Yesterday PC

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    90
    Once again, a great adventure game from Pendulo. But this one is darker in tone and story (which is excellent) that, its usual productions.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    As all point-and-clicks should, Yesterday tells a strong story and does it right, with no cheap twists, no secrets held from the player.
  3. May 7, 2012
    85
    Those who can deal with a couple of smaller deficiencies will be rewarded with a great adventure, including an exciting and deep story.
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    85
    I have encountered an opinion, that this is Pendulo's best game. I can agree with that, but remember that an emotional bond with characters in very important to me. If you're looking for sophisticated puzles or a realistic story, you may be less enthusiastic.
  5. Apr 20, 2012
    84
    Overall, Yesterday is a fine adventure with a unique look, competent puzzles, and a compelling story. The only downside is that it's relatively short. It only took me a little more than five hours to complete the game, and so Pendulo definitely had some room to add in an extra chapter or two. But otherwise, as long as you don't mind some disturbing content, Yesterday is well worth its $30 price tag.
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    If you don't skip any cut-scenes and follow the story closely, Yesterday is an experience unlike any of Pendulo's previous titles, and one you'll be unlikely to forget, no matter how hard you try.
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    A good, competent point and click game, even if Pendulo's attempts at a "darker" story don't mesh with the game's art style and humorous nods. The tale the developers have woven with serial killers, satanic cults, and immortality does wrap up in surprising ways.
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    Se7en & Still Life meets Miller's Sin City in this comic-esque thriller, more Colour than Noir. New York Crimes/ Yesterday keeps the visual cartoon style, signature of Pendulo Studios, but this time filled with bloody characters and satanic cults. A very good game, it's a shame that greatness is stolen by some puzzles whose way to be resolved are not in the tone that the game is looking for.
  9. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    Sleekly packaged and eminently playable, Yesterday conceals the darkness of the human mind within a beautiful artistic canvas; drawing you in with glimpses of dreadful secrets and leaving you shocked, yet satisfied, with its twisted narrative.
  10. May 9, 2012
    77
    Yesterday is a good adventure, which is different from the further Pendulo Studios games in it's style. The story about satanic cults and intrigues is present in a comic style and contains mystery and even horror elements. Most of the puzzles are logical, although too easy and often lacks alternative solutions. Yesterday kind of stands in it's own way and does not use all available possibilities to create a great game out of the story and characters. It's a proper game for genre beginners with nice graphics and presentation, but it's very short and veterans will be underchallenged.
  11. Apr 30, 2012
    75
    The game is an interesting adventure with a good plot. However the gameplay loses its funny aspect in the second half of the game.
  12. Apr 4, 2012
    75
    Linear gameplay and an incredibly short length means the game can be completed in a matter of hours, which is a problem considering the high price point. For those of you willing to pay the price of admission Yesterday is a fun nod to an earlier form of gaming with a story you won't soon forget.
  13. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    An ideal game for newcomers to the genre and for all those who want to enjoy a good story, full of mysteries and intrigue. Its only flaws are the short duration of the adventure and its low difficulty.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Point n' Click adventure games have been my thing since I started using computers. My very first was Monkey Island, back when DOS was anPoint n' Click adventure games have been my thing since I started using computers. My very first was Monkey Island, back when DOS was an operating system and Windows 3.1 was the next big thing. I've played classics like The Dig, all of the Monkey Island series, Sam n' Max classics, some of the Leisure Suit Larry classics, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis. Modern ones like Gemini Rue and Yahtzee's Trilby/5 Days a Stranger series. To put it simply, I know Point n' Clicks. To put it simply, Yesterday was a waste of time. I was wary of Pendulo for some reason, and now I know why. The game is entirely too short, the plot and the way it progresses is ridiculously fast and feels contrived. I literally felt like I missed the first half of the game and felt no emotional connection to any of the characters. There was a little bit of reasonable humor, but it was brief and overshadowed by both the dark story and the overfast pacing of the game. INCREDIBLY overpriced, not even getting started on that. Pass this up and go play a classic, like Day of the Tentacle - now there's a real gem of point n' clicks. Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Short but stunningly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed Yesterday from start to finish (although that might not be saying as much as you think!), itShort but stunningly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed Yesterday from start to finish (although that might not be saying as much as you think!), it has everything a brilliant point-and-click adventure needs: an engaging plot, attractive styling, credible characters and humour in all the right places. Unfortunately the game was *so* short, taking me around 4 hours to complete, that Pendulo Studios neglected the opportunity to capitalise on these positive qualities. Unfortunately, as I feared, the current price of £20 is completely unrealistic for what's on offer. Yesterday is a great example of what the point-and-click genre has to offer, but dies down all too quickly and just leaves you wanting more. A fantastic game, and definitely worth playing... But unfortunately at £5 per hour of gameplay the price is just too high. Full Review »
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    2
    It is unreal how short this game is. I have played previous Pendulo games and generally enjoyed them, not sure what they were going for here.It is unreal how short this game is. I have played previous Pendulo games and generally enjoyed them, not sure what they were going for here.

    The story itself is mildly interesting but lack any real direction. There is too much bouncing around or at least bouncing around in a way you don't get until the end. There is also too much hand holding. This is one of the first adventure games that basically gives away the clues to every puzzle. Extremely disappointed. High points were graphics and voice acting. Lowe points, playing the "game".
    Full Review »