User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1875 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    I would put this game in the pantheon of strategy games, without question. SCORE: 97/100.

    I loved this game from start to finish and everything about the tactical gameplay is amazing and engaging. There are a great variety of classes (with upgrade paths, ranks, and different equipment) and enemies, diverse maps, good base technology and items, and just a complete package that is fun and
    replayable.

    This is a game that you will play again, and you will be glad you did.
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    I made a terrible mistake...I didn't realize the game doesn't automatically save (well I did, but i'm lazy and didn't bother to manually save) and got into a situation where my entire team died. All my warriors, battled hardened from several missions: gone. And I was very sad, because I had to start from scratch, either with a bunch of scrubs or a new game. And yet...I'm more determined than ever, and will do better this time, invest in the right things (that are crucial) and ignore the lesser investments until I have the money (I was a noob and didn't realize how important satellites are). I never played the original X-COM, but all I can say is this reminds me so much of Mass Effect 1 and 2, without the silly story (that eventually collapsed in ME3). They clearly borrowed from this series.

    This is an incredible game: ignore the haters and buy this if you have ever enjoyed any game involving tactics. It's clear that they got the essence of what many old-school PC gamers say is the greatest game to ever be released for the computer...looking at this game I wouldn't be surprised if that were true. Easily the Game of the Year, and after less than a day playing it, among Firaxis' best (and they have made a lot of very good games).
    Collapse
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    There's some minor issues, the most annoying of which being that sometimes moving people around inside a UFO is really a hassle due to the roof blocking your view, and other times people won't want to move to high or low ground. Some areas could also be beefed up in complexity (interception), but on the whole they really nailed this one. The game is addictively fun and brilliantly captures the "just one more turn" feeling. Fans of the 1993 version will be able to find things to complain about, as this is not a straight remake. It's a 2012 take on the game, and while not everything is the same the spirit of the classic version is alive and well here. If you're not familiar with the classic X-COM, then any strategy fan should go buy this right now. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Best turn-based strategy game since the original X-COM. Yeah it has its own flavour, and it doesn't shy away from sticking to its own design decisions. What it delivers is just awesome. The single player on classic ironman has insane replayability: enemy AI, challenging combat, challenging strategic layer panic management etc. all provide a compelling experience. The best part is you know that it was your fault that you lost, and you have a good idea what your mistake was to fix it next time. Establishing characters that you actually care for and naming them is addictive. The MP is just an added bonus to annoy your friends with and see if an all floater team can really mess up an archangel sniper, or if a 2 x ghost armour squad is better than an ethereal with sectoid scouts. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    XCOM veterans, this isn't just the game you used to play, but with updated graphics. It's a true reimagining of the original. But worry not, it's certainly worth your time. Especially on Classic difficulty, the game is definitely a challenge that takes me back to the agonizing moments, so full of tension, from the original. I found myself coordinating my squad's movements to work as a team; carefully approaching each map in a slow and methodical fashion. The XCOM "squad" has a cohesive tactical feeling that the original was missing. Sure there was plenty of strategy in the original, but the new XCOM has a way of really making your team feel like more of a "TEAM" in a way the original didn't. The strategic layer of the game has been modified in such a way that it really serves to reduce the unnecessary elements of the original while still highlighting the importance of thinking about "the big picture" while playing. The game is so much more than just making sure you have the best squad for a given mission. It's about the long game. It's about planning for expansion down the road. It's about being prepared for the inevitable setbacks. It's about being able to think strategically as well as tactically. Nope, this isn't the original XCOM with a new coat of paint. It's a new XCOM. A modern XCOM. An XCOM that already kept me up WAY too late, and I'm sure will claim many more. This is an excellently crafted, undeniably fun strategy game. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This version of XCOM actually has MORE depth than the original. The bits that added little to the (classic) original have been removed or altere while tactical (combat based) and strategic ("base" based) options have been added that actually add to ythe thought that's required to succeed. Examples Disembarking - man that was a pain, one well placed grenade and your entire squad wiped before you'd started your second turn and split up to avoid being one large target for me this always meant a reload of a saved game. It just annoyed me when it happened, now it doesn't. "Bug hunt" endings. Scouring maps for that one last alien who had decided to stand in a cupboard, 90 minutes trying to find it, ending up just being bored and making a careless mistake or just quitting the game - gone...Unrealistic micro customization - In the original you could force any soldier to become anything. That's not realistic at all. A 5 foot 3 sharpshooter moulded into being a musclebound heavy weapons carrier "just because you need one" It might offer you control - but at the expense of any level or realism. The movement simpified in use, but actually increased in tactical options. Moce a squad member a level? Easy! - No special button to take the view up or down required, how about over a wall or through a window. SImple, no 3 level menu system to go through, it will calculate it, and you will know whether you have the ability to continue with another action after or not. All the calculations are there if you play, but they are transparent to the user, leaving you just to work out what is best rather than micro analysing action points. Supression fire? Opportunity fire, different levels of cover? These allow you to work out some pretty snazzy tactics. Your troops level in a way that makes it fab. Actual abilities are learned that expand your tactical options, some are passive, some used on a turn based "cooldown" - all make a difference if used in the right place. Morale, Psi attacks. It's all there - it just doesn't require micro management. I thought I would miss micro management - but I don't - not one bit. For me - someone who loves to see a proper AAA turn based game (at LAST - after Sooooo many FPS..aren't FPS bored to tears with the same game being sold over and over and over and over) Xcom is a breath of fresh air. The moddability of the PC game means we can expect maps, missions and TC's in the next few months that will keep this game on my hard drive and being played almost indefinitely. 10/10 Best game I've played since Jagged Alliance 2 or Rebelstar. Well done Firaxis, after the relative mess of Civ 5 you are back with a bang. Best game of 2012 by a mile. Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Dumbed down from the original? Maybe. Deeper and more thoughtful than most games of the market? DEFINETELY... Any player who enjoys games where thinking is involved has to love this little gem. It's not a remake, more of a re-imagining. A wonderful turn based game where every choice matters. A great showcase of what good turn based gameplay can be. ARE YOU LISTENING RPG GAME MAKERS? More fun than I had with any game this year... Expand
  8. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    All in all, the game is very strong; the combat works well, the macro-level stuff keeps you sucked in, and there is a fairly decent variety in enemies. The game will keep you entertained for 20-30 hours.

    That being said, it could be a little bit better; the aliens aren't quite smart and aggressive enough, and eventually, once you get things under control, it can get a little bit dry
    towards the end.

    Still, on the whole, it is an enjoyable experience and well worth the time and money to beat it once.
    Expand
  9. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is solid. Period. For those of you who have been playing games for years and like various aspects of many types of games, this one will satisfy you. Turn based strategy. Check. Shooter vibe. Check. Base building. Check. Difficult decisions. Yes. Desisions matter. Umhum. Feels like you're "in the game." Absolutely. Fun and re-playable. You see where I'm going with this.
    Give XCOM a chance and it'll surprise you at the most unexpected moments in both great and devastating ways. These moments are always interesting though and happen in ways that never leave you feeling cheated.
    This team deserves to be supported. A little creative searching can yield a slightly cheaper result if pricing is a problem for you. I have over 40 games on Steam and XCOM is my shining star that I'm most proud of and that I'm most likely to recommend to others. It's the game I going to want to talk about months after completion and maybe fire back up again from time to time.

    Firaxis,
    Congratulations and thank you for implementing your ideas for an XCOM reboot so well. I know that you know that you have a special product under your belt. Now the rest of us know it as well, and most of us agree that it's unique, fun, and relevant in today's gaming space/market.

    Knocked it out of the park!
    Expand
  10. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    I played the original series with religious fervor when I was a kid. This game, while slightly different definitely hits the spot. I was very worried this game was going to be dumbed down and not as challenging as the original given the pattern of a lot of video games recently released for the masses. The bottom line is that there is some complexity that was in the original but isn't in this but I've actually found that it just streamlines the game without really reducing the difficulty and the level of thought that needs to go into winning. If you are a fan of the original this is a MUST BUY. If you have played civilization and enjoy that game but aren't familiar with this series, this is a MUST BUY. I am playing on normal-ironman for my first play through. This means I basically have no saves. If I lose a guy he is gone, there is no going back and replaying the mission. Playing the game this way makes it incredibly intense. I can't wait for the DLCs!!!! Expand
  11. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I played the original X-Com UFO Defense, and Terror from the Deep. Firaxis has done a superb job in providing a game that is quite simply....just X-Com, there has been some polish in certain areas of the game of course and its moved up and met modern graphical and rendering standards but as someone that was a diehard fan of the originals as I play through the new one, I can't really see anything that stands out to me as a dire violation of the original games premise. Some might quibble about the lack of randomly generated encounter maps, but there seem to be plenty non-RNG ones that should keep people busy. Overall there is nothing about this game that is abusing my sensibilities as a fan of the original games, they didn't miss a hitch, anything they expanded on, or removed, from the original, is barely noticeable and has no impact whatsoever on the experience being just plain and simple XCOM for the current generation. Firaxis has done the one thing many "remake" developers have not been able to achieve, they've produced the exact same product I loved 20 or so years ago, they just made it prettier, more interactive and more exciting to play. All I can say is that the one reviewer that gave this game a 70 but said it was a great game and you should buy it is the ONLY reason this game's Metacritic rating didn't breach the 90 mark. If Firaxis releases an SDK, and considers some strong DLC offerings, I'll be quite happy to snap up both. Well done Firaxis, thanks for not screwing it up! Expand
  12. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    a true spiritual succesor to the infamous x-com. a brialliant game that my as well along starcraft be the savoir of rts genre on the pc, a genre many claimed to be dying. This game, along with dishonored will keep you busy. PC gamers rejoice, x-com is here to stay.
  13. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. microprose´s x-com is beside MOO2 one of my all-time favorites.
    with little missing (base invasions, possibility to pick up enemy weapons, backpacks, ammo) this classic in modern clothes is the best game i bought lately. all kudos to the developers.

    ps. bring back base attacks..
    Expand
  14. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    Playing XCOM: Enemy Unknown is like sitting down for dinner with an old friend who appears to be doing very well for themselves, after all these years. You recognize them, and while you both have enough memories of the "good old days" for you to fall back on, there's enough new and interesting things going on in your friend's life to make for a memorable conversation. And then, when it's all over, you begin to wonder why you ever lost touch all these years to begin with. 9.5/10 -- Solid execution, atmosphere, mechanics, and enough twists that this title isn't just a retread, it stands on its own two feet. Expand
  15. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Starts a bit slow, but as your investment in your soldiers increase, and when you climb the learning curve, things start to get very interesting. The highlight of my experience as a hardcore strategy fan was playing through the game on classic ironman. Tons of brilliant stuff in this game, would love some DLC for replayability!
  16. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    Lovely game. Been awhile since I've been glued to the computer for so long. It's not a full on redux on the original but it doesn't claim to be. Graphics are excellent. Gameplay is intricate and complex (if you play on classic) the only gripe is that it was too short! Hoping DLC's come out because i want more of this Game.
    Give it a shot you wont regret it.
  17. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    One of the best turn based strategy games I have ever played. Ignore the hater and trolls, they are still stuck in nostalgia limbo to even make a thorough and non-biased review. The developers decided on a smaller squad to stress the importance of tension and making your squad actually mean something. The graphics are wonderful UE3 engine works well with this type of game and I like the art style direction. This will ensure this game will age properly. Overall, this game is a masterpiece and should be a candidate for GOTY against Dishonored. :) Expand
  18. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Exactly what one would reasonably expect this game to be. Playable for new and young players, a breath of fresh air for people who liked the original series and the 3rd party spinoffs. This game was made in record time imo. It would be reasonable to expect a few more instalments in the near future .
  19. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    Despite some minor issues like the consolized interface, XCOM Enemy Unknown is a worthy successor to the original XCOM game and one of the best strategy games I have played in a long time.
  20. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Thank you Fireaxis. You dit it. We had high expectations, and you surpassed them. XCOm is one of the best games of this generation. Shut up and take my money!
  21. Oct 18, 2014
    10
    I have never played the original XCOM games, I just downloaded the demo, not knowing that the XCOM series existed. I got so addicted to the demo, I replayed it several times. Then I got the full game for Christmas. This game defines fun. The story may seem shallow, but guess what, that why you must create your own story. I mean, you can customize your own soldiers, even their names. Try naming them after your loved ones, and you'll get attached to them. That's the thing about XCOM, it doesn't trivialize death; it even has a memorial for your lost soldiers. Haven't played multiplayer, but singleplayer alone justifies the price tag. There are some lags here and there but they're minor. Come on, buy it NOW. Expand
  22. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    As an old fan of the original XCOM game Im very pleased to see that this game brings the heart of the original into a real smooth and fun new game. That being said, its not the original game with new graphics, its a new game. That aside its just as captivating and time absorbing as the original. My guess is that there is over a hundred hours of fun in this game, so I see my money well spend. - My wife and job disagrees of cause. A solid 10 from me to a game that shows, that a good idea don't always involve MMO to become a great game. Sometimes the idea is so good that it can carry itself for over 18 years ;) Expand
  23. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    Game is epicly Awesome!! It is a nice moderate RTS turn stylish game and I love it. It is new I have never played anything like it, an I an completely enjoying it! I can not wait till they do DLC or expansions or another one!
  24. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    In one word: Fantastic! To begin with, anyone giving this game a rating of 5 or less is not giving it the credit it deserves. Reading throurgh the poor score ratings, it becomes clear to me that folks give a 0 rating because of spite and because it is not an exact clone of the original. Of course there are differences between the original Xcom and this one, simply due to the fact that we live in 2012 and not 1994. I am a big fan of the original but following the development team of the remake since it was first announced, I knew I had to keep an open mind towards a fresh and different design. And it turned out suprisingly positive! The devs succeded to keep true to the original spirit but created something fresh that works well with today's game standards. I have played around 16 hours by now and every minute I spend the game gets better. I actually stopped playing in Normal mode just after my first 3 hours and went into Classic Ironman. This is where the game really shines. You get the original feeling back, the suspense, the hope and frustration...but in a good way. You loose one of your well trained and nurtured troops, you make the wrong decision in helping a specific member state over another, you research something that should not have been a priority or you sepend the money in a project you should have spend somewhere else; all this might actually end up in you loosing the game and you will not be able to go back and undo it. You have to live with your decision and the feeling that you might actualy loose it is always present, from the very start to the finish. I can only say well done to the team of Firaxis. You have raised the bar once more after the already fantastic work with Civ V. You have given the turrn based startegy genre a fresh wind. Keep up the fantastic work! Expand
  25. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Superb. Feels very much like the real deal but with an updated engine and annoying fiddles removed.

    I noticed one review saying they hated it because you can't save everyone and you will lose countries. Well.. Yes... You will.. Sorry that's unavoidable. It's about winning the war, not the battles and figuring out which countries you can cope without is a big part of the game.

    Also of
    note in this is the way you get attached to your soldiers as you build them up. To the point where you actually feel really bad if one of your favourites dies, which is sadly likely. And this is what makes it a dynamic unfolding drama of your own making rather than a lot of the super-structured games where you just win win win.

    The tactical combat in this is genuinely brilliant. Cover and the use of flanking is VITAL in this game and all the better for it.
    Expand
  26. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    As much as I really wanted to enjoy this game, I'm finding it more and more difficult to do so. How can I shoot through walls? Where is the randomization that allows for the better gameplay? I'm growing more and more tired of replaying the same maps, listening to the terrible voice acting, and having to wait on stupid cut scenes. The squad consists of people from all around the world, yet they all sound the same. No random maps, repeating maps, no base building, terrible voice acting, etc...

    Yet another disappointment. The only good thing about this is I got a copy of CIV5 with it due to the pre-order.
    Expand
  27. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Despite some negative reviewers who can't approach nastalgia with an open mind, this is a game of its time. It has just the right mix of the original elements while ditching those things that would frustrate in the modern era. Those who are fans of the original and those who just want to see what the fuss is about should pickup this game. Those that wanted the original with a new skin might consider booting up the old version as you will find change here that is good, but requires some perspective to appreciate. Expand
  28. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This is simply one of the best strategy games I own! So much fun in such a great package. Losing a soldier or failing a mission is all a part of the gameplay and is implemented even from the first mission. The customization of your soldiers brings losses to a whole other level as well. I love this game and will be playing it for a long time to come!
  29. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    The only ones who rate this game with negative scores, are old folks that can only compare directly to what is taken out of the old XCOM games. I think that says enough. Pro's: + Very intense and exciting, backed up by a good usage of luck (might frustrate players who feel they aren't in control) + A lot of though choices to make, deep tactical elements, especially in battle + The combination of perma death of your soldiers, an excellent AI and a difficult setting, make up of a great experience
    + Allows for one of the best player-driven narrative I've ever seen.

    - Some camera issues
    - Strategic layer overarching the tactical missions are a bit thin, and don't live up to the complexity and realistic feel of the game

    I recommend this to anyone who has some love for hard-knock, immersive strategic games.
    Expand
  30. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    I have never played any of the XCOM games prior to this one so this review is from a "New to XCOM" view. This game is absolutely hands down the best turn based startegy game I have ever played and that is saying something being that I am a member of the PONG generation lol. XCOM Enemy Unknown (Hereby reffered to as XCOM) is very simple to learn (an absolute must in gaming in my book) as the User Interface is all point and click. Left click Right click nothing complicated about it. One does not have to take a class in physics to make the game wrok properly (ala IMPIRE). The turns in combat a re seamless. Very compelling gameplay. I played this thing for 3 straight days 14 hours a day and did not want to stop each day. I liked the soundtrack as well. I normally turn off the music to all video games I play but this one I forgot to and found that I liked it. I enjoyed the storyline, it kept me interested. there were some critical reviews in ref to the combat and the AI in some of the reviews that are accurate. There is definitely room for improvement. We should be able to recruit the class of soldier we want as opposed to the AI choosing for us. More item slots should be available to all soldiers as the last time I checked a soldiers L.B.E. carried more than one item. Overall though I did not lament the 50 bucks on spent on this game and that is rare. A+ game in my book. Expand
  31. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Well done Firaxis! Amazing work. I would have rated with 95%, however rounding gives a 10. I have over 20hours of gameplay and haven't encountered a single bug. I don't know, since when I had to see something like this. 1990s or when? My only point of criticism or better nostalgia is the ability of the aliens to invade your base... Most of the concept has been reworked and overall improved e.g. no more insane macromanagement is needed. Micromanagement is a lot more tactical and action orientated and a lot less logistic. It is definitely the best turn based strategy of the decade. Keep up the good work Mr. Solomon! You managed to revive Microprose from its ashes. I gave you a 10, but now we are expecting to see XCOM: Terror from the Deep. ;-) Long live turn-based strategy games! Long live XCOM series! Expand
  32. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This is a 10 for me. It is fun to play not tedious like the original. You can spend hours playing and actually enjoy it. It is somewhat simplified compared to the original but that is not a bad thing. Great graphics and cut scenes while playing, a lot of tech to research, money management, base management and of course awesome missions that are the meat of the game. Bottom like if you are looking for a complicated and hard core strategy game than this is not it. If you are looking for a fun yet challenging strategy game this should be on your TOP list to try. Expand
  33. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Very good..a lot like the 1993 version which is a game i would play for hours on end,has almost all the things I used to to dream that version had..it is a little simpified compared to the 1993 version..but hey thats our fault we stoped calling friends and family out for being too stupid to fact check things and we let them be intelleculay lazy well this is the end result and it will continue to be so ..games that takes brains are long gone..so enjoy your ride into idiotacracy .. Expand
  34. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Хочется от души поблагодарить разработчиков за то, что дали возможность почувствовать то самое удовольствие, которое дарил классический X-COM. Игру прошел на одном дыхании. И уже хочется засесть за нее снова. Супер! Expand
  35. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    As a diehard fan of the original XCom game who spent most of 1994 and 1995 locked in a room in my parent's house playing non-stop, does this game live up? Yes. Judged on it's own merits (which are significant) this game nails the feel, tension and constant uphill battle that was what made XCom the greatest game ever made. Does it live up to the original? Kinda. I can clearly see the streamlining and simplification. I want to rant and rage that I want ALL of the original game in this form - but that right there is why I'm rating this game a 10. I WANT to see Fraxis port the entirety of the original game - the insane tech tree, the ticking clock daring you to make the wrong research options, the 12 to 16 squad attack, 8 base, worldwide frantic beauty of what was XCom.

    But what is obvious is that the team at Fraxis loved the same game I did and brought the core of it into 2012. Maybe they are going to add the rest as DLC and pre-order bonuses for boxes of tie-in cereal or something. If so, I'm in. I'm going to finish this demo by next weekend (a game of XCom finished in two weeks? Heresy, I tell ya) and then I'm going to crank back up the original. And appreciate both versions. And giggle a little bit at people who are claiming this version is hard. Wimps.
    Expand
  36. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This game is not a simple remake, it's a modernization of the old X-COM. And the result is amazing. Intense strategic battles, a lot of cursing when good men die, and a lot of fun. I recommend this game to any strategy fan.
  37. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    One of the best strategy games I have played in the last few years. It's fun, addicting, and your choices have real consequences. Soldier deaths are permanent and wow is the game hard when you ratchet up the difficulty. Fireaxis made a brilliant game and I can't wait for further installments.
  38. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    X-Com is back! After the dissapointment of hearing it will be rebooted as an FPS they made the right call and had Fireaxis the creators of Civilization make a strategy game. It's as fun and addicting as the original was. The graphics are very nice it runs great and the story is very interesting. The multiplayer is really fun as well just needs some more maps.
  39. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    As a huge fan of the original game, I was very skeptical about this remake. I've never seen any that was as good as the original. At the first hours, after seeing a dumbed down combat, I really thought this game was just another crappy remake for the CoD generation. But by the first day this game already sucked me completely. Although the combat seems a little dumbed down, the class implementation and the fixing of balance issues that plagued the original, make this game a very different game, but as good as the original. And looking to what they did to the base management, I can even say they accomplished to make a remake better than the original. I won't need dosbox anymore! RIP old XCOM. Expand
  40. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This is a commendable imagining of the XCom universe for the 21st century. It's definitely not a remake (check out the nearly ready Xenonauts for that!) but a great T.B. squad tactics/base management game. Support the makers and lose days by repelling the alien menace.
  41. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Oh my god it's full of stars. Yes, it's not a total 100% remake of the original X-Com / UFO but you know what? Maybe that's a good thing. UFO was awesome, but you can always go play it in DOSBOX and it'll still be great. It's not like somebody killed X-Com; that's just silly, and people that are saying that need to think about how silly they sound saying it. This way you get a game that evokes the awesomeness of the X-Com games of the past, but brings in new elements to re-imagine it. Let your nostalgia go free and enjoy something new and awesome. I found the tutorial a little confusing (does it have an end?) but I'm loving this game. I heard somebody say that it's basically like crack and I highly agree. It's so hard to stop playing it. Expand
  42. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    As a fan of the original X-Com Apocalipse game I have to say: This game just felt absolutely right! I love every aspect of it: from the modern, fast paced gameplay to the many different ways to play the game.
    Yes, the net playtime is not as long as in the original X-Com games, but the hours that I played (42.5) were filled with enough amazing moments to forgive that.
    Now there's just one
    question left: Where's the expansion with several bases and more development? Expand
  43. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Love it, but you MUST play it in CLASSIC mode with IRONMAN mode checked (advanced options at start up of a new game). Although gone is inventory nightmare that we all came to love/hate, gone is picking up battlefield items, a story-line quest that one must follow, and less soldiers for missions. That being said, in the future I HOPE they expand on that, and give options to play the REAL classic mode. Great introduction though, to new gamers to the GENRE (i call it a genre because no other game comes close to what X-com left on the floor with it's turn based system). MUST OWN GAME OF 2012. Expand
  44. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. I have never been a fan of turn-based tactical games (although I am of turn-based strategy games like Civilization), and I have especially never been a fan of squad style combat (I prefer StarCraft to Dawn of War 2 any day).

    This game manages to make turn-based tactical gameplay enjoyable, while maintaining a level of challenge and interest in the strategic
    development of resources. I have rarely enjoyed a game so mcuh after pre-order. Expand
  45. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    I never played the original xcom. But the only thing I can say is that its been VERY long time since Ive enjoyed a game so much!! I cant stop playing, is freaking amazing! Just as a was looking for a turn based game, this came up!! Worth the money!
  46. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Gran remake del original, pocas cosas le fallan. Es el XCOM de 1993 con mejores gráficos y unas mecánicas de juego mejoradas. Las batallas tácticas son geniales y con una profundidad estratégica que cumple perfectamente. Te enganchara desde el principio y te hará estar jugando turnos hasta altas horas de la madrugada. Si tiene algo negativo tal vez sea la rejugabilidad algunas misiones son iguales aunque hay 70 diferentes. Un juego de 9,9 si señor. Expand
  47. May 26, 2013
    10
    I love this game. Recommend it to anyone who likes turn-based strategy games (like Jagged Alliance) and turn-based RPGs (like Fallout 1 & 2). The game really shines after two or three hours of gameplay, when you start to have many options of things to do. Also, the game features many config options, I was easily able to make it run smooth on my machine (i5, 6GB ram, AMD 6750M).
  48. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Taktik- und Aufbaugame von aller feinsten. Hier ist alles perfekt designed und top balanciert.
    Unheimlich viele intelligente Möglichkeiten das eigene Spiel zu gestalten und auszustatten. Gnadenlose KI und blutrünstige Alien-Kampfanimationen a la "Starship Trooper" sorgen für "Spannung pur". Das erste Spiel, bei dem sogar das Verlieren Vergnügen macht und als taktische
    Lehrstunde empfunden wird! Expand
  49. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    As an old-timer, I've played (and worked on) some of the clones. Ignore the naysayers, this one beats the pack by a long shot. I'm a little cut up about loss of multiple bases and inventories, but I think the overall experience is much more fluid and focused on the importance of each and every move.

    The pros: no more endless searching for the last bad guy (the original and every clone
    has this problem); xcom soldier skilling is much more combinable, diverse and important; cover actually means reduced chance to hit, visibility is not an on/off probability; the base, research and engineering is more ingrained into the story, and is compelling - this is IMO a very un-firaxis quality that they managed to get right; lots of meaningless cruft was removed.. this isn't a weapons manufacturing simulation afterall.

    The cons: isometric soldier placement controls and wall/ceiling occlusion is glitchy. I actually disagree with old-timers saying they miss random maps - I think the original did it fairly well, but sometimes it really degraded the quality of smaller missions.

    It's surprising that they pulled off something as good as this, all considering, and it's a lot better than other games rated over 90.
    Expand
  50. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Played XCom in every form since 1990/91.
    This game is excellent.
    Flaws limited unit tactics, and some very small maps (though some are big) most map sizes are fine.
    Good things very nice graphics easy play for people new to the game. Kept very close to all the things I like about XCOM whilst I accept todays market is not the 20 year old market that had no problem with complicated and
    steep learning curves.
    Accessable to all gamers which I like super multiplayer fun. Will be even better multiplayer when all the game formats let the game team create multi format - multiplayer.
    Loving the game loving the fact its obvious that the coders played and liked the series.
    Looking forward to completing it on the Ironman/impossible mode I am playing at the moment.
    The AI is very challenging in the harder modes but that means you must accept your troops will die (often). I give it 9.3/10 in the hope future DLC or a second game improve unit tactic choices and increase the map size's throughout. Though as it stands from a stuanch XCOM fan thumbs up :)
    Expand
  51. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    XCOM: The 21st century chess.

    XCOM is a fantastic game, a must have for those who like a challenge. Just like in chess, it demands from you a lot of thinking to plan your steps and cold blood to make difficult decisions.

    Also as in chess, in XCOM, each piece plays a different role: you must manage your soldiers well and know the characteristics of their class. On the other side, your
    enemy also has "pieces" with different characteristics, and will not forgive you if you make a mistake.

    Besides all that, you have to manage your base of operations, which includes a number of tasks, such as coordinating a group of scientists studying the aliens; engineers that apply the results of these studies in the development of new technologies; the organization of how you monitor the alien activity in the rest of the world; and of course your team of soldiers: their equipment and skills (which are learned as they are promoted).

    The story, no doubt, is not the most important, but it contextualizes the game well and motivates you to move foward. The most remarkable, however, is the narrative that emerges from your involvement with your own soldiers. Their deeds, good or bad, will be remembered and their deaths will never be forgotten.

    XCOM is a very complete game and make you think a lot. Your enemies evolve over time, therefore you also have to keep learning and adapting, otherwise the end will be closer than you think. And the best gaming experience is in Ironman mode (which will not let you redo your actions), so the game becomes more realistic and your decisions more meaningful.
    Expand
  52. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This is a brilliant strategy game that no fan of the genre, especially fans of turn based games, should pass up. The easy and normal difficulties make the single player portion of the game new-player friendly, while the classic and impossible difficulties, combined in the Ironman (autosave only) option transform this game into one of the most tactical and challenging experiences ever created.

    While the single player has tremendous replay value, there is also a full-featured multiplayer side, which includes LAN play, unranked, and ranked matches and the ability to build your custom team with thousands of options. And yes, you read that correctly, this game has actual RANKED multiplayer, using the Elo rating system (similar to WoW, LoL, and Starcraft 2). All this means that XCOM: EU provides one of the best single player experiences along with competitive multiplayer you won't find in any other turn based strategy game on the market, period.
    Expand
  53. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Possibly one of the best games I've ever played. Ignore Lysh or whatever his name is. Honestly this game is astounding and even though i wasn't there for the original XCOM, this game somehow manages to turn a turn-based strategy and management sim into something that is out of this world (no pun intended). The game itself is very very fun but be warned- when your soldiers die- it almost feels like part of the time you spent in the game itself died. Trying to NOT get invested is difficult. Your soldiers level up after battle experience and after each battle you'll garner resources from the aliens you've killed/ captured. With regard to the mangement system , Firaxis has managed to turn something that should have been tedious and boring into an intriguing and tactical. Placement of different Facilities inside your base actually counts towards the effectiveness of said buildings. Missions issued from the Council of Nations that funds the XCOM initiative are sporadic and almost always unique. One day you might be saving a Council member's buddy from abduction. the next you're giving laser pistols to the Chinese Army to get more engineers into the XCOM initiative. You, the player truly are the Commander of the XCOM project, from researching new weapons to fight the aliens, managing missions and your base, to actually controlling your troops on the ground and interceptor jets in the skies. This game truly has limitless potential, especially if Firaxis will later release the ability to mod the game. The inclusion of Multiplayer with the ability to play as the Alien Menace is also very fun and very cool. Definitely one of the best games I've seen this year. :) Expand
  54. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Greetings from Germany! Im happy this is not an UFO Enemy Unknown with just better Graphics. Its an Game for its own. And its really fun to play. Im a huge Fan of UFO, TftD and X-com Apocalypse and this game is a worthy part 4 of those games. If you know the old Games and play this one is like you meet old friends. Siliconids and Mutons and Etherials, and so on, are on earth again! If someone tells you "You cant destroy Buildings, there is no reaction Fire and there arent any different fire modes" he is flat lieing to you. Some peoples should actually play the Game first and then make a review. But thats just my opinion. Expand
  55. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Let me just start this review of by saying: This game is fantastic... It is, however, not 1993 XCOM with updated graphics. If that's what you wanted, don't buy this game and please don't bother us by giving 0 point reviews here.

    As I said, this game is different from UFO: EU(X-com: UFO Defence in america) it is however not worse or dumbed down. They may have simplified the tactical
    combat, but simplifying is not the same as dumbing down. Dumbing down is making the game easier and losing strategic depth in the process, simpifying is making a game easier to understand while trying to maintain or improve strategical depth.

    And XCOM: EU does the latter. The strategic base management is probably even more complicated than it was in the original and the tactical combat is, while streamlined and symplified, just as deep or even deeper than the original game.
    It now involves units working together instead of having 14 nearly identical soldiers just scouting if every direction. Ammo is now more important unlike what many 1993 fanboys are saying. Guns still need reloading you just don't need to equip your soldiers with ammo anymore. And most of all there's the completely new cover system. Now, when you move your soldiers, you actually need to think about flanking aliens, because shooting aliens in full cover isn't going to kill them. I've come across a situation where my assault soldier tried to flank an alien but revealed another alien in the process which left him exposed. I then moved my support soldier in to throw a smoke grenade to protect my assault and used my heavy to suppress the flanking alien to avoid him shooting at my assault... Tactical situations like that would almost never occur in the original X-com so i completely disagree wit people who say this game is dumbed down.

    The things that were simplified are mainly things like Time Units and i think the new system is actually better. It might kill the nostalgia a bit but this system is faster, easier and makes every decision more important and rewarding.

    So, to come to a conclusion: I think this game is absolutely brilliant! I normally wouldn't give a 10 to a game. But I'm sorta doing this to cancel out the zeros that were given. Because even if you preferred the old X-com, it's ridiculous to say this game is worth a 0...
    Expand
  56. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Possibly one the best turn based tactical game. Dont listen to the bad reviews. probably players who does'nt even own the game. Good job firaxis.
  57. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Absolutely Stunning. A game that takes strategy, decision and luck. This game definitely improves from the old XCOM and you should buy it. This is one purchase you wont regret.
  58. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    I have been a old school gamer and have played the original x-com and the jagged alliance games as well. With the Xcom: Enemy Unknown I can say this is definitly the spiritual successor of the original. I have been waiting for a turn base tactically game that was actually any good and my long wait is over. There are so many details in this game and you can tell alot of love and thought was put in this game by that set details. I give Firaxis mad props for them tackling the remake of one of the best games ever made in x-com. It is similar to the original but also it is definitly not the same game as it. This is a good thing, there is a lot less micro managment that would bog down the "fun" factor in the game and the fun factors are all-a-plenty! The core game play is tactical turn base combat, and the game brings this in spades. You actually worry about your soldiers surviving and when they die you will feel it, especially if it a veteran soldier that fall in combat because what they bring to the table as they gain levels is hard to get back. This type reaction give you a emotional attachment to your soldiers as the game progresses.

    I can say more about this game but just talking about doesnt it give it justice. Just go buy it and see for your self. Its one of the best games I have played in long long time and worth every cent I payed for it.
    Expand
  59. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    XCOM: EU is a thoroughly enjoyable sequel to the franchise, with a good balance of missions, technology, suspense, and gut wrenching decisions as you are forced to prioritize your way to victory. The graphics and engine work flawlessly together with only a few minor graphical glitches. The suspense and feelings of loss when you make a bad decision or joy at pulling off a flawlessly executed strategy encourages you to push deeper and deeper into the game to fully explore it's plot. Normal difficulty seems properly tuned for players new to XCOM, Classic is definitely a challenge right in line with previous games and the Ironman feature of a single autosave makes it even more daunting.

    In 30 hours I've only encountered one AI glitch where the turn would not end a quick save game reload fixed. There are only two minor complaints. The lack of a "tech tree" where you can see how far along a research path you are, something previous game iterations lacked but a useful addition if you lose track what was coming next. The second, squaddie role assignments are random, forcing you early on to mix up new teams to ensure you have two-three of each role instead of being able to pick.

    TFTD was one of my favorite games when I started PC gaming in the 90's and X:EU does NOT disappoint in this regard. A modern, playable re-imaging of XCOM that comes highly recommended.
    Expand
  60. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    As an avid PC gamer from my teenage years until now, I was a big fan of the original XCOM and Jagged Alliance games. I also loved turn based games like Fallout 1 & 2 and Silent Storm. In recent years I was pretty much resigned to the seemingly inevitable fact that there would be no more turn based games made, simply for the fact that games like that haven't been hits on consoles. Playing XCOM: Enemy Unknown has restored my faith that not all game genres are dead. The game is a great reimagining of the original, and the streamlined bits eliminated some of the tedious aspects from the original. The combat could have a bit more strategic depth like Silent Storm but overall the difficulty and pace of the gameplay is outstanding. I hope XCOM sells well as I would love an expansion or sequel to this game. Expand
  61. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown pays homage to the original by giving you what the original title couldn't. With updated graphics and physics engines, you don't feel like you're destroying the same space craft over and over like you did in the original. With character customization, all of your soldiers aren't clones of each other like the sectoids are. There were those that complained about the 1 base limit, but what they do not tell you is that one base is enough. You start out with 4 hangars world wide to store your aircraft, so strategic placement is still there. Research is still a must, and you have more development processes than the first one offered. This isn't dumbed down at all, it's revisited and they removed excessive micromanaging that was taking away from the player experience. Do yourself a favor and play this game. The complaints about bugs in the game are based on the initial release, and 2 days later they already had patches out for them (PC). Don't drag this game down based on reviews that are now obsolete. Expand
  62. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Wow ... Have only sky-high praise for this magnificent game! I have been involved back from the C64 days and have always had a high opinion of Sid Meier from I tried "Sid Meier's Railroad" for PC. This man knows how to develop games - period! He has only been a consultant at XCOM-EU, but Sid understands the art of mixing with only quality developers. Bravo and congratulations on a distinguished release Firaxis Games ... once again! Really nice to see there are still companies that take pride in publishing quality (just look how far down in quality, some companies have begun to publish games. Thinking here of sots II and Legends of Pegasus). I have never given a game a score but I have quite simply felt it necessary to create an account here just to give this excellent game 10 because I think it's directly is a mortal sin that some here gives a score below 6 But unfortunately there's some who apparently have been deeply disappointed XCOM-EU is not an exact COPY of the old just in new graphic packaging. Let me close by saying, if you're into strategy, thick and heavy atmosphere which just genuinely makes you forget the time in real life - then buy the game. If you do not buy ... well, then it's your loss!

    Hey, I almost forgot to mention something about the amazing music in the game. I always shut down for the music in every game but one before ..... now it's two!
    Expand
  63. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Great game! Fun and scary like the first, for everything it lost for the console tards it gained some features or something that is improved on the first game. A must buy if you like TBS or XCOM. Now we don't see just one X-com, we see X-COM and XCOM in the IP :D (buy it on PC) Mods will put the stuff back in one day!
  64. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Fast paced, tactical combat. Interesting soldier classes and abilities. Difficult strategic overlay. Something's always happening at XCOM, be it researching the newest hardware or dangerous threat, building new crafts or developing new arsenals, or just looking for the next global hotspot. It's challenging, and enjoyable.
  65. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am completely baffled by some of the low reviews. This game is great! It captures the essence of the original XCOM games but has been updated and polished. I hear some people say there are no tactics involved. Are they playing the same game?? What makes a great game is the ability to customize, to have autonomy and make meaningful choices. This game has all 3. Combat has been simplified to a degree but not to a point where it feels dumbed down. I am playing this on the PC and utterly enjoy it. Expand
  66. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I loved the original back in the mid 90's. I was completely addicted to that game and to see it remade I am so so happy. Its a great game to boot Fireaxis makes such excellent strategy titles. There was no better candidate to remake XCom.
  67. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    I am an old school PC gamer. I have a shelf over my desk on which I display the original boxes of games that I consider truly great. The games are arranged more or less in chronological order, except that I have great games with great sequels grouped together (e.g. the SSI gold box games are all together, the two Starflight games are together, etc.) The original X-com, in it's ugly white corrugated cardboard box with the black printed sleeve, is sitting on that shelf immediately to the right of "Betrayal at Krondor". The game to the immediate right of X-com is Deus Ex Expand
  68. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Great fun. As an owner of the original title I was pretty happy with the outcome on the development of this game. All the features of a turn based combat game are there with a nice upgraded graphic and animation twist. Look forward to future DLC for this title. Great sound, great graphics. Good game!
  69. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This game is everything I expected from a modern day remake of a classic. The best parts have been kept such as research, resource management, engineering and base building. Combat at first glance may appear to have been dumbed down by reducing your squad size and taking away movement points, but obvious thought and detail has been put into it and frankly, it works better than the original! As many others have stated, the promotions and advancement of your soldiers is greatly satisfying and makes you care about your guys. Great, great game. Well worth the purchase price. Expand
  70. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    The game is brilliant! it doesn't handle you with kiddie gloves. it roughs you up. til you man up.

    It strives to capture all the great things that nostalgic players wanted from the old XCOM. including the "this is not a cakewalk" feel. Ok ok so I was playing on "classic" difficulty level, which is one step higher than normal. But they got it right!

    Almost all the negative reviews
    you'll see here are out of frustration from how to manage getting credits and not go overboard with accumulating upkeep costs for your facility. Admittedly if it's your first run through the game, you'll probably face this problem. Since you are faced with a wide array of things to upgrade and work on, and it's easy to overlook the main credits making path to keep things afloat, namely satellites.

    I've been playing this game 2 days straight now and I'm strongly attached to my squad members, and spend a few mins before every mission just to make sure they look right for their characters before they deploy.

    The tactical squad combat carries the whole title. It's lovely and its tense. which is not an easy thing to do on a turn-based game (think jagged alliance?). Admittedly the assault class seems to be overpowered next to others. But other classes are still very helpful as support. The cover system is very simple and clear enough.

    Managing resources is a tight rope, and being able to hold on to all countries is a challenge. Base facility management also adds the cool element of "adjacency bonuses", meaning if you cluster your power generators together you get more power.

    It's a rare gem that can't be missed!
    Expand
  71. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    I've played the original XCOM and I love this new one. Here is why:

    1) Very engaging combats - you need to think carefully your every move because one mistake can mean the death of one of your soldiers. The move-to-cover system is streamlined (in a positive way), the enemies are challenging and overall every battle is great fun.
    2) Choosing skills for your soldiers is a very nice
    feature.
    3) The game runs very smoothly and almost without any bugs (on the PC version at least), I've played for about 20 hours so far and encountered only two bugs.
    4) The game is highly addictive, with "just one more battle.." always on my mind.
    Expand
  72. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    As long you're not an anachronistic gamer, who dislike remakes and argue only in terms of his limited experience, and if you like turn-based tactical games, this might be the best game for you, for hundreds of hours. I'm probably a so called X-COM veteran, which means that I played all titles, even "Interceptor", I enjoyed the UFO series, and tons of open source remakes. I played every single turn-based game since 1990. Firaxis does not create too complex games, so most of their titles are not made for experienced players. So I was expecting not too much. But my current point of view is that it is one of the best turn-based tactical games I've ever played, but you need to give it 10+ h, until it gets harder and more interesting, after the enemies got grenades and better weapons, armor, and a tactical brain. After 15 h on "Classic" and "Iron Man" it got nice, finally, I'm losing 1-2 soldiers per battle, which was one of the first suprises to me, which will change soon, I hope. I like most of the changes, because it is nice to see a different approach, because this genre is so overused. This game here is more tactical than most X-COM titles, in my opinion, even if you see less statistics and have less opportunities to count on them, due to cover and "cliffhanger" mechanics. But I miss economic features, i.e. ammunition production, which can be costly. X-COM was about team and company management. This part is very stricted now I'm missing self-organisation features from X-COM, which means: I'm not sure if it depends if I shoot a big UFO or not. UFOs and missions appears erratic to me, at least it's unclear to me and is a big minus. So I just click on "scan" for new UFOs, 1-2 abuctions and 1 special mission per month? Seems scripted to me. In old X-COM you knew that there is a relation between your missions and new bases. They cancelled radars, but added satellites which appears as radars on the map, which is somehow funny, and not only this: satellites are connected to subterranean (!) uplinks. I miss the management of 2-3 bases, but I see that this overtax some people. The ant farm base look nice, on first glance, but seems redundant to me, because the buildings are too big for a clean view and user navigation, so you're using the top buttons most the time. But I like how cover is handled, how the graphics looks like (for a turn-based game), the story (most X-COM stories are great), and the similarity to the first X-COMs. Expand
  73. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    No, this is not XCOM: UFO defense. If you want to rehash history, play the original as it is available from several sources. This game while having similarities to the original, stands firmly on its own. They have done an excellent job with both the game play and modern graphics while retaining the essence of what the original was all about. I love it; hours and hours of turn based fun!
  74. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Outstanding remake that managed to capture everything that was good in the original, leave out a lot of what held it back in areas, and even add new engaging features and subtleties in a modern, graphically appealing wrapper. Even if you know nothing of the original this game stands on its own.
  75. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Before Reading negative reviews and believing them, check that users past reviews - you will see they hate EVERY GAME.. not just this one. This is a great re-make, not perfect but for a first release with DLC coming, it's well worth it. Don't believe the negative reviews, they are just sore on everything.
  76. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This game is basically chess, only your pieces are space marines and your enemies are aliens. Throw in some additional strategy elements and you have a game that's easy to love. I love strategy, and it has always made me sad that there wasn't much of a selection in modern turn based strategy games. Well, this game delivers it and is phenomenal! I had always wanted to try the original XCOM, and after playing this game I will. Expand
  77. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This Game rocks ! I'm really suprised, fine Sounds, amazing musics, a lot research-stuff. First of all, i love the music and the dramatic moments. If you play this game a while, you will love your squad, customize them, level them up, equip them with high tech stuff and never like to see them in the millitary hospital. There is 1 critic point for me. The missions are sometimes the same and on time its a little bit boring.
    But thats all, the rest of the game is better what i've expected.
    This is not much critic and thats why i don't let this game under a 10 / 10 !


    I hope there will be DLC or an expansion for this XCOM.
    Over all one of the best tactic games i played !
    Expand
  78. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Fire Emblem with guns? Pretty much- you must get this game if you love strategy/RPGs. I loved this game for its story, its gameplay for giving players the ability (and responsibility) to make choices that affect the resistance to alien invasion. Best of all, I loved having my soldiers rank up and become specialists. The game is well thought out, as enemies generally spawn in random locations so you can’t just restart a level once you know where the enemy is. My only regret about this game is that once you really get the ball rolling with powerful soldiers, weapons, and income, the game ends rather abruptly. Other than that (and some production issues, like being able to shoot through solid objects to hit targets), the game is nearly flawless. Expand
  79. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    The original game was a classic. What made it a classic? The fact that you just couldn't put it down, you had to take just one more turn or one more mission. What is the remake like? You just have to take one more turn or one more mission. It's simple - Xcom: Enemy Unknown is AWESOME! Buy it!
  80. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Well, what a fecking fantastic game. Just when I thought that the strategy genre nowhere left to go 2K games have grabbed the genre by the cahonies and given them a good shake. The result is, of course, orgasmic.

    Don't get me wrong if you pick the game apart then you could say well it's just a tweak on a Turn-based (Civilisation), base building (starcraft), resource management (every
    strategy game ever), small squad (Company of Heroes), save the world from Alien invasion (ermmm) game. But the way they have mashed all of these elements together into a cohesive experience makes for some of the best gamecrack I've ever experienced. The fact that you actually care when your squad members die, or that you get upset when a member state pulls out of the project, because you failed to stop their citizens being turned into mutant zombies. It's just a very immersive experience with many strategic avenues to be explored. Expand
  81. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    I have played the game for 90 hours now and I still can't stop playing. Firaxis did a GREAT job re-imagining the good things of the original and scraping out the bad ones. Of course, everybody that was waiting for updated graphics of the original game will be disappointed, but I would be disappointed if they did that.
  82. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This is quite far a wonderful game to play. They did what they said they would do, take the Original X-Com: UFO Defense, and build on what was great about it. They streamlined everything, making the game a fast paced, totally awesome to replay over and over again game. I loved the way that they limited the Squads to 4-6 man teams and added mini-tanks that could move quick, fly, or act as moving cover for your human team. They made what used to be useless in the original into something you just have to have in the field. Love it, playing it, gonna play it again. Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing game, possible the best remake ever done. The only problem I found is that the campaign feels shorters than the originals. Other than that, it's perfect. A reminder for developers and publishers that turn based games are a good bet.
  84. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    I really enjoyed this game. I never got into the original X-com (just the user interface was so difficult/clunky to use). If anything I'd say the play style of Enemy Unknown is this beautiful merge of Final Fantasy Tactics (my favorite game of all time) game mechanics/character development with the story concept and resource management that people always praised the original X-Com about.

    The various game modes, places you can put your base, and random encounter generator makes the game highly replayable too without getting dull or frustrating. Most of the story is told through actually playing the game, so you don't get overly long cut scenes that you have to sit through (and what cut scenes there are, are skippable).

    There's what I'd call a bonus feature that it does have a multiplayer game where you and another player will be allocated a certain number of points to use to buy troops. Then fight one another. Reminded me a lot of any of the Clix games. Don't buy the game because it has multiplayer, get it because the single player experience is amazing.
    Expand
  85. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This turn based strategy game is absolutely brilliant. Being a newcomer to Xcom, the learing curve is actually nice and enought gentle to teach you everything.
    Progression in game feels great, with enough effort you get more and more powerful weapons, skills and equipment.
    Graphic is functional with some nice effects. Nothing that will blast your mind, but appopriate for the genre. It
    runs on max setting on my gaming laptop, non very demanding game.
    The Xbox controller support works great, and its a pleasure to play it on my big LCD TV screen.

    Tired of the usualy fps games and copycats, Xcom is a welcome game that offers many hours of fun.
    Expand
  86. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I played the previous XCOM games and was happy with them. This game brings back a lot of the classic feel with all new additions that make the game wonderful without the tedious feel some simulation and turn based games have.
  87. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Summary: Enemy Unknown couples tactical turn-based gameplay with action sequences and on-ground combat. Recruit, specialize and train unique soldiers and manage your personnel. Detect and interrupt the alien threat as you construct and expand your XCOM headquarters. Direct soldier squads in turn-based ground battles and deploy air units such as the Interceptor and Skyranger. The fight spreads around the world as the XCOM team engages in over 70 missions, communicating and negotiating with governments around the world. Collapse Expand
  88. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    First time XCOM player, but very enthralled with this game. I really love the base planning aspects of the game. It gives lots of fun in between missions.
  89. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I ever played! I was old fan from UFO game series, but this game is even better.

    All tactical, sci-fi and action fans need to purchase this!
  90. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    An absolute masterpiece of a remake, containing all the elements that made the original XCOM so addicting and fun. Graphics upgraded, gameplay streamlined, but the tactical formula stayed the same. Can't praise this title enough.
  91. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    I've been playing PC games for 20 years and this game was quite a surprise as it is one of the best PC games I have ever played. I just beat the game on Classic mode taking my time and it took me 67 hours to finish. The game has lots of great twists and surprises. I love how the game lets you master it through discovery in game-play, trying strategies on your own, making mistakes and learning from them. The tutorial gives you a few basic strategies but after that, the designers let you learn the game on your own. The designers did a great job on the classes. For example: at first; I hated a particular class, but by the end of the game they were my favorite class. I'm sure the designers intended that as a reward for those who stuck with that class. The story was cool and I loved all the cut-scenes and story updates during the missions. I hope Firaxis and 2K put this game into a long rotation of sequels and I will be a customer. Thank-you for proving to the world that turn-based strategic combat can be an absolute blast. And thanks for having the guts to make this game exactly how it is. Where I work, I've gotten other gamers into this game and they have never played this type of game before and agree with me how much fun it is. Expand
  92. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    There are 3 kind of games in the world: 1. The worst one, which you will play if you are a game journalist, 2. The okay ones which you play because you are a fan or a game journalist.
    3. The epic ones which are made from gamers for gamers. And XCOM: EU is such an epic game! A lot of actual remakes are worst because they lost their soul against their originals. But not in XCOM. Of course
    there are some changes (no inventory, no ammo, no time lines...) but there are also a lot of new ideas which i really like (Soldier personalisation, cover...) . In the remake it doesn´t matter if you lost an soldier, but now you have your own created squad which don´t want to loose. Also the design of the aliens, ufos, maps and more are very well done! So thank you very much Firaxis for my game of the year 2012! Expand
  93. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Это игра просто бомба, здесь есть все для настоящего тактика и хардкорщика. Expand
  94. May 17, 2013
    10
    Fantastic turn based game that has depth and great RPG elements. But most of all just plain fun. The game looks great and game play is interesting, recommend Iron Man mode to add some more feeling and attachment to your soldiers.
  95. May 1, 2014
    10
    Turn based strategy at its finest with a variety of gameplay options. Play it on ironman where every decision matters. Nothing beats the moment when your favorite Sniper (named after yourself, of course) is down to one health bar, low on ammo, Thin Men dropping in from everywhere, and your Support Class Girl sits on the other end of the map. Be sure to get the excellent Enemy Within as well.
  96. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Completely awesome.

    I played the original version years ago and loved it. I was sceptical because this was a remake and in my opinion remakes usually suck. I however did bought the game because of its high score here on metacritic and after playing a lot of hours i have to admit: it's awesome. I only have played this game for like 10 hours and everytime i start thinking the game goes
    into a loop (by repeating all the fights/attacks) something new arrives. I also love the contols, they are way better compared to 10 years ago.

    The graphics are good, the music is excellent.

    Have played 10 hours, will play way more hours and hope to be suprised a lot of more times :)
    Expand
  97. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Although the game has a few issues, it is truly amazing. It has been designed really well. As a game developer myself I can see that the creators at Firaxis have really worked hard on the game. The story progression is well made and the different types of soldiers are balanced perfectly. Although killing aliens during fights is based on luck it is extremely important how you position your soldiers. Tactics are much more important than luck in this game.
    What I love the most in this game is that no two battlefields (maps) are the same, with the exception of some of the UFO assault missions. What I don't like however are the air to air fights where you have only very little over what's happening.
    Overall, this game is a must-buy. It is one of the very few turn-based strategies that are really well made.
    Expand
  98. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game 9.5/10.
    It has good story, great character progression, excellent gameplay and good replayability.
    Missions offer great tactical challenge to everybody who love to employ their tactics and strategy in approaching and eliminating enemies. Turn based system fits perfectly into this and never before have i played turn based game which offers so many smart tactical decisions
    and i played many :D!
    When not on missions u are given control of XCOM base where u plan constructions, researches, craft items etc. all to help u in your fight against alien invaders. All this involves smart strategic approach for your enemy is strong and far more advanced than u.
    To those who like all mentioned above and are prepared to dig in recommend classic difficulty. Have FUN!
    Expand
  99. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    While aliens invade the world, an organisation called XCom takes place to make a stand against them. You find yourself as the commander of Xcom. This organisation establishes a base on the earth wherever commander wants. At this base, there is a whole facility you are responsible of. It has almost every opportunity to produce newer technologies. Engineers, scientists, soldiers work by your commands. You can enlarge the facility by making new rooms. And soldiers, the best part of game: You can even become their godfather. Name them, create their faces, hairs, their armors. Just like a Role-Play-Gaming. By every single killing of an alien, you collect their materials and by researching these materials your facility is able to produce alien technology. Yes! You can shoot aliens by their own weapons. Your scientists research alien technologies, your engineers produce your own weapons that developed by alien technology. You can give these expensive weapons to the soldiers you choose. With all these researches and RPG themes, you will feel there would be an invisible bond between you and your soldiers. Besides you try to save the world, you also try to save your soldiers' lifes on the battlefield by making smart moves every turn. The unique thing about the game is playing "turn by turn." Every single turn you have limited move changes. Each turn, first you make your moves and afterwards aliens (cpu) do. You can choose to make your soldiers move, shoot or use a special ability in every turn. About that special abilities, you can be sure Xcom has surprises for you! Walkthrough is not straight, It is all up to you. The places where are seen alien activity are random regions every time you play. Incidents occur randomly. Graphics are good, musics and sounds are fair. There are some little bugs i faced of. However they can be ignored. If you like both strategy and role-playing-games, Xcom: Enemy Unknown is for you. Expand
  100. Nov 12, 2012
    0
    I made a terrible mistake...I didn't realize the game doesn't automatically save (well I did, but i'm lazy and didn't bother to manually save) and got into a situation where my entire team died. All my warriors, battled hardened from several missions: gone. And I was very sad, because I had to start from scratch, either with a bunch of scrubs or a new game. And yet...I'm more determined than ever, and will do better this time, invest in the right things (that are crucial) and ignore the lesser investments until I have the money (I was a noob and didn't realize how important satellites are). I never played the original X-COM, but all I can say is this reminds me so much of Mass Effect 1 and 2, without the silly story (that eventually collapsed in ME3). They clearly borrowed from this series.

    This is an incredible game: ignore the haters and buy this if you have ever enjoyed any game involving tactics. It's clear that they got the essence of what many old-school PC gamers say is the greatest game to ever be released for the computer...looking at this game I wouldn't be surprised if that were true. Easily the Game of the Year, and after less than a day playing it, among Firaxis' best (and they have made a lot of very good games).
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 88
    Is it better than the original? No. One can’t imagine X-Com 2012 being an all-time-classic and people still playing with it, months from now (let alone, years). Is it a ‘true’ X-Com game, however? Definitely. Remorseless geeks are in for shivers and swoons when they meet their beloved foes: mind-controlling sectoids, zombifying Chrysalids, Cyberdisks, Ethereals… [December 2012]
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    95
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a worthy tribute to its progenitor and hopefully the start of something brand new for players who've been dying to get a good squad-based strategy game that lets them not only think, but feel as well.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Amazing tactical complexity, satisfying strategic depth; slightly dodgy ending, but your own stories are more important anyway. A modern classic.