Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 24 out of 24
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    47
    To top off a growing tower of gripes, navigation around space in Rebirth is an astounding hassle.
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    45
    In the distant future, the X universe faces a period of profound and irrevocable change. While the universe stumbles towards an uncertain future, countless adventures await as new enemies rise in search of power. Enter a young adventurer and his unlikely female ally traveling in an old, battered ship with a glorious past - two people alone against the galaxy, playing a key part in the events to come. The fate of the universe rests in the hands of the player.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    44
    The renovation fails: not only are the new additions crooked and wrong, they also bring the really solid foundation down.
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    43
    No matter what happens with stability and bug-fixing patches, its poor controls, awful interface, and dull pacing ensure that X Rebirth will remain unpleasant for all but the most forgiving, die-hard space jockeys.
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    40
    Rebirth lacks inspiration, purpose, good ideas. It's riddled with bugs and, even when it seems to work, it manages to be dull. There isn't any true reason to play it.
  6. Dec 20, 2013
    40
    Too many issues make X Rebirth an unplayable game.
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    40
    X: Rebirth will get better over time, and anyone who’s open-minded enough to look past the ‘X’ branding and see the ‘game’, may even find many hours of entertainment.
  8. Dec 3, 2013
    40
    X Rebirth is a 4X game marred by numerous bugs and falsely good ideas.
  9. Jan 31, 2014
    39
    X misses the spot. The occasional bit of spectacle can't save this boring, broken and charmless space simulation. [March 2014, p.60]
  10. Nov 19, 2013
    39
    The concept sounds good – bringing the complex X-Universe more comfortably to life, with improved handling and management. But the release version is a disaster, filled with many bugs and design issues, that neither satisfies veteran fans nor newcomers. We stopped reviewing the game after more than 40 hours playing it, ended up in patched version 1.13, but still it is not satisfying because of bugs.
  11. Nov 26, 2013
    35
    The concept is good, but the release version is an authentic disaster.
  12. Feb 10, 2014
    30
    Instead of giving the series a new life the developers buried it and the patches are a classic case of ‘too little, too late’. There’s a lot of things you can forgive this game but not the fact that it’s boring. [02/2014, p.58]
  13. Dec 11, 2013
    30
    Long story short: In its current state, X Rebirth is just a sad affair.
  14. Dec 6, 2013
    30
    Playing this game is quite simply a pain, thanks to an entire armada of bugs and flaws. It's hard to imagine how Egosoft will be able to fix this mess.
  15. Dec 4, 2013
    30
    The will to innovate crashes against almost every other part of the game. A "rebirth" the X series does not deserve. Hard work usually pays off, but it feels like there's a lack of it in this game.
  16. Dec 3, 2013
    30
    You can (barely) fathom some good ideas about offering the players more accessibility in a saga that surely needed some, but they soon get lost in the utter and complete mess of unfinished mechanics and bugs that, sadly, is X Rebirth.
  17. Nov 28, 2013
    30
    Somewhere behind the incomprehensible UI, forced interactions with pointless characters, poor optimisation and boring mini-games, there’s bound to be a good game. It’s a shame you can’t really see it amidst all of the rubbish.
  18. Nov 27, 2013
    30
    It’s a universe filled with boring people living on boring space stations, and playing in this universe is, unsurprisingly, really bloody boring. There’s not one thing that X Rebirth does that Albion Prelude or, indeed, any of the X games doesn’t do better beyond a few visual treats. Even when the bugs are fixed, the bizarre design choices will persist, as frustrating and counter-intuitive as they were at launch.
  19. Jan 7, 2014
    28
    Patches may stop the glitches, but I think this space sim is far beyond repair.
  20. Dec 12, 2013
    25
    X Rebirth might be worth grabbing in a Steam sale in a couple of years, after 100 patches and with a dozens of mods that create an entirely different game. That game could be fun if you are into modding. As it is right now at launch, X Rebirth is simply a broken, flawed, and almost unplayable mess.
  21. Dec 20, 2013
    20
    No matter what your level of enthusiasm for the X series is, do your best to escape the pull of Rebirth's gravity. It's only bound to cause a fatal crash.
  22. Nov 29, 2013
    20
    X Rebirth is the most disappointing PC title of 2013. A heartbreaking, gut-churning mess.
  23. Nov 18, 2013
    20
    A mess. This is no surprise given Egosoft’s penchant for releasing messes and then tidying them up after the fact. But the problem with X Rebirth is that it’s a different kind of mess than the previous games, in new and terribly wrong ways that are beyond tidying up. X Rebirth doesn’t seem to understand what people liked about the previous games. It is a game based on misguided assumptions.
  24. Nov 25, 2013
    16
    Somewhere in this mess is an X as you know and like it: Smaller, but prettier and with a solid foundation. But with problems like game-stopping bugs and bad design decisions all the ambition goes down the drain.
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    2
    I have played for about 2 hours now and these are my initial impressions.

    Game play is clunky and designed for Xbox and PS3 and has been
    I have played for about 2 hours now and these are my initial impressions.

    Game play is clunky and designed for Xbox and PS3 and has been just dumped on the PC making things very problematic if you do not have a controller. Mouse and keyboard are poor second place to a controller.

    Graphics are for a PC title very poor. Characters are badly animated and have more polygons than you would expect given the year. 5 years ago these graphics would be acceptable today not. Space and ships look OK at a distance but close up you can see the lack of textures.

    Given the poor graphics even with a top of the range PC the performance is poor with numerous random pauses and slow downs.

    Story line is like something written by a child of 10 and less said about the voice "acting" the better. The opening part of the story is clearly the tutorial which is a great idea. Sadly the guidance on what you need to do is most of the time hard to decipher and at times very unclear.

    Overall I would honestly like my money back. Was a huge fan of the earlier X titles but this is a poor relation indeed. Paying £10 for this would make the score maybe 6/10 but for the amount of money being charged 2 is a fair score.

    Stay clear unless you are a huge huge fan of space trading and even then think hard before spending your hard earned cash
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    This is for Revolve, who has insulted all those who rated the game below 5 (as is my case).

    I'll start by describing the status of my last
    This is for Revolve, who has insulted all those who rated the game below 5 (as is my case).

    I'll start by describing the status of my last X3:TC saved game:
    200 million credits (2 million credit profit every 5 minutes)
    Over a hundred factory complexes (over a thousand factories)
    Over 600 ships.
    Most plots finished.
    Maximum rank for all races.

    So no, dear Revolve, I'm not stupid or a noob, and the savegame above proves I have patience and know my X3:TC pretty well.

    I find it funny that you delude yourself by thinking that peolple like me are posting biased reviews...
    I guess your statement "so please take these idiotic nerdrage reviews as the useless spur of the moment rage induced rubbish that they are, and read the 5 to 9 reviews for a more balanced viewpoint."
    isn't biased at all, right? You basically said this: If you fail X:Rebirth here, you are some nerdy idiot full of childish rage.
    LOL, I'm amazed that your review is still posted here...
    Do you know what I don't do? I don't usually reply to comments like yours, but I will make an exception this time, same as you seem to have done.

    I won't insult you just because you rated this a 9, you are entitled to your opinion, that's the point of this space. I could start trolling you about how could you rate a broken game that high, and so on, but I won't.
    I had to restart the campaign 3 times because, at some point, X:Rebirth decides to get stuck and not to activate the scripts that, theoretically, make the campaign advance, plus, savegames become corrupted pretty easily. I don't discard another campaign restart, by the way, because I think it got stuck again.
    But that's just me and thousands of others, don't worry, we are just idiots, right?
    So X:Rebirth runs fine in your rig? Congrats, there are plenty of people who aren't so lucky, it's not that they are what you called them, it's that X:Rebirth has many bugs and it crashes regularly, more easily than it should.
    Are you willing to rate this broken game a 9? Go for it, but don't insult me just because I'm not willing to pass a game that I can't play properly because it crashes and gets stuck at some point.
    I can't use my joystick, by the way...oh,but of course, as long as I can use keyboard+mouse, the game is absolutely great, right? The ship panel doesn't respond/disappears too often, the interface is limited, uncomfortable and it hides commands instead of presenting them in a clear way. Have you tried to trade? I've tried over 20 times during campaign play. When I do, the game gets stuck or crashes 80% of the times.
    An X game that doesn't allow you to trade and you expect me to pass it? Who the hell do you think you are? I really expect extensions will greatly improve UI, remote ship/factory management, etc. that's my hope, otherwise I'll be demanding a refund.
    Now let's talk about graphics. Exterior graphics are acceptable, but not great (most textures are average to low res and polygon count is too low in too many models). Environment models and textures are the best of the game from a visual standpoint, and yes, Egosoft made this one thing right.
    Interior and character textures/models, however, are a crime considering it's 2013...they were good in 2004, but that was long ago.
    What about performance? Do you even know what's my rig?
    Here you go:
    i7 2600k overclocked to 4.4Ghz
    gigabyte z68xp-ud4
    OCZ vector SSD 128gb (aligned,optimized, AHCI enabled)
    16gb ram
    gtx560ti 1gb

    I don't know about your rig, but mine runs pretty much any demanding game without incidents, it freaking flies.
    Well, X:Rebirth runs a little bit below par most of the time, but in hazy areas it starts lagging too much and, sometimes, it suddenly starts lagging for real (around 10 fps or even less) then it's time to relaunch the game. This is, clearly, some bug within X:Rebirth, for I've never experienced this kind of lag with any other demanding game...my rig has seen a lot of those and it always makes me proud.

    Is everything wrong in X:Rebirth? Thankfully no.
    -Ambience is, in my opinion, its top feature. Sector visuals are astonishing.
    -There is a high level of traffic in almost every sector and you have plenty of stations (station sections) to scan and explore also in 1st person (although interior graphics are bad and interaction is limited). I'm not sure it comes close to X3:TC/AP scale, though.
    -You can dock with your cap ships. You can watch the cap ship travel/fight from the dock while it gives you a ride to the desired sector. Also, now you can target/destroy/hack specific systems of cap ships, the same way you could do in the X-Wing sim saga.
    -While this is not necessarily a good thing, SETA has been replaced by powerful boost engines with limited duration. Now it takes much less time to cross a sector. Roads/highways have replaced jumgates, in case you like them.

    Regarless of these positive elements, I give it a 4. X:Rebirth has serious bugs that break the game and, for now, it doesn't deliver as promised.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    This game isn't ready for release. It might look great on trailer but trailers are made to look great. The game industry standard is toThis game isn't ready for release. It might look great on trailer but trailers are made to look great. The game industry standard is to release half finished content with game crashing bugs and hope to patch it up later.
    This game does not deserve a 0 but I only gave it one to counter the 10 's and 9's it got. Best case, it'll drop down to 5 or,maybe 6, no more.
    Do not get this game until it's properly fixed.
    Full Review »