WRC 4: FIA World Rally Championship Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tout your style and win the FIA WORLD RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP 2013 season. Experience the 2013 season with the drivers, cars and courses of the WRC, WRC2, WRC3 and, for the first time, Junior WRC championships.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    76
    WRC 4 is at times and enjoyable view into World Rally Championship, but it again fails to live up to its hype. And what's the deal with Neste Oil Rally? I barely recognized it as Finland. [Dec 2013]
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    70
    A solid and very enjoyable rally game that will no doubt hook you for a while. But it doesn't do anything we haven't seen before and the tracks suffer from far too much repetition.
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    70
    WRC 4: FIA World Rally Championship is a good, solid attempt at a rally game that feels satisfying enough to enjoy.
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    65
    WRC 4 is a decent game, but I have no doubt that a more talented team would have made it something great and a true knock-out for the competition (that barely exists, to be honest). The new WRC game fails in terms of content and new things and that's the result of wanting to deliver a new game once a year. WRC 4 continues the path taken by its superior predecessor, but lacks a strong punch.
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    60
    The driving model is better than in the previous WRC game and is surprisingly solid. Despite that it’s hard not to notice that the developer’s budget was very limited. [01/2014, p.72]
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    55
    It’s enough milestone. While on one hand it is good to know that visually you finally reach a point which you should have passed a few years ago. And I also appreciate that at its core WRC4 is a decent game. But in the end this is little more than overpriced recycling of previously released tracks.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    50
    WRC 4 didn't manage to take up its highly accelerated forerunner. Instead of putting its foot down to get some more juice, it just recycles its content along with the bugs from the last year. Something is rotten in the state of the rallye genre, when there is just one studio along with one game ruling it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    Not sure what the other guy was talking about...but the car physics are great! On a scale of 1 5 (1 sim, 5=arcade), it's about a 2. Go onNot sure what the other guy was talking about...but the car physics are great! On a scale of 1 5 (1 sim, 5=arcade), it's about a 2. Go on Steam and look at the forums, the consensus is good and a big improvement over the last, especially on handling (cars are much heavier now).

    Very enjoyable. Great tracks and good variety. Finally a true rally game for sim fans that are tired of Dirt owning this genre. You'll only find pure rally events here along with your British co-driver. Every true rally fan should play this...I know you'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    I really liked the racing experience this game provided! So far more than WRC3.
    I found it much more enjoyable than DIRT and the graphics
    I really liked the racing experience this game provided! So far more than WRC3.
    I found it much more enjoyable than DIRT and the graphics really shows improvments than before. Sounds has also been enhanced but it still needs to be done better IMHO.
    Stages variety also is good, 13 rallies pretty good done.
    Simulations fan sure find out what the need with this title, I dunno what people have to cricticise so much.
    Yet, online mode still need perfection.
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    If you guys are wiling to pay a DLC called "WRC 4" for 50$, go ahead!
    That so called "the developers promised to have taken a lot of fan
    If you guys are wiling to pay a DLC called "WRC 4" for 50$, go ahead!
    That so called "the developers promised to have taken a lot of fan feedback into account for the new title" was just part of a diabolic plan of Milestone. Nothing has changed from previous game, they just updated the car liveries, added some HDR filters, made minimal changes to all the "WRC 3" tracks and pasted all into the so called WRC 4 game!
    Engine/Exhaust sounds, environment, and these physics are the worst part of that "DLC" But i had a new surprise, there's absolutely no advanced video options like previous series.
    Milestone's and BBI laziness this year was astonishing and i fear they're losing ground to Rally Sim fans and even to those who really hoped milestone did actually change something.
    I wouldn't spend my money on a game that has been recycled for 4 years now to see the same stuff over and over again. The devs could at least improve their game engine and add a proper FFB and a proper advanced controller options! We're in 2013 for god's sake, we do not play on keyboards anymore, there's something out there that looks like a a giant donut and u can connect to the PC. It's called a Steering Wheel Milestone, give it some attention...
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    The game is more like a real WRC simulation. Talking about the gameplay, the campaign is now more like a true WRC which requires you toThe game is more like a real WRC simulation. Talking about the gameplay, the campaign is now more like a true WRC which requires you to complete all stages in several places. I like how I have to repair my car if I damage my car every 2 stages because it's more realistic, and using a single car to complete the whole season is also realistic. The handling is a lot better when compared to WRC1/2. Also there're more weather options.
    However, there's a main problem in the game is that I cannot try other cars during a season. That's a big big minus to me. Also, I actually feel a bit boring when I try to complete the whole WRC. It's pretty time consuming and therefore this game is not my pick.
    Collapse
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    6
    It's the best a rally fan can currently get. DiRT doesn't satisfy the traditional rally need, and this does... but it's far from perfect. IfIt's the best a rally fan can currently get. DiRT doesn't satisfy the traditional rally need, and this does... but it's far from perfect. If you played WRC 3, only 5 countries got new maps this year and 8 maps are identical to last year. Wheel support is improved... however 900 degrees is a joke (causes huge deadzone), pedals are required to be in combined mode (or causes a huge deadzone), and force feedback is just variable center spring strength (no rumble, vibrate, etc). Even if you turn off all assist options, there's some form of traction control that is always on (hard to spin tires). It's no Richard Burns Rally replacement... but if you don't mind the arcade physics, it can be an enjoyable game. But there's still plenty of room for Milestone to improve, unless they lose the WRC licence... we can only hope. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    5
    Another lacklustre entry by Milestone. Far too similar contentwise to the last game to warrant a yearly purchase. The series would be betterAnother lacklustre entry by Milestone. Far too similar contentwise to the last game to warrant a yearly purchase. The series would be better spending more time between releases, with more time spent adding to and refining what is already available, as opposed to regurgitating the same content. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    1
    You need to first decide what exactly are you after an arcade game with nice graphics or a rally simulation that (IMHO) should be expectedYou need to first decide what exactly are you after an arcade game with nice graphics or a rally simulation that (IMHO) should be expected after something called the WRC game.

    Its biggest let down is the rubbery driving, strange car behaviour thats nowhere near the real thing. No graphics, features or other things can compensate for that. The essence of driving games is their feel of the car either they want to be arcades or simulations. This one is an arcade
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews