Yesterday PC

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    60
    Yesterday's unsteady narrative is disappointingly brief, though solid puzzles and nice visuals make it a pleasant diversion.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    50
    There's some life in it, and a few folks might be able to put up with the issues, but for the most part, it's not really worth the time spent clicking random objects on other random objects.
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    70
    Yesterday (New York Crimes in some other nations) is the first sample of a new approach to the adventure games genre: more mature but too short and too easy. A good beginning, but the road to perfection is still long.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 20, 2012
    55
    You have to admire Pendulo Studios for surviving 18 years by making adventure gamers, but Yesterday is a truly lackluster example of the genre. The writing is consistently awful and the puzzles are annoying and illogical. [June 2012]
  5. Apr 8, 2012
    65
    Yesterday offers a short but powerful story, but by the time it ends, you'll just want to see more. Developer Pendulo Studios created a decent point-and-click adventure game that is fun while it lasts. In short: it doesn't do anything exciting, but it doesn't really do anything wrong either.
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    60
    Yesterday has all the right intentions, but it seems to be in a hurry for some unknown reason.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 25, 2012
    70
    Radical change in the literary genre paid well to Spanish developers but they should have been punished for flat and short game they created at the end from such a great script. [Apr 2012]
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    60
    If you are new to the genre, there are more accomplished games, wherein all elements work in tandem, awaiting your attention. However, if you're an avid adventure game player with most of your life-changing and genre-defining point-and-click experiences behind you, this is a worthwhile addition to your library.
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    50
    Change isn't always for the best and this transition of Pendulo from the realm of comedy to darker planes seems like a hasty move. Marred by bad design decisions, awfully short playtime and frustratingly easy puzzles, Yesterday is a game that starts really strong, has a great story idea, but utterly fails to hook the player.
  10. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    Yesterday compensates its flaws for its great story - an element that's been the most important thing in adventure genre. If you get over its lower difficulty level and its brief duration, you might get some thrilling experience of great pace and with great atmosphere, and you will cherish that impression even after the game is over.
  11. PC Gamer UK
    Jun 19, 2012
    52
    Unluckily, it costs 20 quid, which is significantly more than it's worth. [July 2012, p.99]
  12. Apr 11, 2012
    60
    Yesterday is a solid point-and-click adventure that harkens back to the games of old. The narrative is painfully short, but the interesting tone, clever puzzles and fantastic atmosphere does make up for it somewhat.
  13. Apr 10, 2012
    70
    A step forward for Pendulo, a talented studio that celebrates its adulthood this year.
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    60
    An ambitious narrative, with some uneven characterisation and halfway successful puzzle design.
  15. Apr 23, 2012
    50
    Yesterday is an underripe, silly, laughably short adventure. It's as if you're watching a cheap thriller on fast forward.
  16. 67
    So after going through John Yesterday's amnesiac adventures three times in the row, the game is a journey with which I really want to be indulgent, although mediocrity follows it every step of the way. It's not a complete mess, but everything it does has already been done by others and much better.
  17. PC Master (Greece)
    May 16, 2012
    70
    The first gaming slap in the face of the year. Expectations grew as we learned news during its development as well as the early gaming experience. Alas, we are let down by a very low difficulty level, a very short gaming duration as well as bad story narration. All the major plot elements are revealed too soon, the game rushes to its finale and we are not met with the anticipated climax. [May 2012]
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Point n' Click adventure games have been my thing since I started using computers. My very first was Monkey Island, back when DOS was anPoint n' Click adventure games have been my thing since I started using computers. My very first was Monkey Island, back when DOS was an operating system and Windows 3.1 was the next big thing. I've played classics like The Dig, all of the Monkey Island series, Sam n' Max classics, some of the Leisure Suit Larry classics, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis. Modern ones like Gemini Rue and Yahtzee's Trilby/5 Days a Stranger series. To put it simply, I know Point n' Clicks. To put it simply, Yesterday was a waste of time. I was wary of Pendulo for some reason, and now I know why. The game is entirely too short, the plot and the way it progresses is ridiculously fast and feels contrived. I literally felt like I missed the first half of the game and felt no emotional connection to any of the characters. There was a little bit of reasonable humor, but it was brief and overshadowed by both the dark story and the overfast pacing of the game. INCREDIBLY overpriced, not even getting started on that. Pass this up and go play a classic, like Day of the Tentacle - now there's a real gem of point n' clicks. Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Short but stunningly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed Yesterday from start to finish (although that might not be saying as much as you think!), itShort but stunningly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed Yesterday from start to finish (although that might not be saying as much as you think!), it has everything a brilliant point-and-click adventure needs: an engaging plot, attractive styling, credible characters and humour in all the right places. Unfortunately the game was *so* short, taking me around 4 hours to complete, that Pendulo Studios neglected the opportunity to capitalise on these positive qualities. Unfortunately, as I feared, the current price of £20 is completely unrealistic for what's on offer. Yesterday is a great example of what the point-and-click genre has to offer, but dies down all too quickly and just leaves you wanting more. A fantastic game, and definitely worth playing... But unfortunately at £5 per hour of gameplay the price is just too high. Full Review »
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    2
    It is unreal how short this game is. I have played previous Pendulo games and generally enjoyed them, not sure what they were going for here.It is unreal how short this game is. I have played previous Pendulo games and generally enjoyed them, not sure what they were going for here.

    The story itself is mildly interesting but lack any real direction. There is too much bouncing around or at least bouncing around in a way you don't get until the end. There is also too much hand holding. This is one of the first adventure games that basically gives away the clues to every puzzle. Extremely disappointed. High points were graphics and voice acting. Lowe points, playing the "game".
    Full Review »