Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the distant future, the X universe faces a period of profound and irrevocable change. While the universe stumbles towards an uncertain future, countless adventures await as new enemies rise in search of power. Enter a young adventurer and his unlikely female ally traveling in an old, battered ship with a glorious past - two people alone against the galaxy, playing a key part in the events to come. The fate of the universe rests in the hands of the player... Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 24 out of 24
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    47
    To top off a growing tower of gripes, navigation around space in Rebirth is an astounding hassle.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    43
    No matter what happens with stability and bug-fixing patches, its poor controls, awful interface, and dull pacing ensure that X Rebirth will remain unpleasant for all but the most forgiving, die-hard space jockeys.
  3. 40
    X: Rebirth will get better over time, and anyone who’s open-minded enough to look past the ‘X’ branding and see the ‘game’, may even find many hours of entertainment.
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    30
    You can (barely) fathom some good ideas about offering the players more accessibility in a saga that surely needed some, but they soon get lost in the utter and complete mess of unfinished mechanics and bugs that, sadly, is X Rebirth.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    30
    Long story short: In its current state, X Rebirth is just a sad affair.
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    28
    Patches may stop the glitches, but I think this space sim is far beyond repair.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    16
    Somewhere in this mess is an X as you know and like it: Smaller, but prettier and with a solid foundation. But with problems like game-stopping bugs and bad design decisions all the ambition goes down the drain.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    The game is awesome.
    When you read all these review, don't forget that it's the vocal minority, all the people that like the game, are busy
    playing it.
    Graphics: 9
    Gameplay: 9
    Sound: 8
    UI: 4

    There are occasional bugs, but I didn't experience a single crash, or low FPS. I have: GTX 680
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    Up to this point and +30 hours of play, I have enjoyed this game. The atmosphere and space world graphics are very impressive. The highways are very well thought out, removing the need for SETA which actually was a good decision. I really enjoyed discovering new sectors than any other game of the X series.

    The fighting mechanics have improved maybe a bit too easy, but its hard to balance such a complex game with little player feedback.

    Disappointed that the game is still far to buggy and still crashes, though frame rates are very good for quad core cpu 2.8.ghz. I am sure knowing what the developers did with previous releases this will be a great game.
    Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    After i played this title, I have some questions: Why I bought this game? Why EGOSOFT has created a game so outrageous? This software is not up to other space games. X3AP is better than this game. Even Evochron is better than this title. My only regret is the fact that the game is on STEAM, otherwise it would sell right away. DON'T BUY. For italian player: NON COMPRATELO!!! NON VALE I SOLDI CHE COSTA! Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    Most games release with a few bugs. In the bug range from simple ants to gigantic roaches. This game has a swarm of roaches. The flying kind that lay eggs. The bugs even have bugs.... Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    1
    So where to start? This is so bad i don´t know where to start.
    Here the only good point I found:
    Grafics in Space are awesome.
    Here are the
    bad points I found:
    Only one ship to steer directly
    Space Stations can only be build at given locations
    Aweful npc-grafics inside of stations
    Many bugs and crashes
    Trade not functioning.
    Ach it it´s
    Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    I really tried to play this game, but had to give up after som hours, but the game was realy playing against you. Sad to say, but avoid this game at all cost !! Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Made for consoles. Massively dumbed down from the previous titles, everything which made them good has been removed and replaced by a buggy action-adventure game. Someone obviously played Mass Effect and thought, "Me too!"

    The interface is terrible, and support for the keyboard, mouse, or joystick is barely there. If you're not playing with a X-Box gamepad, you're out of luck with this title.
    Expand

See all 634 User Reviews