User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 111
  2. Negative: 25 out of 111

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    Do you like the Worms games? I do. And this game is this. Another worm game. You have to beat the enemy worms using a variety of weapons. That's pretty much it. I know it doesn't sound very promising so far, since it's pretty much what we've already seen in any other worms game, but I give this game a 7/10 because it's what it should be. A game that's fun to play. Yep, the same old recipeDo you like the Worms games? I do. And this game is this. Another worm game. You have to beat the enemy worms using a variety of weapons. That's pretty much it. I know it doesn't sound very promising so far, since it's pretty much what we've already seen in any other worms game, but I give this game a 7/10 because it's what it should be. A game that's fun to play. Yep, the same old recipe still works and worms is still a fun game. I'd recommend it to anyone who loved the past games and someone who just wants to play a game to have some fun. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    5
    A few specifics as to why this game is not good enough:

    1) Worms should put control, responsiveness, and gameplay at the forefront. What this means is ninja ropes that are powerful, predictable movement on terrain, predictable shooting past terrain. Half the time your turn fails, it is because of something not working, such as your ninja rope hitting an invisible pixel or just
    A few specifics as to why this game is not good enough:

    1) Worms should put control, responsiveness, and gameplay at the forefront. What this means is ninja ropes that are powerful, predictable movement on terrain, predictable shooting past terrain. Half the time your turn fails, it is because of something not working, such as your ninja rope hitting an invisible pixel or just deactivating for no reason. In worms iteration 700, this is just shameful. The ninja rope is pitiful compared to Armageddon. 2) You can no longer use weapons while on ninja ropes and jetpacks. Why would they nerf this? So, you can't jet in, drop dynamite, fly away with low fuel, nor with ninja ropes. Those are the cunning stunts that made worms fun. This makes the game feel casual and the player underpowered. If there are, say, 4 worms on a plateau, you have to get there, drop dynamite and then run away. No where to run? Fine, wait to die. Why team17?

    3) There is a 5 sec wait time before AI plays every time, not including their thinking time. I imagine this time is for human players to prepare for their turn. Why for AI though? It is thorough frustrating and adds time to, and staggers a game. There are many more small details like these. In essence this feels lazy to me. Ok, so Matt Berry is fantastic, the graphics are ok, the physics engine is **** And gameplay was not focused on, or maybe it was intentionally nerfed for a more casual player. How can you get a more casual worms player? I don't know, but they've managed to make it feel like something unpolished. Gameplay is much worse than Arg, responsiveness and control are worse than Worms 1.
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    Worms Revolution is the classic worms game style with 3D enviroment. But the camera show the map in 2D mode. The new physic elements are really fun. The water on this game works good, the solids elements too. This worms have the same formula always. Generally good game. Yes, we need more maps and game configurable options. I'm sure that is on the way... Don't worry with game updates, theWorms Revolution is the classic worms game style with 3D enviroment. But the camera show the map in 2D mode. The new physic elements are really fun. The water on this game works good, the solids elements too. This worms have the same formula always. Generally good game. Yes, we need more maps and game configurable options. I'm sure that is on the way... Don't worry with game updates, the last Worms Reloaded has more than 10 updates. This game is not a revolutionary but his concept is good. Only really have a bad thing: the name. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2012
    5
    IGN and SpazioGames giving it the token "Gamespot" 8.5, which is the lowest they were paid to give. The trailers don't show you anything. Seems like Team17 cannot innovate, ever.
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    5
    Cannot deal with it. So much bucks for that? THAT? From Armageddon and World Party we receiving only new graphics and bad physics.
    So what is Revolution? Good DLC, but not enough after fcken 10YEARS
  6. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    I just bought the first 2 worms game and thoroughly enjoyed them, but then this came out and i bought it. First, overpriced. Second the arsenal of weapons is still big, but they took out important and fun to play around with weapons (not all, but several). Third, the graphics just don't give the same feel of true worms game-play. Finally, the customization wasn't quite as large as iI just bought the first 2 worms game and thoroughly enjoyed them, but then this came out and i bought it. First, overpriced. Second the arsenal of weapons is still big, but they took out important and fun to play around with weapons (not all, but several). Third, the graphics just don't give the same feel of true worms game-play. Finally, the customization wasn't quite as large as i expected, but still fairly big. For the price, buy worms 1 and 2. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    5
    Biggest problem is the single player. You will play a level for 30 minutes and lose not due to your own fault, but because the computer can first try bounce grenades halfway across the level and hitting off 3 objects to land next to you because they are poorly programmed and knew that would happen. Also they can start with different and better gear than you. This is a game about humanBiggest problem is the single player. You will play a level for 30 minutes and lose not due to your own fault, but because the computer can first try bounce grenades halfway across the level and hitting off 3 objects to land next to you because they are poorly programmed and knew that would happen. Also they can start with different and better gear than you. This is a game about human error and guessing, and that is eliminated if you computer can tell where everything will go. But this game for multiplayer and local play with friends, not the weak campaign with terrible AI. Expand
  8. AWG
    Jul 20, 2013
    6
    Worms Revolution is just another Worms game, with all the good (it's funny) and bad (it's always the same kind of funny) things this means. Single player campaign is not bad and multiplayer mode works like a charm. Cute graphics too.
  9. Oct 16, 2012
    0
    Ever since Armageddon/World Party worms series seem to go more and more downhill. After a disastrous Reloaded, we now get Revolution which is a shy step forward but, overall, a needless entry in the long line of Worms games that don't live up to their 10 years old predecessors. So what's wrong with Revolution? Well, once you get over the shiny new graphics, it gets down to pretty muchEver since Armageddon/World Party worms series seem to go more and more downhill. After a disastrous Reloaded, we now get Revolution which is a shy step forward but, overall, a needless entry in the long line of Worms games that don't live up to their 10 years old predecessors. So what's wrong with Revolution? Well, once you get over the shiny new graphics, it gets down to pretty much everything! Before I start listing, let's get one thing straight: this game DOES NOT feature a brand new game engine as developers want you to believe! Instead, it's just heavily modified Reloaded. With that said, let's get down to business... Once again, you can have only 4 worms per team and the customization is rather obscure (terrain editor, for one, is BY FAR inferior to the one in Armageddon/WP). Once you're through with the boring (and occasionally confusing) menus and start the game, you'll get overwhelmed by unresponsive and laggy controls and a frame-rate to match. Although some weapon physics are improved over Reloaded, there are certain essential items which appear unruly and glitchy. Ninja rope is nowhere near as useful as it was in Armageddon/WP and, most of the time, it just deactivates for no reason. This, along with a nerfed jet pack, makes traveling the distance a true mission: impossible - a feat faithfully carried over from Reloaded. There are some innovations such as troops customization (you can have a fat worm, slow but strong, a little guy, fast but weak, a brainiac...) but it doesn't matter since these come in a form of a modern gaming plague that some people refer to as DLC. However, since it's pretty clear that a real worms fan won't even dignify this game with a second look, the DLC might as well be non-existent (hee, hee, hee). To make a long story short, this is a game for those under the age of 9 and the ones who can't play proper worms (and by 'proper' I mean the 'bonus' content which is Worms: Armageddon, by all means superior version to this pathetic latest installment). Of course, 10s are awarded by the ones who are paid to do so and imbeciles, whose opinion is ,therefore, irrelevant. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 70
    Good old worms with a new look are still entertaining (unlike the other modern parts of the series) just like the original ones. [Dec 2012]
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    73
    I spent about 15 hours with Worms Revolution, and while I didn't especially enjoy it, I only played against computer opponents. I'm guessing that for the game to really shine, you have to play against similarly (in)competent human opponents. Given that it's so easy to miss with your attacks and accidentally blow up your own worms, Worms Revolution might generate a lot of good-natured heckling and work pretty well as a party game. Or not. But for only $15, if the premise sounds fun, then there's not much reason not to find out.
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    70
    Revolution is not without its flaws, but you can live with them, because finally, this is a real successor to Worms World Party.