X Rebirth PC

X Rebirth Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the distant future, the X universe faces a period of profound and irrevocable change. While the universe stumbles towards an uncertain future, countless adventures await as new enemies rise in search of power. Enter a young adventurer and his unlikely female ally traveling in an old,In the distant future, the X universe faces a period of profound and irrevocable change. While the universe stumbles towards an uncertain future, countless adventures await as new enemies rise in search of power. Enter a young adventurer and his unlikely female ally traveling in an old, battered ship with a glorious past - two people alone against the galaxy, playing a key part in the events to come. The fate of the universe rests in the hands of the player... Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
X Rebirth - Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 24 out of 24
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    47
    To top off a growing tower of gripes, navigation around space in Rebirth is an astounding hassle.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    43
    No matter what happens with stability and bug-fixing patches, its poor controls, awful interface, and dull pacing ensure that X Rebirth will remain unpleasant for all but the most forgiving, die-hard space jockeys.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    40
    X: Rebirth will get better over time, and anyone who’s open-minded enough to look past the ‘X’ branding and see the ‘game’, may even find many hours of entertainment.
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    30
    You can (barely) fathom some good ideas about offering the players more accessibility in a saga that surely needed some, but they soon get lost in the utter and complete mess of unfinished mechanics and bugs that, sadly, is X Rebirth.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    30
    Long story short: In its current state, X Rebirth is just a sad affair.
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    28
    Patches may stop the glitches, but I think this space sim is far beyond repair.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    16
    Somewhere in this mess is an X as you know and like it: Smaller, but prettier and with a solid foundation. But with problems like game-stopping bugs and bad design decisions all the ambition goes down the drain.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 636
  1. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    I pre ordered this game and it was disappointing when it had a lot of glitches. The X series has been my favorite since X-Beyond. I knew theI pre ordered this game and it was disappointing when it had a lot of glitches. The X series has been my favorite since X-Beyond. I knew the old games backwards and the new one was alien. I have since grown to love the game. The developers have been patching / fixing / improving the whole time and it's now a great game.
    Looking forward to the next installation.
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    Although it does have some bugs and general issues to work out, the game is beautiful and shows a vast and endless amount of possibilitiesAlthough it does have some bugs and general issues to work out, the game is beautiful and shows a vast and endless amount of possibilities with a bit of modding like all X games.

    It's not perfect, but no game ever is despite what people claim. Personally, I like how they did things and i believe that this game has potential with a few months of bug fixing.
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    5
    A great looking space game that needs lots of tlc, some serious re thinking and more time baking in the oven. Could be really great one day ifA great looking space game that needs lots of tlc, some serious re thinking and more time baking in the oven. Could be really great one day if the current issues are taken seriously. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    2
    I'm not going to rehash all that is wrong with this game. My advice, wait a year then take a look. It might, just might be worth ones timeI'm not going to rehash all that is wrong with this game. My advice, wait a year then take a look. It might, just might be worth ones time with patches and mods. Right now, it's not worth my time. There are far superior games to be played at the moment! Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    1
    I do not like the direction Egosoft seems to be going with this game. It feels more like a FPS. It lacks the true depth and learning curveI do not like the direction Egosoft seems to be going with this game. It feels more like a FPS. It lacks the true depth and learning curve that the previous X games had. I loved the fact that I could buy AND pilot new ships, instead of just drones. Its not fun at all to just have one ship, granted I liked the Albion Pride design in X3: AP and wanted to capture it for my own, but still. The game seems to rely on being a gamepad game too much now. I regret buying the game. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2015
    0
    even after patch 3.53 the game is crap. still no economic system, still the same station to walk at every station, still a stupid autopilot (even after patch 3.53 the game is crap. still no economic system, still the same station to walk at every station, still a stupid autopilot ( remember me of X3 TC autopilot, do the same crap and crash you into stations ^^)

    this game is still only a space shooter with a tiny element of random Price history tradingsystem.
    X games had 4 foundations of gameplay: "trade, fight, build, think". Rebirth has only 2 left : fight and build.

    if u want a space shooter. this is your game. if u want a simulation, its not.
    Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    in my honest opinion from playing this game and backed by finds within the game code I believe this is a failed console project of which thein my honest opinion from playing this game and backed by finds within the game code I believe this is a failed console project of which the remnants were hastily patched together and sold to the unsuspecting PC crowd to cut the losses. in my eyes, a scam like this isn't even worth a proper review. Expand

See all 636 User Reviews