X3: Terran Conflict PC

X3: Terran Conflict Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is the culmination of the X trilogy, with a grand finale that takes us all the way back to Earth's own solar system. Gamers can take on the roles of different characters in the X universe, or of a Terran military pilot, and experience a multitude of stories in the largest X universe everIt is the culmination of the X trilogy, with a grand finale that takes us all the way back to Earth's own solar system. Gamers can take on the roles of different characters in the X universe, or of a Terran military pilot, and experience a multitude of stories in the largest X universe ever featured – for X3: Terran Conflict will offer more missions than any other X game before. Meanwhile, X3: Terran Conflict will pose questions such as: How has Earth changed in all these years? And how will relations between Earth and its counterparts in the X universe develop? [Deep Silver] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. PC Zone UK
    88
    The sex is still great, and I'd love to say we could still stay faithful to one another for many years to come. But it may well be that we've come to a point in our lives when it might not be a bad idea for us to start seeing other people. [Dec 2008, p.72]
  2. 80
    Lovingly concocted, generally well executed, and hampered only by a few niggles, this is a game that not only achieves its goal -- plunking us into another time and place to live the life of an entrepreneurial spaceman -- but shows us that some titles can truly take us places.
  3. X3: Terran Conflict is a deep and involving game with gameplay that is difficult to get in to. If you can get past the first hurdle of the initial few missions the game will open up into its massive potential.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Terran Conflict is not everybody's game. It may be more accessible than previous entries but that is not to suggest much headway has been made in this area. I would have loved to have scored this game higher but it can't be ignored that this a difficult recommendation to make to most people. [January 2009, p.55]
  5. Total PC Gaming
    70
    A space sim that fans will enjoy and new players could love. [Issue#13, p.63]
  6. With that said though, I really can't think of a compelling reason not to recommend it to any space-sim fan - but only because of the depressing fact that there isn't anything else that really compares out there for the moment.
  7. Play (Poland)
    60
    That's an interesting game, if you're a hardcore space sim freak. I mean fan. For us regular Earthlings it's too complicated and simply boring. [Dec 2008]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 88
  2. Negative: 18 out of 88
  1. RichB.
    Oct 17, 2008
    10
    Now with the solar system's planets the X series has never been more engaging. A totally immersive, with a scalable sandbox mode which Now with the solar system's planets the X series has never been more engaging. A totally immersive, with a scalable sandbox mode which can have you in charge of an empire the size of your imagination. stunning graphics and a gripping story too (if you feel like persuing it). some say the game has a steep learning curve but 100% worth it, plus you will still get the most from this if you have not played any of the previous games. Build, fight, trade, think, the title's tagline is a perfect way to sum up the open ended nature of the game. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    X3 Terran conflict is a slow game but rewarding if you get past the slowness the best thing you can do to enjoy this game is to look up aX3 Terran conflict is a slow game but rewarding if you get past the slowness the best thing you can do to enjoy this game is to look up a guide online and follow that for a little while then deviate from it at the end game you have plenty of trade ships doing the trading for you leaving more time for you to do the fighting missions, Interface also has improved from Reunion. I have to mark it down due to its inaccessibility that seems to put so many people off. All in All if you are obsessed with space Sims try this one out Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Alright, the learning curve in this game is vertical. If you're going to buy it, understand that. Understand that you're going to have toAlright, the learning curve in this game is vertical. If you're going to buy it, understand that. Understand that you're going to have to learn hotkeys. Understand that you're going to be looking in the manual for a good few hours to figure everything out. But understand that it's worth it. X3 TC is an absolutely fantastic, beautiful, and immersive game. The sheer size of the thing is something along the magnitude of 8 million cubic kilometers spread throughout several hundred sectors. There are varied races each with many unique starships. The economic and combat aspects of this game are spectacular. Trading goods and building factories is immensely satisfying. The music and art makes the entire experience that much more epic. If you're willing to spend the time getting to know her, X3 can take you for one heck of a ride. Expand
  4. JonathanN
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. I love it to bits and if im at uni ill have withdrawl symptoms from it! There is a but! As Mike T said, this game will This is a great game. I love it to bits and if im at uni ill have withdrawl symptoms from it! There is a but! As Mike T said, this game will attract every fan of the X Series and i can guarantee that they will all love it, i myself have played since X3 reunion; so i can generally pick it up and play. But even then the controls are still hard to learn. I currently have v1.3 and 80% of the errors in v1.0 are gone including the performance issues Mike T mentions; there are also lots of new additions and commands to help make gameplay easier. If one is willing to take the learning curve of this game, this game will outlast any game you have ever played due to the sheer content of what you can do. Build, fight, think and trade is the perfect tagline and since Egosoft have released this game in October they have already eliminated most of its flaws within the space of 2 -3months and even before xmas! I personally give it a 10/10, and when you do buy it make sure you update the game! Expand
  5. LeeA
    Dec 29, 2008
    8
    When it came out in Oct 2008 it was a rip off, half finnished product but now its X3 Reunion with the free expansion added to it and then re When it came out in Oct 2008 it was a rip off, half finnished product but now its X3 Reunion with the free expansion added to it and then re sold to us the beta testers. X3 Reunion with a new interface is all your getting extra if you havent yet tried Reunion with the Xtended mod. To all the ones moaning about the controls try the options menu like you do in every other game to make it nice to control. Make sure you get a decent joystick with lots of buttons only the X52 pro has enough. Expand
  6. GaryL
    Nov 25, 2009
    5
    This game is OKAY. I bought it about a week ago.. and i cant seem to get the hang of it. The graphics are pretty old, not to good but good This game is OKAY. I bought it about a week ago.. and i cant seem to get the hang of it. The graphics are pretty old, not to good but good enough. The game play is slow. Very slow. And there seems to be a lot of bugs with my "up to date" game. My autopilot has killed me several times. Honestly, as some people have said, its a good game, but it depends on who you are. For me, it sucks and i REALLY wish i could get my money back. Eve online was much better, like a 10 better. Expand
  7. May 23, 2015
    0
    There are a lot of bad games out there, but Terran Conflict (all of X3, really) takes the cake.

    This game suffers from the trope The AI is
    There are a lot of bad games out there, but Terran Conflict (all of X3, really) takes the cake.

    This game suffers from the trope The AI is a Cheating Bastard to epic proportions. There is a weapon called the Plasma Burst Generator which for most of the game is only available to AI pirates.

    It is impossible to beat an enemy with this weapon.

    The plasma burst generator will one hit kill even heavy fighter craft and there is no way to escape it nor defeat an enemy with it (maybe if you have capital ships, but you'll be dead before you ever get that far). Players are known for cheating to get the weapon, loading it onto relatively small ships and then blasting apart the most powerful ships in the game.

    By the time you realise your enemy has a Plasma Burst Generator, you're dead. End of story. Because they game only allows you to save at stations unless you waste your credits on "insurance" (something you can ill afford to do at game start), you can end up losing massive areas of play as you attempt to fly between sectors where you can't dock all because The AI is a Cheating Bastard.

    Despite this over powered weapon, due to the love of cheating amongst players of the X Series, no one has made a mod to remove it from the game and instructions on how to mod it out yourself are incomprehensible. Since you can't beat enemies with this weapon, there is no point in playing the game unless you plan on cheating (something which many players eventually admit to having done; my guess is that nearly all do).

    A great idea absolutely obliterated by an incompetent development team.
    Expand

See all 88 User Reviews