Yesterday PC

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 49
  2. Negative: 11 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    A short point ‘n’ click adventure with lots of twists to keep you entertained. Unfortunately, the inability to connect with any of the characters and the lack of any truly memorable scenes means the short playthrough will be easily forgotten; just like the eponymous protagonist’s memories.
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    This game is competent (I found no bugs), but approach with caution and do not expect too much. As stated elsewhere, it's short (< 5 hours), and if like me you rate games of 1$ per hour of game-play to be the top range, then buy for only $5. The graphics are of the Monkey Island/The Next Big Thing style, which is fine for comedy games but not for more adult themes that this tries to be. ItThis game is competent (I found no bugs), but approach with caution and do not expect too much. As stated elsewhere, it's short (< 5 hours), and if like me you rate games of 1$ per hour of game-play to be the top range, then buy for only $5. The graphics are of the Monkey Island/The Next Big Thing style, which is fine for comedy games but not for more adult themes that this tries to be. It needs to be a lot darker in visual tone and music. The story is a mix between Broken Sword and something from an Irvine Welsh novel, with even some curse words in there (probably best to know if buying for someone less than 10 year olds). The music is forgettable and does not add anything to the game. Overall, buy cheap, enjoy one or two solving screens, and (probably) like me, Google the other 3 alternate endings, as the last save-point is ridiculously far back in the game. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    There are 3 things you won't expect in this game: first, how dark and interesting the story is; second, how many bugs there are; third, how quickly it ends. With occasional assistance from the in-game help system, I finished this game in under 5 hours, getting all three endings. I found it to be very well done and thoroughly enjoyable and yet way, waaaay too short for a full priceThere are 3 things you won't expect in this game: first, how dark and interesting the story is; second, how many bugs there are; third, how quickly it ends. With occasional assistance from the in-game help system, I finished this game in under 5 hours, getting all three endings. I found it to be very well done and thoroughly enjoyable and yet way, waaaay too short for a full price purchase. If the game were twice as long I'd be giving it a 7 for STILL being kind of short. Then there are several extremely annoying bugs, the worst of which are sequences in the game where your inventory either becomes invisible or vanishes entirely. Kind of a big deal in an adventure game. As it is, I have to give the game a 5 if you pay full price, 6 if it's patched properly. If you somehow get it for 10-20 bucks, or money is no object to you, that review goes up to an 8.5. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Point n' Click adventure games have been my thing since I started using computers. My very first was Monkey Island, back when DOS was an operating system and Windows 3.1 was the next big thing. I've played classics like The Dig, all of the Monkey Island series, Sam n' Max classics, some of the Leisure Suit Larry classics, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis. Modern ones like Gemini RuePoint n' Click adventure games have been my thing since I started using computers. My very first was Monkey Island, back when DOS was an operating system and Windows 3.1 was the next big thing. I've played classics like The Dig, all of the Monkey Island series, Sam n' Max classics, some of the Leisure Suit Larry classics, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis. Modern ones like Gemini Rue and Yahtzee's Trilby/5 Days a Stranger series. To put it simply, I know Point n' Clicks. To put it simply, Yesterday was a waste of time. I was wary of Pendulo for some reason, and now I know why. The game is entirely too short, the plot and the way it progresses is ridiculously fast and feels contrived. I literally felt like I missed the first half of the game and felt no emotional connection to any of the characters. There was a little bit of reasonable humor, but it was brief and overshadowed by both the dark story and the overfast pacing of the game. INCREDIBLY overpriced, not even getting started on that. Pass this up and go play a classic, like Day of the Tentacle - now there's a real gem of point n' clicks. Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 20, 2012
    55
    You have to admire Pendulo Studios for surviving 18 years by making adventure gamers, but Yesterday is a truly lackluster example of the genre. The writing is consistently awful and the puzzles are annoying and illogical. [June 2012]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    Jun 19, 2012
    52
    Unluckily, it costs 20 quid, which is significantly more than it's worth. [July 2012, p.99]
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    May 16, 2012
    70
    The first gaming slap in the face of the year. Expectations grew as we learned news during its development as well as the early gaming experience. Alas, we are let down by a very low difficulty level, a very short gaming duration as well as bad story narration. All the major plot elements are revealed too soon, the game rushes to its finale and we are not met with the anticipated climax. [May 2012]