X3: Reunion Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: X3: Reunion immerses the player into the most realistic, living universe, ever experienced. Extensive development has gone into the X³ engine, making full use of DirectX 9 technology, to create dramatic visual effects and stunningly realistic starships. The economy model in X3: Reunion is more complex than any previous X game. Coupled with the massively enhanced A.L. (Artificial Life) system, X³: Reunion presents players with an ever changing, evolving universe; where a player's actions can shape the future of the universe. Combat A.I. has been improved to take all ship classes into account and will challenge players; from individual dog fights to commanding full-scale fleets against massive enemy armadas. A new array of weapon systems give increased choice and tactics for any situation, while the multiple threat targeting system makes the player a force to be reckoned with. Rebalanced fighter classes make any encounter a challenge for players of all levels. [Enlight] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. 100
    By far the most engrossing game released so far this millennium.
  2. You have to really be into this kind of game to truly appreciate it otherwise you might just declare it as boring. It's a thinking man's game, not as deep as chess but there are certainly a lot of elements to juggle around in your head.
  3. Nearly perfect in regards to its presentation, almost MMO-like scope and endless gameplay.
  4. The best part of X3: Reunion is ultimately doing your own thing in space.
  5. 75
    X3 – Reunion is bigger, and visually more impressive than any of the X titles that preceded it. However the game play can be very repetitive and you can lose interest unless you are a dedicated player.
  6. Bolder souls, as interested in commerce as they are in combat, can buy with much greater confidence.
  7. The most maddeningly convoluted gaming experience this side of Derek Smart. [Feb 2006, p.67]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 128
  2. Negative: 45 out of 128
  1. HohnD.
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    It;s a very, very deep game, sad that it has so low score... Do you remember the Elite game from the 1980's? That's it! But 1000 times better! Expand
  2. BryanH.
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    If your into long game play and like great space graphics. Then this one is it.
  3. Vitez
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    The best and most addicting game ever. I've been playing it since the release, and didn't get bored of it. Those who gave it low scores simply don't realise that this isn't a game where you push "Start" and suddenly you're the "supreme ruler of the universe who is best in everything". This is not an FPS where opponents die after one shot but you survive everything. X3 takes time to get into, thanks to the huge universe, the variety, the freedom etc etc. Storytelling is a "bit" clumsy, but you don't have to follow it. I have high expectations for games and X3 jumped over it and flew straight to the stars. This is not Elite or Privateer, nor EVE; this is X. Comparing it to other titles is useless, and comparing it to EVE is stupidity at its highest..Egosoft was always friendly eversince I registered there 5 years ago, and always helped me (unlike other developers who say "I'll get on in ASAP" and never respond. So, if you don't want a GOOD, but the BEST space game, then I recommend Reunion. Expand
  4. JanH.
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    Gameplay is excellent but the recurring problems evident in it's predecessors, X BTF and X2 are present in X3 as well, Graphics gets choppy on the fastest systems and it takes some system tweaking to get the game running well, once it runs it is a brilliant game that will steal many hours from your life and probably even break a marriage or two. Expand
  5. GrahamB.
    Dec 12, 2005
    5
    I've got a pretty good new system. 4800+ (overclocked by 10% using N.O.S) 2x Winfast 7800GT Extreme cards, (both pre-overclocked) 1.5 gig ram, Audigy 4, Spinfast 120 harddrives (brand new).. The game plays (with 2 patches). ...just ! But... The story gets confused after about chapter 6 if you go back to your base the wrong way (as well as many other "shopwstoppers" apparently - but this is the one that's bugged me. Economy makes no sense..buy from chock full factories at very low price, go to sector where factory is stopped because they don't have the commodity you have bought - go to sell it to them and make a loss !!!! Where's the supply/demand structure in that ??? Graphics STUNNING , don't care what people say, messes all over Eve (BIG time) BUT Get into a battle and frame rate (on my 2 week old rig) drops to 4 or 5 (yes tried every trick in the book to get it working - options / Mobo / Rivatuner / Tweaks / "unnoficial" patches to lower pedestrian traffic etc - still need Deep Blue to get the flipping thing shifting. Really feels like a BETA. I want this game to work, go on make it work, i'm sure it'll be worth it ....... Expand
  6. RichardC.
    Aug 17, 2006
    3
    It looks like a great game on the cover but, there are many game-killers. For one, people not familiar with this sort of massive-space-sim genre it will be nearly impossible and incredibly confusing to get into it. Also, for those who want action, let me tell you I shot at a random space-station floating in space, then was informed on my radio that the space police were coming for me, and it took them half an hour to reach me, I watched them approach very, very, very slowly. And this game does pretty much drag on. So, if you're new to this genre, want action, don't have patience don't waste your time with this. Expand
  7. MaxM.
    Nov 18, 2005
    0
    IF this gamewas X3 it would be superb,BUT it is simply an expansion that was sold as a full game,..it`s bugged and broken to an almost illegal degree,...it runs terribly [if at all] on monster machines...a miriad of features were removed...and very little added,...the official forums is awash with complaints and ranting,..but they do promise to "fix it",...but as it is its a pale comparison to its earlier incarnations,....waiting till oct-nov 2006 is the best bet to get to see the complete game,...as the present release is only half finished and only a lucky few can run it,or complete the plotline. Expand

See all 128 User Reviews