toned down to make for a much more strategic game. The physics have also been improved to give an added dimension to the classic artillery gameplay - grenades rebound off slopes exactly as you would expect them to and it is possible to roll grenades round craters to make some impressive-looking surprise attacks. Worms Reloaded may not be as customizable as previous worms titles but I believe restrictions, such as a maximum of 4 worms per team, are necessary to keep games balanced and fun. The game has also received regular updates via Steam since its release, which suggests Team17 are commited to ironing out the issues that some users have been having with the game. Expand
  30. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Epic game ya its like Armageddon but thts only on 360 so everbody chill the fu*k out great overall game and team 17 is patching up the odd spots :D the one thing i didnt like was that there is only 4 worms ur not allowed to have a 5th now which is kinda for the better cause then u use them more
  31. Nov 23, 2010
    2
    Loved the original Worms games from back in the day. Can't say the same about this incarnation. Awful gameplay in single player campaign mode. The physics are not realistic and the enemy worms have perfect ballistic and physical calculations -- including windage, ricochets and timings of grenades bouncing off of multiple surfaces in succession. Additionally, in some levels you areLoved the original Worms games from back in the day. Can't say the same about this incarnation. Awful gameplay in single player campaign mode. The physics are not realistic and the enemy worms have perfect ballistic and physical calculations -- including windage, ricochets and timings of grenades bouncing off of multiple surfaces in succession. Additionally, in some levels you are outnumbered by a factor of 2 or 3 and, given the AI's perfect calcuations, it is nearly impossible to defeat the enemy. Also, special weapons like jetpacks and ninja ropes are extremely difficult to use with any level of control. Expand
  32. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    I'm not going to describe the gameplay because if you made to this review you already should have some idea what the game is about. I've been playing this on PC and haven't experienced half of the problems other people are complaining about, however the only problem I do have with the game are constant bugs. I have a halfway decent PC that is less than a year old but every so often theI'm not going to describe the gameplay because if you made to this review you already should have some idea what the game is about. I've been playing this on PC and haven't experienced half of the problems other people are complaining about, however the only problem I do have with the game are constant bugs. I have a halfway decent PC that is less than a year old but every so often the game will just freeze up for no apparent reason. Sometimes you won't be able to move your wom in multi-player but other players will see you and in turn you will have to quit the game and relaunch it all together. There are many other minor bugs that will probably be fixed by time anyone reads this review. Bugs aside I think most people need to realize that even though this game may or may not be a "Classic" it's still a casual game and shouldn't be take so seriously. The single player is very well designed; you not only unlock weapons and additional items but it will help train you as you progress. There is a firing range mode where you can practice with whatever weapons, tools, etc. you like, so there should be no complaint with players not being familiar with the controls. The multi-player does like previously stated have bugs but most of the time you probably wont have a problem and it's actually really fun. You can custom make game modes, you can custom make levels, and there is a decent amount of customization to your worms. Plus they have scheduled regular patches which will have new content and bug fixes in the future. Anyone that is old enough to remember the original Worms game back in the 90's should come to appreciate not only the work that Team17 put into creating the game to feel like the classic we all grew to love but will most likely notice the major face-lift it received as well. Younger gamers may not enjoy this as much because it's not an instant gratification type game, but again it's a casual game to be enjoyed with patience. Expand
  33. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Good thing about the fees and colors
    But there is a problem and let you need to be on ps3 :) The game is as good as the old
    And require powerful computer in order not to be any freeze or slow during the game .
    by / adil khojah - saudi arabia jeddah city
  34. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    The classic Worms returns with a good polished style game. You can play on random level and you can generate infinite diferent levels to play alone. If you want, edit your personal level and send to a friend. There are a total of 60 Steam achevements (with all DLC). The sound is just correct. The poor thins is the chat on-line... but for the rest i think this game is infinte !! [8/10]
  35. Jan 12, 2011
    3
    I didn't hate it but the bugs made the game pretty **** I liked worms when it was 3D and this game feels like nothing more than a rehash of an old game so the developers can milk the last drop from their cash cow. I shudder to think what they'll do next.
  36. Jul 28, 2011
    2
    The game is alright. But the single player campaign is horrible. Way WAY WAY to tuff. I am a big time gamer and I find the campaign very annoying. There are several mission that have to be done perfectly or you lose the match (lv 24 & 30 for example). If you fail you have to start over from the very beginning. Extremely annoying.
  37. Oct 6, 2011
    4
    Its the old Worms for Playstation 1. The first Moment I played this game I continue, where I stopped years ago. Even the first shot I made was full aimed. Nothing changed! Its like the version from 2001, but is even more expensive with less options compared to worms world party. But Its not bad, its a Vintage game. but boring. Its not worth 20â
  38. Jun 4, 2012
    4
    I was there, when the first Worms game came out long, long ago....
    The graphics evolved incredibly since 1st Worms, but I just blink without understanding, when I see, how Team17 ruins this brand.
    I could try the full game 2 days before the release date, due to Steam's very nice optional offer. Worms: Reloaded - provides music that does not play. Not in the menus, not during the
    I was there, when the first Worms game came out long, long ago....
    The graphics evolved incredibly since 1st Worms, but I just blink without understanding, when I see, how Team17 ruins this brand.
    I could try the full game 2 days before the release date, due to Steam's very nice optional offer.

    Worms: Reloaded
    - provides music that does not play. Not in the menus, not during the gameplay (I said OK, usually I turn it off, but always worths a try)
    - provides speech-bank for dozens of languages - the problem is, that during the gameplay, there is only background noise!!!!! not even a f*cking soundFX!!
    - 30 seconds turn, which you cannot change in the options menu
    - the time is running, while you choose a weapon (sometimes 30 seconds is over till you choose the PROPER weapon)
    - I tried the opponents in different difficulties. I always thought and I still think that the A.I. is clever, when it chooses the !proper move!, not when it "cheats". Let me explain. In certain situations the very hard enemy just skips over & over and almost never airstrikes. In other cases they just teleport from here to there to totally idiotic positions. They throw weapons from impossibles angles to more incredible locations with 100% precision.

    Worms: Reloaded brought many good memories back (from the time of Worms 2 !), but this game is a JOKE.
    I would not buy and definitely would not even steal/download. It simply does not even worth the bandwidht!!!
    I am deeply disappointed :(
    Expand
  39. Sep 13, 2012
    1
    Fetid, warmed-over leftovers from Worms: Armageddon with some extra bugs thrown in for flavor. Avoid like the plague, unless you have twenty bucks to throw away just to see how NOT to program netcode. The GUI is like being stabbed in the eye with a Fisher-Price playset that, for whatever reason, hates you and your entire extended family - it would have been fantastic in the days ofFetid, warmed-over leftovers from Worms: Armageddon with some extra bugs thrown in for flavor. Avoid like the plague, unless you have twenty bucks to throw away just to see how NOT to program netcode. The GUI is like being stabbed in the eye with a Fisher-Price playset that, for whatever reason, hates you and your entire extended family - it would have been fantastic in the days of 640x400 monitors, but here in the 21st century it's nothing short of atrocious. Did I mention that the netcode is all but unworkable, in a game that is focused on multiplayer? Expand
  40. Oct 10, 2012
    1
    very hard to play due to all bugs.
    And in multiplayers mode we got crazy. Frozen, disconneted etc ...
    It's like if they just took the old worms (10+ years ago) and added a polished layer on it ...
    I'm very disappointing in this game.

    All this troubles while it's been 2 years that's been released. Team 17 just don't care and wanna make easy money ?
  41. Nov 21, 2013
    2
    I'm sorry to say that this version of Worms is nothing but a lousy console port. The menus are terrible to use, they make poor use of the space on your monitor, text in the menus is too big and centered in middle. Customization options that you are used to from Worms 2 and Worms Armageddon are simplified ore completely gone.
    The in game graphics are very zoomed in which gives you poor
    I'm sorry to say that this version of Worms is nothing but a lousy console port. The menus are terrible to use, they make poor use of the space on your monitor, text in the menus is too big and centered in middle. Customization options that you are used to from Worms 2 and Worms Armageddon are simplified ore completely gone.
    The in game graphics are very zoomed in which gives you poor overview of in game situations. The reason is probably for people far away from a TV are suppose to see the worms. Physics also doesn't seem as sharp as in Worms Armageddon.
    You do best in sticking with Worms Armageddon if you are playing on a PC. The game physics feel sharper and Armageddon also makes better use of your 1080p monitor. (I haven't tried any higher resolutions).
    Expand
  42. Jan 18, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A mere console port, nothing more nothing less. Options that were once taken for granted are missing.
    menu is wrecked up, creating custom schemes is a pain in the ass and you cant adjust a lot of things in custom schemes. If you just want to shoot at each other its okay.
    I installed it, noticed how much I missed real worms, then i installed Worms Armageddon again and now im playing Worms Armageddon more often than Reloaded. If this game was a full prize my rating for this game would have been far worse .
    Expand
  43. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    Funny and all to hear the Worms screaming. Physics engine is ok. But it's definitely a game where it's better to play against other people. The AI is either really broken or really stupid.
  44. Mar 28, 2013
    5
    I love Worms, but this game doesn't have the magic touch that Worms Armageddon or Worms World Party have. Sure, you get a lot of new weapons and gadgets, which I'll admit are so awesome that I wish some would be put in the older games, but that doesn't fully make up for the game itself. The atmosphere of the older games doesn't exist here, and a lot of the older games' best mechanics areI love Worms, but this game doesn't have the magic touch that Worms Armageddon or Worms World Party have. Sure, you get a lot of new weapons and gadgets, which I'll admit are so awesome that I wish some would be put in the older games, but that doesn't fully make up for the game itself. The atmosphere of the older games doesn't exist here, and a lot of the older games' best mechanics are either watered down or removed completely in Reloaded. Hence why people still play Worms Armageddon, while this game faded away not long after release. With the original creator Andy Davidson returning to Team 17, a better worms game may come along. Expand
  45. AWG
    Jul 20, 2013
    7
    Reloaded is maybe the best installment in the Worms series (after Armageddon, of course). Smooth gameplay, nice graphics and a classic formula you can rely on.
  46. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    Worms Reloaded is a pretty solid game with some subtle improvements, but don't expect a drastically different experience to earlier 2D Worms games. Some new weapons (like termites and magnets) are cool, there are some minor graphical overhauls, and the game has a little more personality (such as worms screaming when dynamite is placed next to them). Modes such as quick game, training andWorms Reloaded is a pretty solid game with some subtle improvements, but don't expect a drastically different experience to earlier 2D Worms games. Some new weapons (like termites and magnets) are cool, there are some minor graphical overhauls, and the game has a little more personality (such as worms screaming when dynamite is placed next to them). Modes such as quick game, training and campaign still exist. One new interesting mode is Body Count where you try to get as many points as possible by killing enemy worms that constantly respawn. And of course, there is still multiplayer, where you can play other people across the world. The game however does have some drawbacks. For starters, the AI seems to be very inconsistent. Sometimes they are downright stupid and will miss an easy shot or shoot themselves with a bazooka by aiming down, and at other times they are able to throw a grenade across the whole map and have it hit you perfectly, resulting in the full 45 damage. In addition, the campaign for me, was disappointing. Many of the missions are a typical death-match style game where you simply kill the enemy worms like you normally would in other game modes. There are some puzzle-like missions, but not enough: I expected more cool puzzle-style missions like those from Worms World Party- for example, shooting mines out of a boat, or something new and innovative, rather than the generic kill all enemy worms with normal weapons. If you haven’t played worms before, this is a good place to start. If you're a worms veteran, the game offers more of the same, but the new layer on top may bring a strong level of refreshment to your worms experience. Expand
  47. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Hey, get together with a couple of friends and get your Worms on. Nothing wrong with that. As a single player experience it's totally passable, even online multiplayer, i'ld say pass. But nothing is more fun that just rocking out Worms with a group of buddies real time. This was our daily ritual for a few years after band practice with the mates. Many a dead worm later and I have nothingHey, get together with a couple of friends and get your Worms on. Nothing wrong with that. As a single player experience it's totally passable, even online multiplayer, i'ld say pass. But nothing is more fun that just rocking out Worms with a group of buddies real time. This was our daily ritual for a few years after band practice with the mates. Many a dead worm later and I have nothing but good memories of it. The pass and play mechanics are great for just hanging around. Expand
  48. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    Great game that you can have a lot of fun moments playing it. Yes there are some bugs that Team17 will never fix it but still awesome to play it. All the DLCs available for the game are good too.
  49. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    I have 900 hours of gameplay on Worms, and I haven't regreted it. I play online mostly, haven't even finished the single player campaign, and love the game. Altough Worms Armageddon is slightly better and optimized than this one, since it's been patched even after all these years. But this simplified version is funny too and very good to play, a bit 'dumbed-down' so that anyone can play,I have 900 hours of gameplay on Worms, and I haven't regreted it. I play online mostly, haven't even finished the single player campaign, and love the game. Altough Worms Armageddon is slightly better and optimized than this one, since it's been patched even after all these years. But this simplified version is funny too and very good to play, a bit 'dumbed-down' so that anyone can play, but I still like it. Expand
  50. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    A reboot of the best kind, Worms Reloaded feels like a welcome return to Worms' roots - Just as Worms Armageddon brought us much mirth back in the day, so too does Reloaded give us an experience that no other game can offer - making little pink cartoonish worms blow each other up. Sure, there may be some problems, but still... You can make little pink cartoonish worms blow each other up,A reboot of the best kind, Worms Reloaded feels like a welcome return to Worms' roots - Just as Worms Armageddon brought us much mirth back in the day, so too does Reloaded give us an experience that no other game can offer - making little pink cartoonish worms blow each other up. Sure, there may be some problems, but still... You can make little pink cartoonish worms blow each other up, what more do you want from a game? Expand
  51. Mar 15, 2015
    6
    It's not bad, but it's not as good as Worms Armageddon. The game just lacks variety and many great animations and levels. Overall, this one-joke classic is slightly shifting through a laugh-free zone.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Playing Worms Reloaded made me feel like I just opened a time capsule from 10 years ago. It shows that even such a simple game of worm warfare, can stand the test of time, and still be as entertaining as it once was.
  2. In conclusion, Worms Reloaded is simply the tried-and-tested Worms formula jazzed up a bit with nicer graphics and a few additions.
  3. At $19.99, Worms Reloaded is a solid entertainment value-especially for those of us who love the smell of banana bomb in the morning.