Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    80
    Great for those moments when you have time to spare and you can outdo your previous performance. For most it will be just that - a great game to play for a bit, but not particularly addictive. In some however, it will inspire marathon gaming sessions into the early hours of the morning, bettering your scores and those of others.
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    80
    Xotic demands a certain competitive mindset to fully enjoy it, to be sure, but for those who want to test their first-person skills with the type of score-based arcade gameplay that is usually found in other genres, it does what it sets out to do and it does so successfully without overwhelming the player.
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    78
    Xotic offers up fresh and original FPS experience that is well worth the $10 asking price.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    If you are looking for a game to play in your spare time, be it for 20 minutes or a couple of hours, and are fan of twitch-style first person shooters that require you to react fast (think Quake III or Unreal Tournament) mixed with a arcade, almost puzzle-like scoring system, then Xotic might just be up your alley.
  5. Oct 15, 2011
    70
    Xotic still retains a moreish, arcade charm despite the excesses of the design team and patience is all that's really needed to unlock an extra level of fun. The fact that Xotic's primary appeal gets so lost is enough to take the score and accessibility down a peg or to though.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    65
    First-person shooter Xotic sure lives up to its name with surreal, fast-flowing gameplay.
  7. Oct 17, 2011
    52
    A poor FPS combined with an equally weak platformer. The developers must have decided that a minus times a minus equals a plus. Not this time.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    I wasn't sure if this was my type of game so I took a chance and bought it anyway.

    It turns out that was a good choice, the game is very
    I wasn't sure if this was my type of game so I took a chance and bought it anyway.

    It turns out that was a good choice, the game is very good and considering the price for xotic I've spent a lot more money on other titles that haven't provided anywhere near as much fun as I've had with this game.

    The object of the game is quite simple, try to score as many points as possible by causing chain-reactions, simple design but addictive too when you're trying to beat your own scores and see how you compare against other players on the leaderboard.

    You can also earn experience points to upgrade your weapons or skills.

    A good amount of levels to play including bonus rounds and very good map design too.

    The devs have said that they will include more graphics options in an upcoming patch so I've taken one point off the total score for that but the support is there and new levels are planned for the game.

    Great game, great fun and well worth the price :D
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    The graphics and the lighting in this game are absolutely beautiful and very captivating. I am enjoying the soundtrack as well, but theThe graphics and the lighting in this game are absolutely beautiful and very captivating. I am enjoying the soundtrack as well, but the gameplay is what this game is really about. A great blend of arcade and FPS style action. Definitely worth 10 bucks. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Xotic is probably the best Indie surprise I got this year. A game that came out of nowhere and became one of my favorite. A unique point basedXotic is probably the best Indie surprise I got this year. A game that came out of nowhere and became one of my favorite. A unique point based FPS where enemies are only an obstacle between you and the perfect chain. The game gives you alot of very nice looking and well designed levels, 8 upgradable weapons as well as an upgradable character, different types of enemies from the pushover to formidable champions and shielded turrets. The easiest way to desribe the gameplay is you run, jump and fly around mutliple levels shooting red plants that explode creating a chain reaction, the longer the chain the better the score. While keeping up the chain reaction of the red plants you can collect crystals, destroy other plants, vases and what the game calls Brains I think for additional points. To get to the crystals which are usually somewhere high up you can use your shield ability which doubles as a platform you can genereate under yourself when jumping. There are usually three objectives on each level: destroy all read plants, collect all crystals and kill all enemies. The levels end when with the death of the last enemy a portal opens. The main selling point of the game is the replayability. This is one of the few games which upon completing a level makes me think I can do better. As a cherry on top if you are in Europe as I am you get a great price that does not exploit the EU customer like many other games on Steam. Full Review »