User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 105
  2. Negative: 23 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    3
    Ever since Armageddon/World Party worms series seem to go more and more downhill. After a disastrous Reloaded, we now get Revolution which is a shy step forward but, overall, a needless entry in the long line of Worms games that don't live up to their 10 years old predecessors. So what's wrong with Revolution? Well, once you get over the shiny new graphics, it gets down to pretty much everything! Before I start listing, let's get one thing straight: this game DOES NOT feature a brand new game engine as developers want you to believe! Instead, it's just heavily modified Reloaded. With that said, let's get down to business... Once again, you can have only 4 worms per team and the customization is rather obscure (terrain editor, for one, is BY FAR inferior to the one in Armageddon/WP). Once you're through with the boring (and occasionally confusing) menus and start the game, you'll get overwhelmed by unresponsive and laggy controls and a frame-rate to match. Although some weapon physics are improved over Reloaded, there are certain essential items which appear unruly and glitchy. Ninja rope is nowhere near as useful as it was in Armageddon/WP and, most of the time, it just deactivates for no reason. This, along with a nerfed jet pack, makes traveling the distance a true mission: impossible - a feat faithfully carried over from Reloaded. There are some innovations such as troops customization (you can have a fat worm, slow but strong, a little guy, fast but weak, a brainiac...) but it doesn't matter since these come in a form of a modern gaming plague that some people refer to as DLC. However, since it's pretty clear that a real worms fan won't even dignify this game with a second look, the DLC might as well be non-existent (hee, hee, hee). To make a long story short, this is a game for those under the age of 9 and the ones who can't play proper worms (and by 'proper' I mean the 'bonus' content which is Worms: Armageddon, by all means superior version to this pathetic latest installment). Of course, 10s are awarded by the ones who are paid to do so and imbeciles, whose opinion is ,therefore, irrelevant. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    4
    With previous versions it used to be that Worms made an excellent "party game", one of the fun parts being the creation of individual teams for each player. This turn around the only way to play together is to "clone" the first player's team, so everyone's worms are the same. As someone else's review already mentioned: WTF?

    As for other aspects of the game: Worms Revolution has outdated
    graphics, dull music, limited terrain styles and so on. The additions of worm classes, forts mode and physics do not tilt the balance away from this being a less than mediocre cashing-in on the classic Worms title. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    2
    Terrible game. Worms Reloaded was already pretty mediocre, but Revolution do one step further and is really bad. The design is awful and the graphic aspect which was supposed to be stunning is pretty bad. No antialiasing ?
    And let's talk about the customization options : almost none. You can not create new team for other human player (for a Worms game ? WTF ?) with their own name,
    gravestone, etc... and there are far less objects to customize your team than what you can find in previous Worms games (gravestones, speechbank...)
    The Forts are just terrible.
    Only 4 environment ? Really ?... Oh 3 more are coming in DLC but you'll have to pay. Can you remind me how many environments WA or WWP had ?
    Waste of money, waste of time.
    Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    4
    Revolution is obsolete on launch by Armageddon... just as Reloaded also was. Wait for Armageddon to be sold on Steam (it's already on there, those of us who were aware grabbed it as a preorder b"bonus" for Revolution, though really we were buying Armageddon and got Revolution as a free bonus), or grab it now through Amazon and apply the latest patch. It's not that Armageddon can't be topped (it very well can be), it's that Team17 has never even tried to. 4 worms per team, small maps, bad graphics, low customization??? Everything they do is taking leaps backwards instead of forwards. It's extremely mind-boggling behaviour. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    Simply awful. As good as no content. Only usable if you are playing against friends on your computer. The single player mode is limited to a basic walk-through, hijacked by not-so-funny dialogue. This will last about 20 minutes, but it will have gotten old after the first few seconds. Online multiplayer mode: no-one is ever on-line. This game is dead. DO NOT BUY! Remember, no refunds.
  6. Apr 20, 2013
    3
    Single Player sucks. The AI never misses. It is unreal. Multiplayer is fun. Although this game seems to have a few glitches. People keep saying that they cannot see their worms names and health.
  7. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    I see only the hp bar and the name of the worms.I don't see the terrain,the background,etc. This game simply Sucks!If i could get a refund that could be nice!
  8. Jul 16, 2013
    2
    well this is worms that we all know and love and/or hate. Revolution is yet another release in what is becoming a series that seems to churn out 2 or more games a year for no reason at all other than milking a cow. this is an average to bad game. cons: 1. the AI is as dumb as its ever been. its chock loaded full of crack shot aiming ability able to make any impossible shot using the 10 or fewer weapons it knows how to use. i think the only new weapon the AI knows how to use is the blow torch but it sucks at doing that.
    2. the narrator in campaign....is just bad. he tries way too hard. the only narrating this series has done successfully is the Me-Me voice over in worms 4 mayhem.
    3. campaign mode.....is bad because of the aforementioned reasons of AI and narrator. it doesnt help you are always outnumbered by the AIs uncanny ability to hit impossible shots is amazing.
    4. the wind meter indicator appears to have been dumbed down. it used in past games be a MPH meter but now its a 0-3 bars. i guess MPH was too complicated for casuals?
    5. cant have more than 1 team
    6. instead of a few hundred soundbanks like past games i think there were 20 maybe 30
    7. customization of worm clothing remains inferior to worms 4 mayhem.
    8. frame rate and lag....holy hell. its a shame team 17 has only produced one frame rate less game in the worms series in the past 12 years....that being worms armageddon.
    9. the music is a horrible step backwards. songs are literally 5 second midi loops.
    10. several weapons have gotten worse. the homing missile just does not work now. the rope cannot seem to even equal the rope in armageddon.
    11. the AI again....will take awhile to do a move....to sometimes only end up skipping its turn yet the AI will sit there for 30 seconds only to skip its turn. other times it just gets stuck. this is what happens when you use the same AI algorithm since worms 1 in the 90s. literally the AI hasnt changed except its now more glitchy and perhaps worse. i think they gave it better crackshot ability which isnt an improvement is cheesy difficulty
    12. too much more to list. though i will add the game has savedata issues and crashed in the first 10 minutes cause the narrator got stuck on a loop.

    pros:
    its worms
    its not expensive.
    Expand
  9. Oct 16, 2013
    1
    the first game I have problems with the graphics It´s flickering and I never had such a prob, even with 300 games on steam, and plenty from others. I tried to play for half an hour and thats it with this Revolution. such a shame. I even didn´t find any helpful meanings, only that its bad with Radeon cards. Damn
  10. Jan 8, 2013
    4
    I've always liked Worms. It's a lot of fun to beat your friends in hotseat mode, and the game always bring out some laughs. This one doesn't.

    Contrary to what other people have written here you CAN drop weapons from jetpacks and ninja ropes. Maybe they've patched it in. You CAN also create separate teams for separate players. But the game still lacks all the fun from previous
    installments. It's slow and sluggish, feels like everything is moving in some semi slow-motion. It's harder to aim properly in this one compared to previous games. Ninja rope and jet packs feel very weird and hard to control properly.

    The implementation of water feels very unnecessary. I though you could drown opponents worms with water gun or water bombs. And you can immerse them in water if they are in a hole, but it barely hurts them at all. They can easily get out from there, or stay in the water fighting like nothing happened only loosing 5 health per turn. If you want to drown the worms you have to throw them into the water on the sides or bottom.

    This feels like a very unpolished game. The core gameplay is crippled, and no fancy hairstyles and moustaches in the world can save this from being plain boring. If you like Worms, buy the previous versions.
    Expand
  11. Aug 15, 2013
    3
    The community for this game died very quickly and the multiplayer is the most fun part of the game by far. Not a single person online, so disappointing.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 70
    Good old worms with a new look are still entertaining (unlike the other modern parts of the series) just like the original ones. [Dec 2012]
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    73
    I spent about 15 hours with Worms Revolution, and while I didn't especially enjoy it, I only played against computer opponents. I'm guessing that for the game to really shine, you have to play against similarly (in)competent human opponents. Given that it's so easy to miss with your attacks and accidentally blow up your own worms, Worms Revolution might generate a lot of good-natured heckling and work pretty well as a party game. Or not. But for only $15, if the premise sounds fun, then there's not much reason not to find out.
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    70
    Revolution is not without its flaws, but you can live with them, because finally, this is a real successor to Worms World Party.