• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
X3: Terran Conflict Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is the culmination of the X trilogy, with a grand finale that takes us all the way back to Earth's own solar system. Gamers can take on the roles of different characters in the X universe, or of a Terran military pilot, and experience a multitude of stories in the largest X universe everIt is the culmination of the X trilogy, with a grand finale that takes us all the way back to Earth's own solar system. Gamers can take on the roles of different characters in the X universe, or of a Terran military pilot, and experience a multitude of stories in the largest X universe ever featured – for X3: Terran Conflict will offer more missions than any other X game before. Meanwhile, X3: Terran Conflict will pose questions such as: How has Earth changed in all these years? And how will relations between Earth and its counterparts in the X universe develop? [Deep Silver] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. The sex is still great, and I'd love to say we could still stay faithful to one another for many years to come. But it may well be that we've come to a point in our lives when it might not be a bad idea for us to start seeing other people. [Dec 2008, p.72]
  2. 80
    Lovingly concocted, generally well executed, and hampered only by a few niggles, this is a game that not only achieves its goal -- plunking us into another time and place to live the life of an entrepreneurial spaceman -- but shows us that some titles can truly take us places.
  3. X3: Terran Conflict is a deep and involving game with gameplay that is difficult to get in to. If you can get past the first hurdle of the initial few missions the game will open up into its massive potential.
  4. Terran Conflict is not everybody's game. It may be more accessible than previous entries but that is not to suggest much headway has been made in this area. I would have loved to have scored this game higher but it can't be ignored that this a difficult recommendation to make to most people. [January 2009, p.55]
  5. A space sim that fans will enjoy and new players could love. [Issue#13, p.63]
  6. With that said though, I really can't think of a compelling reason not to recommend it to any space-sim fan - but only because of the depressing fact that there isn't anything else that really compares out there for the moment.
  7. That's an interesting game, if you're a hardcore space sim freak. I mean fan. For us regular Earthlings it's too complicated and simply boring. [Dec 2008]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 85
  2. Negative: 16 out of 85
  1. TomN.
    Oct 17, 2008
    10
    If you're looking at the review and wondering whether or not to go for it - do it. They took everything that was broken in X3 and fixed If you're looking at the review and wondering whether or not to go for it - do it. They took everything that was broken in X3 and fixed it, added even more to the already excellent X3 title, and polished it until it shone. There are some niggles, and some things you need to learn and adapt to, but a little perserverance (even less now the mission and guide systems are improved over the previous titles) and this game will reward your patience a thousand-fold. This has very nearly made the wait for Elite 4 a distant memory. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    X3 Terran conflict is a slow game but rewarding if you get past the slowness the best thing you can do to enjoy this game is to look up aX3 Terran conflict is a slow game but rewarding if you get past the slowness the best thing you can do to enjoy this game is to look up a guide online and follow that for a little while then deviate from it at the end game you have plenty of trade ships doing the trading for you leaving more time for you to do the fighting missions, Interface also has improved from Reunion. I have to mark it down due to its inaccessibility that seems to put so many people off. All in All if you are obsessed with space Sims try this one out Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Alright, the learning curve in this game is vertical. If you're going to buy it, understand that. Understand that you're going to have toAlright, the learning curve in this game is vertical. If you're going to buy it, understand that. Understand that you're going to have to learn hotkeys. Understand that you're going to be looking in the manual for a good few hours to figure everything out. But understand that it's worth it. X3 TC is an absolutely fantastic, beautiful, and immersive game. The sheer size of the thing is something along the magnitude of 8 million cubic kilometers spread throughout several hundred sectors. There are varied races each with many unique starships. The economic and combat aspects of this game are spectacular. Trading goods and building factories is immensely satisfying. The music and art makes the entire experience that much more epic. If you're willing to spend the time getting to know her, X3 can take you for one heck of a ride. Expand
  4. PhilP
    Dec 11, 2008
    9
    I'm not sure why the X-Series has always received such poor reviews from the critics. Sure the learning curve is steep and the UI is not I'm not sure why the X-Series has always received such poor reviews from the critics. Sure the learning curve is steep and the UI is not ideal, but the shear magnitude of the universe, incredible graphics, customizability and replayability make this a great value and wonderful game. Any old-school fans of Elite will absolutely love this game. Expand
  5. CachoG.
    Jun 18, 2009
    8
    High, high learning curve, for me at least that this was my starter in X universe. But as a old space freak (sorry, fan ;), is "almost" the High, high learning curve, for me at least that this was my starter in X universe. But as a old space freak (sorry, fan ;), is "almost" the game i was especting since Privateer. (yead, old). By the way, i still play Privateer as his remake, Gemini Gold... Classics never die. Expand
  6. MikeT.
    Oct 23, 2008
    6
    To all of the reviewers that gave this a 10... If you are willing to give a game with this many bugs and balance issues a 10 I say you are To all of the reviewers that gave this a 10... If you are willing to give a game with this many bugs and balance issues a 10 I say you are either a paid company shill, or an Uberfanboy. I on the other hand are neither. This is my first game in the X series. My real problem is this, yes you can play however you, but when you reach a specific pilot rating, being the fighter pilot becomes more or less unplayable. To explain there are non plot missions littered throughout the galaxy some trading, some taxi, some station construction, and some combat. As you increase in pilot levels the combat missions become more and more difficult, not difficult as in L2PN00B sort of situations, but difficult as in the game spawns in numbers that you cannot possibly deal with unless you bring lots of support "wings" It basically makes you not be the hotshot fighter pilot that I'm sure many of us would like to be. Other problems I had with X3 Terran Conflict: On the subject of wings, they are near impossible to control effectively without a lot of practice. The living economy never seems to have anything resembling a weapon or shields in stock. And another gamebreaker is that as the game progresses your performance will degrade, you see the game keeps churning out new ships and not enough of them die off so (near as the forums can tell) your processor begins to get hosed by all of the extra ships in the universe. Don't be fooled though, there is a great game here, just waiting to be patched up and have it's balance fixed. Egosoft has a wonderful track record for that, so I say just wait about a month and then pick up this title, you shouldn't be disappointed. Expand
  7. SJT-Ruler*
    Feb 11, 2009
    0
    This is really a pathetic game. At first, I thought it would be great, perhaps a nice space simulator. Guess what, it's really a big This is really a pathetic game. At first, I thought it would be great, perhaps a nice space simulator. Guess what, it's really a big fail. The gameplay is boring, it can literally take minutes sometimes to fly to something with nothing to do in between, boring slow-flying in space... everyone's dream, right? First of all, the tutorial is superbly flawed and makes not much sense, as are the controls. Second of all, a part in the tutorial keeps crashing, meaning I cannot get further into the game. Enough said, if this is to be called a game, they should make it work properly FIRST. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews