Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    50
    It's a bland and perfunctory experience, one that won't offend anyone but is incapable of delighting anyone either.
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    WRC 3's lightweight handling and lack of diversity means it fails to hit the heights achieved by other racing games.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    56
    WRC3's excellent track design counts for little when burdened with unnatural car handling and uninspired design.
  4. Nov 2, 2012
    55
    WRC 3, compared to its two predecessors, finally caught up a bit, but still loses against the one year old DiRT 3. Same as SBK Generations, also from Milestone Studio, the game has improved a bit but there are still better and more realistic titles out there. On the one hand the game looks quite good and the damage model is impressive, on the other hand WRC 3 offers poor atmosphere and presentation.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    77
    A bit of an ambiguous case. On one hand it delivers pretty solid and fun rallying, but on the other hand it feels a bit disappointing because it could have been much better. Handling could have been improved to more extreme realism and the career mode could have been refined instead of dumbing it up. [Nov 2012]
  6. 60
    Unexpected rise from the ashes – the third title of the WRC series is not flawless but is finally playable. [Dec 2012]
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    WRC 3: FIA World Rally Championship is not going to set the fire alight in the world of racing games, but it does what it set out to do – supply fans of rally games with a solid rallying experience that is entertaining.
  8. Oct 16, 2012
    74
    This is by far the best rally game by Milestone yet, offering a solid experience with challenging track design. But even though it is vastly improved, visually it still is not up to challenge the likes of DiRT, Gran Turismo 5 or Forza.
  9. Nov 29, 2012
    65
    A really decent game that can keep you playing for a few afternoons. Unfortunately limitations imposed by its low budget are evident. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.58]
  10. Oct 21, 2012
    50
    It's totally okay that WRC 3 doesn't have the finely-tuned stylings of the bigger racing brands. Real rallying has become somewhat of an endangered species, so I'm fully prepared to even overlook the career mode that is all but completely absent here. Where a game like this absolutely cannot fail, though, is in the connection of car and road, which sadly is what WRC 3 does. Theoretically this could have been much, much worse, to be fair. And WRC 3 might even find some friends amongst the most starving of Rallye fans. But that's only because this is basically their only option right now.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    This is a really solid game. The rally stages are awesome, the handling is fine. These days, racing games are not exciting, but WRC3 differs
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    If you like rally, offroad and racing, this might be the game for you. Specially if you have a steering wheel.
    One of the best racing games
    avaliable for PC. Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    4
    I play all my driving games with a wheel. I wanted this game to be a step up from WRC2 soo much. It failed miserably! How do I put it in the shortest way possible - the driving got much less fun that in WRC2 but the graphics got better. Almost all else is the same. Budget stages, budget sound fx and music.------------------

    WRC2 was a good game when you got to know it, this one killed the best thing its predecessor had - good driving experience. I beat just about any level in WRC2 but I can`t get through WRC3. The driving is just boring. The force feedback is pretty much nonexistant. There is little to no difference how 2WD/4WD cars handle. There is no difference how cars react to gravel/mud/sand with an exception of tarmac. The car settings in garage (suspension/aerodynamics etc.) make no difference. My biggest complaint here is that while playing you feel like controlling a box, not a car. There is no indication that the suspension reacts to a surface type, there is just no feeling of driving a car whatsoever. There is no weight to it. The game doesn`t let you feel any of that.-----------------------

    All of this caused that I couldn`t analise my driving, I couldn`t know where I make mistakes. The game never let me do this. So while going through another special stage I kept getting this feeling that I do not like how this game feels, how it drives and how it looks.---------------------

    Every single game I buy I gave a chance. I gave this game 6 or 7 hours overall and I never felt that it had the things that would make me appreciate it. -----------------------

    WRC2 had good driving model and cars that would react to changes made in car settings. WRC3 let that slip aside and it doesn`t have anything else besides better graphics.---------------------

    All in all this game feels like 80% of the funds and resources went to upgrade the graphics while everything else got left just being there. All this is very sad, how a good rally game could gone so bad.-------4/10 to my great dissatisfaction.
    Full Review »