Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    85
    Team17 did it again. Worms Revolution is an excellent product, characterized by a lot of new features that surely renew the franchise.
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    85
    It's a fantastic set of options, even if the modes themselves aren't too out of the ordinary, with classic, deathmatch and fort to choose from.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Worms Revolution is as good as the franchise has ever been. It's good old psychotic fun, and that's all I really wanted. Yet, after 17 years, it's still very much the same game.
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    80
    After a string of rehashes, Team17 has done a fantastic job updating the series while keeping the core gameplay the same. With a polished presentation, attractive visuals and improved level design, we finally have a Worms game that doesn't feel like it emerged from a '90s time-capsule. The series remains as polarizing as ever, but those who enjoy the zany antics of the series will dig Worms Revolution.
  5. Oct 21, 2012
    77
    There's no revolution in this new installment of Team 17's beloved franchise, but tons of fun and crazy gadgets. New features need a good improvement if they are meant to stick around, but single and multiplayer contents will make fans happy for a bit.
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    75
    The new version of famous Worms isn't as original as it's great predecessors from more than a decade ago. Fortunately it's still a good game that shows its full potential during multiplayer matches. Single player isn't as exciting, but neither this, nor mediocre graphics change the fact, that playing Worms is fun. Revolution introduces some well thought out innovations, but that's no true revolution.
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    73
    I spent about 15 hours with Worms Revolution, and while I didn't especially enjoy it, I only played against computer opponents. I'm guessing that for the game to really shine, you have to play against similarly (in)competent human opponents. Given that it's so easy to miss with your attacks and accidentally blow up your own worms, Worms Revolution might generate a lot of good-natured heckling and work pretty well as a party game. Or not. But for only $15, if the premise sounds fun, then there's not much reason not to find out.
  9. 70
    Good old worms with a new look are still entertaining (unlike the other modern parts of the series) just like the original ones. [Dec 2012]
  10. Nov 9, 2012
    70
    Revolution is not without its flaws, but you can live with them, because finally, this is a real successor to Worms World Party.
  11. Oct 17, 2012
    70
    Worms Revolution remains as fun as the previous titles of the IP, adding some new features like a shuffle mode, water-based worlds, and classes for our worms. And yet, Team 17 suffers from a lack of ambition, Worms Revolution being a shy evolution of Worms Battle Islands. That's why players that are fond of the IP won't be surprised by the new weapons or some levels with good ideas of interaction.
  12. Oct 16, 2012
    70
    By keeping its basics and adding smart ideas like specific worm classes or water physics, this Worms Revolution works well. Too bad the online gameplay modes aren't really creative, and the solo AI too tough for many players.
  13. Oct 13, 2012
    65
    Even with improved visuals and enhanced physics this is Worms as you know and love (or hate) it.
  14. Oct 25, 2012
    60
    Worms Revolution is a refreshing new direction on the traditional Worms recipe, but falls short on being called a "revolution" due to some gameplay problems and lack of truly new content.
  15. Oct 24, 2012
    60
    Andy Davidson (the original Worms creator) returned to help refresh the series. It didn't really work out the way it should have – Revolution is not what I was hoping to see. [12/2012, p.57]
  16. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    Collectively, these tweaks add a number of new tactics to the Worms repertoire, and another layer of customization. Revolution is a positive step forward. It's not, however, a game-changer, and if you're tired of the basic Worms template, it's not going to draw you back. It's no revolution. As a revival though, there's lots to like, in the old and the new.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 36
  2. Negative: 12 out of 36
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    3
    Ever since Armageddon/World Party worms series seem to go more and more downhill. After a disastrous Reloaded, we now get Revolution which isEver since Armageddon/World Party worms series seem to go more and more downhill. After a disastrous Reloaded, we now get Revolution which is a shy step forward but, overall, a needless entry in the long line of Worms games that don't live up to their 10 years old predecessors. So what's wrong with Revolution? Well, once you get over the shiny new graphics, it gets down to pretty much everything! Before I start listing, let's get one thing straight: this game DOES NOT feature a brand new game engine as developers want you to believe! Instead, it's just heavily modified Reloaded. With that said, let's get down to business... Once again, you can have only 4 worms per team and the customization is rather obscure (terrain editor, for one, is BY FAR inferior to the one in Armageddon/WP). Once you're through with the boring (and occasionally confusing) menus and start the game, you'll get overwhelmed by unresponsive and laggy controls and a frame-rate to match. Although some weapon physics are improved over Reloaded, there are certain essential items which appear unruly and glitchy. Ninja rope is nowhere near as useful as it was in Armageddon/WP and, most of the time, it just deactivates for no reason. This, along with a nerfed jet pack, makes traveling the distance a true mission: impossible - a feat faithfully carried over from Reloaded. There are some innovations such as troops customization (you can have a fat worm, slow but strong, a little guy, fast but weak, a brainiac...) but it doesn't matter since these come in a form of a modern gaming plague that some people refer to as DLC. However, since it's pretty clear that a real worms fan won't even dignify this game with a second look, the DLC might as well be non-existent (hee, hee, hee). To make a long story short, this is a game for those under the age of 9 and the ones who can't play proper worms (and by 'proper' I mean the 'bonus' content which is Worms: Armageddon, by all means superior version to this pathetic latest installment). Of course, 10s are awarded by the ones who are paid to do so and imbeciles, whose opinion is ,therefore, irrelevant. Full Review »
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    4
    With previous versions it used to be that Worms made an excellent "party game", one of the fun parts being the creation of individual teamsWith previous versions it used to be that Worms made an excellent "party game", one of the fun parts being the creation of individual teams for each player. This turn around the only way to play together is to "clone" the first player's team, so everyone's worms are the same. As someone else's review already mentioned: WTF?

    As for other aspects of the game: Worms Revolution has outdated graphics, dull music, limited terrain styles and so on. The additions of worm classes, forts mode and physics do not tilt the balance away from this being a less than mediocre cashing-in on the classic Worms title.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    I've played the single player missions for this game a good bit now, and I'm quite enjoying it. Definitely worth the price! Matt Berry's voiceI've played the single player missions for this game a good bit now, and I'm quite enjoying it. Definitely worth the price! Matt Berry's voice acting is stellar, as well as the way the worms seem to interact with him. There's a lot of little nuances that make it obvious that a lot of work went into this game. My only complaint so far is that I can't seem to find any multi-player games (it's entirely possible that it's on my end though). If you're a fan of the series, you're going to love this game! Full Review »